Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, poor exam
Having experienced the monster exam 70-216 for MCSE 2000 I was very curious whether this W2k3 book lived up to the task. The 70-216 MS Press book was poor to say the least.
I was surprised that not only this book was excellent to read, but it even filled in some things I didn't know before. The hands-on exercises were good as well.
Things like CIDR were...
Published on Jan. 29 2004 by Marcel van Os

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't rely on this one alone to pass the exam...
Having just taken the 70-291 exam, I can assure you that this is not a full and complete study guide for the real exam. The book is made up of something around 1000 pages, however, for each lesson review, the full questions for each lesson are repeated in the answer section, padding the book's pages quite a bit. Incompleteness in and of itself is not entirely bad, but I...
Published on March 27 2004 by John W. Crockett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars It's not very good really, June 28 2007
By 
I had to take the time to write a review of this book to warn everyone off it. It was clearly written in a rush as several of the practical exercises are impossible to actually perform. The book is full of typos, some of which are serious. The worst chapter I thought was the one on clustering which gave me the strong impression the authors haven't got a clue about clustering whatsoever, they recommend using a quorum resource in the practical exercise using two nodes, but how can you do that without a quorum resource? I was astonished at that mistake, the whole chapter is a complete mess.

I dread to think about the people who buy this book who don't have as much experience with IT and can't recognise the mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly a great resource for learning Exchange 2003, July 13 2004
By 
Frank Genar "frank_ge" (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There is not a single diagram in this book!
Everything in this book is explained in text, which makes learning very, very time-consuming. So many times a little diagram could have been be very helpful in explaining how the various components of such a complex system work together. It's missing. These authors obviously have had the diagrams next to them, described it from top to bottom and from left to right, then leave it to the reader to reconstruct the diagram from the textual description. Frustrating.
The book also doesn't have a single table. Up to the reader to reconstruct the tables from the text.
The most surprising thing missing in this book are page numbers! I never realized I used page numbers so often.
It's very hard to go back and forth, searching in the TOC or the register takes a lot of time to bring you to the section you need.
Another sign of the speed with which this book has been written: so many typos that it's really annoying.
This book is totally unfit for what is was intended: studying Exchange 2003.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No Longer Acceptable, June 2 2004
By 
Steve Lalonde (Colorado United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Countless times I have been foolish enough to think that since it is a Microsoft product, there would be a higher quality of content, style, teachability, and quality. For me this book finally broke the camel's back. Why in the world that between two authors, all the proof readers, the senior editors, junior editors, editing editors, the project managers, acquisition editor, copy editors, desktop publishing specialist, etc etc etc, one cannot depend on a decent book with minimal errors (and I am not talking about spelling errors).
I want to start itemizing the errors but "hey!", I was out of a job for 6 months (the overseas outsourcing fiasco) not getting paid while those (see list above) were getting paid for something they did not even come close to doing and that is proof reading and editing.
The book has you in a yoyo, dcpromoing up, down, back to standalone, then back to memeber server just to go through the books chapters. Just know that if you were to really go through the book as it is written, be prepared to have many machines with many operating systems, and also be prepared to build and rebuild just to learn Exchange 2003. (Hint: use vmware and answer files - also own All the operating systems and all the Exchange applications since 5.5) <-- Yeah, everyone just has those in their back pocket)
I have finished the book and the frustration of mistakes and serious errors on "how to's" alone could disappoint even an advanced technical MCSE. The authors are also over-zealous in using all the Microsoft jargon in every sentence when just some simple wording would have worked wonders. The authors also present step by step examples but leave out the very preparation where one has to be in order to start the step by step implementation. Most all of this could have been easily corrected by "someone really working through the book" as a person who wanted to learn Exchange 2003. Not someone with a "proof reader" title that does little more than review a page or two.
Lastly but not the most important, I wrote one of the authors and very politely requested comfirmation on one part of a chapter involving forcibly removing an exchange server. (the process is wrong and 3 other book owners frustratingly agree as well, but no answer ever!!! Many authors respond if not with just a 2 or 3 sentence reply but they answer the questions when "their book" is seriously lacking or confusing. Not these authors.
There are now other books that can teach you Exchange 2003. This book could be used as a 3rd book if necessary but not a first book. That is why they even get 2 stars. Microsoft seems to always get authors that are there for the paycheck and recognition but not for the customer support. Tony Redmond's book is exceptional.
Just for the record. I am MCSE NT4\2000, Early Achiever MCSA 2003, MCDBA 2000 and CCNA so I was not new to technology when trying to learn Exchange 2003 with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Don't rely on this one alone to pass the exam..., March 27 2004
By 
John W. Crockett (Huntington Beach, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having just taken the 70-291 exam, I can assure you that this is not a full and complete study guide for the real exam. The book is made up of something around 1000 pages, however, for each lesson review, the full questions for each lesson are repeated in the answer section, padding the book's pages quite a bit. Incompleteness in and of itself is not entirely bad, but I found the book to be often misleading and containing several errors. The book is not without its merits, though. The accompanying CD contains a trial version of the Server CD and the labs and exercises were very helpful. The book on CD is also useful to have, especially when you want to study on the go and don't want to drag the book around with you. Call-outs in the text point you to think about what's on the test, too. However, if you're going to take the exam, make sure you don't rely on this book by itself. It's pretty weak on security policies and SUS, both of which are tested on the exam. If you arleady have study guides for this exam, this isn't a bad addition to your library, but it shouldn't be your only book to help you prepare for the exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It�s sad really�, March 24 2004
By A Customer
Usually the MS Press cert books are pretty good, I've passed several of the MCSE (70-290, 291, 293, 294) tests recently and have been using these books as the primary preparation tools. Unfortunately this book does not live up to the others in the series. In fact, this book is poorly organized from start to finish. There are several places throughout the book where the authors seem to cut and paste from other chapters. All of the books that I have read lately contain some errors (usually typo's or features that were not finalized prior to the books release) but this book seems to more than its fair share.
It seems that the authors are trying to take a person without any prior skills and teach them what they have to know to pass the exam. Rather than focusing on Exchange the book is all over the place and does not really cover any subject in-depth. The chapters do not build on the subject in a logical order and tend to skip around within the lessons. One chapter your working with clusters and the next your working on recipients. After a couple chapters your working on virtual servers and how they work with clusters. The exercises in the book tend to have you rebuilding servers more than learning the software. In short there is very little continuity. The last thing that I will mention is that the book really mixes terminology.
I wish that there were more books about Exchange 2003 available. It looks like this one was just trying to get to market first and first is not always best. Especially this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a few errors, March 1 2004
By A Customer
I have to say, I kinda liked this book, even though I found a number of errors. Between this and Unleashed, you probably can't go wrong. But both left holes and technet wasn't much help. Eventually I found what I needed and agree with the other reviewer that winstructor's website is brilliant and I consequently passed my exam using their videos.
This book has quite a few labs, which were nice. But very little on things like Certificates and Front/Back End Servers.
Overall if I had to choose either book, I'd go with Unleashed, even though its not an exam prep book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, poor exam, Jan. 29 2004
By 
Having experienced the monster exam 70-216 for MCSE 2000 I was very curious whether this W2k3 book lived up to the task. The 70-216 MS Press book was poor to say the least.
I was surprised that not only this book was excellent to read, but it even filled in some things I didn't know before. The hands-on exercises were good as well.
Things like CIDR were discussed in a very clear way which made me think why did I find this difficult before. Likewise the book isn't superficial but goes for in-depth knowledge and insight, just what you also need in real-life.
Simply stated this book has excellent depth and covers nearly all subjects, only some security related things get less attention than on the exam (SUS is emphasized in every exam so it seems). Then again, these should be known from the 70-290 exam and seem to be common knowledge for just about every exam.
What was disappointing however was the exam, of the topics in the book only 1/3 was covered in the questions I got.
This is the type of book MS Press should have made for the 70-216 exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book, Jan. 13 2004
By 
tom (dc,dc usa) - See all my reviews
Although I've been looking for an exchange 2003 book for a while, this one fits well for exam and reference! The authors did a great job! Hats off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MCSA/MCSE Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-291): Implementing, Managing, and Maintaining a Microsoft® Windows Server(TM) 2003 Network Infrastructure: Implementing, Managing, and Maintaining a Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Network Infrastructure
CDN$ 80.99 CDN$ 51.02
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews