Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale too good to pass up
Caveat: Now if you're in the market to buy "The Tale of Peter Rabbit", I highly recommend that you do NOT purchase the horrendous version illustrated by David McPhail. This interesting monstrosity takes a book that was previous perfect and renders it perverse. I am reviewing the original Beatrix Potter edition of this tale, but because Amazon.com doesn't like to...
Published on April 30 2004 by E. R. Bird

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Timeless
A timeless story with charming illustrations. While the basic story is simple, it introduces a child to the concept of an underlying message wrapped up in text. The attribution of human characteristics to the animal world is a wonderful way of getting urban children closer to animals. The constancy of basic emotions portrayed make it an all time classic. The quality of...
Published on Feb. 8 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale too good to pass up, April 30 2004
By 
E. R. Bird "Ramseelbird" (Manhattan, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 01 Tale Of Peter Rabbit (Hardcover)
Caveat: Now if you're in the market to buy "The Tale of Peter Rabbit", I highly recommend that you do NOT purchase the horrendous version illustrated by David McPhail. This interesting monstrosity takes a book that was previous perfect and renders it perverse. I am reviewing the original Beatrix Potter edition of this tale, but because Amazon.com doesn't like to differentiate reviews, I'm fairly certain that this review will also appear for the McPhail book as well. Please, dear readers, do not in any way shape or form purchase the McPhail version if you want the original adept "Peter Rabbit"! Where Potter is adept and charming, McPhail is syrupy and doe-eyed. Where Potter is subtle, McPhail is over the top. Where Potter succeeds, McPhail fails. To locate an original edition of "The Tale of Peter Rabbit" click on the author "Beatrix Potter" as it appears at the top of this screen. That should bring you to a selection of choices, one of which is the original "The Tale of Peter Rabbit". Oddly, the only way to purchase that particular original version of the tale is to select her name. I don't know why. Call it a flaw in the Amazon.com system, if you will.
Now, why doesn't Peter Rabbit age? I'm not being literal here, people, so please don't inundate me with explanations that patiently explain that fictional characters in books cannot get old. I won't hear a word of it. Reading "Peter Rabbit" today is just as fresh and new an experience as it was one hundred years ago. Author Beatrix Potter created the story of Peter Rabbit for a young boy with whom she was acquainted. Using the novel idea of drawing animals as they appeared in nature, just in funny clothes and talking, her books are remarkable because she had a dual talent for both illustration and clever narrative. Now after all these years I opened up "Peter Rabbit" to see why I loved it as much as I did as a kid. And the fact of the matter is, it hasn't aged a smidgen. A remarkable and astounding feat for a story originally published in 1903.
Peter lives, as many of us know, in a large fir tree with his mother and his siblings Flopsy, Mopsy, and Cottontail. His father was baked in a pie (a fact that many parents have decried as too dark for children, and that many children have shrugged at without a second thought). Though instructed by his mother NOT to go digging in Mr. McGregor's garden, he's a naughty little thing. His tasty trip is brought up short, however, when he stumbles across the farmer himself. In the course of their chase Peter loses his little blue jacket with the shiny brass buttons and must return to his mother (after a series of close shaves) without it or his shoes. He is promptly put to bed with a cup of camomile tea (a fate we non-camomile tea drinkers must assume is harsh) while his siblings eat the tasty blackberries they picked that morning.

Beatrix Potter claimed that though she was adept at illustrating animals, she had the darndest time (my words, not hers) drawing people. You will note, therefore, that Mr. McGregor is a bit of a featureless wag. The story was remarkable in that it was the first time (I believe) that animals drawn in a picture book actually looked like real animals. Peter is exactly the kind of bunny you'd expect to catch in your yard, except that he's occasionally wearing jaunty spring wear. The similarities in this tale to that of the Brer Rabbit tales of the American South is interesting but due to the fact that Potter was writing this story in 1903 Britain, she probably didn't steal the plot. The book is a classic in the purest sense, of course. If you can get a copy that is small (intended from the start to be the size that little hands could open easily) do. It's a beautiful tale that is as fresh and green today as it was when written long long ago. A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic for adults and children, Nov. 8 2003
This review is from: 01 Tale Of Peter Rabbit (Hardcover)
Four rabbit children are told to pick berries by their mother, who also warns the rabbits not to go near Mr. McGregor's garden. Flopsy, Mopsy and Cottaintale obey their mother, but Peter, the mischievous of the four rabbits, ignores his mother's warning and ventures off for some tasty food from Mr. McGregor's garden. While Peter is greedily eating some radishes, he is spotted by Mr. McGregor. Peter tries to dash out of Mr. McGregor's way, only getting further and further away from the garden gate. Will Peter get away from Mr. McGregor, and find his way out of the garden? What will happen when his mother hears what he has done?

Personal Response:
I have loved this story since I was little, probably because any child can relate to Peter's mischievous ways. I have not met a child who could not attest to getting in over their heads after doing something they were told not to do. Beatrix Potter does an amazing job illustrating this well known tale. She brings life to the characters with her beautifully detailed illustrations. The illustrations have soft lines and curves to give a pleasant fell to the story. The pictures go along with the pages of the story as well as adding detail to the reader's mind about the plot and setting. The reader can see the vastness of the garden by looking at Beatrix Potter's illustrations.
The author's ability to suspend disbelief is not very great, because of the nature of the story. This story is made to be a fairy tale, which is not usually believable to children or adults. Children are accustomed to talking animals in stories at the age they would read this book. However, the plot of the story is very realistic to the child. It is realistic because the child can relate to disobeying their parent, and getting into trouble of some sort. They can also relate to the punishment that Peter gets at the end of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Book for Young Toddlers, Aug. 6 2000
I purchased this book for our daughter when she was about 6 months old but she wasn't at all interested in it, unlike 95% of our other purchases. Then at about 12 months she picked it out for me to read it to her, and it has increasingly become a favorite. I think the reason she didn't like it earlier on was, ironically, the same reason I readily purchased it - the beautiful watercolor illustrations. While they are very beautiful, they are somewhat muted resulting in a look that blurs all of the detail together. Of course, this is just a guess. At any rate, she now very much enjoys this book, and anticipates the action, such as Peter sneezing, or the "scr-r-ritch, scratch" of a hoe. Board books with a storyline are somewhat more difficult to find than the counting, color, alphabet, opposites, etc. kind, and my daughter has always definitely enjoyed stories. Additionally, this book teaches us there are repercussions for our actions, but in a tone that is mild and appropriate for young toddlers. If this is what you're looking for, and you're not looking for storybooks for a younger baby, this would be an excellent choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful tale of Peter Rabbit, Dec 10 2002
By 
marcus wright (Prairie Village, Kansas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 01 Tale Of Peter Rabbit (Hardcover)
Peter Rabbit is one of four rabbits in his family. Very much curious as well as disobedient, Peter decides to wonder off into Mr. McGregor's garden. He has heard the warning given to him by his mother of what Mr. McGregor does to curious, wandering rabbits. Peter slips away from his brother's and sister's while they play in the fields and decides to see this wonderful garden. While in the garden, Peter fills his stomach with delicious carrots, lettuce and other various vegetables. While eating, Mr. McGregor finds the somewhat stuffed rabbit and chases him around his garden. Peter, realizing the mistake he made, only wishes to be free, that he might not make the same mistake again. This book is very well written and can capture the heart of even the oldest person. Filled with detailed pictures, Peter comes to life in this classic tale of tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kat's Kind Review, Oct. 30 2002
By A Customer
The Tale of Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter was an excellent book. I would recommend it to people of all ages even though it was s targeted towards younger children. The book was about four little rabbits that all wanted to go down the lane or into the fields. The only place that they were not allowed to go was Mr. McGregor's garden. Flopsy, Mopsy and Cottontail were good little bunnies and went down the lane to the field. But Peter was very mischievous. He went to Mr. McGregor's garden!! When he got into the garden he saw the best sight of his life. There was food galore! He started to eat and eat and eat. He couldn't stop. Then Mr. McGregor found him and chased him through the garden! Peter had many obstacles that stood in his way! Did he make it out safe? Read the book and you will find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Peter Rabbit, Jan. 28 2007
This review is from: 01 Tale Of Peter Rabbit (Hardcover)
In examining a book such as Peter Rabbit, it is important that

the superficial chracteristics of its deceptively simple plot

should not be allowed to blind the reader to the more substancial

fabric of its deeper motivations. In this report I plan to discuss the sociological implications of family pressures so

great as to drive an otherwise moral rabbit to

perform acts of thievery which he consciously knew were

against the law. I also hope to explore the personlaity of Mr.

Macgregor in his comflicting roles as farmer and humanitarian.

Not to mention the extreme pressure exterted on him

bu his deeply rooted rivalry with Flopsy, Mopsy and

Cottontail!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, Feb. 8 2001
By A Customer
A timeless story with charming illustrations. While the basic story is simple, it introduces a child to the concept of an underlying message wrapped up in text. The attribution of human characteristics to the animal world is a wonderful way of getting urban children closer to animals. The constancy of basic emotions portrayed make it an all time classic. The quality of printing disappoints though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must, Jan. 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: 01 Tale Of Peter Rabbit (Hardcover)
I got this book when I was very young and to this day I still love it. It's a cute story about this naughty little bunny going into Mr. McGregors yard and getting into a big mess. I love the drawings and everything about it. A great book for the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Rabbit Royal Edition, Dec 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Because I am a Beatrix Potter fan and love Peter Rabbit, I was delighted with the Peter Rabbit Royal Edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A classic, Sept. 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 01 Tale Of Peter Rabbit (Hardcover)
A classic to add to any young person's collection. Bought it to give as a first birthday present, hopefully they'll enjoy it as much as I did as a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

01 Tale Of Peter Rabbit
01 Tale Of Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter (Hardcover - March 28 2002)
CDN$ 7.99 CDN$ 7.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews