Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story
If you are a Verne's fan then you have to read this book. I really don't like to analyze the style of the author or if the events make sense or not because this is the type of book that you just live the adventure. If you can visualize a story while you are reading (I love to do this with all of Verne's stories) then you have to read this book.
Published on March 27 2003 by Martin A. Negron

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An Old Fashioned Scientific Romance
Captain Nemo is a novel in the tradition of Farmer's The Other Log of Phileas Fogg and other tributes to science fiction pioneers. Andre Nemo is the son of a carpenter in the shipyards of Nantes. His friend Jules Verne is the son of a local lawyer. Together they dream of exploration and experiment with diving suits.
When Andre's father is killed in a ship fire, he...
Published on March 1 2003 by Arthur W. Jordin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars It came from the bottom of the sea...., Oct. 16 2003
By A Customer
I'm not going to mince words, this book is horrible...
It's a pastiche of Verne's life, intercut with the adventures of "Andre Nemo" who wanders around the world, involving himself with incident after incident drawn from the pages of Verne's novels, and minor character, after minor character named after Verne's characters
My biggest gripe however is the vision of Nemo presented, this is not the mysterious stranger of the 20,000 leagues under the sea, or the technocratic Indian Prince, driven from his home after a failed rebellion against colonial masters as presented in Mysterious Island. Having all the works of Verne to draw from, and KJ Anderson, instead chose to draw his Nemo from the wide screen, he has drawn his "Dark Genius" from the vision of Walt Disney, and Harper Goff
The result is what you expect, a poor adaptation of an adaptation, true neither to the original, or the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No Mo' Nemo., Aug. 4 2003
By 
Patrick Burnett "penngos" (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think the thing that bothers me most about this novel is the novelist. Had Anderson actually read any of the Verne's work, he might have understood how patently ridiculous the idea of a novel based on the "real" Captain Nemo is.
Why? Well, "Nemo" is a pseudonym, for one. It comes from The Odyssey. When Odysseus blinds the Cyclops, the creature roars out a demand for the name of the man who has done this to him. The answer is "Nemo", or "No man", which is how Odysseus tricks the Cyclops into lying to his brethren. "Who did this to you?" they ask. "Nobody. Nobody did this to me."
So, Verne has his unnamed Captain adopt the name "Nemo" to show that he has separated from the world of men, and their greed and abuse. The idea that it is a true surname is absurd.
At the end of "The Mysterious Island", Verne reveals that Nemo is an expatriate Indian, which makes it even more unlikely that he would be around to befriend the boyhood version of Verne.
Of course, Verne could have made that bit up.
Tie it all to dull writing and a drab storyline and what you get is a dreary, dreary book that will make your blood boil with annoyance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Writing Style Since Robin Cook!, July 12 2003
By 
Jenny Hanniver "medieval_student" (Philadelphia, PA, United States) - See all my reviews
I'm a sci-fi and fantasy fan(atic) of over 50 years, devouring 2 to 3 genre books a week plus magazines like F&SF, but curiously, I hadn't run across Kevin Anderson before picking up CAPTAIN NEMO in a bookstore. Just lucky, I guess.
The reviews sprinkled on the back cover were selected to impress suckers (like me), and although the novel's premise sounded like fun, believe me, it wasn't. If you are looking for a dull, plodding story with nonsensical science, ungrammatical English, zero-dimensional characters, switching (and confusing) viewpoints, embarrassing name-dropping from Jules Verne's stories, contextually meaningless action scenes, and every other amateur mistake a writer could make, then read CAPTAIN NEMO. As a kid, I read pulp magazine space-opera better written than this!
Anderson should either go to writers' school or retire. There are so many truly outstanding sci-fi/fantasy writers to choose from -- contemporaries like Charles Sheffield, Terry Pratchett, Orson Scott Card, Gene Wolfe, Octavia Butler, Greg Bear, and Ursula LeGuin; older ones like Alfred Bester, Bob Heinlein, Fredric Brown, Sprague DeCamp, Jack Vance, Samuel Delaney, J.R.R. Tolkien, etc., etc., including of course Jules Verne. Why should anyone bother with drivel like CAPTAIN NEMO? You're much better off spending your money to see the cartoon movie about a little fish named Nemo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun, May 20 2003
By 
Dean E. Turner (Gilbert, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Looking for a book you and your young teens will enjoy. Give this one a try. Reads very much like a 1950/1960 Science Fiction movie.
Lots of adventure and no sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, March 27 2003
By 
Martin A. Negron "negronma" (Silver Spring, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Captain Nemo: The Fantastic History of a Dark Genius (Hardcover)
If you are a Verne's fan then you have to read this book. I really don't like to analyze the style of the author or if the events make sense or not because this is the type of book that you just live the adventure. If you can visualize a story while you are reading (I love to do this with all of Verne's stories) then you have to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An Old Fashioned Scientific Romance, March 1 2003
By 
Arthur W. Jordin (Suwanee, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Captain Nemo: The Fantastic History of a Dark Genius (Hardcover)
Captain Nemo is a novel in the tradition of Farmer's The Other Log of Phileas Fogg and other tributes to science fiction pioneers. Andre Nemo is the son of a carpenter in the shipyards of Nantes. His friend Jules Verne is the son of a local lawyer. Together they dream of exploration and experiment with diving suits.
When Andre's father is killed in a ship fire, he becomes a cabin boy on the Coralie and sails on an exploratory mission. Jules tries to join Andre but is intercepted by his father and taken back to Nantes. After a long voyage, the Coralie is attacked by pirates and Andre is stranded on a mysterious island. He escapes underground, finds dinosaurs, and travels through the center of the earth. Later, he travels across Africa in a huge balloon and is involved in the building of a great undersea vessel by Robur, a Turkish general.
Meanwhile, Jules completes his training as a lawyer and dabbles in writing plays, with little success. As he receives news of Andre's exploits, Jules incorporates them into fictious adventures which become wildly successful. Eventually, Jules is reunited briefly with Andre aboard the Nautilus and gets an underwater tour.
Caroline Aronnax, the daughter of a wealthy merchant, is the friend and sweetheart of both boys, but is more attracted to Andre. After Andre goes to sea, Caroline is married to Captain Hatteras, who sails away to the Arctic Sea, never to return. In his absence, Caroline manages the Hatteras household and finances and, when her father dies, the family business as well. Although still loving Andre, she is determined to be true to her husband until he has been legally presumed dead. Andre can't stand the wait and goes off to the Crimean War.
Although bowing to the imagination of Jules Verne as an author, this novel suggests his many flaws and shortcomings as a man. Would Verne have written his great adventures if he had been more contented with his life? Maybe the greatest dreamers are never fully content.
Anderson has written a scientific romance of the old style, but with a thoroughly modern heroine. It is fun, but not the best that Anderson can produce.
Recommended to Anderson fans and anyone who enjoys a good retake of a classical SF story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Clever Ideas, Spotty Execution, Jan. 29 2003
By 
Brian K. Forbes (Foster City, CA USA) - See all my reviews
OK, you've read the previous rants and raves. I wasn't insulted by the implication that Verne was a wanna-be adventurer with few original ideas-- the book isn't supposed to be Verne's biography. The idea that Nemo was real and that his life story inspired some of Verne's most famous novels is neat, and the way they're threaded together is nifty. But the first half of the book is slow and awkward, peppered with awkward writing (Verne is nearly always referred to as 'Jules Verne', guess his friends didn't want to get too informal), bad science (Nemo dives to a sinking ship using unpressurized air-- he's not going to go far!), implausible bits (a hang glider built from DaVinci's notebooks while marooned!), and laughable moments (a timely volcanic eruption releases an even more timely dinosaur). The second half of the book seems better written, almost as though the book was started very early in the author's career and finished much later. I finished the book, but it was maddening at times-- a bit like reading Philip Jose Farmer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Fun, but a bit slow, Dec 20 2002
By 
Chad Cloman (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Captain Nemo: The Fantastic History of a Dark Genius (Hardcover)
This book's premise is that all of Jules Verne's fiction was based on the real-life adventures of his friend, André Nemo. The beginning and ending are fairly interesting, but the middle of the book got a bit slow. I found myself reading it just to finish the book, rather than because I liked the story. Still, the underlying premise is unique, and Kevin J. Anderson is a good writer. This is a fun book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better, Aug. 31 2002
By 
"krissoff" (Middlesex, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Captain Nemo: The Fantastic History of a Dark Genius (Hardcover)
Taken as a whole, the book Captain Nemo sounds interesting.
The premise of a real person being the inspiration for Jules Verne sounded promising unfotunatly, it is a bit of a letdown.
Verne is portrayed as a milqtoast, afraid of his own shadow and his overbearing father, without an original thought in his entire life.
The titles of the chapters are taken from Verne books such as 20,000 Leagues,Five Weeks in a balloon, Mysterious Island, even though they may or may not be the same story line that ran through his books.
For me though is the love the two men shared. Verne, afraid to tell her that he loves her, loses her. Nemo himself is unable to be with her because she has an arranged marriage. So with one year left before she can declare her missing husband dead, he goes off. Not to America or someother place where he can be safe and away from her for the year so he isn't tempted to scandalize her, but into the middle of the Crimean War where he is held captive by a caliph, forced to marry her daughter and build the submarine Nautilus.

Excuse me but if I had to be away from the one I loved for a year, I would have gone away to safety, not into the middle of the war and I would have done everything I could have to escape, not stay a captive for 5 years.

The most exciting part of the book is where Nemo is lost at sea and faces pirates and dinosaurs and other monsters in a lost world reminiscent of Pellucidar. Once he returns to civilization, the book starts to run out of steam. Verne is protrayed more and more infrequently almost as an afterthought and a pitiful figure when he makes a "guest" appearance.

The book is great for about 150 pages. The next 150 are tedious. Read a real Jules Verne book and learn from the master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The pot calls the kettle black, Aug. 30 2002
By 
Babytoxie (Dallas, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Captain Nemo: The Fantastic History of a Dark Genius (Hardcover)
So:
Jules Verne, one of the founding fathers of Science Fiction, is revealed to be a bad writer who relies on a severely bastardized Captain Nemo to supply him with ideas. This is just beautiful! I find it fitting that this premise is conceived of by Kevin J. Anderson, a writer who has relied on other writer's ideas for his career (Star Wars, Dune, X-Files, etc.).
Please, if you have any respect for Jules Verne or classic literature in general, do NOT bother with this book. Nemo, as envisioned by Anderson, bears almost no resemblance to the character depicted in 20,000 LUTS and Mysterious Island. I checked it out of the library, so at least I didn't have to pay; however, that's 4 nights of reading time that I can never reclaim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Captain Nemo: The Fantastic History of a Dark Genius
Captain Nemo: The Fantastic History of a Dark Genius by K.J. Anderson (Hardcover - Jan. 2 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews