Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Workflow that Works *Works*
I expected a book to help me with my job as web developer for a non-profit organization that has about 100,000 webpages. We do a major web page redesign once every three years, and the last redesign was a nightmare in its lack of organization. This book was to become my roadmap.
The layout of the book was pleasing. The front cover appealed to the designers in the...
Published on May 7 2003 by Jess

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to Web Publishing processes.
A book printed on glazed paper in a non-standard (10 in. x 8 in.) format normally incites me to be more careful before purchasing. A rather serious browsing made the book attractive. After reading from cover to cover, I can say that Web Redesign|Workflow that Works, is a good acquisition.
This book covers in details a Project Life Cycle, called Core Process,...
Published on April 23 2003 by deBeaujeu


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Redesign, Sept. 25 2001
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
"Web Redesign Worlkflow That Works" is every developers dream. It is the Bible of redesign. This book offers an essential step by step process of developing a web site project. It helps readers to understand how to get the clients perspective and how to deliver above and beyond what is expected in a professional and efficient manner.
How do you get content from the client? How do you budget for site tasks versus site team? How do you know a good client from a bad client? How do you understand your target audience? "Web Redesign Work Flow That Works" answers them all. Every site project has these issues and not going through every step as stated in this book could make or break a project. It's all about the user not only the company.
My company has developed many sites. I only wish I had this book as a resource in 1998 when I first founded my business. I would have saved thousands of hours and heart ache. This book is easy to follow and provides quick links to downloadable forms that help implement the site development process referred to within the book. I recommend this book to any and all involved in developing a site project. IT IS AN EXCELLENT BOOK!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Redesign, Sept. 25 2001
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
"Web Redesign Worlkflow That Works" is every developers dream. It is the Bible of redesign. This book offers an essential step by step process of developing a web site project. It helps readers to understand how to get the clients perspective and how to deliver above and beyond what is expected in a professional and efficient manner.
How do you get content from the client? How do you budget for site tasks versus site team? How do you know a good client from a bad client? How do you understand your target audience? "Web Redesign Work Flow That Works" answers them all. Every site project has these issues and not going through every step as stated in this book could make or break a project. It's all about the user not only the company.
My company has developed many sites. I only wish I had this book as a resource in 1998 when I first founded my business. I would have saved thousands of hours and heart ache. This book is easy to follow and provides quick links to downloadable forms that help implement the site development process referred to within the book. I recommend this book to any and all involved in developing a site project. IT IS AN EXCELLENT BOOK!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Profesional, insightful, comprehensive, and REAL!, Sept. 24 2001
By 
elizabeth d bryant and paul j bryant (Bainbridge Island, Wa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
Very comprehensive, both in it's approach to research methods, to the examples used to illustrate ideas and concepts.
I was particularly impressed with how the authors presented user research and needs analysis, and then proceeded to translate that into a functioning design which addressed those discovered needs.
Another point that I really enjoyed was the breadth of skill sets it appealed to. They talked about the need for user profiling, which would imply cultural anthropomorphic research, and also talked about staging areas and versioning control to appeal to the techies. Not only does this serve to show the various disciplines how they interoperate, but also helps to keep the readers attention and gives everyone a sense of position in the process.
Finally, they covered most bases of design, but did it in a way that it is really done. For example, in the design section, the use of thumbnail sketches and page grid layouts are shown to illustrate how you begin to build a site. While these methods are entirely personal to the designer, they offer a method of understanding to those who have no context, and a starting point to those learning.
All in all, this is a great "road map" to building a site from A to Z. While it may not drive to the depths of any particular skill or discipline, it does a fabulous job of talking about all of them and how they interoperate to accomplish the goal of building a web site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two authors with a sound plan for web (re)design, Sept. 22 2001
By 
Charles Ashbacher (Marion, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
Now that users and designers have accumulated extensive experience in the presentation and use of web pages, it is time to pass beyond the initial stages. For some time, the frenetic pace of development was such that the foremost thought was to get a functional site now and worry about everything else later. Web development also suffered from the problem that it is easy to make pages, but very hard to develop good ones. As an instructor of community education classes, I have seen many people who either create web pages in their spare time or would like to do so. Such an approach is fine for an amateur site, but professional sites require the full-time commitment of several people.
There are several themes running throughout the book, and nearly all begin with either plan or organize. From the first tickle of an idea to the ongoing maintenance of the site, it is necessary to organize every step, including the creative process. The first topic after the introductory chapter is subtitled, "The Core Process: a comprehensive plan for all types of teams, all kinds of companies, and all kinds of budgets." While this is a largely unattainable goal, the authors do succeed to a great extent, and design teams of all sizes can find information of value in their endeavors. Loaded with charts, action plans and diagrams of top-notch sites, this is the kind of book needed to add zing to your stagnant site.
There is one caveat though. It is very possible that reading this book will alter your mind. The site that you previously thought to be excellent may now be considered rather humdrum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complex Web Process Captured in a Publication...At Last!, Sept. 21 2001
By 
Eric Tam (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
FINALLY!!! A book that actually captures all aspects of today's Web Design workflow and process. This book is a fabulous educational tool for clients and vendors alike! As a Web Consulting expert, I can say that the content of this resource is accurate and insightful; that process in Web Design projects can mean the difference between success and failure; and that, in a young industry with significant impact on how business is conducted in today's economy, this book approaches Web Design process with an intellect and maturity that redefines yesterday's standards. This book clearly is an amalgamation of years of Kelly Goto's valuable experiences. The Web Design process can be so complex and convoluted...this book takes into consideration all potential ups and downs of a Web Design project and clearly articulates the proper processes to make every project a success! Providing both a macro and micro perspective on Web Design process, this book can easily serve as "The Resource" for all Web Design projects. Having seen Kelly Goto speak at various conferences and seminars, I can truly say that she has lived up to (and perhaps exceeded...) her astounding reputation as a true expert in Web Design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Go with the Workflow, Sept. 5 2001
By 
Andrew B. King (Ann Arbor, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
The Web has become so pervasive that redesigns are now more common than new designs. In fact, nearly all Fortune 500 companies now have Web sites (those that don't shall remain nameless), so redesigns are now the norm. This book is the first to address the Web site redesign process.
The book codifies the workflow work co-author Kelly Goto lectured extensively on at Thunder Lizard conferences since 1997. After one of her sold-out lectures on Web design workflow one of her loyal fans would invariably ask, "When are you going to write a book?" This book, and its accompanying Web site, is the answer.
Anyone can design (or redesign) a Web site. But to do it on time and on budget requires a disciplined approach. This book logically lays out that process. The authors concentrate on the "Core Process" common to all Web site design and redesign projects. By following their methodology, you can raise your chance of success for your next design project.
"The idea is to put everybody - the client and team alike - in the same frame of reference, using the same terminology, following the same path," says Emily Cotler, co-author of the book. "The Core Process that we developed can apply to any sized web team, with any sized budget, whether an initial design or a redesign."
Primarily aimed at project managers, this book is designed to streamline the redesign process for everyone involved. Whether your budget is $10K or $1M, the Core Process still applies. What is the Core Process you ask? It's a five phase roadmap of the workflow required for redesigning a Web site. The phases are:
* Defining the Project
* Developing Site Structure
* Visual Design & Testing
* Production & QA
* Launch & Beyond
The book follows this outline, expanding on each topic with detailed action items for each phase (discovery, clarification, planning for phase 1). The wonderful thing about this book is the synergistic effect it has with its companion Web site, which offers free on-line worksheets you can use in your own redesign projects. Client questionnaires, meta tag builders, and budget spreadsheets are all included and discussed extensively in the book. You save money by not buying an out of date CD-ROM, and everyone wins by having access to these battle-tested workflow worksheets.
Although only 253 wide pages, the book is packed with useful information. The authors liberally sprinkle the text with site redesign examples, illustrations, flowcharts, and checklists. Plus they feature full-page in context contributions from Web experts like Nielsen, Siegel, Veen, Lynda, and Zeldman (who all happen to be New Riders authors).
The advice is good, though marred by some minor technical errors. Gather are much data as you can beforehand, get client signoff on key documents, perform a competitive analysis and usability testing. However, I found one common misconception, the latest Flash plug-in is not supported by 96% of current browsers, as stated on page 124. It's Flash 3 that has a 96% penetration rate. Flash 5 has less than 80% penetration worldwide, and less than 70% in the US, according to a survey by NPD research for Macromedia.
To their credit the authors are collecting these types of errors and listing them on the accompanying Web site.
I wish I had this book when I was working at a Web design firm in the '90s. It would have saved us all a lot of headaches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ho-hum. Good content, but old hat., April 1 2002
By 
Shaun W. Taylor (Raleigh, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
The authors tell you to pay attention to the title: redesign. But more importantly, pay attention to part of that word: DESIGN. Workflow is most relevant on large projects, but how many large projects do you know that only focus on design? I've seen none--there is always a development aspect to the larger projects, even if it's integration with an exisitng system. There is a big black hole in this book that the authors do not cover--I was pleased that they pointed this out to the reader several times.
The content is valuable, and the text is well-written and easy to read. A lot of helpful checklists, forms, and questionnaires throughout the book. Valuable information for newcomers, to be sure. But anyone with experience in formal methodologies, or experience in mid to large-scale development efforts will find this a rehash of that which is already known. I would, howver, recommend this highly to anyone new to web application development and consulting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ¡Excelente Libro! - Excellent Book!, Oct. 11 2001
By 
Roberto Sanchez (Monterrey, NL México) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
Web ReDesign - Workflow that Works, es un libro muy completo y fácil de asimilar. Explica el contorno completo que uno como desarrollador debe contemplar para el ReDiseño de un sitio Web.
Te lleva de la mano desde la fase inicial de un proyecto hasta su implementación. Explica con mucha claridad cada una de las 5 diferentes fases, que proponen Kelly y Emily, para el desarrollo de un proyecto. Con ejemplos y casos de estudio reales.
Ofrece recomendaciones para los diferentes roles que integran un equipo de trabajo, como lo son: diseñadores gráficos, diseñadores de información, arquitectos de información, aseguradores de calidad, programadores, desarrolladores, administradores de proyectos, etc.
Para quienes desarrollamos sitios Web, es un magnífico complemento; para quienes van a iniciarse, es un medio muy completo de aprendizaje.
Como usuario mexicano/hispano, lo recomiendo sin duda alguna.
¡Felicidades!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Workflow that really DOES work!, Feb. 15 2002
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
"Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works" is worth it's weight in gold! Leave it up to two women to organize the complex tasks involved in web remodeling and arrange the parts into easy to manage, step by step guidelines.
Although I've been using most of the processes mentioned here in my own business for years, Goto and Cotler managed to think of things that I've been missing, and offer new process explanations that even my most inexperienced clients can understand.
As if their expert advice, ease of use and wealth of information weren't enough, the authors have included links to website downloads of the forms and layout schemes they recommend. If you only invest in one "Internet Advice" book this year, make it this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have project management book for Web Designers, May 19 2003
By 
Luke Artiaga (Aiea, Hawaii United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
This was one of the most enjoyable and beneficial web books I have ever read. The book is well written, nicely laid out visually and technically, includes great case studies, full of helpful sidebars, lists, diagrams and graphics, has very good chapter summaries, contains few errors and has all of the documents mentioned available for download on its companion website. Can't ask for more than that in my opinion.
I have been a professional web designer for several years now, and this book has helped me tremendously with workflow, client relations and project management. This book is not a technical book, but if you pair this book up with some of the more technical books (recommend Lynda Weinman's HOT series of books) you're good to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works
Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works by Emily Cotler (Paperback - Aug. 14 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews