biss boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyour Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars29
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$21.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 11-20 of 20 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on October 1, 2003
Mastering Jujitsu is an interesting martial art book without gi. At the beggining of the book there are very good chapters about theory and history of Jujitsu and aslo about modern Jujitsu. At the end of the book there is one of the best words I've read about Jujitsu for self-defense. I would like to see this book in next edition with color photos. One of the best on teh market.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2003
This is by far the best Brazilian Jiujitsu book I have purchased. The text is clear and concise. I particularly appreciated the highlights of famous fighters' fight styles and mind set.
Definitely oriented toward experienced fighters looking for greater depth and understanding in their techniques as well as their psychology.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2003
Let's just say that as a student at Rickson Gracie's school, I rarely find a bjj book which augments my training. This one does. It's a deep, rich read with fasinating history and theories of combat. It changed the context through which I view the Gracie artform.
If you train or are interested in bjj, read this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2003
What a great book. Impeccable writing and research takes this book way above anything else out there. An in depth look at the current state of jiu jitsu and MMA. The writing is outstanding, along with an excellent selection of techniques and training drill, making this the outstanding book on the market. Worth every penny!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2003
Especially division of a fight into phases is very good. Well prepared and easily read book. Alhtough rather an advanced practicionner I am, I have found very good tips. There are not many techniques but I think the purpose of the author is rather giving tactics. Consider that the book does not cost much either.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2003
Easily the most in depth anaylsis of jiu jitsu and mixed martial arts I have ever seen. The history section at the start of the book is awsome!! It reads like a textbook, full of insights - it will change the way you think about and understand MMA. The technical drills and moves are great also.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2003
This book makes an excellent introduction for the mixed martial arts and the Gracie fighting system. It is very well written and illustrated. This book is worth every bit of its cost and is a good addition to any martial arts collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2003
I just read this book and all I can say is- WOW!! Great effort! Gracie and Danaher really take the book market up a notch with this one. Easily the best written and researched jujitsu/MMA book on the market. Great stuff!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2003
This is the best book I've ever read, period. The way Renzo and John Danaher break down the theory and techniques is amazing. Every BJJ practicioner should read and own this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2003
I LOVE THIS BOOK! This is one of the most comprehensive works on the principles behind one-on-one, unarmed combat that I've read. We're not talking one of those "every move in the world" books here, though some are included. No, this is more on principles and theories which reallity fighting, specifically jujitsu, embrace. The book starts out with a rather extensive history of BJJ, going all the way back to ancient Japan. Briefly covered are the different theories of how martial arts developed around the world, which was interesting to read. The book then goes into the different stages of combat; the clinch, the free-movement phase, and groundfighting. I have to admit, I've never really been satisfied with "long, medium, short" or "kicking, punching, trapping, grappling", and I'm a little jealous that I didn't think of Gracie's stages of a fight on my own. His division is based on the different skills needed for each stage of a fight. Further chapters cover the stages by themselves. The free-movement chapter covers basic strikes, blocks, and long-range "shooting" takedowns. The section on the clinch actually goes over the most common clinch possitions (over-under, front headlock, double-underhook, etc.), and includes brief strategy for both. The authors give insights into strikes, takedowns, and submissions from the various clinch possitions. Groundfighting is covered in the next chapter. The focus is on the different possitions/pins, and is covered in a hierarchical manner, from most desirable to least desirable. Two chapters are then devoted to specific aspects of grounfighting; winning from the bottom, and winning from the top. These are probably the most technique-rich sections. Escapes from bad possitions, transitional movements to different possitions, and common submissions are shown. After that is a short chapter on training in general, and competitions that attract BJJ stylists are given a little detail (sport BJJ, submission wrestling, and MMA events). The last chapter is on using the theories of BJJ that have been presented in the book for self-defense. This one chapter is what Royce and Charles Gracie's self-defense book should have covered. Among other things, this chapter goes into the "prayer stance", a seemingly benign possition that enables you to defend yourself efficiently; six general catagories of violent encounters, and how their dynamics might effect the techniques used; and how to deal with common attacks, including a very pragmatic look at group attack. A nice feature of this book is that the authors look to present all views and theories of a situation, even if it doesn't really jive with BJJ's main tenents. I can also see how the style keeps evolving with exposure to different arts; many of the clinch moves are taken directly from amature wrestling, and the only kick presented is the Thai-style roundhouse kick. As I mentioned earlier, this book isn't a mega-technique book, but the techniques that are presented could be best termed "essential". The authors also make no bones about the environment that thier theories best suit: one-on-one, unarmed combat. There is definitely a sense of prejudice towards grappling and groundfighting, and this is where I kind of take issue with some of the stuff said. Early MMA/NHB events are brought in as evidence of "little guy beats big guy using grappling", but in UFC's 1-7, without going into too much detail, of six cases where the winner of a match was greatly outweighed, three were won by striking, and two of the remaining matches ended up with the grappler taking a severe beating, and the last one lasted about 20 min. with little action. In other words, I question the "little guy beats big guy using grappling" theory based on those events. Other than that, no real complaints. Great book overall, and an exelent illustration of BJJ theories and how they're applied. Good for anyone interested in what to expect out of a one-on-one, weaponless fight, or a MMA/NHB event.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse