summer boutiques-francophones snsflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars25
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$18.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 18, 2016
Have not got through it all as of yet but is very interesting book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2016
One of the required readings for my program, but I realize it is needed for my own personal growth at such a time as this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2016
This book was excellent! I read it for my MBA Corporate Strategy and Structure class, and it was extremely beneficial. This book is ALL about managing changes within the company, and Bridges has a wonderful set of theories to go along with the readings. There are a whole bunch of quizzes to take, too, to see where you are at with your transition and if your team is transitioning properly. My favourite part of the book was the Life Cycle Analysis-- describing Bridges' phases a company goes through when it is growing from infancy to senior. Very informative book, easy to read, and easy to relate to!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2015
Read this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2014
This will be an ongoing re-read when proposing or experiencing change. I hadn't realized how much the emotional issues affected the changes we go through or propose for others.
The exercises and charts help visualize and reflect of the realities we face almost every day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2014
Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2013
A great guide to guide change management in organizations - it is not about the process but the people to make sure transitions happen as planned
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I read this book when it was first published (1991) and recently re-read this latest edition, curious to see how well Bridges' ideas have held up since then. They remain rock-solid. His objective is to suggest how to "make the most of change" and heaven knows there have been so many major changes, both global and local, in recent years. I expect the nature and number of such turmoil to increase significantly, and, to occur at an ever-accelerating velocity. I also expect Bridges' observations and suggestions to remain valid. Perhaps at some point he will revise this book to accommodate certain changes such as the emergence of what Pink calls "the free agent nation." The book's materiel is carefully organized within four Parts:
The Problem [Bridges provides "a new and useful perspective on the difficulties ahead" and then a test case which illustrates that perspective]

The Solutions [Bridges suggests all manner of ways to apply what is learned from the previous Part]

Dealing with Nonstop Change in the Organization and Your Life [Bridges suggests a number of strategies by which to cope with rapid change, both organizationally and personally]

In 1991, Bridges was convinced that it is impossible to achieve any desired objectives without getting to "the personal stuff"; the challenge is to get people to stop doing whatever "the old way" and that cannot be accomplished impersonally. He was also convinced that transition management requires experience and abilities we already possess as when we struggle, for example, to "figure out a tactful response in a difficult situation." However, the strategies of transition management he suggests may require mastery of certain techniques which we "can easily learn." Presumably Bridges remains convinced today of these same basic points even as new applications and (yes) complications have revealed themselves.

For whom will this book be most valuable? Given the nature and extent of organizational change, I would include everyone engaged (voluntarily or involuntarily) in those changes...at least everyone at the management level. Also, service providers such bankers, attorneys, accountants, bankers, executive recruiters, and management consultants such as I who are directly associated with those organizations. On several occasions, Drucker has brilliantly discussed the challenge of managing a future which has already occurred but perhaps has not as yet been recognized. I agree with him that that is indeed a major challenge. One of Bridges' key points seems to be that it is not only possible but imperative to manage effectively the transition from a current situation to a desired destination. It is not always possible to "manage change" but I agree with Bridges that it IS possible to formulate and then manage an appropriate response to it. Those who share my high regard for this book are encouraged to read (if they have not already done so) Bridges' previous work, Transitions, as well as O'Toole's Managing Change, Katzenbach's Real Change Leaders, and finally, The Manager as Change Agent co-authored by Quatro, Hoekstra, Whittle, Gilley, and Maycunich.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 29, 2004
This is one of the most succinct and clearly written business books you will ever read. Author William Bridges uses language with care and precision, delivering the goods without any superfluous jargon. He cites many welcome quotations on change and innovation from a wide range of writers and thinkers whose work is not usually found in business books. He places these quotations in context with aptly chosen examples of recent business transitions, bringing intelligence and sensibility to a subject too often addressed only with clichés and cant. Only those who have read many business books can fully appreciate the value of such an approach. Others will merely find that they are able to read this book from cover to cover without at any point having to wonder what the author really means to say. Managing transitions is really about helping people deal with fear and uncertainty - the key is to build trust and confidence. Everything Bridges says flows from that common sense insight, and seems obvious and necessary once he says it, though it may not seem as evident to you until you read his book. We highly recommends that you do so.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2004
if you think this book is good, then you are bad.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse