Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So useful.
Great book, the recipes are very good and all the pictures make it amazinlly eassy to follow, it has a great plus wich is a planning minute by minute for every meal wich is a great extra help, I bought it a month ago and it hasn't left my kitchen counter since then.
Published on Feb. 2 2012 by Maria Romero

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Menus are completely devoid of anything living or green!
Published 20 days ago by mysterylover


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So useful., Feb. 2 2012
By 
Maria Romero "Maria Romero" (Montreal Qc) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Family Meal: Home Cooking with Ferran Adria (Hardcover)
Great book, the recipes are very good and all the pictures make it amazinlly eassy to follow, it has a great plus wich is a planning minute by minute for every meal wich is a great extra help, I bought it a month ago and it hasn't left my kitchen counter since then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cookbook, Jan. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Family Meal: Home Cooking with Ferran Adria (Hardcover)
This is the best cookbook ever. It's very clear and recipes are easy to follow. I've been recommending it to everyone I know. It shows that it's possible to make really tasty food with not many ingredients (I hate cookbooks that have recipes with a mile long ingredients list). It also helps plan meals so you're actually able to cook 3 dishes at the same time. A must have in every cookbook lover library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine workmanlike cooking guide to simple, hearty meals, May 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Family Meal: Home Cooking with Ferran Adria (Hardcover)
The "family" referred to in the title of this book is not your own family, but the "family" of 75 or so people who worked at the elBulli restaurant in Spain. Now closed, elBulli was for years regarded as the finest restaurant in the world, but one should not assume that this cookbook by its chef represents the highest art of cooking.

It instead offers recipes for the three-course simple, hearty, and often-inspirational meals that the "family" at elBulli served to themselves during their working day. Each recipe is scaled to serve from 2-6-20-75 people, ingredients lists are short, and preparation is usually easy. Your own family certainly won't be disappointed, and you may find ideas you haven't tried before. For example, a soft-boiled egg in the center of a soup plate with vichyssoise ladled around it, or a potato-chip omelet, or watermelon with menthol candies.

The book includes elementary advice about ingredients and tools and a well-stocked larder which may be useful to less-experienced cooks. It is very thoroughly illustrated with thousands of step-by-step pictures but they are not obsessively-lit perfect studio shots, simply perfectly-workmanlike and clear illustrations of the process. In some ways, this workmanlike book is the antithesis of what one might expect from "the finest chef in the world". Yet as a practical guide to quickly preparing interesting and delicious hearty meals, I'm glad to add it to my well-stocked cookbook library.

As a bonus, it's published by Phaidon which as usual offers exceptionally good-quality binding, paper, and other production characteristics. This is a book with which you'll create some favorite family meals, and eventually pass along to your children as they start their own families.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adria, Nov. 18 2011
By 
Doug W. Murray - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Family Meal: Home Cooking with Ferran Adria (Hardcover)
I expected a whole lot of difficult to understand processes. Not so. The book is beautifully designed and the processes detailed in the photos and instructions. This is a book I value in my kitchen at home and those at work.

Doug Murray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My TOP 1 cooking Spanish Recipe Book, June 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Family Meal: Home Cooking with Ferran Adria (Hardcover)
AMAZING, shows a picture of every step to prepare the plates and the meals are incredible!
Super well organized, clear and with very typical, easy and delicious Spanish plates.
Higihly recommend it to EVERYONE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the experienced cook, Jan. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Family Meal: Home Cooking with Ferran Adria (Hardcover)
This is a really good cook book. You can't find fault there. Chef Adria is one of/the best chef in the world.

The recipes in this book are very basic and very easy. Really meant for the home cook not a serious chef. It covers all the basics like stocks and sauces and is one of the best illustrated cook books as far as detail. Anyone can make anything in this book with all the detail. Also good is the way he does a complete meal which is a very nice feature.

If you have been cooking a long time and have a lot of experience you will probably find it a little basic. Even so there is still good material in here for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Family Meal: Home Cooking with Ferran Adria (Hardcover)
I bought this as a gift for a person who loves cooking. She was enthralled with the whole idea of serving good food to the restaurant staff, and the clarity of presentation and ideas, so clearly conveyed. She feels this is a new gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended by Friend, May 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Family Meal: Home Cooking with Ferran Adria (Hardcover)
This was recommended to me by a friend so I bought it. I love that it has pictures for each step of the recipe so you know what it is supposed to look like. And it groups the reciped together into meals so there is less thinking about how to put a whole meal together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, Nov. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Family Meal: Home Cooking with Ferran Adria (Hardcover)
Menus are completely devoid of anything living or green!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cookbook, April 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Family Meal: Home Cooking with Ferran Adria (Hardcover)
This cookbook brings back memories of Barcelona, but is also a fantastic daily meal planner for folks in North America. All ingredients are easy to source, the menus are balanced and delicious, and there are many useful tips in the book that help with meal planning. For instance, the time to prepare all recipes, together with a shopping list, is included for every daily meal. Whether you're cooking for 2, 6 or 75 people, this is a great cookbook. I liked it so much that I bought extra copies to give to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Family Meal: Home Cooking with Ferran Adria
The Family Meal: Home Cooking with Ferran Adria by Ferran Adrià (Hardcover - Oct. 3 2011)
CDN$ 35.00 CDN$ 21.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews