Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Mastering MMA
This book is excellent. My only issue is the title could be somewhat misleading. It is well written and gives great depth into the history of BJJ as well as excellent photos and instructions of techniques.

The book focuses on Jujitsu for MMA competition moreso than for Jujitsu competition. Given Renzo Gracie's legendary background in MMA, it is not surprising...
Published on Nov. 27 2009 by F. Russell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars low budget
Bad editing and poor production values mar what otherwise could have been a great book.
Published on July 2 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book on Underlying Theory, Aug. 30 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mastering Jujitsu (Paperback)
This is a great book that explains in detail the underlying theory behind Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and ground combat.
This is NOT a technique book. While There are pictures of techniques in the book the main idea behind the text is the underlying theory that Ground Fighters need to engage in while fighting.
Renzo does a great job of explaining the phases of combat, and details strategy for each of those phases. He also cites examples of current MMA fighters and shows how they apply the principles that he is explaining.
This book requires some knowledge of ground grappling to understand the strategy behind what is going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on Ju-Jitsu ever?, Feb. 10 2004
By 
Little Timmy (Wellesley, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mastering Jujitsu (Paperback)
If you want to learn Ju-Jitsu, it's best to take classes, and practice with real partners. But as for learning specific moves and combinations, as well as the theory behind the moves, this is the best book around. It also covers the history of Brazilian ju jitsu, and the Gracie family's envolvement in martial arts. Renzo is one of the best mixed martial arts fighters around, and he did a great job making this book. Also, it's a great buy at only 14 bucks. Get it now, you won't be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for Beginner, July 18 2003
By 
"brazilianjj" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mastering Jujitsu (Paperback)
I myself trained Gracie Jiu Jitsu for many years and know the techniques of this art are effective. This book would be great for a beginner who needs background information on Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (BJJ) and insight into the NHB/MMA world. This book is not a techniques book but does have a few good examples of popular and effective techniques. Overall it is a good book. The explanation on Jiu Jitsu's history is amazing. Renzo is a great athlete, teacher, writer and all around nice guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gracie Family Does It Again, June 30 2003
By 
Wolverine (Flint, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mastering Jujitsu (Paperback)
Wow...that's all I could say. After purchasing Brazillian Jiu Jitsu: Theory and Technique buy Renzo and Royler, I very much anticipated Royce's addition to the library...which disappointed me greatly. Renzo's book, Mastering Jujitsu, as reaffirmed my faith in the Gracie family texts. From theory to history, this book does a fantastic job of conveying key concepts for sport and fight. I HIGHLY reccomend it to any serious martial artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best grappling/MMA book out there!, July 10 2003
By 
Ricky (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mastering Jujitsu (Paperback)
Finally a book that breaks down the whole MMA game into a cohesive and well written form. The central idea is the "theory of phases of combat" that is at the center of the books discussion. There is also a good selection of contemporary MMA technique. An interesting and original account of MMA/jiu jitsu technique for self defense. This book is light years ahead of anything else out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, it's just that there are better. [...], Feb. 16 2009
This review is from: Mastering Jujitsu (Paperback)
Although both Renzo Gracie and John Danaher are great instructors and this is a decent book on Jiujitsu, there are many other better books out there that I would recommend before this one. Two that come to mind right away are Jiujitsu University by Saulo Ribiero and Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu: The Path to the Black Belt by Rodrigo Gracie.

I would recommend getting those before considering this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!!!, June 17 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mastering Jujitsu (Paperback)
Includes in depth discussion about all aspects of the game and even incorporates some of the "Jujitsu" techniques and tactics used by Sakuraba against the Gracies. The techniques are demonstrated by the actual instructors at the New York school as well as Renzo himself. I tried a number of the techniques against an experience grappling opponent and they worked without a hitch. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not dissmised if you buy it., Oct. 1 2003
By 
IVAN ZUPANC (Croatia, Europe) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mastering Jujitsu (Paperback)
Mastering Jujitsu is an interesting martial art book without gi. At the beggining of the book there are very good chapters about theory and history of Jujitsu and aslo about modern Jujitsu. At the end of the book there is one of the best words I've read about Jujitsu for self-defense. I would like to see this book in next edition with color photos. One of the best on teh market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent effort, June 18 2003
By 
John P. Bahantka Jr. "akajp" (Columbus, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mastering Jujitsu (Paperback)
This book is very different from other BJJ books on the market. Other BJJ books concentrate on showing one the techniques. Mastering JJ concentrates on the theory and the application of technique. I also found the history section to be accurate and detailed. I highly reccomend this book. Although, if you are looking soley for techniques, you should look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, Oct. 6 2003
By 
Broken Ninja (Santee, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mastering Jujitsu (Paperback)
This is by far the best Brazilian Jiujitsu book I have purchased. The text is clear and concise. I particularly appreciated the highlights of famous fighters' fight styles and mind set.
Definitely oriented toward experienced fighters looking for greater depth and understanding in their techniques as well as their psychology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mastering Jujitsu
Mastering Jujitsu by John Danaher (Paperback - May 22 2003)
CDN$ 28.95 CDN$ 19.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews