Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming The Higlander
This book had everything! Big strong Scotish men, time travel and magick. It will make you laugh, cry, hang on the edge of you seat just to see what happens next.
The Highlands of Scotland,year 1200 AD. The hero Laird Greylen MacKeage has gotten sent into the future to the 21st Century to find the one woman who is ment for him. I thought this man was just to good to...
Published on March 23 2003 by Really Love 2 Read

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Read!
This was a nice read. It started off rather sad as has already been stated by another reviewer stated but it picks up after the first few chapters.
Grace Sutter is single and smart and her young sister has just passed away leaving behind an infant son. Mary askes Grace to take the baby back to her home in Maine and to find the father Michael MacBain and to leave...
Published on Nov. 7 2003 by Kristi Ahlers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Read!, Nov. 7 2003
By 
Kristi Ahlers (Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charming the Highlander (Mass Market Paperback)
This was a nice read. It started off rather sad as has already been stated by another reviewer stated but it picks up after the first few chapters.
Grace Sutter is single and smart and her young sister has just passed away leaving behind an infant son. Mary askes Grace to take the baby back to her home in Maine and to find the father Michael MacBain and to leave the baby with him. Grace agrees and packs "Baby" and goes home but she finds herself the victim of a plane crash and the only survior besides herself and baby is a big strong Scot named Greylen. Greylen is attracted to Grace and Grace finds herself kissing this handsome man without any thought. But, before they can explore the feelings they have for each other they must get of the mountain and to safety. Of course their problems don't stop then. Grace confronts her nephew's father and decides to keep "Baby" a secret and to hold on to him herself. This of course leads to all sorts of problems and now Grace has broken a deathbed promise to her sister. Eventually everything turns out for the best but not before Grace's secrets and lies come all undone.
This was a nice read as I said before, the only problem I had with the story was the fact that I got tired of Grace's selfish behavior regarding the baby. This problem is not resolved until the last few chapters in the book. Beside that I thought that this time travel was unique and I look forward to reading the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Charming time travel with a pleasant twist, Oct. 19 2003
By 
V "readinganddreaming" (Tulsa, Ok, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charming the Highlander (Mass Market Paperback)
Charming the Highlander is a sweet story with a group of nice, mature characters. Even the alpha males, which abound in this story, are basically great guys with good hearts that aren't too hard headed. I am not a time travel fan but had no problem with that aspect since this group of Scottish males of four MacKeages and one MacBain had been transported through time from the twelfth century four years prior to the beginning of the story. They have mostly adjusted to today's world and have constructed and own a ski resort in upper Maine that will open within the year. The wizard who is responsible for their time travel has closely watched over the MacKeage Scottish warriors. They know the wizard as a present day priest who teaches them the ways of the twenty-first century and assists them in obtaining a financial fortune to allow a profitable living. This priest/wizard is an entertaining part of the story. Not all of his magic tricks or concoctions work out as he plans. There were some pages that were filled with highly entertaining bits of his antics.
Greylen MacKeage is the laird of the MacKeage clan and stays in charge in present day. Some things cannot change and the other warriors expect Greylen's leadership. It is only natural. In the opening pages of the book, Greylen is attempting a return trip to his Maine home and is dreading the trip in a small aircraft with a cocky, careless pilot. Joining him on this flight is a beautiful woman, Grace Sutter, who captures Greylen's attention immediately. Grace has a newborn baby with her and Greylen assumes that it is her baby - who would not? Grace is letting all assume she is the mother of this precious baby who has the name of Baby. Baby is actually the son of Grace's sister, Mary, who was recently died. Her sister's final request of Grace is to take her baby to their small Maine hometown and give him to Baby's father. The father, Michael MacBain, has no knowledge of Baby since Mary had left him and gone to Grace's home when Michael told her he was actually from the twelfth century. Mary doubted his sanity but had finally decided to return to him when she was injured in the accident that claimed her life. Grace is now following her sister's wishes and taking Baby to his father but Grace has strong reservations about actually letting Michael MacBain know of his son. She knows of this time travel fantasy and does not want to leave Baby with an unstable man.
The plane crashes and Grace and Baby must rely on Greylen to get them off the snowy mountain and back to civilization. He is a very kind and considerate man although a little odd with some odd perceptions of women's role in society. His strength during and after the crash as well as his ability to withstand very harsh weather and terrain greatly impresses Grace. She soon learns to trust Greylen and before reaching their destination, both know there is a mutual attraction that will be difficult to deny.
This is an absorbing book that has some very humorous moments. Grace, a brilliant scientist, is a very charming woman who has given herself to her career with little time for anything else. But now she is finding the prospect of all these new close relationships plus returning to her hometown after so many years quite attractive. Could she move out of the big city and remain in this beautiful state of Maine? She is considering this especially as she learns more about Baby's father and he admits to his time travel story when Grace questions him. Maine would be a good place for Grace to raise Baby. Michael need never know the child is his but Grace has made a promise to her dead sister to give the child to his father. Grace goes back and forth on this issue so much that her thoughts get sometimes tiring. Greylen is ready to accept Grace and Baby as his own. Imagine his shock when he discovers that it is not possible for Grace to be a mother.
The leads relationship is very touching and fun. There are many secondary characters, some which add a great deal to the story. Of course, there is the villain aspect that runs in the background and the author chooses to deal with them in the most unusual manner! There is a lot of great chemistry between the leads and Greylen's need to dominate Grace's life, since he has claimed her for his own, is humorously touching and not the least overbearing. There are a few sensual scenes that rate about a 3.0 out of 5.0 (see More About Me for rating guidelines).
Overall, I highly recommend Charming the Highlander. It is pleasurable reading with a few unusual twists. Immediately, you are drawn into the story and since you don't have to read through the usual adjustment exercises of most time travel arrivals, it is really easy to just sit back and enjoy a great story. Charming the Highlander is the first in a series followed by Loving the Highlander, and Wedding the Highlander. I see that a fourth Chapman book is scheduled for release sometime in the near future, The Seductive Imposter. I do not know if it is the fourth in this series. There are clearly four - not three - strong characters and therefore a likelihood for a fourth book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A real charmer, April 20 2003
By 
Desmond Chan (Bishan North Singapore) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Charming the Highlander (Mass Market Paperback)
Janet Chapman's debut Charming the Highlander may not have the sophistication and in-depth research of Karen Marie Moning's Highlander series but it firmly anchors itself to be a wowing crowd-pleaser with an earthy charm and a mouth-watering hero. Scottish Laird Greylen MacKeage gets transported from 11th century to modern day Maine and establishes a resort there, adapting to the new civilization with the assistance of a priest Daar. Rocket-scientist Grace Sutter travels to Maine to fulfil her promise to her demised sister by bringing her sister's infant to her father McBairn and scattering her ashes at Summer's Solstice. She escapes a plane accident coincidentally with Greylen and discovers instant chemistry with the warrior. When he claims her as her soul-mate, Grace is hesitant to admit herself falling for him. Danger meanwhile lurks when Grace's project implicates her - and Greylen is determined to protect her. Scintillating, passionate and wildly romantic, Janet Chapman's maiden effort is impressive with heartening characters and glowing warmth. A real charmer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming The Higlander, March 23 2003
This review is from: Charming the Highlander (Mass Market Paperback)
This book had everything! Big strong Scotish men, time travel and magick. It will make you laugh, cry, hang on the edge of you seat just to see what happens next.
The Highlands of Scotland,year 1200 AD. The hero Laird Greylen MacKeage has gotten sent into the future to the 21st Century to find the one woman who is ment for him. I thought this man was just to good to be true. He could be a bit demanding, but also very passionate. In comes the heroine, Miss Grace Sutter, who has waited her whole life to find the right man. I thought she was a bit up tight about the time travel, but she did come around. She deals in science and belives only in what she can see. I thought she was strong, loving and a equall to Gray. They made a very good match.
I thought the lesser characters were wonderful too. Exspeicaly Pandaar, he has lived so long I wonder if his story will be told.
Also Morgan and Micheal. I can't wait to see what will happen to them.
Keep the books coming Ms Chapman you really are a very good writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unique Time Travel, March 21 2003
By 
M. Rondeau (West Springfield, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charming the Highlander (Mass Market Paperback)
The book starts off, on the sad side, as our heroine Grace Sutter, is at the bedside of her younger sister Mary, who was in an accident and just delivered a baby. In her last dying breaths, Mary tells Grace, the rocket scientist, the incredible story of why she had fled the baby's father; and makes Grace promise to bring the baby back to his father who is all alone in the world. Further she is to promise to sprinkle Mary's ashes on their childhood home on Tarstone mountain on the day of the summer solstice which is four months away. Taking a sabbatical to grieve and care for 'Baby' Grace travels home during a winter ice storm. The charter plane crashes into a mountain but Grace, the baby, and another traveler, Greylon MacKeague survive the crash and through superhuman effort, Grey is able to bring both Baby and Grace, to safety.
It is of course, no consequence that Grace and Grey have met or have this incredible 'lusty' attraction to one another - very sensually described! Also, in the background you have this delightful wizard who cast the spell (after a few mishaps) that brought this 12th century warrior, along with a few others that were not necessarily planned for, to the 21st century to find Grey's soul mate who would bear the child, that would one day be the wizard's heir. Grace, in the meantime, has secrets of her own and continues the deception that the baby is hers, while trying to determine if the Baby's father is sane enough to raise the child - being a scientist, Grace does not believe in time travel! Discovering that the baby's father is an arch- enemy of Grey's makes the complications of her attraction to Grey and growing love of 'Baby' all that more heartbreaking. The relationship between Grey and Grace as the scientist, comes to terms with this purely alpha male is divine.
What I found unique in this book was that the 12th century warriors had four years to become acclimated to modern day life prior to the time period the story takes place in. As such, you didn't have the normal 'awestruck' behavior that most time travel books would depict. This initial offering from a new author was very charming and sensual and I look forward to the sequels as Grey's band of 'merry men' get on with their lives in the 21st century. Excellent read, fast moving, humorous and intelligent. Bravo on this first book from an author who I predict has a very bright future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars engaging time travel romance, Feb. 15 2003
By 
This review is from: Charming the Highlander (Mass Market Paperback)
In 1200 AD during a clan battle in the Scottish Highlands, a wizard casts a spell that sends several MacBain and MacKeage warriors into the twenty-first century. The ten time travelers include the MacKeage brothers Greylen and Morgan.
A pregnant Mary Sutter fled her lover Michael MacBain when he insisted he was born in 1171. She stays with her sister Grace in Norfolk before deciding to return to her beloved Michael. Instead she dies in a car accident. She gives birth to a son, makes Grace promise to take the child to Michael, and asks for her ashes to be spread in Maine.
Rocket scientist Grace receives a sabbatical to complete her sister's dying wishes. Flying over Maine with one other passenger besides herself and her nephew, the plane crashes killing the pilot. The other flier Greylen keeps Grace, who he recognizes as his soul mate, and the baby alive by using all he learned in the highlands almost a millennium ago in real time, but not too long ago in his biological time.
This engaging time travel romance occurs after the displaced Highlanders have some time to adapt to their new environs. Still the audience observes the discomfit of Greylen when he flies on the commuter plane as this goes against all he knows (if God wants man to fly he would have given him wings attitude). It is this type of detail to the feelings especially of the lead couple that turns this into a delightful tale.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars engaging time travel romance, Feb. 2 2003
By 
This review is from: Charming the Highlander (Mass Market Paperback)
In 1200 AD during a clan battle in the Scottish Highlands, a wizard casts a spell that sends several MacBain and MacKeage warriors into the twenty-first century. The ten time travelers include the MacKeage brothers Greylen and Morgan.
A pregnant Mary Sutter fled her lover Michael MacBain when he insisted he was born in 1171. She stays with her sister Grace in Norfolk before deciding to return to her beloved Michael. Instead she dies in a car accident. She gives birth to a son, makes Grace promise to take the child to Michael, and asks for her ashes to be spread in Maine.
Rocket scientist Grace receives a sabbatical to complete her sister's dying wishes. Flying over Maine with one other passenger besides herself and her nephew, the plane crashes killing the pilot. The other flier Greylen keeps Grace, who he recognizes as his soul mate, and the baby alive by using all he learned in the highlands almost a millennium ago in real time, but not too long ago in his biological time.
This engaging time travel romance occurs after the displaced Highlanders have some time to adapt to their new environs. Still the audience observes the discomfit of Greylen when he flies on the commuter plane as this goes against all he knows (if God wants man to fly he would have given him wings attitude). It is this type of detail to the feelings especially of the lead couple that turns this into a delightful tale.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Charming!!!", Jan. 28 2003
By 
Joyce Hopkins (Windham, Maine United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Charming the Highlander (Mass Market Paperback)
I bought this book on a whim at my local bookstore and I loved every last page! Being a Mainer myself, I was thrilled to find that the story was located in my "backyard", so to speak. The main characters, Grace Sutter and Greylen MacKeage are wonderful. Grace, a rocket scientist, has just lost her sister in an automobile accident and now has the care of her sister's infant son. Her sister tells her on her deathbed that the baby's father is a Scottish Laird who was born in 1171...needless to say, she is unbelieving. She makes a promise to her sister to bring her baby to his father, all the while wondering if this man is sane or not.
On her journey to her sister's home in Maine during an ice storm, her plane crashes and she is thrust, literally, into the arms of Greylen. Little does Grace know, but Greylen is also a laird, sent through time to find his true soulmate. Grey realizes Grace is the one the minute he lays eyes on her. The rest of the book is played out on TarStone mountain with a host of amusing characters. The ending is true and endearing.
What I loved most about this book is the reality of the situation. Big, burly Scottish men always get me but these characters were sensitive, lovable and true to life.
Ms. Chapman also chose a familiar setting and time for the book. Back in 1998, here in Maine, we had the "storm of the century". Ice fell from the sky, covering everything. For weeks we were all without power. For her to use this storm in a positive way was wonderful for me. I cannot wait for her next book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Inane Babble..., April 17 2003
This review is from: Charming the Highlander (Mass Market Paperback)
To even compare this author to Karen Marie Moning is both an insult and an affront to Ms. Moning. 'Charming the Highlander' was not only pathetic, but unbelievable and contrived. Frankly I did not care about the characters, nor did I feel compelled to WANT to care about them. The hero and heroine seemingly fall in love somewhere outside of the confines of the book, as I find it highly dubious that two characters could fall in love in the time they were given. This book is trite and unoriginal, and seems to be a poor attempt at capitalizing off of the 'highlander' romance genre. Please, save your money and read ANY of Karen Marie Moning's books instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Laughing, Crying and Baby in a plaid, Feb. 5 2004
This review is from: Charming the Highlander (Mass Market Paperback)
This was a very "sweet" read. You already know the plot by now, so I won't repeat it. The characters were well developed and the story was fast paced. Personally I'd like a little more descriptive "sheet dancing", but it would not have worked here. The interaction between the characters was witty and real. Best part of the story for me was thinking about a scared highlander fashioning a diaper out of a towel for 4 week old "Baby" and winds up making an over the shoulder plaid for him. I'd like to see that sold in a store. Worth your time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charming the Highlander
Charming the Highlander by Janet Chapman (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 1 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews