Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great S/W guide got better
The book Pragmatic Programmer by Hunt and Thomas fell to the second spot on my most-frequent "read list" since receiving this new version of Code Complete, though they both serve slightly different goals with overlap.
CC2 is a great one-stop 'place' to go to when you want a great excuse to apply Stephen Covey's 'Sharpen The Saw' principle. This updated...
Published on July 18 2004 by Steve Bailey

versus
2 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Money
I hated this book, and couldn't bring myself to read past the first couple chapters. The author describes various metaphors for programming in the beginning, comparing them to metaphors for science. I didn't think this added anything to the discussion. As I read the book I felt that the author was talking down to me rather than carrying on a conversation. I don't...
Published on May 14 2009 by A. Guillon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great S/W guide got better, July 18 2004
By 
Steve Bailey "Steve" (U.S.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Code Complete (Paperback)
The book Pragmatic Programmer by Hunt and Thomas fell to the second spot on my most-frequent "read list" since receiving this new version of Code Complete, though they both serve slightly different goals with overlap.
CC2 is a great one-stop 'place' to go to when you want a great excuse to apply Stephen Covey's 'Sharpen The Saw' principle. This updated version has some great, fun to read and expert instruction on designing from scratch, whether it's OO, writing better routines, psuedocode, nested loops, or at the higher level: agile methods, etc..
His approach of talking to you, the programmer, is ideal: not too much humor, and an easy to read, but professional approach in the way he donates the contents of his brain: i.e. McConnell's lengthy experience in the field.
I read just a couple of paragraphs in a chapter before work one morning, and the advice I picked up saved so much time that same day. And it wasn't even specific to coding instruction. It was a piece of advice on a philosophy on how he personally determines how much upfront design he should settle on before coding.

Books like these are a little hard to muster up motivation once you first buy it and get the book on your shelf. Our motivation to do something comes from the picture in our head, or how something sounds, and at first you can't see how much good it will do to start spending precious time on it, as compared to some brand new book on a specific language that looks impressive to know.
But the truth is: refreshing your overall S/W construction techniques gives you so much more of your life back, because you will have way less bugs and a lot more fun maintaining the high-quality code you are now writing because of CC2.
I mentioned already that he covers OO, but I wanted to emphasize the excellent material he offers in this area. I am now seeing the benefit of measuring the quality of your classes by this guideline: are they true Abstract Data Types. ( rather than just trying to use the syntax that the language provides to its potential).
Great job on a pretty thorough re-write of a S/W development staple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, Concise, Easy to understand. The Holy Grail of progra, April 2 2006
Ce commentaire est de: Code Complete (Paperback)
Code Complete by Steve McConnell is the convergence (the crossroads) of experience, research, and theory. This book is invaluable, the Holy Grail of programming reference books. McConnell's writing style is clear, concise, easy to understand and often humorous.
Programmers on every level (from introduction to master) will benefit from reading this book. Programmers at the introduction level may find some topics advanced, but references to additional resources are close at hand. This book covers a broad range of interconnected topics ranging from: variable names, code-tuning, personal character, managing your manager, gonzo programming and much more. The emphasis is always on successful software design techniques.
McConnell nails the "hows", "whats" and most importantly the "whys"(with hard data) that so many other texts seem to avoid.
It's interesting to note that Code Complete is a required read to become a practitioner (intermediate) level employee in McConnell's company (www.construx.com).
Selected quotes from Code Complete:
"People have already made all the mistakes that you're making now, and unless you're a glutton for punishment, you'll prefer reading their books and avoiding their mistakes to inventing new versions of old problems." (Chapter 35)
"Once a programmer realizes that programming principles transcend the syntax of any specific language, the doors swing open to knowledge that truly makes a difference in quality and productivity." (Preface)
"The value of hands-on experience as compared to book learning is smaller in software development than in many other fields" (Chapter 35)
I prefer Code Complete over the Pragmatic Programmer; the topics discussed in the Pragmatic Programmer are a subset of Code Complete. The Pragmatic Programmer makes a good prerequisite to Code Complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, Jan. 19 2012
Ce commentaire est de: Code Complete (Paperback)
It was delivered fast enough. I heard a lot about this book. This is a Bible for a programmer. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource!, Jan. 31 2014
Achat Amazon vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Code Complete (Paperback)
I started reading the book front to back and had it read in the first few weeks I owned it. Now it's a valuable resource that I reference often. Written from the point of an experienced developer it really gives you the tools needed to design and implement large scale software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential volume for your bookshelf, April 5 2004
By 
Jay "Tell us about yourself!" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Code Complete (Paperback)
The original Code Complete has long been regarded by many serious software developers as a "must have" compilation of software construction best practices. CC2 has similar breadth and depth and has been thoroughly updated to include discussion of emerging methodologies as extreme programming and best practices such as refactoring.
Steve McConnell provides a balanced, thoughtful discussion of competing opinions along with a wealth of references to additional materials covering specific topics in more detail. At the same time, McConnell has a clear voice articulating his judgment on various controversial topics.
Overall, CC2 is an essential book to include in your library whether you're just starting out in your career or an old grey hair responsible for mentoring teams. In both cases, CC2 puts a mountain of software construction best practices at your fingertips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another classic, March 7 2004
By 
Mr. W. Dieterich (American in Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Code Complete (Paperback)
Have not read the final version, just various chapters released for reader commets. A definite replacement for the first version. All areas have been updated and new chapters on topics such as refactoring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book should be on your shelf, if you are in software development business....., Aug. 24 2010
Ce commentaire est de: Code Complete (Paperback)
This is a great book.
No matter if you are junior application developer, team lead or manager, you'll find usefull information for yourself and your team.
There a lot of practical examples on code optimization and efficient usage of the resources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Money, May 14 2009
By 
A. Guillon (Toronto, ONT Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Code Complete (Paperback)
I hated this book, and couldn't bring myself to read past the first couple chapters. The author describes various metaphors for programming in the beginning, comparing them to metaphors for science. I didn't think this added anything to the discussion. As I read the book I felt that the author was talking down to me rather than carrying on a conversation. I don't think this book is of any value, and would strongly suggest you check it out from a library before you buy it (I wish I had).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb39b1810)

This product

Code Complete
Code Complete by Steve McConnell (Paperback - June 19 2004)
CDN$ 52.99 CDN$ 33.22
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews