Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive scholarly compilation on zombology
Finally, a man who understands the all-too-real threat of the living dead and who posesses the eloquence to present it convincingly! Max Brooks has produced a small wonder of a book in the Zombie Survival Guide, a book which provides the average American reader (through hands-on experience, published scientific research and historical accounts) with a comprehensive guide...
Published on April 23 2004 by Jeffrey Hsieh

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic
This was a rather entertaining read, as I suspect it was intended. I have no illusions that the Zombie threat and his examples of infestations are fiction. But his information as to what is needed to survive and how to survive are incredibly simplistic. Examples of what to do never provide detailed advice or methodology to follow. Items needed for survival are...
Published on June 11 2009 by R. Lightfoot


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive scholarly compilation on zombology, April 23 2004
By 
Jeffrey Hsieh (Indiana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Finally, a man who understands the all-too-real threat of the living dead and who posesses the eloquence to present it convincingly! Max Brooks has produced a small wonder of a book in the Zombie Survival Guide, a book which provides the average American reader (through hands-on experience, published scientific research and historical accounts) with a comprehensive guide to surviving multiple levels of zombie infestation. Stripping away popular zombie myths, Brooks cuts through the morass of media misinformation with a book based firmly in the terrible reality of the undead. Easy-to-follow chapters on recommended weaponry, small-unit tactics and defensive fortification provide an easy entrance into the frightening world of the undead for the novice zombologist, while seasoned veterans will appreciate the elaborate instructions on how to survive the dreaded "Class 4" infestation. With a balanced mix of the practical, the historical and the scientific, this book has something for everyone. If you buy only one book on zombology, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive scholarly compilation on zombology, April 23 2004
By 
Jeffrey Hsieh (Indiana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Finally, a man who understands the all-too-real threat of the living dead and who posesses the eloquence to present it convincingly! Max Brooks has produced a small wonder of a book in the Zombie Survival Guide, a book which provides the average American reader (through hands-on experience, published scientific research and historical accounts) with a comprehensive guide to surviving multiple levels of zombie infestation. Stripping away popular zombie myths, Brooks cuts through the morass of media misinformation with a book based firmly in the terrible reality of the undead. Easy-to-follow chapters on recommended weaponry, small-unit tactics and defensive fortification provide an easy entrance into the frightening world of the undead for the novice zombologist, while seasoned veterans will appreciate the elaborate instructions on how to survive the dreaded "Class 4" infestation. With a balanced mix of the practical, the historical and the scientific, this book has something for everyone. If you buy only one book on zombology, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic, June 11 2009
By 
R. Lightfoot - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was a rather entertaining read, as I suspect it was intended. I have no illusions that the Zombie threat and his examples of infestations are fiction. But his information as to what is needed to survive and how to survive are incredibly simplistic. Examples of what to do never provide detailed advice or methodology to follow. Items needed for survival are simplistically described. Again, a fun book to read but would it have been better served with more detail as this, indirectly, could also have served as a guide to survival for a more realistic emergency. Like alien invasion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining read, May 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am only half way through reading this book! I am really enjoying it! I find myself laughing at times at the book but I would definitely not categorize this book as a humor book ! The author really took the time to showcase what the world would be like if there were zombies! And the do's and don't! Some of the information provided may serve as a survival guide for other situations!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best protection against zombies, March 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read this book a number of years ago and since then have wanted a copy for myself.
I decided to get it now because I saw it was on sale and I was able to get free shipping.

The book is a fun read, covering background information, weapons, and how to behave in different situations; on the defence, on the attack, and on the run, as well as how to survive in a completely zombie infested world.

Very Informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, Jan. 1 2014
By 
J. Vivier - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I choose this book following a friend's recommendation. It's awesome! Funny, it, will make you smile or laugh more than once. Absolute masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference Book!, Nov. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the definitive book on preparing for the inevitable zombie apocalypse! This book WILL save your life! It is a must have in your library is you are serious about surviving World War Z!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't vacation in California while reading!!!, Oct. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I feel more ready than ever for the inevitable. I never thought I would own a gun until I read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really "fun" book, Aug. 17 2012
By 
Corey Northey (Manitoba, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book reads like a manual with personality. I really enjoyed reading it. Suggest it to anybody who enjoys the zombie genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not funny, but..., Oct. 16 2003
By 
K. Tunstall "author" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I picked up this book, I thought it would be a laugh-out-loud kind of book, judging from the subject matter and the back blurb. Trust me when I say the funniest parts of the book are condensed onto the back blurb.
That doesn't make it a bad book. When I started reading, I got the eerie feeling Mr. Brooks kinda, sorta believes zombies are real. If not, he did a very good job of convincing his readers he thinks they exist. It could be his humor was very subtle, and he intentionally wrote it to be so utterly serious that it crosses the line to utterly silly. Maybe I just missed the line.
This is a good book for the die-hard zombie fans. Don't buy it if you're looking for a quick read that will leave you gasping with laughter. But if you want to know how to survive the inevitable Class Four zombie invasion--and how to watch for the precursors leading up to it--you won't mind shilling out $$$ for this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead
CDN$ 39.95 CDN$ 25.04
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews