Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good escape
The summary is quoted from Bradthor.com
"Fresh from rescuing the President from kidnappers, Navy SEAL turned Secret Service agent Scot Harvath shifts his attentions to rooting out, capturing or killing all those responsible for the plot. As he prepares to close out his list, a bloody and twisted trail of clues points towards one man - the world's most feared, most...
Published on Jan. 21 2003 by Konrad Kern

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ho hum Kaboom!
If you need pure escape into super spy land with plenty of near escapes, explosions and a hero who knows all and can do no wrong, this isn't a bad pick up for afternoon read.
Mister Thor has done his research regarding the topic (although, I have some trouble believing Abu Nidal had a son no one knew about). He has a firm grasp on units and organization. However,...
Published on Oct. 15 2003 by A Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ho hum Kaboom!, Oct. 15 2003
By 
A Customer (Minnetonka, mn United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Path of the Assassin (Mass Market Paperback)
If you need pure escape into super spy land with plenty of near escapes, explosions and a hero who knows all and can do no wrong, this isn't a bad pick up for afternoon read.
Mister Thor has done his research regarding the topic (although, I have some trouble believing Abu Nidal had a son no one knew about). He has a firm grasp on units and organization. However, this was a novel that reminded me of those martial arts films where people perform impossible leaps and jumps. His hero Scot Harvath seems capable of any feat - he has no weaknesses - and that isn't real.
When the main character stretches believability past the breaking point, then the entire story suffers. This would have been a better book if the hero was a little more human like the rest of us mortals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Path of the egotist, July 19 2003
By 
J. J Kamlani "jotuj" (Fairfield, Connecticut United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Path of the Assassin (Mass Market Paperback)
Though the book moves at a pretty good clip, that's about all I can say that's positive about it. It was poorly written(probably a first draught. And the only one who seemed to know what he was doing in this whole story was the Hero-Secret Service Agent Scott Harvath. Everyone else is made out to look like total incompetents. The Author's ego shines through on this one.
First Scott sites the villain in this story in Macau, during an arrest gone bad, as well as on three later occasions, but he needs a PR person who has no military experience, who foiled a hijacking while he was trying to rape her, to ID the bad guy-son of Abu Nidal. Then he trains her to become this superAgent in two weeks time at a secret military training camp?
I don't buy it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This Path is a Wild and Wooly Ride, May 12 2003
By 
John R. Linnell (New Gloucester, ME United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As the Lions of Lucerne, Thor's first novel, concludes the reader is clear that there is much unfinished business ahead. That is what this book is all about. Bringing those that need to be brought to justice to that end, one way or another.
As the story continues, there are attacks in the Middle East on Moslem places of worship for which an extremist group called The Hand of God takes the credit. While these attacks move the Arab countries closer to war with Isreal, it is clear to some that a shadowy figure by the name of Hashim Nidal is the one behind the attacks. Hashim is the son of Abu Nidal and is also one of the masterminds of the kidnapping of the President of the United States and the slaughter of almost all of his Secret Service protection. One problem for those trying to track him down is that no one knows what he looks like other than he has "silver" eyes. Scott Harvath, the lone SS Agent to survive the attack has looked into those eyes and nearly failed to live to tell the story. Others are not so fortunate. Fans of the CIA will not be happy with the pattern of ineptitude that is painted concerning their part of the undertaking, but every hero must have his hurdles to overcome and the CIA is clearly one of them for Harvath. The story moves around various parts of the world as the cycle of violence grows and the danger of all out war in the Middle East builds. This has all of the bells and whistles of the first book with some new and interesting characters and the liklihood that the whole story has still not been told. That is very good news for Thor fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good escape, Jan. 21 2003
By 
Konrad Kern (OFallon, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The summary is quoted from Bradthor.com
"Fresh from rescuing the President from kidnappers, Navy SEAL turned Secret Service agent Scot Harvath shifts his attentions to rooting out, capturing or killing all those responsible for the plot. As he prepares to close out his list, a bloody and twisted trail of clues points towards one man - the world's most feared, most ruthless terrorist, Hashim Nidal. Having assembled an international league of Islamic terrorist networks in an ingenious plot to topple both Israel and America, Harvath and his CIA-led team must reach Nidal before it's too late. One problem remains - they have no idea what the man looks like..."
I give this a five star rating because it was outstanding escapist fiction. The pace is relentless. You'll visit Bern, Chicago, Cairo, Jerusalem, The island of Capri, and Rome, along with a couple other spots. And yes its main focus is the dispute between the Israeli's and the Palestinians. What a surprise there, huh?
By the way, when two jumpers use one parachute it's called tandem jumping. A good way for beginners to get their first jump in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Totally Stupid!!!!!!, Jan. 18 2003
By 
Kelly Jackson (Clemson, South Carolina) - See all my reviews
The main character Scott was so sophomoric I had a hard time believing a grown man created the character. Maybe that's the problem, man/man or that's the way the author himself would like to be perceived. It didn't work for me. The character Meg, the author wants you to believe, is a cross between Mother Teresa, Wonder Woman and Miss Madison Avenue. She was beyond stupid and silly but a perfect match for assinine, sophmoric Scott. She didn't work either. Two weeks training in the CIA and she compromises a deadly mission by not obeying orders and then jumps out of a plane WITHOUT a parachute,plus she has a fear of heights (Scott had a parachute and held onto her) Helloooo! On top of that, she single handedly takes down, with perfect shots between the eyes, mind you, a group of assasins bent on highjacking a plane. Her backgrond is she owns a PR firm with loyal employees which makes her a perfect candidate for the CIA (all two weeks of it) She whines a lot in this silly book. Add the bad girl who has SILVER eyes that turn black and you have this piece of trash wrapped up with a big red ribbon. My advice, save your money for a GOOD book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Action, action, action, and more action, Jan. 18 2003
By 
Secret Service Agent Scott Harvath is doing his job when he risks his life to keep President Rutledge safe. With an increase in terrorism at alarming levels from multiple sides in the Mideast confrontation and a recent kidnapping attempt of Rutledge, Scott has job security. His current assignment is to eliminate those who assaulted the president but escaped, though Scott insured their mission failed.
With synagogues and mosques exploding, the CIA believes the trademark evidence points to the 1980s deadliest assassin Abdul Nidal who supposedly died during that decade. Scott assumes the report of Abdul's expiration is true especially when the CIA points towards the son of the terrorist, Hashim. However, the Agency claims no pictures or description exists. One American Meg Cassidy has seen and survived Hashim's deadly destruction. Desperate Scott drafts the civilian to help him bring down the world's deadliest terrorist, but will soon learn there is more to this dangerous mess than the CIA, Mossad, and the American Home security agency has told him. That lack of information could cost Scott, Meg, and their allies their lives.
No description seems strange with a survivor witness, but fans of adrenaline highs will not notice. Action, action, action, and more action as that fails to describe fractionally the global events of this non stop thriller that seems so pertinent with recent events starting with 9/11 and still current with the precedent setting Saddam scenario. Scott retains his hero mantle first earned in the exciting LIONS OF LUCERNE, but the tale of the tape is ACTION as PATH OF THE ASSASSIN is a one sitting thriller.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's more of a continuation, then a sequal., Jan. 20 2003
By 
John Daley (Attica, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I picked up Thor's first book The Lions of Lucerne this summer. I wasn't sure if I was going to like it much. It sounded a lot like a Tom Clancy novel, and he's not one of my favorite authors. I was very surprised when I finished the book in about three days. I've been waiting for Path Of The Assain every since. I picked it up on the first day it was available. It petty much picks up right where the Lions left off. Secret Service Agent Scot Harvath is tracking down the rest of the terrorists responsible for kidnapping the president in the first novel.
I think the characters are what makes the book so good. Thor has created a very real bunch. Harvath maybe larger than life, but at the same time he is very real.
Thor's writing is excellant and the pace of the book is so fast, it just flies. I was hooke from the first page. It does drag a bit in the middle, but over all this is one great read!
I'm already waiting for Brad Thor's next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Thriller, Feb. 26 2003
By A Customer
This is Mr. Thor's second novel and it's a breakneck ride from the first sentence to the last period. I was exhausted by the time I reached the last page. I thoroughly enjoyed his "The Lions of Lucerne" and pre-ordered "Path of the Assassin". Mr. Thor's second novel, while still good, is not as good as "Lions". Hopefully, Mr. Thor's next installment in the life of hero, Scot Harvath, will have a little more plot and a lot less testosterone. There was a little too much verbage about how much smarter, tougher, and more heroic Mr. Havath was than anyone else in government service (this is what stopped me from giving four stars). We accept this; just get on with the story.
This is still a good thriller -- and it's one thrill after another. The story line was right on and liked the twists and turns. Also liked the heroine and the fact she can keep up with Mr. Havath; hope to see more of her. Looking forward to the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A quick easy and fun read, March 1 2004
By 
Larry (Tampa, Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Path of the Assassin (Mass Market Paperback)
Scot Harvath, ex-navy SEAL and current Secret Service agent, is seeking the head of a terrorist organization, the one responsible for the kidnapping of the President in the last book. He finds himself up against Hashim Nidal, son of the dead terrorist Abu Nidal. The son, apparently a highly skilled operative and assassin, is involved in a plot to threaten both Israel and the US. It is up to Scot to follow, capture and kill this terrorist before he can bring his plan into reality. The chase takes him all over the world.
Brad Thor in his second endeavor shows he has what it takes to write the penultimate international thriller. The military trained larger than life hero, a love interest, the history of the free world at stake, exotic settings well described, and the latest military gadgets. It is all great fun. This is a quick easy read and one that doesn't require too many brain cells. It is perfect for the upcoming summer months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NO SOPHOMORE SLUMP HERE!, Jan. 18 2003
By 
"dtoo" (St Paul, MN. United States) - See all my reviews
Brad Thor's second installment in his new writing career is a fast paced page-turner, " Path of the Assassin". Thor brings back the hero of "The Lions of Lucerne" Scot Harvath, this time to track down the remaining "Lions". Harvath is interrupted suddenly when an unknown assassin kills the last Lion. Meanwhile, as the world is erupting with acts of terror Harvath is summoned by the president to join an elite CIA team to track down the terrorist responsible for the recent terror activity. Thor does an exceptional job with his description of the exotic places that Harvath must get to around the world. With lots of excitement and faced page turning action Path of the Assassin is a thriller that leads the reader around the world at a blazing pace. With the current events of the real world the reader may get confused between the fiction book and a non-fiction book. A must read for all Silva and Flynn fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Path of the Assassin
Path of the Assassin by Brad Thor (Mass Market Paperback - 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews