Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
Here we have the COMPLETE syndicated run of the Far Side Comic series. It was ground breaking for many as one can see from the letters to the editor from newspapers which appear on some pages.
The only thin I didn't like was the fact that they didn't have a major bonus section like the book "Prehistory of the Far Side" had. That one had some which were rejected by...
Published on Dec 17 2003 by Ted

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with quality
Imagine my surprise upon opening a sealed copy of this set to discover significant grease stains on the pages of the first volume. For what this set represents and what it costs, this is unacceptable.
Published on Dec 8 2003 by K. L. Boschee


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, Dec 17 2003
By 
Ted "Ted" (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
Here we have the COMPLETE syndicated run of the Far Side Comic series. It was ground breaking for many as one can see from the letters to the editor from newspapers which appear on some pages.
The only thin I didn't like was the fact that they didn't have a major bonus section like the book "Prehistory of the Far Side" had. That one had some which were rejected by his editor as being too racy, I would have loved to see more of those in this release. Still This item is well worth the price.
I hope that Dan Piraro does this type of book If and when his "Bizarro" series ends. If you like "Far Side" you will like probably like "Bizarro"
A few of the "Far Side" comics slightly offend me as a Christian, but almost all of them don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile investment, Oct. 28 2003
By 
Jason C. Garza "Jason C. Garza" (Moline, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
This is the Holy Grail for Far Side fans; a two-volume, leatherbound, slipcase edition of every single Far Side strip ever produced, including ones that were never anthologized. It carries a hefty price tag, but this should not be an issue for a true Larson fan; the price of admission pales in comparison to the endless amount of humor and satisfaction that one will get time and time again. The Far Side never gets old, and it's like having a long-lost friend come back.
The pages are thick and glossy and extremely well-bound; it's like an encyclopedia, only with a lot more relevant information and more interesting pictures. Organized chronologically and with a two-page cartoon introducing the year, the Complete Far Side shows the progression of Larson's humor and the transformation of the public reaction to his cartoons (this is done with various letters from editors and such, though not in a way that mimics The Pre-History of the Far Side). Some of the strips are presented in color, something that will perhaps be seen as a disappointment to some, but to the majority it is nothing short of a bonus; most of these that are in color have been previously anthologized in black and white.
I personally find Steve Martin's introduction to be a brilliant homage to Gary Larson, and the comments from Larson's editor prove to be tongue-in-cheek moments where one who truly "gets" The Far Side can laugh at the ignorant masses.
This is the centerpiece of my library now, and while it is somewhat bulky, when it's in your lap or on the table, the ten pounds per book seems irrelevant when you realize the sheer scope of what you have in your hands.
And if you ever visit the Midvale School for the Gifted...pull, don't push.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars more cows, Jan. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
gary Larson has always been one of my absolute favorites...from the quirky to the odd to the downright plain weird...absolutely love them all...and this package is really well done...(and heavy too)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ALL of Gary Larson's cartoons - what joy!, Oct. 1 2013
By 
Joseph Barry Garner (Agassiz, Bc, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
This comes in two, heavy, beautifully bound, tall volumes in an illustrated slipcase; heavy paper, heavy, heavy books. That's the only drawback. It includes every Larson cartoon produced including unpublished cartoons. They are bound in sequential order so one can observe how Larson's drawing improved over the years. Some letters to the editor and comments from Larson are included.
If someone likes Larson's cartoons, than this is a marvelous gift. My wife had each volume on the table reading them at every meal time, and in between. Now we can look up ' a discouraging word', or 'there for three points, Rex ' etc. Wonderful fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Complete works was incomplete, Aug. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
I love Gary Larson and the Far Side. Recently bought the complete works in hard cover. Two huge and heavy volumes. However, both books were Volume I. Hello, where is Volume 2? Have tried calling and speaking to very nice customer service people at Amazon, sent emails to Daily Deal but all falls on deaf ears. Nobody wants to hear my plea!!!!

All I want is to return the superfluous Vol 1 and exchange it for the missing Vol 2. Help!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally hilarious, April 30 2013
By 
Wm. D. Milburn (Calgary, AB, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
This is a set of two volumes. It's absolutely hilarious. I totally recommend this book for anyone who needs a pick-me-up. If you're on death row, if you have terminal cancer, if your wife left you and took the house, if you've been permanently injured in a car accident... You get it. These books can turn your mood around no matter what.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Far Out Man!!, March 24 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
So many memories! So much fun! Who knew that a cartoonist could essentially define a decade or two before melting into the shadows. Beautifully bound and annotated with love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY NO COWS WERE HARMED IN PRINTING THIS MASTERPIECE!, Oct. 24 2007
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
Where BILL WATTERSON is philosophical and whimsical, GARRY LARSON is absurdly surprising and devilishly creative! He will come at your funny bone from all directions - including the ones you knew not they existed.

I remember ordering his large sized collections one by one from the Book-Of-The-Month-Club and then laughing out loud all weekend!
Animals and humans never have existed so harmoniously. This is the universe of the absurd, the weird, the what-if, the I-know-this-is-not-possible-but-then-why-does-it-feel-so-familiar?

Own all his cartoons in 2 beautifully bound volumes.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly the ultimate (comprehensive) collection, Nov. 13 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
In terms of content, this is *nearly* the ultimate collection of Gary Larson's wonderful Far Side comics (why do all the good cartoonists like Larson and Watterson retire early, while banal ones like Jim Davis [Garfield] go on ad nauseum?).
Books are very well made, like good art history volumes, with thoughtful notes included between each section (divided by years), and the paper and ink quality is excellent.
However, while this collection features all of the Far Side comics published since inception (and a few more never before seen by the public), it leaves out Larson's hilarious Farsidian take on classic art pieces as featured in the superb "Weiner Dog Art" collection from the 90's. Also, and I suppose this would have made what are already two massive tomes even more unruly to handle, it leaves out all of "Prehistory of the Far Side" material.
So just make sure you get "Weiner Dog Art" and "Prehistory", and then with this collection you'll have the ultimate Far Side opus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with quality, Dec 8 2003
By 
K. L. Boschee "realitytvsucks" (Palm Springs, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Far Side (Hardcover)
Imagine my surprise upon opening a sealed copy of this set to discover significant grease stains on the pages of the first volume. For what this set represents and what it costs, this is unacceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Far Side
The Complete Far Side by Gary Larson (Hardcover - Sept. 1 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 194.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews