Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Way to Start Your Own Healing Process
Especially if you are facing illness, this book will give you a new outlook on your life through Dr. Khalsa's meditation techniques. I was diagnosed with a minor neurological disorder, and this book taught me to deal with the symptoms without medication, while healing my mind and spirit as well. I highly recommend this book for people facing serious illness, as it will...
Published on April 2 2003

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Meditation yes, but not medical science
This is an excellent book about Kundalini Yoga techniques and the chakra system. There are many great exercises. But there are no endnotes, footnotes or references to any scientific studies. The author has a medical degree but none of the techniques in here have been tested in scientific studies. That doesn't mean that they don't work medically. But the title of the...
Published on Feb. 26 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Way to Start Your Own Healing Process, April 2 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Meditation As Medicine: Activate the Power of Your Natural Healing Force (Paperback)
Especially if you are facing illness, this book will give you a new outlook on your life through Dr. Khalsa's meditation techniques. I was diagnosed with a minor neurological disorder, and this book taught me to deal with the symptoms without medication, while healing my mind and spirit as well. I highly recommend this book for people facing serious illness, as it will provide hope and positivity, and I recommend it even if you are perfectly healthy! It is easy reading, nothing too scientific. It will change your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cutting edge alternative health, May 11 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Meditation As Medicine: Activate the Power of Your Natural Healing Force (Paperback)
The author integrates ancient wisdom and time-tested healing techniques with modern science in this informative and practical book on self-healing. The interesting foreword is by author Joan Borysenko. The purpose of medical meditation is to balance the mind, body and spirit into a powerful whole, for a better, healthier life. It provides specific medical meditations for physiological effects, including special movements and postures, mantras and breathing exercises. How to activate the healing force via the chakra system is discussed in detail and the book includes a section on staying young with the help of nutrients and maintaining endocrine health with meditation. It concludes with a list of sources, recommended reading and an index. Helpful illustrations demonstrate some of the exercises. Khalsa goes into very specific detail and provides information that I have never encountered in similar books on spiritual and mental healing. I recommend this book to all practitioners of alternative healing therapies and to all people who wish to take responsibility for the own health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read, Plain English, exc. illus., Jan. 2 2003
By 
sharon (jnu, ak United States) - See all my reviews
Although the authors provide in-depth coverage on the chakras, chi, body-mind-spirit connection, it is so well written and formatted that reading and comprehending the content is more easiy accomplished than in many books of this nature. The type is clear, distinct, well spaced. The illustrations of 'poses' to be used for the meditational healing practices are clear and of good size. You can do as little or as much as desired and are led to understand it is all healing for your particular area of focus. You don't have to be a guru to use this guide to meditational practice for healing. I plan to purchase the video or audio abridged version to simplify the practice for myself as the book is frequently needing to be referenced during the pose and breathing work you'll be doing. An excellent addition to the alternative healing library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MEDITATION - A TERRIFIC STRESS RELIEVER!, March 19 2001
By 
Sandra D. Peters "Seagull Books" (Prince Edward Island, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Meditation is a great stress reliever and has had some valuable results in many cases in improving sleep patterns, aiding in pain management, reducing stress and heart problems, and lowering blood pressure. One of the key elements in the success of mediatation lies in studying the chakras, mantras, and breathing exercises and having the self-discipline to follow through on the meditations on a regular basis.
This is an excellent book based on the concept of using meditation as a powerful healing agent which heals both mind and body. Like many other things in life, what you read only works if you put what you read to good use and have the dedication and commitment to stick with it. For anyone interested in meditation and healing, this is a first-rate book written by one of the most knowledgeable authors on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chock full of information, Oct. 31 2001
By 
K. Murray-Purcell (Orlando, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the most informative book I have read all year! Dr. Khalsa gives lots of background studies to back up the use of meditation for healing. Having Dr. Khalsa from the medical profession make a statement that maybe medicating clients isn't always healing, indicates that there is a turn; a turn inward. In these times of turmoil, this book is a godsend. There are distinct instructions for implementing the meditations for the various chakras. If you can do just one of these meditations, you will find a plethora of benefits in the long run. Use this book to tap into the strongest pharmacy on earth: your mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource!!, March 10 2009
By 
Tired parent (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Meditation As Medicine: Activate the Power of Your Natural Healing Force (Paperback)
Quite simply, one of the best books I've read on the subject of therapeutic meditation! Dr. Khalsa deftly weaves scientific fact with ancient knowledge/philosophy, and to those who have dabbled in meditation and are looking to go deeper, this is an indispensible resource. I won't reiterate information from other reviewers about the contents of the books, but will add that the description of the use of mudras (hand positions) during meditation made sense to me for the FIRST time ever...going beyond discussion of subtle energy to one of physiology and neuroscience. Well done and thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Optimism, Faith & Scientific Methodology, Aug. 4 2001
By 
Jayant (Houston, TX USA) - See all my reviews
Dr. Khalsa's book is a refreshing look at the power of mind and prayer on our bodies. Quoting extensively from Yogi Bhajan's work, Dr. Khalsa has written a very useful treatise with scientific explanations for why breathing and meditation techniques work and work so well. He writes from the heart and I read the book with great interest. I loved the work so much that I have referred friends to this work and bought copies for loved ones. A truly remarkable book - Very effective techniques for living a life !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Important Guide for Healing, Feb. 24 2001
By A Customer
Dr. Khalsa does a great job of explaining the important ways meditation can be used in the healing process. The true stories in the book about the healings his patients have received from his techniques are very inspiring. I plan to begin doing the different meditation mantras immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, April 17 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Meditation As Medicine: Activate the Power of Your Natural Healing Force (Paperback)
The book said that it will change the reader's life. I wondered when I read that. Then just going along with the book, I chanted a mantra. It instantly made me feel so good. From there on, I was hooked. Just try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stressed? Read This Book!, April 14 2001
Dr. Weil recommends it, and that was good enough for me. You have to read this book completely and follow it's advice. It really will help you to help your body heal itself. A very important book for all to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Meditation As Medicine: Activate the Power of Your Natural Healing Force
CDN$ 18.99 CDN$ 13.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews