Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for 20th century art!
Arranged alphabetically, which is very helpful. Sadly, it generally has but only one painting or photo for each artist, but then the intent here is to cover as many artists as possible, not to be comprehensive on any one artist, and it's quite heavy as it is already.
The 20th Century Art Book is an EXCELLENT reference guide. How many times reading the Arts section of...
Published on Feb. 12 2004 by David J. Huber

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not comprehensive
The basis for selecting the artists for this book seems to be (1) the art editors' whim, and (2) Western-centric values and standards of what makes the art "important" in the 20th century. For example, there is NO entry for Saul Steinberg, whose work is probably one of the most recognizable of 20th century artists. Buy the book if your interest is a taste of...
Published on Dec 13 2001 by Amina Henriksen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for 20th century art!, Feb. 12 2004
By 
David J. Huber "Addicted to books!" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Arranged alphabetically, which is very helpful. Sadly, it generally has but only one painting or photo for each artist, but then the intent here is to cover as many artists as possible, not to be comprehensive on any one artist, and it's quite heavy as it is already.
The 20th Century Art Book is an EXCELLENT reference guide. How many times reading the Arts section of a newspaper, or an interview with an artist, etc., does one hear a reference to another artist and one has no idea who that person is? With this book, you can quickly check it out!
I also very much appreciate the cross-linking - since it's alphabetical, and not by style or school of thought, the editors have listed on each artists's page other artists who are similar or somehow related to that one. I have found the cross-referencing to be very helpful many times.
Unless one already has an encyclopedic knowledge of art of the 20th century, this is a PERFECT book for one's art library as a reference tool. And it's also a GREAT jumping off point for exploring artists: page through randomly, come across something interesting, then go and look for a book of that artist, or head to the museum "in search of."
I treasure my copy, and would not ever wish to part with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Visual treats, Sept. 1 2003
A fine overview of 20th-century art. Intelligently organized (alphabetically), colorful & detailed. 500 artists are represented through excellent photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its fantasticallybrilliant, Dec 5 2002
By A Customer
i like the book a lot it has nice pictures in it. My favouurite bit is the page on Lithctenstien because the colours are nice. I like the dotty bits as well. My mummy says that it helps me with my art when i draw pictures at school. i tryed to draw my muummy in dots and it looks really good. thankyou amazon because you have helped me and i had a lot of fun looking at the biook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not comprehensive, Dec 13 2001
By 
Amina Henriksen (New York, NY, United States) - See all my reviews
The basis for selecting the artists for this book seems to be (1) the art editors' whim, and (2) Western-centric values and standards of what makes the art "important" in the 20th century. For example, there is NO entry for Saul Steinberg, whose work is probably one of the most recognizable of 20th century artists. Buy the book if your interest is a taste of what's out there. The book cannot be relied on as an objective and general, professional reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Overview of 20th Century Art, Dec 12 2001
By A Customer
One painting for each artist, headed by a short analysis of the work and references to other artists who may be connected by subject, style or medium.The paperback is great for reference but I much prefer the hc with its larger reproductions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extensive and Enjoyable, May 10 2000
This book is great for reference or just entertainment in a lazy moment. It provides information on a great number of contemporary artist with high quality representations of one of their works, including cross references to other artists of similar style or movement. The glossaries include an index of terms, movements and museums. I must have paged through this book a hundred times and just can not get tired of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Quick Reference Guide, Oct. 28 1999
By A Customer
I have "The Art Book" by Phaidon and referred to it many times over the years. "The 20th Century Art Book" is an excellent companion and serves as a wonderful reference book to the world of contemporary art. It is small, easy to carry around, packed with great information on some of the most influential artists of this century and explains why these particular artists had such an influence on the world of art today. It is by no means an exclusive and detailed critique of art, rather a great general overview. "The Art Book" and "The 20th Century Art Book" are the best, littlest coffee books you can purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pretty dang darned good, May 30 1999
By A Customer
I bought this book last night and its so fun. If you like the original "artbook" you'll love it. Its so fun just to flip through and discover new things. I'm not sure if I like it quite as much as the original "artbook", but its close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc1b16eb4)

This product

The 20th Century Art Book
The 20th Century Art Book by Editors of Phaidon Press (Paperback - May 1 2007)
CDN$ 29.95 CDN$ 23.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews