Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

2.2 out of 5 stars6
2.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$18.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews(2 star).Show all reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on June 11, 2004
Or she would have spared me (and other buyers) from paying for her advice, information, opinions, and knowledge on her version of "entertaining". Most of the information is irrelevant - unless you have your own caterer, florist, maid, bellman, limo driver, party organizer and an unlimited amount of cash. Dispensing advice on how to entertain using caterers and servers is hardly applicable to most of us who do not entertain in a posh Manhattan apartment. The section on "Weekend activities in the Country..." is perfect insight in to how contrived and artificial the life of Kate and Andy must be.
Although one might try and find the book humorous - in order to justify its ridiculous overpricing. The real joke is on me the purchaser of the book as I was the one duped and the Spades are laughing all the way to the bank.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2004
I agree with the other reviewer. I bought all of the books in this series and am shocked at how much of the advice has been taken from previous authors on these topics. She is copying classics like Emily Post and simply re-wording the text. Except for the cute drawings, this series is a waste of money. If you want to know how to do things "correctly", read Letitia Baldridge's "The New Manners For the '90's". It covers everything and is written by a woman with the education and experience to know of which she speaks! Not someone who using her fashion connections to flood the magazines and talk shows with her "discovery" of this information.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2004
I anxiously awaited the release of this book, as well as the other two in the series. What a disappointment! There is nothing in this book that is new or exciting. Kate offers the same old, tired suggestions that you can find in any book on entertaining. The watercolor illustrations are cute but that's about it. This book has no substance and reads more like a children's book then anything else. For $20 these books are overpriced, as is anything with the Kate Spade name on it. Don't waste your hard-earned money so she and her yuppy husband can laugh all the way to the bank, or their "summer home" in the Hamptons! :-(
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2004
When I first heard that Kate Spade was delving into the world of book publishing I was skeptical and I was correct. After reading this installment and the other 2 in the series, "Manners" and "Style" I have come to the conclusion that Kate should stick to what she knows, designing handbags and accessories. While the illustrations are quite charming the book lacks substance. These books would be better titled "Kate and Andy's Favorite Things" or better yet "How to be the Perfect WASP Wannabe". It's all a bit too contrived for me. My advice would be to save your money and buy a handbag instead.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2004
I bought this book as a gag gift for a friend, assuming that it would be full of cutsie little ideas for parties... maybe a few recipes and quotes and bits of ettiquette.
I read it on the way home, and was bored to tears. There's nothing I love more than entertaining and pretending to be sophisticated, but this book was niether. It told me almost nothing that even barely related to reality, and that which was complete common sense that any 5 year old could tell you about having friends over.
I ended up returning the book. It wasn't even worth it as a gag gift.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
kate spade new york: all in good taste
kate spade new york: all in good taste by Kate Spade New York (Hardcover - Oct. 27 2015)
CDN$ 21.00

kate spade new york: places to go, people to see
kate spade new york: places to go, people to see by Kate Spade New York (Hardcover - Oct. 14 2014)
CDN$ 36.78

Style by Kate Spade (Hardcover - April 14 2004)
CDN$ 20.74