march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars6
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$73.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 29, 2002
15 years ago I was a high performance kayaker. I did not understand all those complicated workouts then ... Recently (3 years ago) I started kayaking seriously again and won age group competitions at all levels accross North America.
Periodization is what produces results. It is based on science which combined with expertise and experience will yield results. I have been watching the development teams and now involved in workout design. This book provides a clear description of the general issues and lets you peek into the specifics. Of course, you cannot just coach by reading a book. But if you are a coach or an athlete with serious experince, this book is going to make a lot of sense to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2000
this book is very informative to those wanting to know more about periodization. It covers everything a person would need to know. Bompa's best text to date.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2002
If you are interested in a book that will help you map out your progress THIS IS THE BOOK!
The diffrense with Bompa and others is he started Periodisation and worked with elit athletes more than 30 years with this system.
He actually learns you something with his books and don't just say that he will. He writes a bit messy but that's maybe my limited english that is limiting me.
Oh well, a top notch book for the serious trainer and trainee.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2011
I am new to periodization and training scheduling for team and individual sports, I must say this book is giving me enough to go for to start creating my first schedules in terms of conditioning and preparation. Comparison between East European and north American athletic preparation is used and it goes in enough details to keep reader supplied with a lot of knowledge
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2012
This is a text book that can be used to help design a strength and conditioning program for various sports. It includes some good suggestions on supplements as well as various methods of speeding up recovery. One of the things I really like is some of the paradigms it lays out for varying load.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2014
A classic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse