Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply beautiful!
If you love the florid, elegant art styles of Aubrey Beardsley and Alphonse Mucha, you will absolutely adore this classy Lo Scarabeo deck! All of the luscious human figures, fabrics, flowers and fauna flow and swirl effortlessly on all of its 78 pictures. This is an art deck in the truest sense of the word.
While the criticisms that this deck sometimes departs from...
Published on Aug. 8 2002 by JPH

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, but short on meaning
I ran across pictures of this deck online, at [...] and thought, "How lovely!" A week or so later, I remembered seeing it in some store quite a while ago and thinking, "How vapid." I was right on both counts; as other reviewers have noted, this deck is quite pretty. Also as they've noted, it's a little shallow in terms of symbology. Basically what you get are a lot of...
Published on Oct. 14 2002 by Victoria Brockmeier


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply beautiful!, Aug. 8 2002
This review is from: Tarot Art Nouveau deck (Cards)
If you love the florid, elegant art styles of Aubrey Beardsley and Alphonse Mucha, you will absolutely adore this classy Lo Scarabeo deck! All of the luscious human figures, fabrics, flowers and fauna flow and swirl effortlessly on all of its 78 pictures. This is an art deck in the truest sense of the word.
While the criticisms that this deck sometimes departs from traditional tarot symbolism are true, this 'flaw' does not handicap its use as a reliable reading tool. Should you sometimes find youselves tiring of the more 'traditional' decks' in-your-face symbolism, the Art Noveau will serve admirably as an alternative. Its trumps do not slap you with obscure or questionable assignations of planetary, astrological, elemental, Qabbalic symbols, nor do its pips adhere strictly to the Waite prototype. In fact, the ambiguity of the simple, elegant images allow you to rely more on your own intuitive abilities. This is a good outcome, imho.
This Art Noveau deck is destined for greatness and longevity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A visually stunning deck!, Sept. 8 2001
By 
"labrat160" (Detroit, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tarot Art Nouveau deck (Cards)
Lo Scarabeo has a reputation for publishing some of the most beautiful tarot decks in the world and the Tarot Art Nouveau deck is no exception. The art work on both the major and minor arcana is absolutely unparalleled. While most of Lo Scarabeo's cards are "traditional" pre-Waite decks with unillustrated minors, this deck is fully illustrated. My only criticism is that pictorial symbolism is lacking. This deck does not use traditional Waite iconography. The pictures on these cards have little if any association with their meaning, however their beauty far outweighs the lack of symbolism. A perfect deck for reading love and relationship spreads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Cards, April 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarot Art Nouveau deck (Cards)
The art is just lovely, and the cards are of a decent quality. Definitely one of the nicer sets of Tarot cards that I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnifique tarot, March 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarot Art Nouveau deck (Cards)
Magnifique tarot avec de très belle illustrations rappelant l'artiste Mucha
Très bonne qualité et arrivé en bon état et bien scellé dans son emballage d'origine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, May 16 2002
By 
"cali2001" (Knoxville, TN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tarot Art Nouveau deck (Cards)
I knew when I saw this deck I had to get it. It may not be traditional but I like non Traditional and I have a had time doing a reading if I do not connect with the cards. These cards have subtle symbolism and is a great deck. It will be a different experience for different people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Beautiful Tarot Deck, Oct. 15 2001
By 
robert lloyd (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tarot Art Nouveau deck (Cards)
I get the most incredibly subtle and insightful readings from this deck. All the artwork is exquisite and detailed, and the readings come through the same for me. A breathtaking deck and simply spellbinding to look at and use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, June 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarot Art Nouveau deck (Cards)
I used this cards a lot, great material, amazing art and they are just beautiful. Great art work for each card.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous deck, July 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarot Art Nouveau deck (Cards)
The few pictures included don't show just how beautiful this deck is. The images are gorgeous and vibrant. The symbolism that is usually on tarot cards isn't on most of them so some readers might not like it, but I am not inconvenienced by that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful, and Amazing Deck - Very Evocative and Accurate, Feb. 13 2004
By 
Robert Lloyd III "Rhettlr" (portsmouth, va United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tarot Art Nouveau deck (Cards)
The sheer beauty of this deck is amazing. At first it seems heavy on the female images, but then you realize how many males there are in the trumps and court cards and notice how the readings are very balanced .My readings from this are gentle yet so accurate and I often feel that the readings help to lead me to higher ground spiritually and seem to direct toards paths that are spiritually enlightening and rewarding. I completely and totally give my praise to this deck. It was one of my first and is my primary reading deck. I had no trouble with it in the beginning. It is very similar to the Rider-Waite and I sat down and studied the cards once a day and now and very familiar with them. I also studied the Rider Waite deck and it is amazing it's meanings and symbology incorporate so beautifully and smoothly into this deck's meanings and symbols. This decks cards are laden with symbology-and it is so beautifully rendered-the Death, Lovers, Sun, Empress, High Priestess, Temperance, Magician and Page of Chalices are just breathtaking. A truly wonderful deck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, Oct. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tarot Art Nouveau deck (Cards)
Pretty nice cards, though i was surprised by the amount of nudity on the cards. A lot of boobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tarot Art Nouveau deck
Tarot Art Nouveau deck by Lo Scarabeo (Cards - Sept. 8 2000)
CDN$ 26.50 CDN$ 16.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews