Customer Reviews


598 Reviews
5 star:
 (408)
4 star:
 (77)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (61)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great foundation for anyone to build off of
I would consider myself young at 20, and discovering this book has changed my life. It provides a great foundation for communication with the people you work with and love. I've given this book as gifts numerous times, and i've read it numerous times myself, always coming out with something new.
I highly recommend this book to anyone looking to change their...
Published on March 5 2004 by Sean Reyes

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Bill of Judeo-Christian Goods
This book poses as a guide to personal efficacy but is too deeply colored by Covey's religious views. Throughout it he speaks of "correct principals" which our clearly his Christian values. There are many great authors out there who have covered this ground with greater depth and made it more useful to the reader without trying to convert you to a their personal...
Published on Feb. 6 2002 by Jon Wilkerson


‹ Previous | 154 55 5660 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother..., Dec 11 2001
By 
I'm giving one star only because there is no "zero star" designation. The "information" in this book is simple common sense couched in and disguised with flowery language to make it appear more than it is. Almost everyone should already know what's in this book before they read it. I suggest you save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, Oct. 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this is the work book, read the book first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Jan. 19 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A must have for all in a leadership role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, May 13 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Powerful Lessons in Personal Change (Paperback)
This book was highly recommended to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, April 12 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I didn't take much from it. Over hyped
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bilge for Losers, Jan. 3 2000
Pages and pages of tedious psychobable, with no scientific evidence except the inevitable anecdotes.
The fact that 5,000,000 people bought and at least partially read this book makes one laugh or cry, depending on how highly effective is your sense of humour...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Earn the Hype, July 4 2000
By A Customer
Covey has some good principles, but those that make the most sense are really stating the obvious. The most impressive strategic business revelation I came away with is respect for Covey's PR machine. Maybe I was expecting more after all the hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Nov. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Powerful Lessons in Personal Change (Paperback)
Best business book out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Oct. 21 2014
Everything was good. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Everything Covey says is either obvious or wrong, Sept. 1 1998
By A Customer
Anyone who needs a book to tell them that they ought to live life according to their deepest values has bigger problems than Covey--or anyone else--can solve. Are there really that many people who didn't know they could live life according to their personal values until Covey came along?
Covey regularly tries to apply analogies from how science works to how business should work--the problem is, he doesn't really understand how science works.
And he doesn't understand what a paradigm is, either. A paradigm shift involves a major shift in your entire view of the world--realizing the earth revolves around the sun, or that most of solid matter is really empty space--and doesn't apply to more localized revelations such as "I'm going to live a better life" or "I'm going to work the way I always wanted to"--the latter are smaller, localized changes that may be significant in an individual life, but are not on the scale of a true "paradigm shift." Covey, and other business pundits who've applied this word to the localized world of the office, have misused and weakened the language in the process.
I also found it irritating to see the examples Covey gave of how he applied his business knowledge to his own family. Even if his business examples work in a practical way in the office, running a family is not the same as running a company, and I can only hope some of his kids had the sense to get out of that household as soon as they were of age.
As for the business advice itself--well, either you can figure this stuff out yourself, or you're only working by rote anyway. I've seen all the people who say this book changed their lives. I can only think that it's a shame they had such shallow lives to begin with. I'm glad the book helped--but I'm dismayed to imagine people might be such poor thinkers that they need this book in the first place.
And ultimately, that's the real problem workplaces face. Put the self-help books aside, and learn how to think without being given step-by-step instructions for every task. You'll be far more valuable to your employer--and get far more out of your own life--than if you keep looking for someone else to give you rules and systems to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 154 55 5660 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Powerful Lessons in Personal Change
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews