Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Necropolis: Awesome.
Necropolis is the third book in the Gaunts Ghost's series and it's the best one up til this point. The book starts off with a hive world, Verghast, besieged by their neighboring world, Ferrozoica, which is infested by Chaos. The Ghosts along with other Imperial guard regiments are sent to the battle zone to repulse the invaders. Can they do it?
One of the things I...
Published on May 11 2003 by T. Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Abnett's progress
Dan Abnett is coming along in this his third "Gaunt's Ghosts" Warhammer 40K novel. I'd give him a "much improved" on the path to writing for adults in the military science fiction genre. His theme of an "Orphan Brigade," (Gaunt's Ghosts, an infantry unit) tackling one dirty operation after another in the service of the Emperor (in the...
Published on March 23 2001 by Jeffrey Hayes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring examples of the resiliency of the human spirit ..., April 25 2004
This review is from: Necropolis (Mass Market Paperback)
This book tells the collective story of how humanity can rise up from the deepest depths of despair to grab victory from the closing jaws of defeat, rallying the besieged to acts of heroism, self-sacrifice, and glory.
Reading this book reminded me of WWII accounts of cities holding fast against invading armies. The individual tales of courage and devotion to duty in the face of overwhelming odds, were uplifting and awe-inspiring. It strengthened the respect and gratitude felt towards those realworld veterans of our countries past wars. For those of you familiar with WH40K, you will thoroughly enjoy the battle sequences and the "fluff" included regarding the overall Crusade and the seemingly small part played by the Tanith First-and-Only. The descriptions of the Hive city and its vastness are wondrous, making me wish some ambitious director (Peter *cough* Jackson *cough*) would take this series to their hearts and bring it to the big screen. I would thoroughly enjoy watching this on film. It would be like taking HBO's "Band of Brothers", George Lucas's "Star Wars", and Ridley Scott's "Gladiator" and melding them into a 7-8 part mini-series or a series of movies 2 1/2 to 3 hours long! The way Dan Abnett brings us into the individual experiences of front line soldiers, helps bring to us both the horrible carnage and waste of war, as well as the tremendous courage, fortitude, and devotion of duty and faith that are the heart and soul of every trooper of the Imperial Guard (and PDF of Verghast)! The beginning of the book is wonderfully written, first bringing us into the local politics and what appears like a simple conflict between two rival Hive cities, then accelerating the story along as war breaks out and the stalwart, but horribly outclassed defenders are forced to call for aid from off planet. This whole segment of the book is more like a prologue, as the actual story begins with the arrival of the Imperial Forces. To give us perspective, it is immediately made apparent that the Tanith First-and-Only are perceived as a mere specialist regiment of stealth troops, given low status among the other higher profile regiments of the task force assigned to Verghast. As you might expect, their significance changes dramatically, paralleling the prominence of their commander. Now, if I could just find a way for them to work better on the game table! (But that's for another forum) Whether you enjoy war stories, Sci-Fi, WH40K, or simply a well-written story with well-developed characters and an engaging plot - you WILL enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Necropolis: Awesome., May 11 2003
By 
T. Harris (Chillicothe, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Necropolis (Mass Market Paperback)
Necropolis is the third book in the Gaunts Ghost's series and it's the best one up til this point. The book starts off with a hive world, Verghast, besieged by their neighboring world, Ferrozoica, which is infested by Chaos. The Ghosts along with other Imperial guard regiments are sent to the battle zone to repulse the invaders. Can they do it?
One of the things I love about Abnetts writing is his characters and their development. The first 50 pages in Necropolis he introduces several new characters, which are extremely important to the story and later books. The first time I read this book and got a lost with all the different characters and subplots. But if you just take your time it's not confusing, I guess I read it to fast.
Other thing Abnett is wonderful at is his descriptions with action and painting a picture with words of sheer dread. At times I was in absolute awe, other times it almost brought me to tears. Necropolis is an Action-packed, military sci-fi, balls-out warfest with wonderful character emotion and development. If you didn't like ghostmaker (I still don't know why you wouldn't) don't give up on Abnett and the Ghosts, this novel is Fething Awesome. recommend for fans of Warhammer 40k and military sci-fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best military sci-fi I've read, but not bad., Aug. 7 2001
By 
Leo (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Necropolis (Mass Market Paperback)
The third of Abnett's <i>Gaunt's Ghosts</i> series, Necropolis is set in a hive-world. Unlike the first, second, and fourth books, plot here takes second place to battle: Necropolis reads more like "a history of the Vervunhive siege with focus on Commissar Gaunt and his men", than "a story about Gaunt and his men during the Vervunhive siege."
This isn't inherently bad. Abnett knows how to write combat, and his large-scale ("under Colonel X, the second regiment moved west to reinforce the gates") descriptions are as good as those of any military historian. The action scenes are good, and there's enough of them. And yes, there's at least a token semblance of plot.
One reason I like the Ghosts series is the number of recurring characters. Perhaps fifteen or twenty 'named' characters who show up again and again; I like the familiarity, and the occasional character developments (some characters don't change - Larkin and Corbec are basically the same at the end of this book as they were at the start of the first - but others get promoted, learn things, or whatever.)
Overall, excellent multithreaded military sci-fi. The quality of the action and Abnett's excellent writing more than makes up for the plot deficiencies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gaunt marches on, July 20 2001
This review is from: Necropolis (Mass Market Paperback)
This is third installment of the tribulations of the Tanith First and Only. Chronicling the planetside battle of an isolated hive city against the chaos-spawn of a neighbor, Abnett again thrusts Gaunt and the Ghosts into a seemingly impossible task. Despite being vastly outnumbered and outgunned, and suffering casulaties that cannot be recovered, the Ghosts persevere, fighting only to extinguish the blight of chaos, the same that destroyed their home world Tanith.
As in the previous two Gaunt's Ghosts books, we see a gradual whittling down of the Ghosts, due to the attrition of war. But we also see the improvement in skill of those that Abnett has chosen to focus on, these being the best of the Ghosts. It is these extraordinary few that are most responsible for safeguarding the lives of their fellows, as they are the most capable soldiers. We also see some good development in Gaunt himself, as he is able for the first time to truly command a battle, rather than following orders from above. Thus is he shown to be more capable than anyone previously thought.
This novel, like all the Warhammer 40k books, is rife with violence, but what is expected in a universe at war? Especially brutal is the slaughter of innocent, defenseless civilians by the chaos forces, used by Abnett to illustrate the futility of anything other than extermination of the chaos forces, for they seek nothing but the same. Nevertheless, some of the scenes seemed rather gratuitous, and that is the only reason this novel did not receive that fifth star in my ranking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best ghost novel so far, Jan. 28 2001
By 
MeMitch (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Necropolis (Mass Market Paperback)
Necropolus is the third Gaunt's Ghosts novel, set in the nightmare science fantacy universe of Warhammer 40K. The series chronicals the exploits of Commissar Ibram Gaunt and his regiment of Imperial Guard soldiers known as the Ghosts. It might be helpful to read the books in order, but it is not really necessary. In fact, since this is the best book in the series by far, reading it first might set you up for a let down.
The first two books in the series are good, but they center mostly around one combat story after another. Necropolus goes far beyond that. It gives a very imaginative and in depth description of Vervunhive, "a mighty hive-city besieged by an unrelenting foe". The book is rich with characters and situations which yield a complete picture of the hive-city from it's feuding noble houses to it's sturdy workers, to it's seedy underground. The enemy is also imaginative and well developed.
The seige of the hive-city is descibed in the style of a well written history book, complete with a map of the hive. This is a refreshing change from the other books in this series which tend toward the heroic "against all odds" vignettes. Only until towards the end of the book do we get the obligatory death defying exploits. The ending becomes predictable, but is still enjoyable.
I enjoyed this book, it is a good shoot'em up with alot of background and action. I think any reader would agree, and I think 40K fanatics will find this the best of the latest generation of Games Workshop novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Abnett is the Best!!, March 9 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Necropolis (Mass Market Paperback)
Dan Abnett just keeps getting better and better. His first two books in the Gaunt's Ghosts series, while being mainly straight-up war novels (something I usually don't read), where so well-written, so rich in character and detail, they made up for the often predictable action plot lines. Necropolis keeps, and even trumps, the writing chops (and intense action) of the first two books, and adds complex political intrigues and a fascinating portrait of life in a hive at war ("hives" are the gigantic vertical cities common in the Warhammer 40,000 universe).
This book will not only appeal to players of Warhammer 40,000 proper, but also players of Nercomunda (the hive skirmish game that also takes place in the 40K world). But you don't have to play either of these tabletop wargames to enjoy Necropolis. All you have to be is a lover of good sci-fi and truly impressive story-telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Abnett's progress, March 23 2001
By 
This review is from: Necropolis (Mass Market Paperback)
Dan Abnett is coming along in this his third "Gaunt's Ghosts" Warhammer 40K novel. I'd give him a "much improved" on the path to writing for adults in the military science fiction genre. His theme of an "Orphan Brigade," (Gaunt's Ghosts, an infantry unit) tackling one dirty operation after another in the service of the Emperor (in the Warhammer 40000 universe), now benefits from a gradual rounding of main characters and a richer canvas of the theater of operations. He still hasn't quite reached the same plane as Haldeman/Sterling/Drake but I hope he'll get there in a novel or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My 100-word book review, April 30 2007
By 
This review is from: Necropolis (Mass Market Paperback)
In Necropolis, the third novel in the Gaunt's Ghosts series, the Tanith First and Only are among a task force diverted to the planet Verghast, where a vast hive city is threatened by the forces of Chaos. Vervunhive is no mere arcology but virtually an entire city state enclosed in a single stupendous building, now under siege by hordes of foes. Dan Abnett depicts the horrors of future war with grim relish, and I found myself compulsively turning the pages, late at night, wanting to find out who survives and who doesn't. Another nightmarishly readable novel in an excellent series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Dec 7 2003
By 
This review is from: Necropolis (Mass Market Paperback)
OK, lets face it, this book is not a literary masterpiece. But, if you want a good sci-fi "junk food" book, this just about fits the bill. Oh, and if you really want to blow your mind away, read the first half of this book, put it down, read up on the battle of Stalingrad, and then finish the book. Gives the thing a whole new perspective. A definate must if you enjoy any WH40K products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good Warhammer novel, May 29 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Necropolis (Mass Market Paperback)
While I enjoy the space marine novels better, the Gaunt's ghosts series has not disappointed me yet. Necropolis had alot going for it; large scale warfare, squad combat, personalizing the characters to the point you either like or dislike them, and it follows a good storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Necropolis
Necropolis by Dan Abnett (Mass Market Paperback - Dec 1 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 27.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews