march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$27.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 2, 2012
Great book, the recipes are very good and all the pictures make it amazinlly eassy to follow, it has a great plus wich is a planning minute by minute for every meal wich is a great extra help, I bought it a month ago and it hasn't left my kitchen counter since then.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2013
This is the best cookbook ever. It's very clear and recipes are easy to follow. I've been recommending it to everyone I know. It shows that it's possible to make really tasty food with not many ingredients (I hate cookbooks that have recipes with a mile long ingredients list). It also helps plan meals so you're actually able to cook 3 dishes at the same time. A must have in every cookbook lover library.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2016
Chef Ferran Adria, who ran the world's best restaurant before opening a foundation dedicated to developing and sharing creative excellence and the world's finest gastronomy has, in this incredible book, made it possible tor the average family to make healthy meals properly. He recognizes that the average family, usually 2 to 4 people, cannot and will not cook, in the same way as restaurants and professional chefs do. This book is generously and specifically created for the rest of us to learn from, use and enjoy in our daily lives. This book enables our home cooking to become exceptional. Buying this book is possibly the most useful present you could give yourself and those you love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2014
This is a really good cook book. You can't find fault there. Chef Adria is one of/the best chef in the world.

The recipes in this book are very basic and very easy. Really meant for the home cook not a serious chef. It covers all the basics like stocks and sauces and is one of the best illustrated cook books as far as detail. Anyone can make anything in this book with all the detail. Also good is the way he does a complete meal which is a very nice feature.

If you have been cooking a long time and have a lot of experience you will probably find it a little basic. Even so there is still good material in here for everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2014
The "family" referred to in the title of this book is not your own family, but the "family" of 75 or so people who worked at the elBulli restaurant in Spain. Now closed, elBulli was for years regarded as the finest restaurant in the world, but one should not assume that this cookbook by its chef represents the highest art of cooking.

It instead offers recipes for the three-course simple, hearty, and often-inspirational meals that the "family" at elBulli served to themselves during their working day. Each recipe is scaled to serve from 2-6-20-75 people, ingredients lists are short, and preparation is usually easy. Your own family certainly won't be disappointed, and you may find ideas you haven't tried before. For example, a soft-boiled egg in the center of a soup plate with vichyssoise ladled around it, or a potato-chip omelet, or watermelon with menthol candies.

The book includes elementary advice about ingredients and tools and a well-stocked larder which may be useful to less-experienced cooks. It is very thoroughly illustrated with thousands of step-by-step pictures but they are not obsessively-lit perfect studio shots, simply perfectly-workmanlike and clear illustrations of the process. In some ways, this workmanlike book is the antithesis of what one might expect from "the finest chef in the world". Yet as a practical guide to quickly preparing interesting and delicious hearty meals, I'm glad to add it to my well-stocked cookbook library.

As a bonus, it's published by Phaidon which as usual offers exceptionally good-quality binding, paper, and other production characteristics. This is a book with which you'll create some favorite family meals, and eventually pass along to your children as they start their own families.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2013
This was recommended to me by a friend so I bought it. I love that it has pictures for each step of the recipe so you know what it is supposed to look like. And it groups the reciped together into meals so there is less thinking about how to put a whole meal together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
I bought this as a gift for a person who loves cooking. She was enthralled with the whole idea of serving good food to the restaurant staff, and the clarity of presentation and ideas, so clearly conveyed. She feels this is a new gem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2015
From the master behind the best restaurant in the world comes a simple guide for home cooks. Every recipe is doable for the home cook. This is an incredibly easy-to-follow book for the novice or expert cook. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2011
I expected a whole lot of difficult to understand processes. Not so. The book is beautifully designed and the processes detailed in the photos and instructions. This is a book I value in my kitchen at home and those at work.

Doug Murray
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2014
AMAZING, shows a picture of every step to prepare the plates and the meals are incredible!
Super well organized, clear and with very typical, easy and delicious Spanish plates.
Higihly recommend it to EVERYONE!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items