Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A thief of time is a pot pilferer
As with most Hillerman formulas, we have separate mysteries that overlap in time and place. Almost retired with just a few days to go Lt. Joe Leaphorn, Navajo Tribal Police, is looking for a missing anthropologist Dr. Eleanor Friedman-Bernal who disappeared, leaving an extensively prepared meal in the refrigerator. And Officer Jim Chee looking for a missing back-ho that...
Published on July 23 2010 by bernie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to follow in abridged audio version
The story is engaging, and the historical background is enlightening. This abridgement for audio, however, leaves a little to be desired. Compressed to 2 cassettes, the jumpy action allows insufficient time for character development. Having the author, who is not a trained actor, read the script compounds the editing problems. Hillerman's southwestern drawl, delivered...
Published on June 27 1999 by E. Uthman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A thief of time is a pot pilferer, July 23 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
As with most Hillerman formulas, we have separate mysteries that overlap in time and place. Almost retired with just a few days to go Lt. Joe Leaphorn, Navajo Tribal Police, is looking for a missing anthropologist Dr. Eleanor Friedman-Bernal who disappeared, leaving an extensively prepared meal in the refrigerator. And Officer Jim Chee looking for a missing back-ho that he was supposed to be watching due to a chronic thieving problem.

Now do not jump to conclusions. Hillerman thinly veils his mysteries and you can pretty much guess the conclusion. This time it is a waste to try. We get his colorful description of the four corners country. Also, we get an insight into Navajo culture. You may go a little potty with details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this Hillerman guy, Nov. 11 2003
By 
Peggy Vincent "author and reader" (Oakland, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Did you know you can take a topographical map of the Four Corners area and track every arroyo, every butte, every mesa and canyon and rio seco mentioned in Hillerman's books? They're all there. Just get yourself a 4-wheel drive vehicle and go off road and have an adventure as you read each of his mystery tales. Right where he says the truck in his book went left into what looks like an untracked wilderness down a barely-visible double track leading to god knows where, sure enough, there those faint tracks in the dust appear.
Set against the backdrop of the long-vanished Anasazi, Hillerman weaves a complex tale setting Anglo culture against the values of the Dinai, the Navajo tribal people. Elderly Joe Leaphorn and brash newcomer Jim Chee (with one foot in the spirituality of the Navajo healers and the other in the Western world) combine forces to solve the mystery surrounding the disappearance of an anthropologist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A so-so read, July 25 2003
By A Customer
This was the first Hillerman novel I ever read.How it ever became a best seller amazes me! Fortunately it was the only book I had with me on vacation, or I would never have gotten through it. About halfway through, however, things did improve.
Hillerman does a good job of evoking the flavor of the Southwest and the story is interesting enough. But, I made the mistake of reading this immediately after having read Michael Crichton's "Timeline" which is a much more engaging and entertaining book.
Based on my experience I doubt that I'll read another of Hillerman's works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As good as usual, June 14 2003
By A Customer
Lives up to all hillerman's books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars criminal cases, April 17 2003
By 
brandon (Monroe,N.C.) - See all my reviews
Book Review
Have you ever watched Cops or America's Most Wanted? Well, Tony Hillerman calls the book that I am about to tell you about A Thief Of Time. This book is interesting because it was about police stories and how criminals always seem to get away from the cops every time they seem to commit a crime.
If you like police stories, then you will absolutely love this book. It is about police stories that happened a long time ago. It is about how they steal precious pottery and priceless jewelry. The thief is too quick however; the police are just too slow to catch them.
It was in a second persons point of view. "Now she picked it up, put an arm through the carry strap, changed her mind. She unzipped the side pocket and extracted the pistol. It was a .25 caliber automatic." Leaphorn was a dynamic character because he changed throughout the entire book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars criminal cases, April 17 2003
By 
brandon (Monroe,N.C.) - See all my reviews
Book Review
Have you ever watched Cops or America's Most Wanted? Well, Tony Hillerman calls the book that I am about to tell you about A Thief Of Time. This book is interesting because it was about police stories and how criminals always seem to get away from the cops every time they seem to commit a crime.
If you like police stories, then you will absolutely love this book. It is about police stories that happened a long time ago. It is about how they steal precious pottery and priceless jewelry. The thief is too quick however; the police are just too slow to catch them.
It was in a second persons point of view. "Now she picked it up, put an arm through the carry strap, changed her mind. She unzipped the side pocket and extracted the pistol. It was a .25 caliber automatic." Leaphorn was a dynamic character because he changed throughout the entire book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars criminal cases, April 17 2003
By 
brandon (Monroe,N.C.) - See all my reviews
Book Review
Have you ever watched Cops or America's Most Wanted? Well, Tony Hillerman calls the book that I am about to tell you about A Thief Of Time. This book is interesting because it was about police stories and how criminals always seem to get away from the cops every time they seem to commit a crime.
If you like police stories, then you will absolutely love this book. It is about police stories that happened a long time ago. It is about how they steal precious pottery and priceless jewelry. The thief is too quick however; the police are just too slow to catch them.
It was in a second persons point of view. "Now she picked it up, put an arm through the carry strap, changed her mind. She unzipped the side pocket and extracted the pistol. It was a .25 caliber automatic." Leaphorn was a dynamic character because he changed throughout the entire book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars criminal cases, April 17 2003
By 
brandon (Monroe,N.C.) - See all my reviews
Book Review
Have you ever watched Cops or America's Most Wanted? Well, Tony Hillerman calls the book that I am about to tell you about A Thief Of Time. This book is interesting because it was about police stories and how criminals always seem to get away from the cops every time they seem to commit a crime.
If you like police stories, then you will absolutely love this book. It is about police stories that happened a long time ago. It is about how they steal precious pottery and priceless jewelry. The thief is too quick however; the police are just too slow to catch them.
It was in a second persons point of view. "Now she picked it up, put an arm through the carry strap, changed her mind. She unzipped the side pocket and extracted the pistol. It was a .25 caliber automatic." Leaphorn was a dynamic character because he changed throughout the entire book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new kind of detective story, March 22 2003
I must admit I'd never read any of Tony Hillerman's novels. Someone said if I liked James Patterson then I would like Tony Hillerman. Reluctantly, I read this book and I was totally shocked on how very interesting this book is. Navajo detectives Lephorn and Lee, one who is old and traditional and another who is young and modern tries to solve a case with a missing archaelogist. The whole indian culture, landscapes, tradition and history were perfect elements in this book. I have never read a fictional book that was deep in a culture that is vastly slowly fading away. Hillerman not only written a cultural quick fast paced story, he added a couple of twist which had thrown me off. I feel if this book had a great effect on me, which by the way, engulf me into a culture I rarely see anymore, I would truely read another Hillerman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A best selling Navajo detective story, Jan. 8 2003
"A Thief of Time" is the eighth book in Tony Hillerman's Navajo detective series, but the first one to make national best seller lists and propel him into bigtime literary stardom.
"Thief" is one of Hillerman's least mysterious mysteries, but one of his most interesting books. He tells of the Anasazi, the ancient ones, an amazing proto-civilization of a thousand years ago that left ruins and potsherds scattered all over the austere, forbidding desert country of the Four Corners area. The mystery deals with ancient pots, the "thieves of time" who dig up graves and sell the pots they find, and of ambitious archaelogists who strive to make their reputations by discovering the secrets of the Anasazi.
Navajo detectives Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee confront several mysteries: a missing archaeologist, a stolen backhoe, and the bodies of two pot thieves. For Leaphorn, the solution to the mystery goes back twenty years into his past to a canyon along the San Juan River in Utah.
Atmosphere is what Hillerman sells in his books and this one has it in abundance. Navajo culture and ceremonies, modern police work, and the treasures of the Anasazi are woven together into a landscape of pure, clean-aired natural beauty. The weather -- thunderstorms, droughts, sudden blizzards, the thunderheads of approaching doom -- is also prominent in Hillerman's novels. His books combine elements of mysteries, westerns, and exotic culture -- and they are really, really worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Thief Of Time
A Thief Of Time by Tony Hillerman (Audio Cassette - Sept. 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 99.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews