Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous diagram representing relationship between elements
I got a EUREKA moment when I first saw the Jesse James Garrett's diagram "Elements of User Experience". I had been trying for years to put in a diagram the various elements of web site design that start with web objectives and finish as the completed web site. Just for that, I had to thank the author by buying his book. The book is both great and average.

I...
Published on Nov. 20 2009 by Marc Poulin

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars nice starter for newbie but not much depth...
First off, the author is reportedly disdainful of "design education" (ie, scholarly programs that foster legitimate inquiry and exploration of critical issues in user experience) so it's no surprise that this book, mildly sufficient for beginners puzzled as to how to even start a web project, lacks the necessary conceptual foundations of design thinking for...
Published on March 26 2003 by Uday N. Gajendar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars An Introduction to User Interface Design, July 30 2003
By 
Ce commentaire est de: The Elements of User Experience: User-Centered Design for the Web (Paperback)
The book is an introduction text to the field of user interface design.
What I found useful in the book is thinking about the user interface as a number of layers and this reminds me of the layer approach used when explaining communication technologies. I've been using a simpler 3 layer model to communicate what is a user interface to non-professionals and that works.
However, even knowing that a user interface contains several layers does not help you build a user interface. From my experience, building user interfaces requires synthesis. This is where I found this book lacking, it tells you about the required parts but unfortunately doesn't really help tell you how to put them together. Using a cooking analogy, you have the ingredients for the meal but you are missing the quantities and cooking times.
Therefore this book is great to understand what a user interface but it is of limited help to build a user interface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for Web development professionals, Nov. 1 2002
Ce commentaire est de: The Elements of User Experience: User-Centered Design for the Web (Paperback)
This book is a step-by-step guide on how to plan and create a Web site from strategy, to scope, to architecture, to wireframes, to visual design. It is the most straightforward book on what steps need to be taken during the requirements and design stages (and who needs to do them) to ensure that the site meets business objectives and user needs.
Garrett hits it right on the nose in this book when he says, "Creating the user experience is really little more than a very large collection of very small problems to be solved." By showing the steps in detail, and how they work together, Garrett shows how easy it is to address these small problems while keeping the bigger picture in mind. This book is truly a standard-setting piece of work that only takes a day to read and will change the way you think about Web development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource, Nov. 12 2002
By 
Geoffrey H. Hiller (Portland, Oregon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Elements of User Experience: User-Centered Design for the Web (Paperback)
This book is relevant to the designer/ developer and producer of many types of websites: educational, corporate and even ones of a more experimental nature.
After having read Alan Cooper, Louis Rosenfeld and Steve Krug I wasn't sure I'd learn anything new about information design/ architecture from this book. I was wrong. It's clear that Garrett knows his subject inside out but just as important is the way that the book is structured. It's a pleasure to read.
Another thing I appreciated was that his voice didn't get in the way of the information presented. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book for everyone invloved in creating a user experience, Oct. 31 2002
By 
Peter Emmett (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Elements of User Experience: User-Centered Design for the Web (Paperback)
This is simply the best book I have read so far about creating a great user experience. It written so that everyone can read it and understand what is being said. Even your manager can handle this book :-)
The simple yet effective and in depth solutions offered in this book will substantially help improve any and every web site being built or that is already out there.
My only suggestion is that Jesse's or another web site should evolve to supplement this with more practical examples for different situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great starter for novice, April 29 2003
By 
Ce commentaire est de: The Elements of User Experience: User-Centered Design for the Web (Paperback)
Not to diminish the value of this great book, but, it is very basic. Establishes a good basic overall process to efficiently manage user interface development. Takes you through step by step. Essential to have this approach before looking at other aspects in more depth. Not technical, so you don't need to be a developer to understand concepts. Good value and a quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, Dec 3 2002
By 
Gerard L. Torenvliet (Ottawa, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Elements of User Experience: User-Centered Design for the Web (Paperback)
Garret's book is an exceptionally clear and concise outline of the structure of a website or application, with clear hooks onto which a development workflow can map. This book is simple enough for an introductory course, or to give to a colleague, but rich enough to re-orient a seasoned designed. A very useful contribution to our field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, Nov. 4 2002
Ce commentaire est de: The Elements of User Experience: User-Centered Design for the Web (Paperback)
I saw Jesse James Garrett speak in Portland and had been waiting for his book ever since. It belongs on the shelf next to Steve Krug's "Don't Make Me Think". It is very well written, clear and concise and worth every penny. If you want to understand the basics of user centered design this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gloriously concise, readable, and useful., Nov. 15 2002
By 
Ce commentaire est de: The Elements of User Experience: User-Centered Design for the Web (Paperback)
This is one of those books that tells you, within reading the first ten pages, that you've got a classic on your hands. Straight-forward, accessible, and clear: Jesse James Garrett writes about the subject of user experience like he preaches.
Absolutely worth every penny and a spot on your bookcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mandatory reading for anyone starting a web project..., Feb. 10 2009
By 
Angela K. Healey Ogden "AK" (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Elements of User Experience: User-Centered Design for the Web (Paperback)
6 Years later and still relevant...
Breaks the process down into sizeable bits that are understandable to all members of the organisation... Clearly states some of the biggest mistakes made : "Avoid jumping ahead to identify solutions when we don't yet fully understand the problem."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If you have limited budget, skip it., Jan. 6 2003
By 
Jisoo Kim "jiskim2" (san francisco, ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Elements of User Experience: User-Centered Design for the Web (Paperback)
Ok, tons of books on user experience, UI desing, IA, etc....
So if you have limited budget, then I suggest trying out some
other books.
It has some interesting and useful stuff.
Book is tries to be "theoretical", but it doesn't quite work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Elements of User Experience: User-Centered Design for the Web
The Elements of User Experience: User-Centered Design for the Web by Jesse James Garrett (Paperback - Oct. 21 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 18.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews