Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter loves this story!, Jan. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lon Po Po (Paperback)
We originally got this from the library and loved it so much I got it for my daughter for Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lon Po Po, Jan. 27 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lon Po Po (Paperback)
In Lon PO PO there are three girls their mother leaves to see their grandmother. Then there is a knock at the door. It is a wolf that looks like their grandmother. They think the wolf is their grandmother. Read this book to see what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Young's hidden images, Jan. 29 2003
By 
M. M. Miller (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like many of Ed Young's books, there are hidden images in the pictures. In this book, the images are of a wolf's head. One has to look sharply but they are there. Look carefully at the picture of the wolf looking up. Then take another look at the children in the tree pulling the wolf up in the basket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lon Po Po: The Best non Red-Riding Hood, July 21 2002
By 
"caro-e" (elizabeth, il. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lon Po Po (Paperback)
Through artful suggestions that open spaces for imagination's supply of satisfying horrors and triumphant solutions, the unusually fine illustrations first pique terror, then confidence. Three children share the problem of a sudden wolf, of being prey, rather than a lone girl. Each child contributes to the solution in accordance with the age intelligence level of the child. Intelligence is the story's primary agent in opposing the wiles of a crafty wolf.
There is no hint of rape, the wolf does not attack, no blood drips. The wolf's eye, or snout--a piece of wolf face writ large--is shudderingly present; the children are expressive, open children, like children everywhere.
This version, a story of alerted intellect laced with fear, offers each reader personal paths through the story; the problem, the solution. Readers will find new thoughts with each reading.
This is a pleasing version with superior, beautiful, art that adds immeasurably to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Fairy Tale from China, April 10 2002
By A Customer
This is the Chinese version of "Little Red Riding Hood." The main characters are a wolf and three sisters - Shang, Tao, and Paotze. The story takes place in the country, where the girls live with their mother.
The wolf wants to eat the three sisters. The girls solve their problem by tricking the wolf. You'll have to read the book yourself to see what happens.
If you like this book, another book by Ed Young you might like is "The Lost Horse."
...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book!, Jan. 2 2002
By A Customer
I thought it was a bit wordy, but my Chinese student had heard the story from her mother and was entranced that the story was in English and in a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lon Po Po comparison, Nov. 29 2001
By 
Lon Po Po is an adaptation of Little Red Riding Hood from China. In Young's version the mother leaves her three children for the day, Shang, Tao, and Paotze, to visit their grandmother on her birthday. While the mother is gone a wolf, dressed as their grandmother, Po Po, comes to try to eat them. The oldest daughter Shang is clever and outsmarts the wolf. The relevance of this folk tale to the article Strong Women in Appalachian Folktales is the importance of the female protagonist.
A female protagonist in a folktale is a rarity. Male protagonists over shadow females in twentieth century tales. Shang is the female protagonist in Lon Po Po. Not only does she defeat the wolf but she outsmarts him as well. It is important that she is portrayed as the clever heroin so that contemporary children have more positive role models than the heroines in the best-known traditional fairytales (225). In Lon Po Po, the wolf does not fool Shang as little red riding hood was in the European tale. Shang realizes from the start that the wolf is trying to trick her. When she asks the wolf about his fur and his claws she is simultaneously planning a way to get rid of him. Appalachian folktales are tales that were adapted in America. Many made the female protagonist stronger than the previous European version. Ed Young readapted the tale of little red riding hood in the same way. In the original European version the wolf eats the grandmother. There are no women in this Chinese rendition that fall victim to the wolf.
Folktales inevitably change when retold by another culture. However, there are some similarities in the way that Appalachian folktales and Chinese folktales changed. They both highlight the strengths of female characters and give them an even bigger role than their original one (225).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lon Po Po: My Idea., Oct. 23 2001
I think it is a good book for ages 8 and up. Because I read it to my two little siblings; Jessica, age 7 and Brendan, age 4; and they thought it was to scary for them.
It was interesting because: it was kind of a backwards story of Little Red Riding Hood which I thought was something new instead of the same old story; I liked how the children in the story out-smarted the wolf by tricking him into allowing them to pull him up in a basket in a tall tree and that's how they captured him and killed him; and I thought it was neat that other countries have this story also, their story, though, is different in some ways but a lot a like in others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lon Po Po, Aug. 1 2001
By A Customer
Lon Po Po is a 1990 Children's Choice Book. This is a Chinese version of the traditional story of Little Red Riding Hood. Three sisters, Shang, Tao, and Paotze must defend themselves against a frightening wolf while their mother is gone visiting their grandmother for her birthday. Lon Po Po is an excellent book with amazing illustrations, which are a combination of abstract and realistic shadowy images. Second and third graders could enjoy reading the fairy tale, a popular genre of young readers. While different from the traditional story of Little Red Riding Hood, children will enjoy trying to predict what will happen next. I feel that teachers will find this book as enjoyable as children and consider it a high quality piece of literature. It is well written and illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lon Po Po by Ed Young, July 28 2001
By 
Dana (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Lon Po Po is a 1990 Caldecott medal winner. The author transforms the well known Little Red Riding Hood fairy tale into a Chinese Red Riding Hood Story. The story begins when three sisters are left home alone and someone comes to their door pretending to be their Po Po. The girls soon discover it's a wolf at their door. The author keeps the reader's attention by having the main characters devise a plan to lure the wolf up a tree. It's not until the end when the reader finds out the fate of the wolf. Young uses abstract and realistic illustrations with a lot of vibrant colors and shadows throughout the book which adds to the suspense. I loved how the author uses three picture sequences throughout the book which resemble Chinese decorative panels. Teachers, parents, and students will love this Chinese Red Riding Hood fairy tale and you will too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lon Po Po
Lon Po Po by Ed Young (Paperback - Jan. 11 2002)
CDN$ 8.50 CDN$ 8.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews