Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars fun read!
First of many books by Janet Chapman in this series I will read. I'm hooked and can't wait to start loving a highlander.
Published 1 month ago by Sheridan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Read!
This was a nice read. It started off rather sad as has already been stated by another reviewer stated but it picks up after the first few chapters.
Grace Sutter is single and smart and her young sister has just passed away leaving behind an infant son. Mary askes Grace to take the baby back to her home in Maine and to find the father Michael MacBain and to leave...
Published on Nov. 7 2003 by Kristi Ahlers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars fun read!, Feb. 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First of many books by Janet Chapman in this series I will read. I'm hooked and can't wait to start loving a highlander.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A new twist on a highlander tale, Jan. 10 2013
I loved this twist on the typical Highlander series. Instead of taking place in Scotland, or having them go back in time to the time of Highlanders we get Highlanders whom are thrown into the future. Into our modern times (well 2003). The twist brought along a lot of new aspects that I really liked such as the Clan/males learning the value or women and seeing them as equals, while still keeping their Alpha-Male and occasionally cave man personalities. I admit that I do still like the novels were they order them around as well. And then they threw in a baby. That’s right Grace is responsible for a little one during this novel and I loved watching Grey react with him. That made me have a heart swelling crush on him. And of course the fact that he could lift a sword that was big as Grace kind of helped. I loved the love between Grace and Grey, but for Grey is happened instantly. Love at first sight, which is always something I am weary about, but in this novel there is magic to help explain it and a long with magic comes the belief in soul mates. Janet Chapman does charm you in a novel filled with Highlanders, action, drama, and emotion, and has hooked me into the series.
Good:
Grace—independent, smart, and determined.
Grey—protective, determined, loyal, and a hot sexy highlander.
Bad:

The love moved a little fast, although I liked the passion. I also got a little lost in some of the technical space talk, but that was barely an issue.

Overall (Writing style, story line, and general):

Overall, I was enchanted. I loved Grace and I loved Grey, and I loved the isolation of the small town so that it didn’t make their transition into the new world seem unrealistic. The writing was easy to follow, and the passion had me blushing. I cried and worried when necessary and completely got dragged into their lives. The story was interesting and brought a new twist on the Highlander genre (it really should have it’s own, there is definitely enough books). Janet Chapman brought some new twists to a traditional story and made an ensemble of memorable characters. I can’t wait to see what the future has in store for the other characters of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Laughing, Crying and Baby in a plaid, Feb. 5 2004
This review is from: Charming the Highlander (Mass Market Paperback)
This was a very "sweet" read. You already know the plot by now, so I won't repeat it. The characters were well developed and the story was fast paced. Personally I'd like a little more descriptive "sheet dancing", but it would not have worked here. The interaction between the characters was witty and real. Best part of the story for me was thinking about a scared highlander fashioning a diaper out of a towel for 4 week old "Baby" and winds up making an over the shoulder plaid for him. I'd like to see that sold in a store. Worth your time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Read!, Nov. 7 2003
By 
Kristi Ahlers (Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charming the Highlander (Mass Market Paperback)
This was a nice read. It started off rather sad as has already been stated by another reviewer stated but it picks up after the first few chapters.
Grace Sutter is single and smart and her young sister has just passed away leaving behind an infant son. Mary askes Grace to take the baby back to her home in Maine and to find the father Michael MacBain and to leave the baby with him. Grace agrees and packs "Baby" and goes home but she finds herself the victim of a plane crash and the only survior besides herself and baby is a big strong Scot named Greylen. Greylen is attracted to Grace and Grace finds herself kissing this handsome man without any thought. But, before they can explore the feelings they have for each other they must get of the mountain and to safety. Of course their problems don't stop then. Grace confronts her nephew's father and decides to keep "Baby" a secret and to hold on to him herself. This of course leads to all sorts of problems and now Grace has broken a deathbed promise to her sister. Eventually everything turns out for the best but not before Grace's secrets and lies come all undone.
This was a nice read as I said before, the only problem I had with the story was the fact that I got tired of Grace's selfish behavior regarding the baby. This problem is not resolved until the last few chapters in the book. Beside that I thought that this time travel was unique and I look forward to reading the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved This Book!, Nov. 4 2003
By 
mahikahn (Columbus, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Charming the Highlander (Mass Market Paperback)
It was hysterical that Grace actually WAS a "rocket scientist" unlike the joke. Mary's son being called "Baby" was really cute. The part about Mary and Michael McBain was bittersweet. Although, I have to admit the 30 year old virgin scenario is getting to be a bit much. It seems every second book I read the woman is mid to late 20's or early 30's and has never had sex. It's a nice thought, but a bit on the unrealistic side.
But, no matter, this book is well worth the read and I ordered the other two in the series before I even finished this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Charming time travel with a pleasant twist, Oct. 19 2003
By 
V "readinganddreaming" (Tulsa, Ok, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charming the Highlander (Mass Market Paperback)
Charming the Highlander is a sweet story with a group of nice, mature characters. Even the alpha males, which abound in this story, are basically great guys with good hearts that aren't too hard headed. I am not a time travel fan but had no problem with that aspect since this group of Scottish males of four MacKeages and one MacBain had been transported through time from the twelfth century four years prior to the beginning of the story. They have mostly adjusted to today's world and have constructed and own a ski resort in upper Maine that will open within the year. The wizard who is responsible for their time travel has closely watched over the MacKeage Scottish warriors. They know the wizard as a present day priest who teaches them the ways of the twenty-first century and assists them in obtaining a financial fortune to allow a profitable living. This priest/wizard is an entertaining part of the story. Not all of his magic tricks or concoctions work out as he plans. There were some pages that were filled with highly entertaining bits of his antics.
Greylen MacKeage is the laird of the MacKeage clan and stays in charge in present day. Some things cannot change and the other warriors expect Greylen's leadership. It is only natural. In the opening pages of the book, Greylen is attempting a return trip to his Maine home and is dreading the trip in a small aircraft with a cocky, careless pilot. Joining him on this flight is a beautiful woman, Grace Sutter, who captures Greylen's attention immediately. Grace has a newborn baby with her and Greylen assumes that it is her baby - who would not? Grace is letting all assume she is the mother of this precious baby who has the name of Baby. Baby is actually the son of Grace's sister, Mary, who was recently died. Her sister's final request of Grace is to take her baby to their small Maine hometown and give him to Baby's father. The father, Michael MacBain, has no knowledge of Baby since Mary had left him and gone to Grace's home when Michael told her he was actually from the twelfth century. Mary doubted his sanity but had finally decided to return to him when she was injured in the accident that claimed her life. Grace is now following her sister's wishes and taking Baby to his father but Grace has strong reservations about actually letting Michael MacBain know of his son. She knows of this time travel fantasy and does not want to leave Baby with an unstable man.
The plane crashes and Grace and Baby must rely on Greylen to get them off the snowy mountain and back to civilization. He is a very kind and considerate man although a little odd with some odd perceptions of women's role in society. His strength during and after the crash as well as his ability to withstand very harsh weather and terrain greatly impresses Grace. She soon learns to trust Greylen and before reaching their destination, both know there is a mutual attraction that will be difficult to deny.
This is an absorbing book that has some very humorous moments. Grace, a brilliant scientist, is a very charming woman who has given herself to her career with little time for anything else. But now she is finding the prospect of all these new close relationships plus returning to her hometown after so many years quite attractive. Could she move out of the big city and remain in this beautiful state of Maine? She is considering this especially as she learns more about Baby's father and he admits to his time travel story when Grace questions him. Maine would be a good place for Grace to raise Baby. Michael need never know the child is his but Grace has made a promise to her dead sister to give the child to his father. Grace goes back and forth on this issue so much that her thoughts get sometimes tiring. Greylen is ready to accept Grace and Baby as his own. Imagine his shock when he discovers that it is not possible for Grace to be a mother.
The leads relationship is very touching and fun. There are many secondary characters, some which add a great deal to the story. Of course, there is the villain aspect that runs in the background and the author chooses to deal with them in the most unusual manner! There is a lot of great chemistry between the leads and Greylen's need to dominate Grace's life, since he has claimed her for his own, is humorously touching and not the least overbearing. There are a few sensual scenes that rate about a 3.0 out of 5.0 (see More About Me for rating guidelines).
Overall, I highly recommend Charming the Highlander. It is pleasurable reading with a few unusual twists. Immediately, you are drawn into the story and since you don't have to read through the usual adjustment exercises of most time travel arrivals, it is really easy to just sit back and enjoy a great story. Charming the Highlander is the first in a series followed by Loving the Highlander, and Wedding the Highlander. I see that a fourth Chapman book is scheduled for release sometime in the near future, The Seductive Imposter. I do not know if it is the fourth in this series. There are clearly four - not three - strong characters and therefore a likelihood for a fourth book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming the Highlander, May 15 2003
By 
Vicki Blauser (Hanover, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Charming the Highlander (Mass Market Paperback)
You will full in love with Janet Chapman's Highlanders, You will laugh,and cry , you will feel every emotion that Janet's charaters feel. She make you live right along with them in her book. And I can't wait to read the next two books in this series, I could go on and on about this book, But you really need to read it for yourself.
Happy Reading :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A real charmer, April 20 2003
By 
Desmond Chan (Bishan North Singapore) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Charming the Highlander (Mass Market Paperback)
Janet Chapman's debut Charming the Highlander may not have the sophistication and in-depth research of Karen Marie Moning's Highlander series but it firmly anchors itself to be a wowing crowd-pleaser with an earthy charm and a mouth-watering hero. Scottish Laird Greylen MacKeage gets transported from 11th century to modern day Maine and establishes a resort there, adapting to the new civilization with the assistance of a priest Daar. Rocket-scientist Grace Sutter travels to Maine to fulfil her promise to her demised sister by bringing her sister's infant to her father McBairn and scattering her ashes at Summer's Solstice. She escapes a plane accident coincidentally with Greylen and discovers instant chemistry with the warrior. When he claims her as her soul-mate, Grace is hesitant to admit herself falling for him. Danger meanwhile lurks when Grace's project implicates her - and Greylen is determined to protect her. Scintillating, passionate and wildly romantic, Janet Chapman's maiden effort is impressive with heartening characters and glowing warmth. A real charmer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Inane Babble..., April 17 2003
This review is from: Charming the Highlander (Mass Market Paperback)
To even compare this author to Karen Marie Moning is both an insult and an affront to Ms. Moning. 'Charming the Highlander' was not only pathetic, but unbelievable and contrived. Frankly I did not care about the characters, nor did I feel compelled to WANT to care about them. The hero and heroine seemingly fall in love somewhere outside of the confines of the book, as I find it highly dubious that two characters could fall in love in the time they were given. This book is trite and unoriginal, and seems to be a poor attempt at capitalizing off of the 'highlander' romance genre. Please, save your money and read ANY of Karen Marie Moning's books instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible debut novel!, April 12 2003
This review is from: Charming the Highlander (Mass Market Paperback)
Comparible to other popular, best-selling paranormal/time travel romance authors, Janet Chapman is an exciting new voice in romance genre fiction!
From first page to last, CHARMING THE HIGHLANDER is a delight. As someone else mentioned, this book has it all - exceptional characterization and storyline, emotional depth and just downright GOOD writing - debut author, Janet Chapman is already a master at her craft.
I can't wait to read the other books in this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5c5df84)

This product

Charming the Highlander
Charming the Highlander by Janet Chapman (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 1 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews