Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Armchair birding anyone?
This excellent ID guide is not only a great help in making proper identifications of birds, it's a great way to spend a rainy morning doing some "Armchair" birding.The photography is first class and each page is thoughtfully laid out and tells its own story. Indeed a worthy addition to my birding library.
Published on May 14 2011 by Paul F. Whalen

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book is NOT a field guide
Got my Crossley Guide to birds a while ago and thought I put a review here but apparently did not. I would NOT recomend it as a field guide. It belongs on the coffee table

The first point on the back cover says it revolutionizes FIELD GUIDE DESIGN.

1. This certainly is NOT a good field guide. Much bigger than even the large Sibley and probably...
Published on April 19 2011 by B. Beck


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book is NOT a field guide, April 19 2011
By 
B. Beck "Barb Beck" (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crossley ID Guide: Eastern Birds (Flexibound)
Got my Crossley Guide to birds a while ago and thought I put a review here but apparently did not. I would NOT recomend it as a field guide. It belongs on the coffee table

The first point on the back cover says it revolutionizes FIELD GUIDE DESIGN.

1. This certainly is NOT a good field guide. Much bigger than even the large Sibley and probably weighs twice as much AND only covers the eastern birds. You are much better off carrying the big Sibley Guide to Birds or evens the two smaller eastern and western Sibley books if you live in the places like Alberta where we need both guides. You must read the text at bottom of each bird to find out the field marks - they are not marked for quick reference not even with lines to tell you where to look. If you only get a quick look at the bird you want to know where to look FAST you cannot do it with this book because the field marks are not indicated on the pictures - you must read the text under each possible bird to find out where to look. If you are trying to separate it from more than one or more other birds quickly forget it - you must read a lot of text. Some of the pictures do not show the field mark well. For example they could have done much better with the boreal owl. They mention the darker brown color - not much help in poor light. I recognize it well as a boreal owl because I have seen a lot and am very familiar with it and the saw-whet (even banded some) but would not use that with people trying to learn the birds. The picture does not show the facial pattern well enough to show all the field marks clearly and might be a problem for beginners - at least I would not use that one in class (only on a quiz when the students are more familiar with the bird)

2. Most of the photos good BUT should have been printed at better resolution. The grainy photos hinder some of the smaller pictures.
Because it has so many pictures it would work as a study guide at home though in combination with Sibley so you learn to see the field marks better. You can also find many more examples of good pictures by sitting at your computer).

3. Difficult groups need suppliment of some kind. Much better guides are available for difficult groups: Take a good look at this before you buy it to make sure it is what you need. I am rather disappointed. If I was still teaching an advanced bird identification course I would still use the big Sibley with supplimental material for difficult groups. If you want more on Hawks I suggest Clark and Wheelers Hawks in Flight or with drawings or the bigger and more detailed Western Raptor book by Wheeler with photos (covers all of NA except Florida specialities and lots of great text. If you want more on Warblers Dunn's book is excellent and has both photos and drawings. A shorebird guide with lots of photos is one by O'Brian, Crossley and Karlson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Armchair birding anyone?, May 14 2011
By 
Paul F. Whalen (Nakusp, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crossley ID Guide: Eastern Birds (Flexibound)
This excellent ID guide is not only a great help in making proper identifications of birds, it's a great way to spend a rainy morning doing some "Armchair" birding.The photography is first class and each page is thoughtfully laid out and tells its own story. Indeed a worthy addition to my birding library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Concept, Great Format, Critical Flaw, April 23 2011
This review is from: The Crossley ID Guide: Eastern Birds (Flexibound)
After reading the glowing pre-publication reviews I anxiously awaited the arrival of this book. Great concept, very well put together and but for it's one major flaw it would be stellar. That flaw is the absolutely lousy (there is no other word to describe them)photographic reproductions.

For the most part the images are low resolution, lacking in contrast and against backgrounds that frequently make it nearly impossible to distinguish field marks. I initially thought that my copy had somehow been part of a bad print run but examining other copies disabused me of that notion. This book will be relegated to a back shelf in my library. Hopefully a revised edition will at least prove useable. I would not recommend this book, in it's current form, to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any birder, June 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crossley ID Guide: Eastern Birds (Flexibound)
Excellent book with actual real photos of the birds and not colored drawings. Crossley has done fantastic job. It's a great tool for identifying species of birds. This book should be in the library of any birder - beginner or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't leave your Crossley behind, Sept. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crossley ID Guide: Eastern Birds (Flexibound)
The Crossley book is a 5 stars for me
every bird in the book is very good explained
wouldn't go without it
Thanks
Marian from Canada
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, July 21 2013
By 
Deborah Stanley "Motorcycle Momma" (Clarenville, NL Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crossley ID Guide: Eastern Birds (Flexibound)
Bought it for my husband and he loves it. Great pictures of all kinds of birds. Good purchase for any bird enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crossley ID Guide: Eastern Birds (Flexibound)
Do wish that there was a Western version though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Nov. 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crossley ID Guide: Eastern Birds (Flexibound)
good deal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Crossley ID Guide: Eastern Birds
The Crossley ID Guide: Eastern Birds by Richard Crossley (Flexibound - Feb. 20 2011)
CDN$ 39.07 CDN$ 23.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews