Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MASTERPIECE WORTHY OF THE TAIPAN!
James Clavell was a WONDERFUL Writer (yes, with a capital W) and NOBLE HOUSE was a gift he left to us!

Through his eyes we visit Hong Kong in the 1970's. Clavell, like a virtuoso connaisseur of the human condition he is, manages to interweave a multitude of stories into a continuous carpet of a city living fast, taking risks, winning and loosing but never...
Published on Sept. 29 2007 by NeuroSplicer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars detailed and intriguing !!
A very good novel about Hong Kong. As a native of Hong Kong, it fascinates me.
To my knowledge. all the events that took place in this book had happened in Hong Kong or Asia in some ways.
I must , however, comment that it is much too long for the layman who is not familiar with Hong Kong or China. This is not a spy novel nor a thriller and I wonder if such a...
Published on June 22 2004 by Andrew C. LING


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MASTERPIECE WORTHY OF THE TAIPAN!, Sept. 29 2007
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
James Clavell was a WONDERFUL Writer (yes, with a capital W) and NOBLE HOUSE was a gift he left to us!

Through his eyes we visit Hong Kong in the 1970's. Clavell, like a virtuoso connaisseur of the human condition he is, manages to interweave a multitude of stories into a continuous carpet of a city living fast, taking risks, winning and loosing but never giving up.
Heads of huge conglomerates on the verge of foundering - yet never letting go of their rival's throat; dirt-poor Chinese maids striking it rich by a sudden turn of their joss; photographer-Wo and his trophy collection; drug-running smugglers asking for favors-you-can't-refuse; cold war spy networks riddled with double and triple agents; an American stock-market runner trying his hand in raiding Hong Kong companies; ladies getting "pillowed", men getting wooed, fortunes made and lost in the 10 days these all take place. Will the Noble House survive?

To quote Balzac, behind every great fortune lies crime. To prove him right, Noble House is but a thinly veiled reference to Jardine Matheson Holdings Ltd, a real company. Anticlimactically, although a British company operating in China, it is nowadays incorporated in Bermuda - and trying to forget its opium-running past (like so many City of London companies respectable today yet founded on drugs and dead natives).

All these stories are presented masterfully, without ever loosing the reader's interest or dropping the ball of building tension. There were less than a dozen writers who could do this - starting with Homer.

My copy was so worn I had to replace it.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book,, Aug. 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Noble House (Paperback)
An amazing book. So much more than the 80's tv special. Brings you back to its original settings in the 60's and the turmoil before vietnam and so forth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars detailed and intriguing !!, June 22 2004
By 
Andrew C. LING (North York, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very good novel about Hong Kong. As a native of Hong Kong, it fascinates me.
To my knowledge. all the events that took place in this book had happened in Hong Kong or Asia in some ways.
I must , however, comment that it is much too long for the layman who is not familiar with Hong Kong or China. This is not a spy novel nor a thriller and I wonder if such a person have the patience or time to go through it. In this day and age of television, this could be a great TV series but such a long and detailed book may not have much appeal. In any case, I must commend James Clavell for producing this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Winded, Oct. 8 2002
By 
Scott G. Beckley (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This is Clavell's last book of his epic series. I am glad that I read Tai-Pan (thanks to another customer review's suggestion), so that I was able to follow the characters and historic development of Noble House. Noble House is much better than Tai-Pan and is definitely an easier read.
Noble House has a pretty good plot. I found the Russia, world-domination plot a little underdeveloped and could have been wiped out entirely out of the equation, thus, saving a couple hundred pages of this lengthy 1200+ epic novel.
The main characters are exciting to follow: Ian Dunross, Casey, Bartlett, Quillan Gornt, 4 Fingers Wu. Some are developed enough to recognize throughout the novel: Peter Marlowe, Brian Kwok, Philip and John Chen, Suslev. And some could have been left out: Haply, Inspector Smyth, Havergill, etc.
A pretty decent read, but very, very long. This could have been shortened and still be a powerful novel - even more so.
It makes sense to read these in order because of continuing saga's. I took the shortcut and only read Tai-Pan and Noble House and this was enough to follow the storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Noble House, Jan. 8 2012
As I said earlier I was very disappointed because I did not receive a new copy of Noble House, but with your recent refund of 20 % I reappraised your standing to 4 star. G.W. Sampson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars all clavell's works are great, but this one is the jewel, Oct. 22 2002
By A Customer
if you've only heard of clavell because of the excellent shogun, then you have so far missed out on his greatest work: noble house. the plot is so rich and there is so much humour also that you will wish the book was even longer than it is. you cannot miss this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too many loose ends..., Sept. 8 2002
By 
Joshua A. Bevan (Charlotte, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Clavell's novels have a great way of continuing at the end. Life goes on. But in "Noble House" Clavell simply introduces too many segues. The last 200 pages or so of the book seemed rushed, and the book simply ends with too many loose ends. A little frustrating after 1370 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars At times challenging but rewarding, Sept. 7 2002
By A Customer
Set in Hong Kong during the 1960's, the plot of Noble House concerns the business and political dealings of all of the most important and wealthy people on the island. Along with Tai-Pan, I would rate this as the best book of Clavell. Although at times he goes into too much detail on some topics, such as finance, this is generally a thrilling book, with some genuinely exciting plot twists. I would recommend this book to anybody who enjoys long, sweeping epics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clavell's greatest, fascinating characters in fine setting, Aug. 3 2002
By 
Gary M. Greenbaum (Fairfax, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Set 120 years after the events of Tai-Pan, Ian Dunross is the latest in Dirk Struan's line to head Struan's, also known as the Noble House. To survive, Struan's always skates the financial edge, and Quillan Gornt, descendant of Dirk's enemy, Tyler Brock, is quite happy to push it over the edge.
Even though we meet many fine characters, from American businesswoman Casey Tcholok to smuggler's son Paul Choy, Hong Kong itself is really the star of this novel. Seeming almost anarchic at times, the colony (as it then was, the novel is set in 1963) and its people, Chinese and British, seem to worship one god, Money.
Clavell ties in references to his other novels--characters from King Rat show up and relive their wartime hatred, many of the characters discuss and live out the heritage of Tai-Pan, and a Japanese character mentions briefly the events of Shogun.
This is the sort of book that will keep you up reading until 4 a.m.
What I didn't like: I found the character of Peter Marlowe most annoying. He shows up all the time, acts like a know it all, and is really Clavell's way of writing himself into the book. Also, about six different times, it is mentioned that the U.S. is starting to get involved in Vietnam, and each time, a precient character chirps (or at least thinks) that the U.S. will regret it. Hindsight is 20/20, the novel was published in 1981.
A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Clavell is THE Tai-Pan of storytelling!!, Dec 11 2001
Noble House is a mammoth of a book. It's not a single story, it is a dozen plots and subplots magically weaved into one colossal tale.
As with the other books by Clavell, this beauty is mind-catching, with great, unpredictable, HUMAN characters and, as always, a brilliant ending. This is a book that you'll be sorry to finish -- you'll want to keep on reading it forever.
Great epic Asian feel, great detail, great pace, great everything. This book is 100% greatness.
Be warned, though, read Tai-Pan first, or things might be a bit complicated for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Noble House
Noble House by John Lee (Audio Cassette - Jan. 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 407.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews