summer boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyout Furniture All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars12
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 2, 2016
Book came fast. Love it. Great condition. Great book with a great message.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2016
Excellent translation!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2016
Since I don't read Akkadian, I cannot comment on the translation. It was, however, a pleasure to read. Remarkably gripping after all these centuries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2016
The kindle version isn't formatted properly so it reads like prose instead of verse. Very annoying. Unfortunately I wasn't able to return it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2014
Very interesting I enjoy every book by Mitchell I belief that there is always some truth in even the stangest story -- there certainly is a strong moral in Gigamesh. I am always fascinated by varying beliefs as to how the gods are involved in our earth lives
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2014
I thought it read clearly and flowed magnificently, perfect for someone just starting out with the epic.

I found the end notes to be a great addendum that explained some concepts better. For instance, a clearer explanation on the ark Utnapishtim was told to build.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2014
Ready to read, short story book, interesting in a way too. I breezed through very fast in a day or two I think.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2013
Mitchell has reconstructed the ancient fragments of a wonderful myth, and has done so in modern, highly readable language. It is both poetry and compelling narrative. Helpful endnotes explain how the author made sense of the several scholarly attempts to revive an ancient tale from Babylonian and Sumerian clay tablets. Magnificent.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2010
The best retelling of the Gilgamesh epic I've come across; my son was assigned this story for a Grade 10 English project so we checked out a number of print and internet versions. Mitchell's was immediately a hit.

Excellent and very detailed Introduction and Notes, and the epic itself flows along "like poetry", to quote my son. Well done, Stephen Mitchell! A pleasure to read.

Note to parents - this is not the "cleaned up" version you've come across in kids' history books (the brief retelling in Bauer's Story of the World comes to mind), but the full frontal version chock full of sex and violence. Tastefully done, but it's all in there. May want to preview if buying this for a younger teen, just so you're ready for discussion time, LOL.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon August 27, 2007
Although reputed to be the oldest story extant, "Gilgamesh" shows that human nature remains constant through the ages. The story of King Gilgamesh and his friend, Enkidu, record the age-old tale of rivalry and friendship, death and remorse and, ultimately, the search for immortality. These themes of daily life and parallels to modern statecraft render Gilgamesh as fresh as today's news.
Some features of "Gilgamesh" bear such a resemblance to the Bible as to clearly establish the Bible as a book of its time and culture. Gilgamesh contains a reference to seven years of famine (Joseph in Egypt), a flood story (similar to, but in critical ways different from Noah's) and sections of repeated dialogue, so reminiscent of Biblical sections. The explanatory essay by Stephen Mitchell helps the reader to understand the significance of portions of the tale's subtleties.
As the oldest surviving example of the literature of civilization, "Gilgamesh" should be within the ken of every civilized person. Besides that, it is entertaining reading.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse