Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable day-to-day book
This book is for the reader who is well grounded in basic astrology. It describes progressions, which are various ways of moving the planets ahead (or backwards) to show current and future development.
I have seen only a few books on progressions, and Christine Shaw's book is at the top of my list for the counseling astrologer. Christine is an Australian astrologer...
Published on July 31 2003 by Maya del Mar

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a simple and pleasant study
I am from INDIA. I come accross with so many books on this subject. But the work by CHRISTINE SHAW is very much outstnding by its quality.The command on the subject is commendable. She takes the reader simply along with her explaining all about the art of prediction which is nucleus of the subject.The simple style of narration will have a pleasant going through the book...
Published on July 19 2002 by Dr.V.N.SASTRY BA. GCIM. NANDI...


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable day-to-day book, July 31 2003
By 
Maya del Mar (http://www.daykeeperjournal.com) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Predictive Astrology: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
This book is for the reader who is well grounded in basic astrology. It describes progressions, which are various ways of moving the planets ahead (or backwards) to show current and future development.
I have seen only a few books on progressions, and Christine Shaw's book is at the top of my list for the counseling astrologer. Christine is an Australian astrologer who has had her own astrology school, and has lectured in Australia and New Zealand. Excellent astrology seems to come out of Australia, and Predictive Astrology is no exception.
Robert Blaschke's books on progressions are extensive and thorough, and give more precise instructions for accurate timing. But Christine's book is easy to use, and sufficient for day-to-day work. I would turn to Robert's books after familiarity with using Christine's book.
Christine not only knows her astrology well; she is able to convey her knowledge in a dynamic and practical fashion. The book includes a lengthy and rich discussion of progressions in general. Christine uses personal research as her raw material, and her discussion is grounded in real circumstances, thus bringing progressions down to earth. The bulk of the book describes specific planetary progressed aspects, from the progressed chart to the natal chart, and within the progressed chart.
Christine talks primarily about secondary progressions, which follow the basic formula of one year in the life of the person (or event) equals one day in the ephemeris. However, a progression is a progression, and similar dynamics will operate in any type of progression. She also includes progressions into houses, and stationing progressions.
Christine stresses the importance of the natal chart. Progressions do not correlate with developments unless they are promised in the natal chart, and the way a particular progression works depends on the natal disposition of the respective planets. This is why a thorough grounding in astrology is necessary before moving on to more complex interpretation. If you know natal astrology well, the rest is in fact easy because the same principles apply. A planet is a planet, a sign is a sign, and a house is a house.
Let us look at a major progression for GW Bush: his Cancer Sun progressed into Virgo, and joining his natal Virgo Mars. This progression came into orb two months ago, and will last for two years.
First, looking briefly at his natal Mars in Virgo: This is an analytical and fix-it Mars. It also makes for nervousness and irritability. Mars semi-sextiles its dispositor, Mercury in Leo, on GW's Ascendant. (Christine discusses the importance of minor aspects.) Mercury in turn has a partile conjunction to Pluto in Leo. This shows the potential for using that Mars for power-mongering and bullying. (Readers, aren't you glad I don't go through this with you regularly? And this is just the beginning of setting the foundation of this progression!)
Here are some excerpts about Sun-Mars Progressed Aspects from Christine's book:
"This is an excellent time for initiating projects. It is not a time for cooperative ventures. You need to identify with what you are doing, and to use vigorous action. Take the plunge. During these two years the qualities of your Sun sign can be more fully expressed. This period will show you what you are most interested in accomplishing. ...You need constructive direction and planning.. .Poorly used, there can be aggressiveness, accidents, fights, separations, and death."
We can see a turbulent two years beginning for GW.
Predictive Astrology is well worth while owning and using.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Progressions Plusss, Aug. 7 2002
By 
J. Mccaul "J-McC" (Pacific NW) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Predictive Astrology: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
Christine Shaw's, Predictive Astrology, is not only a well-written and understandable guide, it is thorough and comprehensive for the intermediate level astrology student. Although the book does not really teach the reader how to "predict the future," it does guide the reader in finding the signposts for the possibilities that are out there for all to see. An excellent addition to any student forecaster's library. Crisp, clean and thoughtful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a simple and pleasant study, July 19 2002
This review is from: Predictive Astrology: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
I am from INDIA. I come accross with so many books on this subject. But the work by CHRISTINE SHAW is very much outstnding by its quality.The command on the subject is commendable. She takes the reader simply along with her explaining all about the art of prediction which is nucleus of the subject.The simple style of narration will have a pleasant going through the book all the time.It is a must to a beginner. It draws simply to the essential area of the vast subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful and down to earth approach. A must read, March 22 2002
By 
Luc De Jaeger (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Predictive Astrology: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
I was glad to have read this wonderful book about progressions from Christine Shaw. Very down to earth, practical and full of true and proven methods and delineations. You will find a lot of information and rules from the own experience of the author. No theoretical approach but from real situations. Even experienced astrologers will find useful information in it. It's one of the best books ever published about progressions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One the few good reads on Solar Arc's I have found, Feb. 4 2002
By 
This review is from: Predictive Astrology: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
If you are looking to learn Solar Arcs...this is the book. Christine did a wonderous job in the layout and writing of this masterpiece. With everything from progressions to transits and secondaries and so on and so forth. I can't praise this one enough.
Now I would like to comment I don't like predictive astrology and I don't use the methods she teaches for that purpose. I say this because I think the title might scare some people off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Predictive Astrology: A Practical Guide
Predictive Astrology: A Practical Guide by Christine Shaw (Paperback - July 8 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 16.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews