Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Best SNW to date
The fifth Strange New Worlds anthology is the best to date. Although previous volumes have given us exceptional individual stories, such as "Isolation Ward 4" in SNW4 and "Whatever You Do, Don't Read This Story" in SNW3, this volume is excellent from start to finish.
There are stories from all five of the Trek series, which is sur[prising,...
Published on June 18 2002 by Kenneth

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Garbage
This will definitely be the last "Strange New World" collection I will buy as the series has really reached its' nadir here. Once again it is full of the soap opera garbage that has plagued Star Trek for more than a decade. Star Trek was always about action, adventure, intelligent ideas and yes ... strange new worlds. This pile of rubbish, apart from the odd bright spot,...
Published on Nov. 11 2002 by Mark Sheridan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Garbage, Nov. 11 2002
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Star Trek: Strange New Worlds V (Paperback)
This will definitely be the last "Strange New World" collection I will buy as the series has really reached its' nadir here. Once again it is full of the soap opera garbage that has plagued Star Trek for more than a decade. Star Trek was always about action, adventure, intelligent ideas and yes ... strange new worlds. This pile of rubbish, apart from the odd bright spot, has almost none of that. It actually makes me almost ashamed to call myself a "Trekker" when I read this kind of material, but then what else can you expect from a generation raised on "Beverley Hills 90210" ?!!! Of course the real villains in this travesty are the editors who prove once again they are completely out of touch with what makes good Star Trek. The grand prize winner in this collection is a seven page story, fifty percent of which is just a transcribed version of a scene from the Star Trek episode "The City on the Edge of Forever". Now the Oxford English dictionary defines "plagiarism" as "to appropriate (ideas, passages, etc.) from (another work or author)." If this is not a clear case of that then what is, and to make this the grand prize winner is an insult to everyone who submitted genuine original ideas, good or bad. Personally if I was Harlan Ellison I'd be reaching for the phone to call my lawyer about this one. As a librarian by profession I take a very dim view of this kind of thing, and as far as I am concerned this collection clearly crossed the line, which is why I certainly will not be wasting any more money on future editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best SNW to date, June 18 2002
Ce commentaire est de: Star Trek: Strange New Worlds V (Paperback)
The fifth Strange New Worlds anthology is the best to date. Although previous volumes have given us exceptional individual stories, such as "Isolation Ward 4" in SNW4 and "Whatever You Do, Don't Read This Story" in SNW3, this volume is excellent from start to finish.
There are stories from all five of the Trek series, which is sur[prising, considering how close to the October deadline for submissions the premier of Enterprise was. Yet these stories are some of the best in the book. For TOS fans, there's a visit to City on the Edge of Forever, and an exploration of just what kind of person voluteers to be a "redshirt" even knowing their high mortality rate. TNG deals with everything from investigating a new Leonardo da Vinci to Dixon Hill -- the real one, not Picard playing Dixon Hill -- saving the Enterprise. Voyager stories deal with the homecoming from two different angles and tie up a lot of loose ends left in the Delta quadrant -- including a wonderful resolution for Kes that more than makes up for the Fury. Sadly, there is only one DS9 story, but it is one of the best in the book -- set after the end of the series. All around a truly great collection and hopefully an indicator of things to come from Strange New Worlds and the fans who love to write about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek: Strange New Worlds V, May 26 2002
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Star Trek: Strange New Worlds V (Paperback)
Star Trek: Strange New Worlds V edited by Dean Wesley Smith is GREAT. Unlike the forth volume in this set of anthologies, this edition has great stories and will keep you glued to the pages with stories from the fan perspective. There are 23 short stories in this volume and they range from TOS, TNG, DS-9, Voyager and something new this year Enterprise.
These stories are the winning enteries for this years contest and I must say... you established authors of TREK beware... these up and comers are good, with a little time they will bring Gene Roddenberry's dream forward. Adventure, thrills, action and intrigue all are found here with many different perspectives. This volume is, so far, the best overall of the five published to date and it is a vision of what is to come for TREK.
I wish the authors luck and keep on expanding the boundaries of the universe. You are only as limited as your imagination... reading these stories proves that imagination is well and working here. This is where at least 3 current TREK writers have come from and others have sold stories to other publishers.
Read this for a refreshing outlook of TREK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back on track..., May 21 2002
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Star Trek: Strange New Worlds V (Paperback)
...a year later: the weather is pretty much the same (currently 45 and less than a week to Memorial Day...blah) and I'm deep into my Star Trek jones waiting for SNW-V. And like "Star Wars: Clones", the franchise has bounced back and rediscovered itself. I'm half-way through the book and almost all the stories have captured my interest and imagination (unlike the very disappointing SNW-IV). I disagreed w/the choice for Grand Prize (a decent story from the Edith Keeler era), but Borg-ified Tribbles, Data confronting Kivas Fajo again, Jake being tested after his dad "disappeared", Seven's conflicts w/Voyager's return to Earth, and Archer's first encounter w/a Vulcan...what's not to like?
Dean Wesley's "state of the anthology" address appeared as an afterword and was much welcomed. Though the cover could use some tweaking (Daedalus but no NX-01?) and the back cover fails to mention that there are Enterprise stories contained therein, these are minor quibbles to a most satisfying summer read, well-worth the wait and stands proud w/the first three volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Whoa, is this review thread screwed up, April 4 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Star Trek: Strange New Worlds V (Paperback)
You can ignore most of the first 10 reviews and the 10 latest reviews, because they're about books other than Strange New Worlds V (the erroneous entries are for Strange New Worlds I and Strange New Worlds VI). The entries in the middle are for the correct book (and most specify Strange New Worlds V). It's funny how the librarian's rant about the 'City on the Edge of Forever' story actually looks like Harlan Ellison's writing style.
Anyway, in my opinion, Strange New Worlds V is a very good book, although not the best of the Strange New Worlds volumes. My favorite story by far is Robert Jeschonek's 'Shoulders of Giants'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant idea, brilliant stories!!, Aug. 27 2002
Ce commentaire est de: Star Trek: Strange New Worlds V (Paperback)
The concept of building a yearly anthology of Star Trek stories written by fans is sheer brilliance. The unbelievable imaginations at work here only serve to produce some of the best Trek fiction to date. This particular volume, SNW V, is wonderful. Having been the only one I've gotten my hands on, I can't compare it to the others. I can, however, tell you that the creativity, originality, and enjoyability of these stories is endless.
At the end, the editor includes information on entering your own story into next year's competition. It's all so wonderful, yet so adequately priced, too. A must have for all Star Trek fans!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For The Fans; By The Fans!, May 21 2002
By 
J. C. Alvarez (Long Island City, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Star Trek: Strange New Worlds V (Paperback)
As a true Trek fan, in all shapes and forms, STRANGE NEW WORLDS is one of the few outlets where we get to explore aspects of Gene Roddenberry's Universe that would probably never see light of day otherwise. With each visit to this anthology format series, the characters we have known and loved from the Starship Enterprise to the Voyager, continue to explore new worlds and newer frontiers of the imagination.
What makes the trip such a joy it's fans like you and me that are inspiring these latest adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Conundrum of Fun!, May 23 2002
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Star Trek: Strange New Worlds V (Paperback)
Wow!! Yet again, another great work by the fans for the fans. I really liked the tale, "Kristin's Conundrum" by two authors (one is Jeff Jackson or something ... it shows that even our youngest authors can get out there and really get a decent piece out there.) Makes me wonder if there are another short stories from the authors out there.
One question: why are all the writers American?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of goodies, May 30 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Calabasas, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Star Trek: Strange New Worlds V (Paperback)
As usual there is something for every taste in the latest volume of trek short stories. A wide variety of writing styles and settings make this a book any trek fan can enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: Strange New Worlds V
Star Trek: Strange New Worlds V by Dean Wesley Smith (Paperback - May 1 2002)
CDN$ 28.99 CDN$ 23.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews