Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It makes sense to learn from one of the best stock pickers
If you are going to pick your own stocks (I buy individual stocks only with money I can afford to lose, the rest is in real estate, mutual funds, and bonds), this book, by one of the best stock pickers of all time, should be considered mandatory reading for you.
Peter Lynch does not give you a mechanical, step-by-step process to pick the winners, but his stories give...
Published on April 14 2004 by andris virsnieks

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wall Street Memories and Advice
Peter Lynch was a star manager of Fidelity's flagship mutual fund in the late 1970s and 1980s, gaining well deserved recognition for his outstanding performance record, and even more recognition for his excellent writing. One Up On Wall Street offers an excellent, entertaining, educational tour through the very vast world of investing, always with an eye to the novice...
Published on Oct. 19 2011 by Ian Robertson


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It makes sense to learn from one of the best stock pickers, April 14 2004
By 
andris virsnieks (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Up On Wall Street: How To Use What You Already Know To Make Money In The Market (Paperback)
If you are going to pick your own stocks (I buy individual stocks only with money I can afford to lose, the rest is in real estate, mutual funds, and bonds), this book, by one of the best stock pickers of all time, should be considered mandatory reading for you.
Peter Lynch does not give you a mechanical, step-by-step process to pick the winners, but his stories give you an insight into how he thinks, and learning to think like Peter Lynch is bound to help you become a better stock picker.
Mr. Lynch does not promise that you will get rich by picking a quick series of ten-baggers. He makes it clear, I think, that investing in individual stocks is not meant for those people who don't have a strong stomach and are not good at doing research.
Mr. Lynch recognizes that for many people their best investment, in the end, turns out to be their home. His view of the investment world is broader than that of many other stock market experts.
P.S. An additional caution of the risks involved in picking individual stocks to invest in: A long time after Peter Lynch wrote this book, I read that he lost a significant amount of money by investing in an upscale carpet business that did not pan out as anticipated. Even the greatest track record does not guarantee future results. So beware! No matter how good you are, and how strong your stomach is, you will have to absorb some big losses sooner or later. Peter Lynch did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wall Street Memories and Advice, Oct. 19 2011
By 
Ian Robertson (West Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: One Up On Wall Street: How To Use What You Already Know To Make Money In The Market (Paperback)
Peter Lynch was a star manager of Fidelity's flagship mutual fund in the late 1970s and 1980s, gaining well deserved recognition for his outstanding performance record, and even more recognition for his excellent writing. One Up On Wall Street offers an excellent, entertaining, educational tour through the very vast world of investing, always with an eye to the novice investor. Originally published in 1989, just before his retirement, one would expect many of the examples to be dated and on occasion no longer in existence, and that is true, but unfortunately some of the insight that Lynch gives and advice that he offers is also dated as the faster paced world of computers and instant information. The issue isn't that one can't substitute a computer for the reference book in Lynch's advice, rather it's that the common sense thinking and basic research is available to everyone, everywhere at all times, so much of the advice itself comes across as quaint or dated. Still, Mr. Lynch presents his advice extremely well, with interesting anecdotes, a wealth of experience, and plain language.

Readers could do much worse than this as a starting point, but will want to continue on with some more up to date advice for their next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for growth stock shoppers, March 6 2004
By 
This review is from: One Up On Wall Street: How To Use What You Already Know To Make Money In The Market (Paperback)
I think this book is a very good book for people that want to buy good growing companies that they might do business with, in fact in this book Mr. Lynch recommends buying stock in companies that you do business with. For instance if you drink a lot of Mountain Dew you might want to consider investing in Pepsi-Cola.
Peter Lynch was the manager of the world's largest mutual fund (Fidelity Magellan) also during his tenure that mutual fund was the best performing mutual fund in the world.
Mr. Lynch doesn't give you an exact formula but with careful reading I believe you can determine some of the criteria he used. He also goes into discussion of what criteria he uses to sell a stock. (hint it isn't the same for all stocks)
Here are a few things that Mr. Lynch thinks would make the perfect stock:
1. If it sounds dull or, even better, ridiculous
2. If it does something dull
3. It does something disagreeable
4. It's a spin off
5. The institutions don't own it and analysts don't follow it.
6. The rumors abound: It's involved with toxic waste or the mafia
7. There's something depressing about it
8. It's a no-growth industry
9. It's got a niche
10. People have to keep buying it
11. It's a user of technology
12. The insiders and buyers
13. The company is buying back shares
Overall I think this is a good way to learn about investing in growth stocks that aren't exactly CAN SLIM, and what to hold stocks for a year or longer. I'm not alone this book is ranked 4 and 1/2 out of 5 stars at amazon.com
Reed Floren
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Capital Read!, Feb. 23 2004
By 
S. A. Cartwright "Stu Cartwright" (Wayland, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Up On Wall Street: How To Use What You Already Know To Make Money In The Market (Paperback)
I borrowed my copy of "One Up On Wall Street" from a friend who is a longtime professional equities investor. He received this gift as recommended reading from a veteran investment analyst he knows. While Peter Lynch has written an easily comprehendible advice book on common stock investing - very much written in layman's terms and without emphasis on industry jargon - the principles he puts forth are fundamental and worth reviewing by anyone, amateur or pro.
Within the 300 pages of this book, Lynch outlines a useful rubric against which all stock selections might be measured. His stocks fall into six categories: Slow Growers, Stalwarts, Cyclicals, Fast Growers, Turnarounds and Asset Plays. Screening, buying and selling advice are outlined for each of these six flavors, although nothing revolutionary (eg., Sell a slow grower when the dividend is unattractive.) He delivers a wealth of the basic analytical tools (well, more like rules of thumb) for stock research, explaining price earnings ratios, the import of tax loss carry-forwards, goodwill accounting, inventories, and other basics of P&L statements and Balance Sheets. It's a pocket guide financial course for those who may have slept through Accounting 101.
Lynch urges stock pickers to do their homework, and suggests the regimen of a "Two Minute" drill, whereby an investor can recite a brief monologue of reasons for selecting a security: Reasons for selection, what the company needs to do to succeed, and pitfalls that stand in the way. Obviously, this is not a book for the technicians or chartists. Nor even speculators, as Lynch reminds the reader that his "ten-baggers" or "forty-baggers" all come as a result of having held at least three to four years.
Quite a bit of the book carries a populist bent. There is plenty of advice to pay more heed to what's happening in the local shopping mall than to investment brokers ("oxymorons"), and to avoid stocks with exotic names or that may have been whispered to be hot. Of course, we've all been aware of this, and we're all wealthy and drinking daiquiris on the beach now, right?
In sum, it is worth the investment of the few hours it takes to swallow this information. At worst, it is an entertaining look at some high-fliers the former Magellan manager scored with, but at the very least it serves as reminder that basics need to be followed, and nothing works as well as solid research, good discipline and old fashioned hard work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Peek into the Mind of an Investment Legend, Nov. 8 2003
By 
Alex Sellers (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Up On Wall Street: How To Use What You Already Know To Make Money In The Market (Paperback)
The book starts with the thesis that with some alertness and due dilligence, any lay person from main street can identify some of the very best growth stocks of tomorrow. And do so long before Wall Street analysts start paying attention to them. The rest of the book describes how the author identifies, classifies, and analyzes various types of companies. The power to the average man theme, and author's track record as a money manager are responsible for the book's popularity. Notwithstanding the book's sub-title, in a very self-centred fashion the book revolves arouond the author, not the average man ("You"). The stock analysis part of the book, while sound, is not particularly original.
The author comes across as a bottom up opportunist, not a top down theoretician. In fact he has certain amount of scorn for academic theories. His success seems to come from independent thinking, extra effort, and extra (calculated) risk taking. His portfolio had more small caps, growth stocks, cheap stocks, cyclicals, and turnaround plays than ever so boring S&P500. This would have increased the riskiness of his portfolio. He also boldly went investing in companies that no analyst had looked at before. And he was handsomely rewarded for that. It is also clear that he thought in terms of the whole portfolio, not just individual stocks. I.e. he didn't lose sight of the forest for the trees. I liked his classification of stocks into six categories: (i) slow growers, (ii) stalwarts, (iii) fast growers, (iv) cyclicals, (v) turnarounds, and (vi) asset plays. I also liked his thumb rule that a fair value of P/E ratio is equal to or less than the sum of earnings growth rate and dividend yield.
Author's presentation is mostly anecdotal, and aimed at the amateur/beginner level. Advanced students of finance, quants, and system traders will be sorely disappointed. While he points out that he beat S&P500 by a mile and a half, it is not clear how did he do in risk adjusted terms. Neither am I convinced that his approach will beat the market in every economic climate. After all, US in the '80s and '90s was quite atypical in the history of world financial markets. This book is nowhere as focused or intellectually rigorous as Ben Graham's Intelligent Investor. Neither is it as systematic as John Bogle's books on mutual funds. But as a peek into the thought process of a legendary investor it is extremely interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RECOMMENED, March 9 2003
By 
R. Alexander "robazzzz" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Up On Wall Street: How To Use What You Already Know To Make Money In The Market (Paperback)
When looking for recommended stock market investment books, I made a list of books touted by Morningstar [...] as good reading. I selected about 6 books to read, some of them I thought were easy to read & others not so easy, this one by Peter Lynch being one of the former.
If you are like me i.e.
1. Professional financial qualification
2. Many years of hand-on business experience
3. Strongly confident when making initial foray into the market
4. Made some stock market investments
5. Lost more money than gained
6. Suitably humbled by investment experience
7. Looking for an investment strategy
8. Will to adapt & adopt new ideas
read this book.
Peter Lynch inspires one to use his down to earth, common sense approach when selecting stock market investments. "How to Use What You Already Know to Make Money in the Market" on the front cover is described in detail in his book & can be put to PRACTICAL use. Also, he was a top money manager who made plenty money for his investors in his Magellan Fund so he has a track record & is not trying to live off royalties from book sales.
The book is easy to read & not full of technical jargon designed to confuse the un-itiated (or initiated) - an extract from Chapter 2 "To the list of famous oxymoron's-military intelligence, learned professor, deafening silence and jumbo shrimp-I'd add professional investing". Whilst this may seem silly to read in a book on stock market investments, he makes it very clear why top investment analysts, money managers & the like make some spectacularly poor investment choices. He tells you how you can avoid these mistakes. I got so much value out of this book I have read it twice & I am planning to read it again & take notes.
There's so much [stuff] written on stocks & stock market investing out there to read. You will avoid that when reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Underestimate Lynch, Sept. 18 2002
This review is from: One Up On Wall Street: How To Use What You Already Know To Make Money In The Market (Paperback)
Peter Lynch is the one who brought "ten bagger" into mainstream financial parlance. He seems oft quoted. But somewhere, something got lost in the translation. Say "Peter Lynch," and someone might say: "Oh, he's the one that says 'invest in what you know.'" People have taken that to mean that if you like eating donuts, then you buy stock in your favorite donut company; likewise for coffee. That, of course, is a ridiculous oversimplification of what Lynch has to teach. Lynch did not become the famed manager of Fidelity Magellan by just eating donuts. What he is really saying is that you cannot beat the amount of "fundamental analysis" you can do simply by being a frequent consumer of a customer's products, a recognition that investing in stocks is "an art, not a science."
But do not be fooled by the "aw shucks," self-deprecating humor of this Wharton Business School graduate. Read between the lines and you will see that he is not advocating that you throw out everything you ever learned about financial analysis. Reread One Up On Wall Street as a reminder of how important it can be to visit a company, to test and understand its products.
"I don't believe in predicting markets. I believe in buying great companies--especially companies that are undervalued or underappreciated," he says. "Although it's easy to forget sometimes, a share of stock is not a lottery ticket. It's part ownership of a business."
The book is actually a collection of aphorisms on how to look at and consider various situations in which a company might find itself. Many of these rules are so deceptively simple on first reading that they have only recently truly made sense to me after some years of doing diligence on companies. I would actually call this a "principles" book. For instance, Lynch talks about what is perhaps one of the most difficult arts to learn in finance: knowing when to exit out of an investment. And while there are chapters called "Earnings, Earnings, Earnings" and "Some Famous Numbers," clearly they are meant more for retail investors than portfolio managers. You are not going to find a heavy technical discussion. Now and then, however, it is always healthy to review the general rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required Reader for Every Investor (Who Wants to Succeeded), Aug. 12 2002
This review is from: One Up On Wall Street: How To Use What You Already Know To Make Money In The Market (Paperback)
After he spent years managing mutual fund that is bigger the GDP of most countries, Peter Lynch has learned a few things about how to invest wisely.
While a lot of investment books will tips that claim will triple your money (but only make you broke instead) Lynch preaches from the pulpit of common sense when it comes to making investments.
One up on Wall Street should be required reading for every investor who wants to succeed if you have never invested a nickel or hold stock in 1,000 companies, Lynch's life time of investing experience can help you make better investment decisions.
This book helps you categorize and what phrase different stocks (and the companies behind them) are in and then what strategy you can use when investing in these different stock categories.
It will help you sort through the maze of financial numbers and makes it easy for anybody to perform simple stock research that professional perform everyday and are often overpaid for.
Lynch's lessons are timeless and his common sense approach can work in any market, up or down. If you have never invested before and looking for some help or you have spent years investing, buy two copies of these books in case you lose the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Belongs on every investor's bookshelf, April 27 2002
By 
Tony Ursillo (Norwood, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Up On Wall Street: How To Use What You Already Know To Make Money In The Market (Paperback)
"One Up" is a fantastic basic investing book for the individual who is new to buying stocks. Fidelity legend Peter Lynch retired over a decade ago. However, the longevity of this book, even as so many other 'star manager' investing books have come and gone, is a testament to the quality of writing and guidance that "One Up" offers. Lynch has a remarkable knack for making difficult concepts easy to grasp and he has plenty of anecdotes and real world examples to illustrate his points. In truth, I think he also makes it seem a little too easy to do well in the market. But the values of investing that he espouses are ones which should keep most investors in the game and occasionally allow them to score big. Valuable topics of discussion in this book include valuation, analyzing the balance sheet, investing mistakes (including his own), and Lynch's checklist for the perfect stock. "One Up" will leave you feeling empowered to invest and thirsty for more knowledge about the markets. I read this book about ten years ago and still consider it one of the top 5 books about investing in my library of over fifty. You can also check out "Beating the Street," which is sort of a sequel to this book. But I think "One Up" is a better book and I would definitely read it first if you plan on reading either one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent first book on investing, April 11 2002
This review is from: One Up On Wall Street: How To Use What You Already Know To Make Money In The Market (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. After the dotcom bust, everyone should be looking to improve their understanding of value investing.
I have to admit that I am a beginning investor, having been at it for only about 6 months. However, in that first 6 months, I have invested in about 6 stocks so far, and some have gone up over 300% since my initial investment. Of the 6, 5 have gone up, and I'm waiting on the 6th. Overall, I'm up about about 120%. Sure, I'm probably lucky, especially given how much more I feel I have to learn. [Note: don't ask for tips! :) I'm still learning, and I figured that investing a little was the best way to force myself to learn about businesses, the stock market, and so on.]
About Lynch's book: Very insightful, very easy to read, and though he avoids mathematics [I majored in math, so I like to see mathematical books], it is still a great resource for learning about how to evaluate companies. My favorite bit of advice from this book was something like the following: "If you are invested in a company, and could see investing more in it, if the resources were available, then keep on investing or at least hold on to it. If you are invested in a company, and there's no way you would invest more, then sell!"
I suspect that people tend to hold on to a company long after they think it's a good investment. And everything in one's portfolio should be evaluated periodically for either more investment or for sale.
Anyway, I like this book, and it'll remain on my shelf for reading again, when I'm wiser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Up On Wall Street: How To Use What You Already Know To Make Money In The Market
CDN$ 20.00 CDN$ 14.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews