Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Sobering Read of Internet Mayhem
Although I am not usually a great fan of Mr. Douglas, I found the subject of this book engrossing enough to keep me reading. The story reads like fiction, except that unfortunately it is true. Robinson, the subject of this book is a psychopath who lured trusting women to their death, picking the most vulnerable as his victims. He shows the Internet for what it is: A place...
Published on May 24 2004 by Erika R.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book but things added that weren't necessary
A friend bought this book for me for Christmas. It was a harder book to read than what I am used to reading. It was interesting but things were added that didn't completely apply such as details of child porno which John Robinson didn't praticpate in. I didn't care when computers because popular and other things such as the O.J. murders.
It is shocking how a man on a...
Published on Jan. 12 2004 by Ann Atkinson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Sobering Read of Internet Mayhem, May 24 2004
By 
Erika R. (Hamilton, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anyone You Want Me to Be: A True Story of Sex and Death on the Internet (Hardcover)
Although I am not usually a great fan of Mr. Douglas, I found the subject of this book engrossing enough to keep me reading. The story reads like fiction, except that unfortunately it is true. Robinson, the subject of this book is a psychopath who lured trusting women to their death, picking the most vulnerable as his victims. He shows the Internet for what it is: A place where anyone can be who they want to be, and nobody is really what they are. A sobering and chilling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A horrific tail....I can't believe this really happened, Sept. 11 2007
By 
Melanie (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This is a fast paced true Crime novel about the murderer John Robinson, who started off his criminal career with fraud and embezzling money. Later as the Internet became more popular he would surf the net looking for his victims. Finding women who he could lure into his sadistic life.

This book has some really graphic parts and also deals with the world of S&M, getting into detail about his relationships with some of the girls and how he made them sign slave contracts.

Once again it is amazing to see what someone can accomplish and get away with for so many years just by being a smooth talker and knowing how to read other people. Compiling more and more information on them through casual conversations and then using that knowledge against them. Quite sick. Makes you really think about how much information you give out over the internet, do you really know who you have been talking too???

This book also contains 8 pages of photos of John Robinson and some of his victims.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best John Douglas book by far, July 22 2007
By 
Gobifish (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anyone You Want Me to Be: A True Story of Sex and Death on the Internet (Hardcover)
I've read John Douglas's excellent Journey into Darkness and Mindhunter books, but this is by far the best of his work so far. Unlike the aforementioned titles, this book is about a single case. But the story is very well told, easy to follow, yet still riveting from start to finish. Anyone who enjoys true crime will like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A horrific tail....I can't believe this really happened, March 2 2007
By 
Melanie (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
This is a fast paced true Crime novel about the murderer John Robinson, who started off his criminal career with fraud and embezzling money. Later as the Internet became more popular he would surf the net looking for his victims. Finding women who he could lure into his sadistic life.

This book has some really graphic parts and also deals with the world of S&M, getting into detail about his relationships with some of the girls and how he made them sign slave contracts.

Once again it is amazing to see what someone can accomplish and get away with for so many years just by being a smooth talker and knowing how to read other people. Compiling more and more information on them through casual conversations and then using that knowledge against them. Quite sick. Makes you really think about how much information you give out over the internet, do you really know who you have been talking too???

This book also contains 8 pages of photos of John Robinson and some of his victims.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scary as can be..., June 14 2004
By 
Robert Wellen (CHICAGO, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is my fifth John Douglas book, the first I've read with Stephen Singular. Like many true crime books, it is not great literature. The story feels stretched out for extra drama over too many pages and the books strays off into Douglas' discourse on cybercrime fighting it loses it's momentum. The sections on cybercrime fighting should have been in the appendix. John Douglas is a passionate crusader for both law enforcement and victim's rights, but he really was a snooze here--his knowledge of the internet is not very deep and the listing of government agencies is bland. However, the John Robinson story was completely new to me. He is truly a one of a kind serial killer...from white collar criminal to murderer is not the "usual" route. I wonder if he is proud of being the first internet serial killer. His wife Nancy is also a tragic, yet frightening woman. How could she not know? Or more likely, how could she deny, deny, deny his nature? Wow. However, the focus should remain on the monsterous deeds of JR. He again shows us the banality of evil. Not great literature, but a fascinating case that I had never even heard of until I read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, June 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Anyone You Want Me to Be: A True Story of Sex and Death on the Internet (Hardcover)
I enjoyed reading this book, but the reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because there was some information that I didn't really care about and found myself skipping over those details. Other than that I really liked the book, it was suspensful and I found myself not being able to put it down. I would reccomend this book to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book but things added that weren't necessary, Jan. 12 2004
By 
Ann Atkinson "Anntnwv" (Antioch, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anyone You Want Me to Be: A True Story of Sex and Death on the Internet (Hardcover)
A friend bought this book for me for Christmas. It was a harder book to read than what I am used to reading. It was interesting but things were added that didn't completely apply such as details of child porno which John Robinson didn't praticpate in. I didn't care when computers because popular and other things such as the O.J. murders.
It is shocking how a man on a computer could convince women to cross state lines to find their "perfect" man because he was such a liar and charmer.
I would love to read a book wrote by his wife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating tale of Internet's first serial murderer, Jan. 11 2004
By 
Blaine Greenfield "eclectic reader" (Belle Meade, NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anyone You Want Me to Be: A True Story of Sex and Death on the Internet (Hardcover)
If you're a fan of true crime stories, and I am, you'll want to
read ANYONE YOU WANT ME TO BE by John Douglas and
Steven Singular.
It is the tale of John Robinson, the Internet's first serial murderer . . . I
found it fascinating to see how he evolved from a petty con man to
a master of technology in the last half of the 1990s who could
attract women from all over the country to do virtually anything
he wanted.
Although I knew the ending when I first picked up the book, it
nevertheless kept me fascinating until the very ending--a mark
of really good writing.
Also, I liked the Appendix at the end . . . the first part gave tips
for helping adults and kids avoid the dangers of Internet
predators . . . however, the second part dealing with the
following "tips adults can share with children" that I found
particularly worthwhile:

1. Never give out personal information (such as name, age, home
address, phone number, school, town, password, schedule, or
your picture) or fill out questionnaires or any forms on-line.
2. Never meet in person with anyone you have met on-line without
mom and/or dad present.
3. Do not enter a chat room without mom and/or dad's presence or
supervision. Some "kids" you meet in chat rooms may not really
be kids but adults with bad intentions. Remember-people on-line
may be very different from who you think they are.
4. Be suspicious of anyone who tries to turn you against your parents,
teachers, or friends. They may have a hidden agenda.
5. Never respond to or send e-mail or instant messages to new people
you've met on-line. Talk to your parents first so that they can check
out the situation. Never engage in an on-line conversation that makes
you feel uncomfortable; log off and tell your parents. If you get such
a message, DO NOT respond. Sending a response only encourages
the person. Instead, show it to your parents and let them handle it.
6. Use Control-H while browsing the Web to see a list of Web sites that
have been accessed by your computer in the last few weeks. This
can help you determine if your child is visiting any dangerous sites.
7. Install filtering software like CYBERsitter, CyberPatrol, or Net Nanny.
The software costs about $50 and acts as a digital chaperon,
blocking any inappropriate content. These programs work by checking
which sites your child visits against a list of disapproved sites, complied
by the makers of the software.
8. Install software that will actually record images of every Web site that
your child visits. The software won't stop them from accessing sites,
but it will let you know if you have a problem. For truly concerned
parents (or employers), you can now buy Investigator, which allows
you to track every mouse click made by your child when on-line. It
reads secret passwords, records everything that has been deleted,
catalogs Web sites that have been visited, shows credit card usage
on the Internet, and can even tell you what your child purchased.
At present, it is the most sophisticated software yet created to spy
on those in cyberspace.
9. Be a part of your children's on-line lives as well as their off-line ones.
Talk to your children about what sites they visit, whom they
communicate with, and who are on their buddy lists. No software
will ever be a substitute for being and active parent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Scary, Dec 10 2003
This review is from: Anyone You Want Me to Be: A True Story of Sex and Death on the Internet (Hardcover)
As true crime books go, this may not be the best-written, or the most scintillating, but it is as scary as it gets, especially to those who think they know their way around the Internet and are confident that they know all the scams.
Convicted mass murderer John Robinson, who is currently on Death Row for his gruesome crimes, trolled the Net for women, luring them to his home state of Kansas, involving them in kinky practices, then killing them and hiding their bodies in barrels. His unspeakable crimes went on for years and years, while at home, he was the model husband, father and grandfather, a pillar of his community and his church.
How could this happen? All too easily, as former FBI profiler John Robinson, the author of many other such books, describes in painstaking detail. Think you couldn't be roped into such a scheme? Think again. Robinson was brilliant at what he did; he fooled not just naive "prey," but thinking women who knew the perils of the Internet, including at least one psychologist who walked right into his horrible web (no pun intended).
The chilling story ends with a series of warnings for parents about supervising their children's activity on the Net, and also reminds adults to be careful. It's a worthwhile book for that alone. For those of us who like true crime stories, it's probably a C plus due to the stilted writing. But the story in itself is grade A...well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Skip This Book, Nov. 21 2003
By 
A. Vegan (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anyone You Want Me to Be: A True Story of Sex and Death on the Internet (Hardcover)
As I started reading this book, I couldn't help but notice the similarities between this book and Internet Slave Master by John Glatt. So similar, in fact, that I thought I was reading the same book again. I didn't really like Internet Slave Master nor did I like this one. This book had nothing new to say. John Robinson was a businessman, Eagle Scout and Man of the Year. Very few people knew the real John Robinson. Three quarters of the book deals with the prior crimes committed by John. He was always setting up new businesses and trying to get people to invest. Each time the police caught him, he would start up another business. Eventually he moved his scams to the internet to lure women. This book was a waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbf2fcdec)

This product

Anyone You Want Me to Be: A True Story of Sex and Death on the Internet
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews