Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Go with the Workflow
The Web has become so pervasive that redesigns are now more common than new designs. In fact, nearly all Fortune 500 companies now have Web sites (those that don't shall remain nameless), so redesigns are now the norm. This book is the first to address the Web site redesign process.
The book codifies the workflow work co-author Kelly Goto lectured extensively on at...
Published on Sept. 5 2001 by Andrew B. King

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to Web Publishing processes.
A book printed on glazed paper in a non-standard (10 in. x 8 in.) format normally incites me to be more careful before purchasing. A rather serious browsing made the book attractive. After reading from cover to cover, I can say that Web Redesign|Workflow that Works, is a good acquisition.
This book covers in details a Project Life Cycle, called Core Process,...
Published on April 23 2003 by deBeaujeu


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Get serious. Get this book!, Oct. 17 2001
By 
Otis Max (Douglas, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
Whether you're a member of a large company charged with web development, part of a small team in a web design firm, or a solo entrepreneur...this book is for you. When you want to get serious about your career and about efficient, professional site design and project management, this book is your mentor. The authors excel at clearly presenting their methodologies and articulating the reasons behind (ie pitfalls for nonperformance of) each step of the process. I was fortunate to hear Kelly Goto speak at a web design conference a few years ago in Denver. She was the most memorable presenter of the conference and her real world insights and advice will help you build your advantage in the marketplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Web Design Resource, Oct. 17 2001
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
"Web ReDesign - Workflow that Works" proved to be every bit as enjoyable, intelligent, down-to-earth, and practical as I had hoped. I have been to two Thunder Lizard Conferences, and had the opportunity to listen to Kelly Goto's presentations about usability and workflow. She was far and away my favorite speaker, with practical, common-sense approaches to tackling web site projects of varying sizes and scopes. When I heard about this book, I was very anxious to see how it would turn out.
Kelly Goto and Emily Cotler do a tremendous job on several levels with this book. For one, the book is designed very attractively, and the design makes the reading experience all the more enjoyable. There are countless visual examples of web sites (before and after studies, for example), as well as tips and articles from other leaders in the web design world, such as Jeffrey Zeldman and Jim Heid. Every chapter begins with a "What This Chapter Covers" overview and ends with a checkoff list and summary. The layout as clean and polished, making it very readable.
There are no secret, convoluted schemes presented in it -- everything is practical, makes sense, and is universal to whatever web project is at hand. The progression of information is very straightforward. The authors lay out specific phases to the project, from defining the project to going beyond the actual launch. The most valuable subject of this book for me personally concerned testing for usability. There are many suggestions and tactics for tackling this sometimes-overlooked key to a successful design.
Complemented by worksheets to an accompanying website with files and information for download/printing, the book ought to be valuable time and time again. I had very high expectations of "Web ReDesign" based on Kelly's wonderful presentations, and I was very pleased with the results. I know I could have used this book long ago, and plan on incorporating as many elements from it as I can in future projects. It's a must have for web developers and designers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ¡Excelente Libro! - Excellent Book!, Oct. 11 2001
By 
Roberto Sanchez (Monterrey, NL México) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
Web ReDesign - Workflow that Works, es un libro muy completo y fácil de asimilar. Explica el contorno completo que uno como desarrollador debe contemplar para el ReDiseño de un sitio Web.
Te lleva de la mano desde la fase inicial de un proyecto hasta su implementación. Explica con mucha claridad cada una de las 5 diferentes fases, que proponen Kelly y Emily, para el desarrollo de un proyecto. Con ejemplos y casos de estudio reales.
Ofrece recomendaciones para los diferentes roles que integran un equipo de trabajo, como lo son: diseñadores gráficos, diseñadores de información, arquitectos de información, aseguradores de calidad, programadores, desarrolladores, administradores de proyectos, etc.
Para quienes desarrollamos sitios Web, es un magnífico complemento; para quienes van a iniciarse, es un medio muy completo de aprendizaje.
Como usuario mexicano/hispano, lo recomiendo sin duda alguna.
¡Felicidades!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True to topic & valuable resource, Sept. 27 2001
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
This book is a high-level, phased approach to web design. The context is the development team's workflow, and all of the key tasks, deliverables and roles that need to be choreographed to successfully develop, implement and maintain a web site.
From a project management point of view this book serves as the basis for a work breakdown structure (WBS), and the project sequencing. I was able to quickly develop a generic project planning template that contained a relatively detailed WBS, project phasing, roles and responsibilities matrix and activity diagram. These tools were easy to extract from the book because of how well the authors have thought out the key elements of a web project and the development workflow.
Among the things I most like are: (1) the care that was lavished on the layout and design of this book has resulted in more than mere aesthetics - as I read through it picking out the project elements I found myself inspired by the sheer beauty of the book, and actually felt more creative. Since I am more disposed towards technical aspects than art I was amazed by the influence the book's design had over me. It also made it easy to go through the book and find things. (2) completeness - while the authors do not go very deep in any one topic, they do cover all of the key points in a thorough manner. I found no gaps in coverage, and did not see the superficial treatment of the technical topics as a problem. In fact, this book is ideal for non-technical project managers who need to concern themselves with the project-oriented aspects of a web project. For the more technical members of a project team there is ample material covering every aspect of the technical approach. (3) sequencing - the phases of the project and associated workflow evidences the authors' extensive experience in web development projects. A lot of thought went into this and I couldn't help but think of the hard lessons learned on prior projects that resulted in such a refined workflow. (4) expert topics - the insets titled <expert topic> imparted a lot of useful information, making this book all the more valuable.
For detailed project planning and deeper look at technical issues I will always recommend Web Project Management by Ashley Friedlein. However, after reading this wonderful book I am now recommending that this book be read before tackling Mr. Friedlein's book. I also recommend that this book be provided to all key members of the project team because it shows the big picture and gets everyone pulling in the same direction. In my opinion, this book is an essential read for anyone involved in web projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Redesign, Sept. 25 2001
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
"Web Redesign Worlkflow That Works" is every developers dream. It is the Bible of redesign. This book offers an essential step by step process of developing a web site project. It helps readers to understand how to get the clients perspective and how to deliver above and beyond what is expected in a professional and efficient manner.
How do you get content from the client? How do you budget for site tasks versus site team? How do you know a good client from a bad client? How do you understand your target audience? "Web Redesign Work Flow That Works" answers them all. Every site project has these issues and not going through every step as stated in this book could make or break a project. It's all about the user not only the company.
My company has developed many sites. I only wish I had this book as a resource in 1998 when I first founded my business. I would have saved thousands of hours and heart ache. This book is easy to follow and provides quick links to downloadable forms that help implement the site development process referred to within the book. I recommend this book to any and all involved in developing a site project. IT IS AN EXCELLENT BOOK!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Redesign, Sept. 25 2001
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
"Web Redesign Worlkflow That Works" is every developers dream. It is the Bible of redesign. This book offers an essential step by step process of developing a web site project. It helps readers to understand how to get the clients perspective and how to deliver above and beyond what is expected in a professional and efficient manner.
How do you get content from the client? How do you budget for site tasks versus site team? How do you know a good client from a bad client? How do you understand your target audience? "Web Redesign Work Flow That Works" answers them all. Every site project has these issues and not going through every step as stated in this book could make or break a project. It's all about the user not only the company.
My company has developed many sites. I only wish I had this book as a resource in 1998 when I first founded my business. I would have saved thousands of hours and heart ache. This book is easy to follow and provides quick links to downloadable forms that help implement the site development process referred to within the book. I recommend this book to any and all involved in developing a site project. IT IS AN EXCELLENT BOOK!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Profesional, insightful, comprehensive, and REAL!, Sept. 24 2001
By 
elizabeth d bryant and paul j bryant (Bainbridge Island, Wa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
Very comprehensive, both in it's approach to research methods, to the examples used to illustrate ideas and concepts.
I was particularly impressed with how the authors presented user research and needs analysis, and then proceeded to translate that into a functioning design which addressed those discovered needs.
Another point that I really enjoyed was the breadth of skill sets it appealed to. They talked about the need for user profiling, which would imply cultural anthropomorphic research, and also talked about staging areas and versioning control to appeal to the techies. Not only does this serve to show the various disciplines how they interoperate, but also helps to keep the readers attention and gives everyone a sense of position in the process.
Finally, they covered most bases of design, but did it in a way that it is really done. For example, in the design section, the use of thumbnail sketches and page grid layouts are shown to illustrate how you begin to build a site. While these methods are entirely personal to the designer, they offer a method of understanding to those who have no context, and a starting point to those learning.
All in all, this is a great "road map" to building a site from A to Z. While it may not drive to the depths of any particular skill or discipline, it does a fabulous job of talking about all of them and how they interoperate to accomplish the goal of building a web site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two authors with a sound plan for web (re)design, Sept. 22 2001
By 
Charles Ashbacher (Marion, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
Now that users and designers have accumulated extensive experience in the presentation and use of web pages, it is time to pass beyond the initial stages. For some time, the frenetic pace of development was such that the foremost thought was to get a functional site now and worry about everything else later. Web development also suffered from the problem that it is easy to make pages, but very hard to develop good ones. As an instructor of community education classes, I have seen many people who either create web pages in their spare time or would like to do so. Such an approach is fine for an amateur site, but professional sites require the full-time commitment of several people.
There are several themes running throughout the book, and nearly all begin with either plan or organize. From the first tickle of an idea to the ongoing maintenance of the site, it is necessary to organize every step, including the creative process. The first topic after the introductory chapter is subtitled, "The Core Process: a comprehensive plan for all types of teams, all kinds of companies, and all kinds of budgets." While this is a largely unattainable goal, the authors do succeed to a great extent, and design teams of all sizes can find information of value in their endeavors. Loaded with charts, action plans and diagrams of top-notch sites, this is the kind of book needed to add zing to your stagnant site.
There is one caveat though. It is very possible that reading this book will alter your mind. The site that you previously thought to be excellent may now be considered rather humdrum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complex Web Process Captured in a Publication...At Last!, Sept. 21 2001
By 
Eric Tam (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
FINALLY!!! A book that actually captures all aspects of today's Web Design workflow and process. This book is a fabulous educational tool for clients and vendors alike! As a Web Consulting expert, I can say that the content of this resource is accurate and insightful; that process in Web Design projects can mean the difference between success and failure; and that, in a young industry with significant impact on how business is conducted in today's economy, this book approaches Web Design process with an intellect and maturity that redefines yesterday's standards. This book clearly is an amalgamation of years of Kelly Goto's valuable experiences. The Web Design process can be so complex and convoluted...this book takes into consideration all potential ups and downs of a Web Design project and clearly articulates the proper processes to make every project a success! Providing both a macro and micro perspective on Web Design process, this book can easily serve as "The Resource" for all Web Design projects. Having seen Kelly Goto speak at various conferences and seminars, I can truly say that she has lived up to (and perhaps exceeded...) her astounding reputation as a true expert in Web Design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At Last! The Resource I've Been Looking For!, Sept. 9 2001
This review is from: Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works (Paperback)
This book is an excellent reference and how-to guide for anyone involved in any phase of web development. I've been involved in multimedia and web design for over 10 years, and this is the first book I've seen that covers all the angles of the process. As Vice President of Product Development for DigitalMed, I will use this book as a resource for our company's project managers. The insight on dealing with clients will be invaluable to our team as they manage custom projects for our clients in the healthcare industry. Kelly and Emily have obviously done their time in the web design world, and have amazing insights to share. Their "lessons learned" will become my team's how-to manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works
Web ReDesign: Workflow that Works by Emily Cotler (Paperback - Aug. 14 2001)
CDN$ 67.95
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews