Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything is connected
This is a great book that helps define what the internet is and how it is effecting our lives. This book provides great insight and gets you thinking about what we do every day on the internet. Are we being more social or anti-social if we spend more time on the internet? We are creating the internet with every web page and every weblog. It's like writing a book that...
Published on June 7 2004 by Will Rodriguez

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars If ya gotta ask, you'll never know...
In reading David Weinberger's "Small Pieces Loosely Joined", his thesis of how the Web works and impacts our lives, I couldn't help but recall Louis Armstrong's legendary response to the question "What is jazz". "Man, if ya gotta ask," he supposedly replied, "you'll never know."
"Small Pieces" tries to ask just that...
Published on Aug. 22 2003 by B. Pomeroy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Everything is connected, June 7 2004
By 
This review is from: Small Pieces Loosely Joined: A Unified Theory Of The Web (Paperback)
This is a great book that helps define what the internet is and how it is effecting our lives. This book provides great insight and gets you thinking about what we do every day on the internet. Are we being more social or anti-social if we spend more time on the internet? We are creating the internet with every web page and every weblog. It's like writing a book that never finishes.
This book looks at the internet by looking at Space, Time, Perfection, Togetherness, Matter and Hope.. This really gets you thinking about what the internet is and what it will become...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Philosophy of the 'Net, Sept. 23 2003
More a look at society as bounded by the Web than a look at the Web itself, as someone described this book. That's true, for it seems to offer more insights about modern humanity and the weird situation we've created for ourselves than about the Internet itself. Topics include knowledge, time, matter - the stuff of philosophy, and not of a book about the Net.
Everyone who uses the internet should read this book. Anyone interested in modernity should read it as well, even if she doesn't have a computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful look at what the web has taught us, Sept. 1 2003
This review is from: Small Pieces Loosely Joined: A Unified Theory Of The Web (Paperback)
The reason that I chose to read this in the first place was that I was seeing it listed in sidebar after weblog sidebar, so it seemed like the "in" book to be reading right now. I quickly discovered that there is good reason for all the buzz. This book will probably be solely remembered for its spin on the Warhol quote that "on the Internet, everyone will be famous to 15 people" (loose paraphrase), and that's a shame, because it's so much more than that. Weinberger asserts that the advent of the Web has forced us to take a hard look at our assumptions about things like space, time, relationships, and what really matters to us. The Web, rather than something that is inherently good or bad, is a fairly accurate reflection of who we are as a society. Weinberger's style is both enlightening and disarming. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to learn more about where we've come since the Web's introduction, and (perhaps) where we're going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If ya gotta ask, you'll never know..., Aug. 22 2003
By 
B. Pomeroy "bpomeroy54" (Sewell, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Small Pieces Loosely Joined: A Unified Theory Of The Web (Paperback)
In reading David Weinberger's "Small Pieces Loosely Joined", his thesis of how the Web works and impacts our lives, I couldn't help but recall Louis Armstrong's legendary response to the question "What is jazz". "Man, if ya gotta ask," he supposedly replied, "you'll never know."
"Small Pieces" tries to ask just that question: What is the Web? Not to say that Weinberger doesn't know (he does), but in trying to formulate an answer with "Small Pieces", he offers few new insights. There's nothing in this book that will hit the reader like a ton of bricks, especially if he or she has any degree of Web experience.
Indeed, while well-written and informative, the bulk of the content is a rehash of earlier Internet thinkers like Clifford Stoll, Nicholas Negroponte, Eric Raymond, Howard Rhiengold and even Jeremy Rifkin. Old-school netizens will be particularly disappointed, especially since the tone of the book comes disturbingly close to the technlogy-will-change-everything breathelessness of the dotcom days.
"Small Pieces", however, has its merits -- particularly in Weinberger's writing style. In that vein, "Small Pieces" makes a good beach book... and it's also good for those new to the Web (or at least those who are critically thinking about it for the first time). But if you really want to learn what the Web's all about, get surfing and build your own website. Like learning how to ride a bike, the only way to learn the Web is by hopping on the seat and risking a few skinned knees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of money, May 15 2003
By 
ab (New York City) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Small Pieces Loosely Joined: A Unified Theory Of The Web (Paperback)
Don't buy this book.
This book is a 2003 version of a 1995 "links page". Lots of places to go, none of them very useful.
I found that about 80% of the sites and services Weinberger talked about sites I'd already seen. Additionally hugely important concepts like Reed's law were brushed over. I wonder if the author really understands it and its implications for business.
If you want an interesting read about something happening today, try reading "Flu-the story of the great influenza pandemic of 1918". Its a totally different topic, but a much better read and you'll understand some of the thinking and goings on around SARS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Web's first Cosmologist, July 14 2002
By 
Harvey Ardman (Rockport, ME USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If John Perry Barlow is the Internet's prophet and Sherry Turkle is its anthropologist, by writing "Small Pieces, Loosely Joined," David Weinberger has become its first cosmologist, its Stephen Hawking.
In this slender, very readable and sometimes laugh-out-loud book, Weinberger examines the meaning, impact and use of the Internet with great insight and wisdom. He left me understanding how profoundly important the Internet is and how deeply it is affecting our society. It's not just another technological advance...it changes everything.
I realize that some people just don't get it, won't get it and can't get it, despite the crystal clarity of Weinberger's prose. But some people never get it.
Even Alexander Graham Bell was initially convinced the phone would be best used for transmitting music over long distances and I believe there was a fellow by the name of Watson who predicted the US would never need more than five computers. If Weinberger had been around then and writing books about telephoine and computers, they might have better understood the potential of their creations.
If you want to understand what the Internet means for us today and what it might mean tomorrow, I can think of no better basis than "Small Pieces Loosely Joined." His ideas will resonate in your mind long after you've finished the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A survey of Internet language & experience, July 7 2002
Small Pieces Loosely Joined is a survey of Internet language, experience, and relationships between reality and Web sites makes for intriguing discussions of media and it's influence on human achievement. Weinberger argues the web is more than a worldwide link: it is also a public forum with world contributors and offers the potential for lives to be lived in another realm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Web and World, June 29 2002
By 
Paul Sundberg (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Weinberg's gift to the reader is more than just an entertaining reflection on rise of the web and web culture. He offers a sincere invitation to reflect on a world that is being changed, and world views that are being subverted by the web. "Small Pieces Loosely Joined" provides a welcome opportunity to wonder, question, and envision how the world we've created will shape the one we've been given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An inside out view of why the web works, May 24 2002
By 
L. Trachtman "Les Trachtman" (Annapolis, MD and Saratoga Springs, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
David Weinberger's recent work illustrates a unique persepective of what is driving the web's popularity. You may have thought the meteoric growth was being driven by the technologically elite, or kids doing instant messaging, or perhaps e-commerce. But according to the author, its really being driven by our need to be ourselves and the unique setting that the web provides for exhibiting our real (or assumed) personalities. This refreshing view makes logical sense and may hold the key to how business (and society) can leverage its awesome power going forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As the NYTimes says, this is a "smart new book.", May 8 2002
By A Customer
Small Pieces Loosely Joined by David Weinberger and Being Digital by Nicholas Negroponte are the only two books worth reading on the subject of the Web. Both are spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Small Pieces Loosely Joined: A Unified Theory Of The Web
Small Pieces Loosely Joined: A Unified Theory Of The Web by David Weinberger (Paperback - May 8 2003)
CDN$ 20.50 CDN$ 7.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews