Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars MORE THAN SIMPLY A MYSTERY...
ATTICUS is my second exposure to the writing of Ron Hansen (the first being MARRIETTE IN ECSTASY) ï¿ and the quality and power of his writing in both cases leads me firmly down the road to explore his other works. This is a novel of uncommon power and grace.
Hansen works with words in much the way a sculptor works with clay or stone ï¿ he molds them...
Published on Feb. 18 2003 by Larry L. Looney

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Atticus
Atticus was a slow, but enjoyable read full of vivid imagery. Hansen has the ability to lay a scene in front of the reader's eyes, whether it is a character's bedroom, the jungle just outside Resurrección, Mexico, or the rowdy streets of Boystown. The story of Atticus revolves around a successful cattle rancher named Atticus Cody and his quest to determine the...
Published on Sept. 30 2003 by Greg Loflin


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Atticus Review courtesy of Brian French, Oct. 2 2003
By 
brian french (sac town, ca usa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Atticus (Paperback)
Atticus Cody, is a 67-year-old Colorado rancher, and his son, Scott, a excellent but plauged artist, have been on edge with one another since his mother was killed in a car accident, in which Scott was the driver. Atticus'insight on life and responsibility is as strong as Scott's is shattered and weak. When Atticus is told of Scott's untimely death off the coast of Mexico, he investigates his son's party-hard lifestyle among the natives, runaways, and distressed seekers of a cure for cancer, hoping to shed light on the loss of his youngest son. Instead what he finds is the assurance that is son has not committed suicide but rather was murdered and the need to unearth the truth not only for Scott but to give him closure. This story told from both the father and son narrative, the story accomplishes both mystery and one of deep emotion between father and son. the characters of Atticus, Scott, and Renata, Scott's part time, part lover, are vibrantly expresseed, and the fake citry of Resureccion is portrayed as real as Mexico City, itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Atticus, Sept. 30 2003
By 
This review is from: Atticus (Paperback)
Atticus was a slow, but enjoyable read full of vivid imagery. Hansen has the ability to lay a scene in front of the reader's eyes, whether it is a character's bedroom, the jungle just outside Resurrección, Mexico, or the rowdy streets of Boystown. The story of Atticus revolves around a successful cattle rancher named Atticus Cody and his quest to determine the true cause of the death of his youngest son, Scott. Atticus flies down to Resurrección, Mexico, to take care of the remains of Scott's apparent suicide. Atticus comes to believe that his son was murdered, and so, unrealistically, Atticus becomes a crime-solving detective, interrogating Scott's friends and picking up clues. Nonetheless, one cannot help but feel sorry for Atticus, who has to deal with the grief of his son's death, the stress of an investigation, and a spell of Montazuma's Revenge. Hansen has a small host of well-developed characters that help to give some interesting twists to the story. An interesting contemporary mystery story; I recommend Atticus to anyone that enjoys a good sleuthing novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mysteriously Delightful, Sept. 21 2003
By 
Alex Llanera (Sacramento, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Atticus (Paperback)
Atticus is a tale of mystery, deception, love and hate. There are many different events in this book which misguide the reader and transpose the plot to indicate serious hurt or endangerment, when really it's a tool of misconception to create a dastardly plot to excite the reader. Now, Atticus is a Colorado rancher who discovers that his creative minded son, Scott has committed suicide in Mexico.
Throughout the story, Atticus is an investigator; this feature creates a twist in the character's format. He's a detective discovering the truth to the reader, while his son frolics around Mexico causing chaos and associating with the wrong crowd and being at the wrong place at the wrong time, and daddy has to pick up the pieces. Yet, I am impressed by the intuition of Scott to "cover up" his troubles.
I congratulate Ron Hansen for creating a story that's both compelling and entertaining on so many levels. Although, there were some lagging scenes with innumerable details I accepted the characters, plot and setting as a compelling story of love, forgiveness, and mystery. I give this book four stars. If you enjoy a good mystery, read Atticus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars In between good and bad., Sept. 11 2003
By 
This review is from: Atticus (Paperback)
I gave Atticus an overall rating of three because this was just an average book. The plot was good quality, and the characters were well developed. There is something about mystery novels that I really seem to enjoy. Atticus is a lonely old man who has lost a wife and more recently a son. I like the way his persistence on not to let go of his son helps him act like a detective. The religious symbolism is fun to catch and pay attention to also. This is just about all of what I got out of this book. The book wasn't really interesting until about one-third of the way into it. Once I got interested I was determined to finish it, but the ending wasn't what I was hoping for. It was kind of disappointing to see what was really going on in Ressureción, Mexico because I was expecting this big extravagant ending. Some people might like the way it all worked out like it did, but I don't think I would end the book like that. With the beginning and the end of the book on the negative side, the rest of the book gets brought down. The author is a good writer with the way he buts imagery and displays the Mexican culture. If you are looking for a quick mediocre mystery novel, Atticus is your book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Atticus: A Captivating Read, Sept. 11 2003
By 
"kornmansonguy" (El Dorado Hills, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Atticus (Paperback)
Atticus tells the story of a man (Atticus Cody) from Colorado and his son Scott, who are different from each other in values and lifestyle. Atticus demonstrates a conservative and disciplined way of life, whereas Scott is creative and more laid back. This first segment of the book is rather boring, as nothing interesting seems to be happening. However, the story redeems its integrity as the main conflict is introduced and the reading begins to pick up its pace.
Atticus eventually receives word that Scott had committed suicide in Resurrecion, Mexico. Devastated, he flies to Mexico to recover his son's body. After some time, Atticus obtains small bits of information that lead him to suspect that his son was murdered. As the story unravels and events take place, the reading becomes more and more intriguing. Ron Hansen keeps the reader in suspense; I couldn't help but to constantly wonder what would happen next. In addition, the author presents many misleading clues regarding the outcome, catching the reader off guard.
Ron Hansen's narrative style enhances the story. He provokes the reader to play an active role in the reading by providing indirect characterization and vague information. This allows the reader to make inferences and come to conclusions without being directly fed the information. Also, the author describes characters, objects, and places in the novel using interesting metaphors and similes. His descriptions give the reader a vividly detailed image of what is being talked about. "Cold snow crunched beneath his gray cowboy boots with the toothgrind noise of cattle chewing. Jewels of sunlight sparked from the whiteness everywhere." (19). This is an example of sheer brilliance. It shows (rather than tells) the reader what it looked and sounded like.
Over all, I would say this novel is a great choice for any reader. With the exception of the slow and boring introduction, this book keeps the reader interested until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Young and the Restless, Sept. 2 2003
By 
Johnny Ackler (Sac Town, California USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Atticus (Paperback)
This was a great well-written book. Hansen is a master for putting this book together. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in a good read, especially a good mystery. It is also a awesome story of how much love this Father, Atticus, has for his son. The beginning definitely started off slowly but reading on, I could not put the book down. This book is about a Colorado Rancher, Atticus Cody and his crazy trip to Mexico. He goes to Mexico because he has received word that his son died. When he arrives in Mexico, it looks more like a murder then a suicide as previously thought. As the book goes on we see what happens to Atticus through the eyes of someone else and the story really comes together. This is not a book one can read lightly, because if they are to they might miss certain details that are needed to bring the book together. Overall, I am glad I read this book even though it was summer reading. I might even go pick up another Hansen book since he pays so much precision to detail. I loved this book, and I know you will also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It was a book I read called, Atticus, Sept. 1 2003
By 
This review is from: Atticus (Paperback)
"Mr. Hansen writes vigorously, and like an angel."-New York Times Book Review. Even though, I was somewhat disappointed with this book. I didn't like the way Ron Hansen changed the point of view. I remember when reading this book I had to pay close attention to who was speaking. One moment I was in Colorado and the next I was in Mexico. It was very confusing. I also didn't like all the details. Everything was detailed to the smallest thing. "Atticus is a story of a father's steadfast and almost unfathomable love for his son, a mystery that Ron Hansen's fiction explores with a passion and intensity no reader will be able to resist."(back of book) It is true, although the writing was a little confusing and a little too detailed I did like the suspense that the book had. I found that even with all the details and sudden changes in the point of view it was hard for me to put this book down. It kept me going up until the end. Though I was somewhat disappointed with the way it was written in the end it was a stand up book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for being summer reading, Sept. 1 2003
By 
This review is from: Atticus (Paperback)
A rancher in Colorado, Atticus Cody, a 67 year-old father, learns that his youngest son has mysteriously died. He thinks that this death is very suspicious, and quite often catches himself pondering about the real events of his son's death. Since he is so curious about his son's death, he decides to go down to Resurrecion, Mexico, so he can "investigate." When Atticus gets down to Resurrecion, he tries to find out as much information as possible about who his son hungout with, and where. The clues he finds out, lead him to think that his son was murdered. Then the dirty work comes into play for Atticus. He has to sneak around to figure out what really happened to his son. That's as much info as I should give about this book. If you want more information, go read it or look on sparknotes like everyone else does.
Ron Hansen's Atticus starts out as a very confusing book because of the constant changing in narration during the plot. As the book goes along, it seems to make a lot more sense as why to Atticus does certain things. People who enjoy mysteries like these because it has all the needed elements to keep you going. Like those people, I thoroughly enjoyed this book for my summer reading. As expected, there can be certain things that a person would not like in this book. The one thing that bothered me about this book was the constant narration changing, and the lack of name usage when the people are talking. Since the author decided not to use names as much as I would have wanted, it is easy to get lost in who is saying what. I think the positives outweigh the negatives in the book, so i give it a strong 4 stars. Whoever enjoys a well-rounded murder mystery book, should definitely think about reading this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Atticus: An Exciting and Suspenseful Novel, Sept. 1 2003
This review is from: Atticus (Paperback)
Despite the slow, somewhat boring start, I became more and more interested and intrigued by this story as each chapter was unveiled. Atticus Cody, an older man who lives in Colorado, recieves word that his son, Scott, has commited suicide. Atticus therefore goes to Resurreccion, Mexico to bring Scott's body back to Colorado to be buried, however when he arrives he starts to notice small but significant details that make him suspect murder. Although this novel did start off somewhat slow, I think that Ron Hansen did a good job of keeping my attention throughout the entirety of the book. One negative about about the story is the lack of detail given about the characters. For example, throughout most of the book, the reader isn't told much about why Scott is so troubled. Mostly all that is known is that he suffered from a severe breakdown after his mother was killed in a car accident in which he was driving. I was somewhat perplexed when Hansen decided to comepletely turn the story around and change the point of view without any warning, however with a little bit of stick-to-itiveness, I kept reading and all my questions were answered. Although the ending of the story could have been drawn out a bit more, my overall opinion of Ron Hansen's murder novel is that it is an exciting and suspenseful novel that anyone would enjoy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Atticus: An Exciting and Suspenseful Novel, Sept. 1 2003
This review is from: Atticus (Paperback)
Despite the slow, somewhat boring start, I became more and more interested and intrigued by this story as each chapter was unveiled. Atticus Cody, an older man who lives in Colorado, recieves word that his son, Scott, has commited suicide. Atticus therefore goes to Resurreccion, Mexico to bring Scott's body back to Colorado to be buried, however when he arrives he starts to notice small but significant details that make him suspect murder. Although this novel did start off somewhat slow, I think that Ron Hansen did a good job of keeping my attention throughout the entirety of the book. One negative about about the story is the lack of detail given about the characters. For example, throughout most of the book, the reader isn't told much about why Scott is so troubled. Mostly all that is known is that he suffered from a severe breakdown after his mother was killed in a car accident in which he was driving. I was somewhat perplexed when Hansen decided to comepletely turn the story around and change the point of view without any warning, however with a little bit of stick-to-itiveness, I kept reading and all my questions were answered. Although the ending of the story could have been drawn out a bit more, my overall opinion of Ron Hansen's murder novel is that it is an exciting and suspenseful novel that anyone would enjoy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Atticus
Atticus by Ron Hansen (Paperback - Oct. 1 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews