summer boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyout Home All-New Kindle sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$21.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 11-20 of 21 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on October 1, 2003
Mastering Jujitsu is an interesting martial art book without gi. At the beggining of the book there are very good chapters about theory and history of Jujitsu and aslo about modern Jujitsu. At the end of the book there is one of the best words I've read about Jujitsu for self-defense. I would like to see this book in next edition with color photos. One of the best on teh market.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2003
This is by far the best Brazilian Jiujitsu book I have purchased. The text is clear and concise. I particularly appreciated the highlights of famous fighters' fight styles and mind set.
Definitely oriented toward experienced fighters looking for greater depth and understanding in their techniques as well as their psychology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2003
Let's just say that as a student at Rickson Gracie's school, I rarely find a bjj book which augments my training. This one does. It's a deep, rich read with fasinating history and theories of combat. It changed the context through which I view the Gracie artform.
If you train or are interested in bjj, read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2003
What a great book. Impeccable writing and research takes this book way above anything else out there. An in depth look at the current state of jiu jitsu and MMA. The writing is outstanding, along with an excellent selection of techniques and training drill, making this the outstanding book on the market. Worth every penny!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2003
Especially division of a fight into phases is very good. Well prepared and easily read book. Alhtough rather an advanced practicionner I am, I have found very good tips. There are not many techniques but I think the purpose of the author is rather giving tactics. Consider that the book does not cost much either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2003
Easily the most in depth anaylsis of jiu jitsu and mixed martial arts I have ever seen. The history section at the start of the book is awsome!! It reads like a textbook, full of insights - it will change the way you think about and understand MMA. The technical drills and moves are great also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2003
This book makes an excellent introduction for the mixed martial arts and the Gracie fighting system. It is very well written and illustrated. This book is worth every bit of its cost and is a good addition to any martial arts collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2003
I just read this book and all I can say is- WOW!! Great effort! Gracie and Danaher really take the book market up a notch with this one. Easily the best written and researched jujitsu/MMA book on the market. Great stuff!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2003
This is the best book I've ever read, period. The way Renzo and John Danaher break down the theory and techniques is amazing. Every BJJ practicioner should read and own this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2016
Excellent research and thought provoking. An excellent primer for a new student and a good review for the more experienced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse