Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars 3NF or "Don't put all your eggs in one basket"
In response to the other reviews, I do not believe that any one book is going to prepare you for the exam. And this book itself does not claim to. Throughout the text, there are ample references to Kalen Delany's "Inside SQL Server 2000" (A must have for any serious DB Designer/Admin) and to the BOL. If you use the book as it instructs, and you have the...
Published on March 25 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sloppy proof-reading wastes good beginners guide
If exam's are your motivation then this is only the starting point not the "Learn by rote" you need to guarantee success. If you're new to SQL Server then this training kit does what would be an excellent job if of gently introducing you to the world of SQL Server and relational databases, let down by sloppy proofreading. Some examples: Page 106 has three tables...
Published on April 4 2004 by I. D. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Sloppy proof-reading wastes good beginners guide, April 4 2004
By 
I. D. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MCSE Training Kit (Exam 70-229): Microsoft SQL Server(tm) 2000 Database Design and Implementation (Mass Market Paperback)
If exam's are your motivation then this is only the starting point not the "Learn by rote" you need to guarantee success. If you're new to SQL Server then this training kit does what would be an excellent job if of gently introducing you to the world of SQL Server and relational databases, let down by sloppy proofreading. Some examples: Page 106 has three tables to illustrate normalisation: a book table and TWO author tables. I think what they meant was a book table, an author table and an AuthorBook table and someone just didn't check the table captions. On page 73 the sp_helpprotect stored procedure is introduced. The example won't work because the stored procedure is called sp_helprotect. And when you hit brick walls with examples (try turning debugging on - the book makes it sound dead simple, the reality is you'll hit an "unable to connect" message that requires extensive research and additional work if you're running SP3) there's nowhere to turn. It's a shame because the book does an excellent job in other ways. But it's lazy. It gives the easy and obvious examples and sample questions and whenever anything that might require a bit of real explanation comes up if you're lucky it says "Go read somewhere else", if you're unlucky the subject doesn't come up at all. I'd still recommend it as a "gentle" way into SQL Server for those new to databases, but it could have been so much better with just a little more effort
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Review Material, March 16 2003
By 
vbguy "vbguy1" (Springfield, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: MCSE Training Kit (Exam 70-229): Microsoft SQL Server(tm) 2000 Database Design and Implementation (Mass Market Paperback)
I would not recommend this book to someone who needs a comprehensive textbook or manual for SQL Server. I would recommend it to someone who feel they know SQL Server well and just want to get ready for the exam. It seems to do a pretty good job of identifying the exam objectives and giving you summaries and practice exercises for those subject areas.
If there's a lot of stuff in the book that you don't know - or don't understand - then you probably need to learn more of the basics of SQL Server. Get another book, read Books Online, or maybe take a class. Use this book to identify your weakpoints - and then go from there.
The CD contains a fully-functional 120-day evaluation copy of SQL Server Developer edition that you can install on your PC. This can really help because you need to practice things, and try stuff out in order to do well on the exam. The exam is oriented toward problem-solving, not just regurgitating facts. I don't see how anyone could pass the exam without being able to try things out and practice with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3NF or "Don't put all your eggs in one basket", March 25 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: MCSE Training Kit (Exam 70-229): Microsoft SQL Server(tm) 2000 Database Design and Implementation (Mass Market Paperback)
In response to the other reviews, I do not believe that any one book is going to prepare you for the exam. And this book itself does not claim to. Throughout the text, there are ample references to Kalen Delany's "Inside SQL Server 2000" (A must have for any serious DB Designer/Admin) and to the BOL. If you use the book as it instructs, and you have the requisite experience (as outlined in the "About" section) then you will have learned a great deal and be prepared to pass the exam. If you are just looking for quick exam prep then buy the Troytech or Testkiller cheatsheets, but if you actually want to learn something then get this book and the aformentioned title by Ms. Delany.
Also, the other reviews are correct regarding the "generic" nature of the examples. The idea being to provide the prospective examinee with the fountations of good design and implementation practices. If you've been designing MS SQL solutions than it is an excellent way to review these principles. And if you've never designed MS SQL solutions then it's not a bad place to start.
Follow the instructions and you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3NF or "Don't put all your eggs in one basket", March 25 2002
By 
Yuri Mikailkov (Fredericksburg VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: MCSE Training Kit (Exam 70-229): Microsoft SQL Server(tm) 2000 Database Design and Implementation (Mass Market Paperback)
In response to the other reviews, I do not believe that any one book is going to prepare you for the exam. And this book itself does not claim to. Throughout the text, there are ample references to Kalen Delany's "Inside SQL Server 2000" (A must have for any serious DB Designer/Admin) and to the BOL. If you use the book as it instructs, and you have the requisite experience (as outlined in the "About" section) then you will have learned a great deal and be prepared to pass the exam. If you are just looking for quick exam prep then buy the Troytech or Testkiller cheatsheets, but if you actually want to learn something then get this book and the aformentioned title by Ms. Delany.
Also, the other reviews are correct regarding the "generic" nature of the examples. The idea being to provide the prospective examinee with the fountations of good design and implementation practices. If you've been designing MS SQL solutions than it is an excellent way to review these principles. And if you've never designed MS SQL solutions then it's not a bad place to start.
Follow the instructions and you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great to start with but not Complete, April 13 2003
By 
Gaurav Bindlish (Bellevue, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MCSE Training Kit (Exam 70-229): Microsoft SQL Server(tm) 2000 Database Design and Implementation (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is great for beginners. The topics covered in the exam are dealt very nicely. The book gives a head start to any person who has had little or no experience in SQL Server. For the experienced programmer as well, this booh has something. There is a case study which goes along with the chapters of the book and so you get a hand on feel of a live project.
But as I said this book gives you a head start. For complete understanding of the topic, u need to refer to book like Inside SQL Server 2000. Even Books Online is also sufficient. The topic structure in the same matches with the structure of the exam.
So I would say if you are starting to work on SQL Server or haven't been exposed to all the topics that are part of the exam, this book is nice. But later you have to refer to Book Online for detailed understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Did not prepare me well for the exam., July 23 2003
By 
Ryan Anklam (Oak Creek, WI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: MCSE Training Kit (Exam 70-229): Microsoft SQL Server(tm) 2000 Database Design and Implementation (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is supposed to prepare you for the 70-229 exam. It fails on almost every level, the questions at the end of each chapter are nothing like test questions. You'd be infinately better prepared if you read the sql server books online. Not only are they free, but they include the information you'll need to pass the exam.
If you want this book as resource to learn SQL Server 2000 i'd tell you to look elsewhere. SAMS 'Microsoft SQL Server 2000 unleashed' title is far more comprehensive.
In summary, i'd avoid this book like the plague. I had to read it because my training school required me to and I regret the wasted time. My time would have been much better spent reading through the books online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars MCS Training Kit, May 18 2002
This review is from: MCSE Training Kit (Exam 70-229): Microsoft SQL Server(tm) 2000 Database Design and Implementation (Mass Market Paperback)
Aside from an occasional good definition, this book is an example of how not to write a technical book. The authors assume so much on the part of the reader that even this IT pro has difficulty following him. I am certified in 7 and I found this book quite incomprehensible. I am getting the Wrox series to see how good they are. I generelly find MS-Press books to be rather good but this one seems to be a copy of Books Online. In fact the authors skip over so much material casuaslly refering the reader to see "Books Online." If I wanted to do that, I wouldn't have gotten the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a test prep book, Sept. 25 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: MCSE Training Kit (Exam 70-229): Microsoft SQL Server(tm) 2000 Database Design and Implementation (Mass Market Paperback)
This would be a good book for a junior DBA, or a mid-level programmer looking to come up to speed on database functionality, but it simply does not have the depth or breadth needed of a cert prep book. It does a good job of introducing concepts and giving basic excercises, but as soon as it starts getting into the meat of a topic, it stops and goes to another topic. I was looking for a book which would bring me back to speed on SQL Server (I used it through v6.0, then switched to Oracle), but it has almost none of the detail I needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars To Take With the Review Book, March 17 2003
This review is from: MCSE Training Kit (Exam 70-229): Microsoft SQL Server(tm) 2000 Database Design and Implementation (Mass Market Paperback)
When I finished studying this book, I had my 1st test in the review CD (the CD with the other book), Scoring only 64%. Then, I looked to the SQL books on line (in this book' CD) for some news on the parameters of the main TSQL statements (Create Table-Index-View-Procedure-Trigger, Begin Transaction, and so on). In the following tests on the review I scored every time 92/94%.
After 15 days studying not so much, I passed the exam at the 1st try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Better ways to prepare, May 29 2001
This review is from: MCSE Training Kit (Exam 70-229): Microsoft SQL Server(tm) 2000 Database Design and Implementation (Mass Market Paperback)
Although this book will probably help get you "ready" for the test (70-229), you will need several other resources to gain a true understanding of the concepts set forth. The excercises are far too general, but the essay type reviews at the end of each chapter are extremely helpful.
I would suggest Professional SQL Server 2000 Programming and SQL Server 2000 Developer's Guide as companions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MCSE Training Kit (Exam 70-229): Microsoft SQL Server(tm) 2000 Database Design and Implementation
Used & New from: CDN$ 7.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews