Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The first two years of West Wing
This book is a wonderful look back on the first two years of a most interesting and enjoyable series.

We bought the complete series of the seven years of West Wing on DVD and over the past 4 years, have watched it NINE TIMES !

I am sure that over the next few years we will read this book before we watch the series again and again.

Truly a...
Published on Aug. 28 2011 by David Fraser

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, historically evocative setting.
This book, as the official companion to the TV series, has a remarkable, historically evocative setting.

That being said, I keep being made aware of the liberal-tinted glasses through which issues and personalities are seen, and, indeed, created, because this is, after all, fiction.

This creation is a 'what you see is what you get' affair: much to...
Published on Jan. 4 2008 by M. J. Fenn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Let Bartlett Be Bartlett, March 17 2002
This review is from: The West Wing: The Official Companion (Paperback)
This is the ultimate fan guide to the first two seasons of The West Wing! Glossy pages, detailed episode guide, character and actor biographies and a spotlight on meaningful quotes and exchanges. Television does not get better than The West Wing and this book actually does it justice -- purchase today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Valentine's Day present ever, Feb. 15 2002
By 
Bee Sunny (Chicagoland, IL United States) - See all my reviews
I couldn't put this book down after receiving it yesterday and ended up staying awake half the night. The quality of the hardcover edition is similar to the best coffee table books and the photos are to die for. The episode guides were written by a true fan (thank you, thank you, thank you) and have just the right amount of detail for pleasurable memory jogging -- each runs several pages. My favorite parts, though, were the many, many sideboxes with quotes from each actor and key people involved behind the scenes.
This book covers the first two seasons and I can't wait until these authors write their next book(s) covering future seasons.
Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for any West Wing fan, Jan. 28 2002
By 
Jenna (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The West Wing: The Official Companion (Paperback)
What an amazing book! Compared to the other West Wing book I have, which was poorly done, this incredible anthology has great information on every episode plus commentations, for the first two seasons. Not to mention a tour of the West Wing and character biographies. This book is one I could not put down and you won't be able to either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IT IS WELL WRITTEN, Jan. 22 2002
This review is from: The West Wing: The Official Companion (Paperback)
THIS BOOK IS WORTH THE PRICE!! IT IS VERY INTERESTING
AND HAS GREAT PICTURES!!! I LOVE THE SHOW VERY MUCH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book rocks!, Jan. 12 2002
This review is from: The West Wing: The Official Companion (Paperback)
This book is the long-awaited one in my opinion. With full color pictures, detailed info on each episode from the first two seasons, character bios and so much more. It is the one I had hoped for over a year ago. It is so much better than the poor attempt by Challen's book that came out earlier. Challen's book dealt too much on clickish fan clubs with webmasters hiding their identities under pseudonyms.
I couldn't agree more with one reviewer of this book! You will want more than one. One to cut and paste those wonderful pics and the other to preserve!
Amazon's price is so reasonable so it is definitely worth the price and in the long run will be worth so much more.
The authors of this book should be proud. What a great addition to anyone who enjoys the show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars West Wing Re-Caps and More, Jan. 7 2002
By 
Erin O. (Seattle, WA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The West Wing: The Official Companion (Paperback)
This is a beautiful book of the TV show the West Wing. This slightly larger than average soft-covered book gives re-caps of each episode in the first and second season of this award winning show. The re-caps cover what happened during each episode and offer various pictures. Also intertwined into the re-caps are tid-bit insights such as alternative scenes, thoughts from the actors/creator/producers, and other fun facts. The book also contains 'bonus' material such as a picture of each of the main characters offices with brief descriptions of the sets. Also included are actor and character profiles- complete with thoughts from other cast members, quotes, and fun insight. A very nice book for any one who enjoys the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Book to equal Television, Jan. 5 2002
This review is from: The West Wing: The Official Companion (Paperback)
They say that one should read the book first, then see the movie. Well, this time its the book that's living up to the show. This book is absolutely phenomenal. There are indepth recaps for each episode of Season 1 and 2. Highlights on each of the regular actors and some behind the scenes info, including a "tour" of the White House. Although I've seen each of these episodes more than once I enjoyed reading the recaps, I even found some scenes even more humurous and/or touching by reading them rather than watching them. The quotes from the Actors, Consultants, Aaron Sorkin, Tommy Schlamme, John Wells and Lewellyn Wells are fantastic - they give a great insight into the behind the scense of the show and how they feel about working with each other. The pictures are phenomenal too - there are many of them, some of onscreen footage others off screen, and not just the NBC/WB promo pictures either. I can't recommend this book enough. Its a definitely must have for all who enjoy the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, Jan. 3 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The West Wing: The Official Companion (Paperback)
I can not recommend enough that fans get a copy of this book! After reading 'Inside the West Wing', I was a little skeptical about getting this book. I didn't want to get another book that said the same thing.
BUT OH, MY. This is such a great book! :) Absolutely filled to the brim with beautiful color pictures, interviews( original, not rehashed clips from previous interviews) with cast and crew, cast/character bios (great!), alternate/cut scenes, episode summaries (not half page summaries either. three or more pages that walk you through the episode and are fill up with quotes. Also, you can tell the person who wrote these summaries actually WATCHED the episodes!), a tour of the White House with GREAT pictures, and little facts not even the most die-hard fan knows!
There is so much in here! An alternate scene with POTUS and Donna that'll make you smile; a great quote from Emily Proctor that will make the Sam/Ainsley shippers out there cheer; banter between Richard and Allison that'll make you laugh out loud; John Spencer's take on his relationship with Margaret, and a million and one other things that'll you'll just have to see for yourself!
Get this book. I consider it a must have for any Wingnut!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This time they got it right., Jan. 3 2002
This review is from: The West Wing: The Official Companion (Paperback)
Buy this book.
Buy two copies of this book, come to think of it; you'll want to cannibalize one just for the photographs.
This time they got it right. This is as flawless a book as Challen's monstrosity was dismal. Buy one for your friends. Buy one for every Wingnut you know. Buy one for people who never heard of the show, it'll hook 'em. The introduction (by Martin Sheen) is a superb lead-in and almost worth the price of admission in itself.

"The West Wing" is basically an episode guide to the first two seasons of the best show on television. It is a visual delight; glossy paper and a practically limitless supply of amazingly gorgeous photographs. Each episode is summarized -- *not* reviewed, but summarized -- with snippets of dialogue thrown in, and bits of interview with everyone from the Executive Producers to the Director of Photography to the recurring bit players to the costumer. Occasionally a synopsis of a scene that never made it into the final edit is supplied, and some of those are very surprising.
The other major piece of this book are features on each of the lead actors for the second season (Lowe, Hill, Janney, Moloney, Schiff, Spencer, Whitford, and Sheen) and their characters, with just enough new information to tantalize.
If we'd had this book last month I know a hundred thousand Christmases would have been happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbeb8172c)

This product

The West Wing: The Official Companion
The West Wing: The Official Companion by Warner Bros. (Paperback - Jan. 8 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 8.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews