Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars There's a reason it's a classic
Despite a somewhat confusing system of organization and indexing, this is a book that rewards its readers. Learn its secrets, and you will be a better cook for it.

For those who want the confidence of knowing they have the absolutely most authentic recipe possible. If you love Italian food and you don't have a nonna of your own, this is a great way to learn.
Published on April 24 2012 by Canuck reader

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Huge number of recipes
The Silver Spoon is a big book with a huge number of recipes, but don't expect to find every classic Italian recipe here, and where the classic recipe is included -- don't expect the best version either. I think the Silver Spoon probably works best if you already have other Italian cookbooks such as Marcell Hazan and you are just looking for more recipes.
Published on Oct. 1 2010 by Mercian Exile


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars There's a reason it's a classic, April 24 2012
By 
Canuck reader (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Silver Spoon (Hardcover)
Despite a somewhat confusing system of organization and indexing, this is a book that rewards its readers. Learn its secrets, and you will be a better cook for it.

For those who want the confidence of knowing they have the absolutely most authentic recipe possible. If you love Italian food and you don't have a nonna of your own, this is a great way to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100 Italian Cookbooks are never enough!, July 24 2006
By 
Bruno Bragoli (Hamilton, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Silver Spoon (Hardcover)
It does not matter how many books you have, "The Silver Spoon" in its depth and vastness of recipes fits that void of knowing where exactly to look for that first idea for today's special Italian dish. I am sure my ancesters cooking for the pilgrims coming along the Via Francigena through the mountains on their way to Rome would have delighted to have such a volume on hand. Its scope gets you right into the mind of the contemporary Italian in also providing those links to other cuisines that now make up a typical part of western life in the kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Huge number of recipes, Oct. 1 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Silver Spoon (Hardcover)
The Silver Spoon is a big book with a huge number of recipes, but don't expect to find every classic Italian recipe here, and where the classic recipe is included -- don't expect the best version either. I think the Silver Spoon probably works best if you already have other Italian cookbooks such as Marcell Hazan and you are just looking for more recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, April 12 2010
This review is from: The Silver Spoon (Hardcover)
i've not yet encountered a bad recipe in here. so far everything is delicious. no unnecessary steps or whatever, and not too gourmet as to be unpractical for everyday use. delightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a cookbook I'd purchase, Nov. 28 2009
This review is from: The Silver Spoon (Hardcover)
At first glance, it has hundreds of recipes for inspiration and that is all what this book is for. If you try some recipes, there are recipe errors with the quantities and measurements, there are also errors with the cook times. In addition, the book is more of a list of recipes and less encyclopedic as it could be. This isn't the book that would explain why you should braise certain meats or how different types of fish cook (easily dry out or stays moist) etc..

However, despite these errors, if you know the basics of cooking through your own studies and need ideas and inspiration, this book could help. I would not necessarily use it to actually cook from, but to find something I've never tried before. I thought it was interesting to see a recipe for duck & honey, types of risotto, chicken with ratataouille etc..What I would do is take from that idea but not use the method of cooking it/measurements.

Some of their recipes are also basic and doesn't necessarily inspire cooking - how to fry sausages, peas with carrots etc..things everyone can make and doesn't necessarily require instructions.

In all, I would probably spend the $20 on another cookbook, but this book isn't a complete lost when it comes to to the ideas and different ways one ingredient can be prepared. I'll admit there are things I've taken from this book with my existing list of recipes (from other sources) and it was fun to try it in a different way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather Disappointing, Nov. 29 2006
By 
bachef (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Silver Spoon (Hardcover)
If possible I would give this about a 2.5 star rather than 3.

I had high expectations for this book but found it to be less encyclopedic than what I was hoping. As soon as I heard it was being released I jumped on it (I love all things Italy and travel there whenever I can!) but this is truly one book I could do without. The recipes in this book are the same old (albeit some very good recipes) - nothing new here. I rarely refer to it for recipes but as an avid reader who is passionate about food, pick it up from time to time for inspiration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Silver Spoon
The Silver Spoon by Editors of Phaidon Press (Hardcover - Oct. 1 2005)
Used & New from: CDN$ 21.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews