Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice add-on book for your library
The book is well written for a deeper understanding of sql 2000, it really helped fill in a few blanks and a few things a engineer sometimes overlooks with the overload of chores and tasks most of us now have.
I use this book along with the stored procedures and tuning and optimization for our corporate library.
If you need cold hard facts about your sql 2000...
Published on Feb. 21 2001 by Kevin Friesth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat useful
The information in this book is useful only to those who are clueless of SQL. Most of the insights are rudimentary and its "best practices" are common sense to most experienced SQL DBAs. If you are an experienced SQL DBA, I would recommend this book for only two reasons:
1)You want to obtain some stored procedures as a DBA utility. If you are already a good...
Published on Jan. 22 2004 by Jaewoo Kim


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat useful, Jan. 22 2004
By 
Jaewoo Kim "OB-Wan" (Santa Monica, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Resource Kit (Paperback)
The information in this book is useful only to those who are clueless of SQL. Most of the insights are rudimentary and its "best practices" are common sense to most experienced SQL DBAs. If you are an experienced SQL DBA, I would recommend this book for only two reasons:
1)You want to obtain some stored procedures as a DBA utility. If you are already a good T-SQL programmer, this will bring you limited value.
2)You want to have a good understanding of SQL Clustering and Log shipping. The book does better job than most in describing both SQL clustering and Log shipping. But the explanation is very general and more architectural than explaining how to implement and manage one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice add-on book for your library, Feb. 21 2001
By 
Kevin Friesth (Fort Dodge, IA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Resource Kit (Paperback)
The book is well written for a deeper understanding of sql 2000, it really helped fill in a few blanks and a few things a engineer sometimes overlooks with the overload of chores and tasks most of us now have.
I use this book along with the stored procedures and tuning and optimization for our corporate library.
If you need cold hard facts about your sql 2000 server then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Addition to Books Online, Sept. 4 2002
By 
Brian Kelley (Columbia, SC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Resource Kit (Paperback)
I don't have much of a need for the first few chapters of the book. They detail how to convert to SQL Server from another RDBMS platform. However, I know others have found the text useful. What I did find of value were the parts of the book which covered day-to-day operations, disaster recovery, and handling BLOBs. Security was decent, but not very fleshed out. It's a great addition to Books Online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good choice for practical information., Nov. 4 2001
This review is from: Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Resource Kit (Paperback)
Nooooooooooooo, this is not what I'm expecting from a Resource Kit Book. This is a purely conceptual, theoretical book, not necessarily about SQL Server 2000 and don't fit in Deployment or Support & Maintenance category. Instead it fits very well in Strategy & Planning or Evaluation category. This type of information is general to enterprise databases, not only SQL Server 2000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Resource, May 2 2001
By 
Rod Colledge (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Resource Kit (Paperback)
This is not a "how to" book or a training manual, but a full on reference companion to books online, and a must for anyone serious about SQL Server.
It's worth getting for the book alone, but the software is excellent. A HTML view of the system tables, and a slew of tools make this THE definitive companion to Books Online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, Nov. 28 2003
This review is from: Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Resource Kit (Paperback)
I used this book to prepare myself for the MCP Exam and I passed.
This book countains exellent examples and It is good for people who learns by modyfing examples.
I recommend this book specially for DBA who worked with the SQL 7 and want to focuss on new features of SQL 2K.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great coverage of SQL Server Data Warehousing topics, Oct. 16 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Resource Kit (Paperback)
I bought this book after searching for a good practical and design guide to the new data warehousing tools in SQL Server 2000. While not perfect none of the other tomes that I own on SQL Server do justice to this topic which is very hot in database circles these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and Essential, Nov. 6 2001
By 
John Herman "johnherman" (Mid-Atlantic States, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Resource Kit (Paperback)
It's a crying shame that Microsoft's best documentation is for sale rather than free in online help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Resource Kit
Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Resource Kit by Microsoft Corporation (Paperback - April 28 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 11.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews