Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Vimes as Diplomat
Oh, I do love Terry Pratchett. This is one of his best, much more on the lines of political satire than outright fun, but the main characters of Captain Samuel Vimes (now a duke) and Angua just explode onto the stage. (A slow explosion for Vimes, as you might expect) Even for those not weaned on Pratchett (the best-selling English author till Rowling), this novel is fun...
Published on May 8 2010 by Brian Ashe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Affectionate Warning
I love Terry Pratchett novels and even more than that, I love having the chance to listen to them. This cassette edition is narrated by Tony Robinson, who played Baldrick in the Black Adder series; he does a lovely job and the novel is, of course, funny and original. However, I must warn you, it is abridged and that does detract from the delight of it. Anyone considering...
Published on June 9 2004 by N E Hetrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best!, Oct. 28 2001
By 
Jenny (A litle town in Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
This book is the best Terry Pratchett book yet! It is realy funny, it has a really good mix of Sherlok Holmes, Lord of the Rings and a huge dollop of humor. A few people I know say that the humor is forced, and there is no good plot, but I don't think so. The plot leaves you guessing right till the end. I have read nearly all the Discworld books, and I have to say this is the best so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond the Masks of Lies Lie the Truth, Oct. 16 2001
By 
Anh Nguyen (SoCal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fifth Elephant (Hardcover)
The aford mention title of this review is probably the the closest analogy to Terry Pratchett's "The Fifth Eleplant". This is a commical advanture about the famous Ankh-Morpork's city watch with Vimes, Carrot, Angua, and of course Lady Sybil. Although I have not read some of the newer novels (waiting for the shipping) this is one of the most well developed Guards series of books. The book is enormously humourous, and the character of Vimes is very well developed in this book. In addition, most of the book is about Vimes instead of Carrot and the others. Anyone who find the character of Vimes to be very interesting, then read this book, it is a personal intro that goes deep into the exploration of Vimes. All that is Vimes is revealed here.
As for the storyline, it is typical of pratchett to turn a seemingly simple story of conspiracy, assasination, politics, and fifth elephant into an Epic journey. This is simply a musthave for anyone who is a Pratchett fan.
For those who don't know who Pratchett is, and this is your first book, then buy it. All of Terry Pratchett's book are designed to be read by good readers, and bad readers, by the young and the old, for those looking for a laught and a good story, and those looking for a highly intellectual story. On the backdrop of all of Pratchett's book there is always a few serious issues in human nature and behavior, and he theme his books on those issues brilliantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond the Masks of Lies Lie the Truth, Oct. 16 2001
By 
Anh Nguyen (SoCal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fifth Elephant (Hardcover)
The aford mention title of this review is probably the the closest analogy to Terry Pratchett's "The Fifth Eleplant". This is a commical advanture about the famous Ankh-Morpork's city watch with Vimes, Carrot, Angua, and of course Lady Sybil. Although I have not read some of the newer novels (waiting for the shipping) this is one of the most well developed Guards series of books. The book is enormously humourous, and the character of Vimes is very well developed in this book. In addition, most of the book is about Vimes instead of Carrot and the others. Anyone who find the character of Vimes to be very interesting, then read this book, it is a personal intro that goes deep into the exploration of Vimes. All that is Vimes is revealed here.
As for the storyline, it is typical of pratchett to turn a seemingly simple story of conspiracy, assasination, politics, and fifth elephant into an Epic journey. This is simply a musthave for anyone who is a Pratchett fan.
For those who don't know who Pratchett is, and this is your first book, then buy it. All of Terry Pratchett's book are designed to be read by good readers, and bad readers, by the young and the old, for those looking for a laught and a good story, and those looking for a highly intellectual story. On the backdrop of all of Pratchett's book there is always a few serious issues in human nature and behavior, and he theme his books on those issues brilliantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LUV TERRY PRATCHETT - SO SOULD U, Oct. 5 2001
By A Customer
If you like books with humour, fantasy, mystery, crime, and even a bit of romance, or any one of the above, The Fifth Elephant is the book for you - u know how they say all books have a begginning, a middle and an end? Well, i'm not sure where the middle of The Fifth Elephant is, becuase so many things are haappening at once. You think you've found the answer to the mystery but then something else happens and it all changes. One of those books u can never put down, however hard you try. It has many plots going at once, so u never get bored, and all of the characters have thier own personal history, sometimes revealed, sometimes hidden, but always there. The beggining starts off merely really, really good, then it gets better and better. And better. And BETTER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate in Pratchett nonsense, Aug. 30 2001
By 
F. G. Hamer "MadManxMan" (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
On the subject of writing, Terry Pratchett was once quoted as having said "I can't imagine any way one person on his own can have more fun" or something similar to that. He's been writing since he learned how to hold a pen, and has (apparently) never stopped. The Fifth Elephant is one of the classic Pratchett masterpieces. Wholly, completely, utterly, inventively insane, irreverent, witty and satirical, it shows why Pratchett is King of the genre.
If you've not yet introduced yourself to any Pratchett books, let me give you a quick history of Discworld. Pratchett's crazy world is supported by four elephants standing on the back of a giant tortoise. Once there was a fifth elephant, but it fell off the tortoise's back and crashed onto Discworld, leaving behind rich deposits of minerals and fat and the interesting philosophical question: when millions of tons of angry elephant come spinning through the sky, and there is no one to hear it, does it, philosophically speaking, make a noise? And that's about as philosophical as Discworld ever gets..... or is it? Pratchett, in a quiet, humorous way, poses questions about, and satirizes just about any subject you can imagine. Anything from opera to the meaning of life, from local government to religion. (Oh dear, I do hope those reviewers who insist on denouncing J.K.Rowling and Philip Pullman as the anti-christ aren't reading this. They'll be chipping away at Terry Pratchett next!)
When I tell you that the famous Samuel Vimes, commander of the Ankh-Morpork city watch, is sent to represent the city at the crowning of the new Dwarvish Low King, you won't be surprised to learn that Vimes hates politics and has no talent for diplomacy whatsoever. His idea of dealing with a diplomatic incident is to head-butt his way through it. It doesn't help that his assistants are a werewolf, a troll, and a dwarf. Meanwhile, Captain Carrot has fallen in love with Corporal Angua (also a werewolf), and a duplicate of a Dwarven artifact is stolen (a piece of stale bread).
Can't get much more ridiculous, can it! Oh yes it can. Pratchett loves the ridiculous as he gently mocks everything in sight (always with a great knowledge of and fondness for his fellow primates, even in their more foolish moments). Consider yourself well and truly ordered to GO AND BUY THIS BOOK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vimes is simply wonderful.., Aug. 25 2001
..and his performance in this book is no exception. He's been sent to Uberwald as a diplomat, a role he really does not want to play. However, when the dwarfish Scone of Stone is stolen, he gets to play a role he likes so much more- pulp-detective-fiction star. Not that this one's always pleasant- before the book's half over he's been arrested for touching the dwarfs' Low King and is being hunted down by werewolves. Meanwhile, back in Ankh-Morpork, Angua's gone missing, Carrot resigns to go look for her, and Sergeant Colon becomes Acting Captain Colon, a job he totally and utterly botches. How did the Scone get taken? By who? And why is it so important that that clerk didn't catch an orange?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vimes Rules!, Aug. 17 2001
By 
Blahblahblah (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Pratchett's Disc World series started out as a very silly (and very funny) fantasy series in which the plot did little more than give him a setting for his Pythonesque sense of humour. However, as the series has progressed, his characters have become better developed and so have his storylines. The Rincewind stories still tend to lean towards the earlier, sillier days, but in books like the Fifth Elephant the humour has become more subtle overall (although there is still silliness and laugh-out-loud humour), and has also started to become more satirical, making fun of society and its faults and making brilliant psychological observations. The stories centering around Vimes, captain of the City Guard, have become the best series-within-a-series, especially the scenes in which he interacts with the Patrician, a character straight out of Machiavelli.
As with most Vimes stories, there is a lot of genuine suspense and a great mystery tale although the focus in this book is more on political intrigue. The book is set in Uberwald, a land straight out of old horror movies set in Europe or like the black forests of fairy tales, filled with Vampires, Werewolves and Dwarves (with the usual Pratchett twists). Not only that, but Uberwald is a land without laws where Vimes' position in the Ankh-Morpoork city guard is meaningless. We also get to learn more about Angua's (the female werewolf's) family and history as well as see some developements in her relationship with Captain Carrot.
A brilliant and highly entertaining mix of fantasy, humour, satire and suspense, this book is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, Aug. 12 2001
By 
Scott Shaffer "scottsh" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Quick Synopsis - Vimes is sent as an ambassidor to foreign lands where he runs into vampires and werewolves that don't have his best interest at heart.
A great book. I personally found it up there with the best of the series. It has great pacing and fills up the pages with plenty of action.
If you are a fan of the series you can't miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book!, July 20 2001
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (North-Central Illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the twenty-fourth book in Terry Pratchett's series on the Discworld--a flat world, supported on the back of four massive elephants riding on the back of a planet-sized turtle, anything hilarious can happen here, and eventually does. When Samuel Vimes, commander of the Ankh-Morpork city watch is sent by Lord Vetinari to represent the city at the crowning of the new Dwarvish Low King, he knows something is afoot. Things begin to unravel when murders begin, a duplicate of a Dwarven artifact is stolen, Sergeant Angua disappears, Captain Carrot quits to search for her, and (worst of all) Sergeant Colon is placed in charge of the Watch. Can Sam Vimes unravel the mysteries surrounding him? And, who should he fear most, the werewolves or the vampires?
Ah, once again Terry Pratchett has reached into the ether, and brought forth another fascinating and hilarious work. As always, Terry is a master of running several storyline concurrently, and bringing the whole story together as a logical whole. I loved this book, and highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slammin' Sammy Vimes, the Diplomat, July 7 2001
I like Sam Vimes. I REALLY like Sam Vimes. He's ex-military, hates politicians, and loathes diplomats. His idea of dealing with a diplomatic problem is to take it on head-first. He's a budding "Retief" (that's for all you Keith Laumer fans out there).
This book has a lot going for it, and it's "fat" (sorry about that) with jokes that only a government worker could identify (so if you work for the grab-a-mint, look hard!). The premise was one that was expected from developments between Carrot and Angua, because somehow Carrot had to meet the parents.
Now we know that dwarves think about other things besides "glod"-there's fat, for instance. We dig for oil and coal-they dig fat. Nice allegory, here.
For all that, there's lots here to laugh at and lots to think about. Consider the two dwarf candidates for king and their actions during the course of the book, then REALLY think about the ending. For Americans, the Stone of Scone is not common dinner conversation, so I'd suggest we Colonials look it up.
And read this book four, five, six times. You won't regret it.
Heavens to... Murgatroyd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2747528)

This product

The Fifth Elephant
The Fifth Elephant by Terry Pratchett (Hardcover - Dec 1 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 21.52
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews