Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ghost story, mystery, historical novel
SECOND GLANCE starts off rather clunky with Picoult introducing at least a dozen characters, all with their own viewpoints. It's hard to know who's really important.
The lead character, Ross Wakeman, is a kind of ghost buster with suicidal tendencies. He wants to join his fiancée, Aimie, who had been killed in a car accident that he feels guilty about. He's...
Published on July 10 2003 by Dave Schwinghammer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Second Glance Review
Being a huge fan of Jodi Picoult, I give this book 3/5 stars. It took me about 200 pages into it until it got fairly exciting. This was probably one of my least favorite of her books - alot of her books I will go back and read a second time, however this will not be one of them. It was still entertaining enough to want to finish it to see how it ended.
Published on June 10 2004 by dianne111


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ghost story, mystery, historical novel, July 10 2003
By 
Dave Schwinghammer "Dave Schwinghammer" (Little Falls, Minnesota USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Second Glance: A Novel (Hardcover)
SECOND GLANCE starts off rather clunky with Picoult introducing at least a dozen characters, all with their own viewpoints. It's hard to know who's really important.
The lead character, Ross Wakeman, is a kind of ghost buster with suicidal tendencies. He wants to join his fiancée, Aimie, who had been killed in a car accident that he feels guilty about. He's already tried to kill himself a couple of times.
Newton Redhook, a development company, hires Wakeman to prove there are no ghosts on property it has acquired from an old man named Spencer Pike. Stephen Kingisms abound. Rose petals fall from the sky, the ground freezes in the middle of August, the town drunk wakes one morning with his straight hair turned curly,
and while Ross is videotaping the place, he meets a woman who seems as mortal as he is, until she walks through a gravestone. But it's too late; he's already fallen in love with another dead woman.
Gradually, very gradually, Picoult begins to connect the people she introduced at the beginning of the book and that's when it gets good. You see, Spencer Pike, owner of the haunted land, had a wife who was apparenty murdered along with her baby daughter and she's the woman Ross has fallen for.
Picoult very adroitly uses historical background to make SECOND GLANCE more than just a ghost story. You see, back when he was a young man, Spencer Pike was one of the prime movers of the Eugenics movement, a "voluntary" sterilization project which the Nazis used as a model for their own program. Pike and his fellow scientists believed criminal behavior was inherited and could be eliminated by preventing these people from passing on their genes.
Throw in a 102-year-old Abenaki Indian with multiple identifies and you've got an enthralling summer read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, Dec 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Second Glance: A Novel (Paperback)
This was given as a gift to a young person and she was very excited to receive it as she loves Jodi Picoult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps you on your toes, June 13 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (Killeen, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Second Glance (Paperback)
This is a great book. The story grabbed me from the beginning, and I really enjoyed the way the author fleshes out each character. I do not agree with some of the comments that the structure of the story is too confusing or that the author jumps around too much. Just the opposite, I found that the way the story jumps from character to character was one of the things that kept me on my toes, and helped to tie the characters together throughout the book. This is the first book by Jodi Picoult I have read, but I will definitely be getting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars second glance, March 10 2011
This review is from: Second Glance: A Novel (Paperback)
For some reason it took me a few chapters to get into this book. I am a Big Jodi Picolt fan and got pleasantly surprised as the story kept my interest until the last page. Loved it, loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whoa! Where has THIS book been?, July 28 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Second Glance (Paperback)
I was blown away by this book--by its subject material. This is a marvelous story based on fact in the state of Vermont and the sterilazation laws that were passed. It is also the story of lost love and second chances. What I can't understand is why this isn't continually a bestseller. What a story! And the way it's told is riveting! Five stars are not enough.
Also recommended: THE BARK OF THE DOGWOOD--harrowing, funny, and moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Second Glance Review, June 10 2004
This review is from: Second Glance (Paperback)
Being a huge fan of Jodi Picoult, I give this book 3/5 stars. It took me about 200 pages into it until it got fairly exciting. This was probably one of my least favorite of her books - alot of her books I will go back and read a second time, however this will not be one of them. It was still entertaining enough to want to finish it to see how it ended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Love or unresolved grief?, May 26 2004
By 
This review is from: Second Glance (Paperback)
Having read many of Jodi Picoult's books, I have to say that this book was a step outside the box for her. When I was in the first chapters of the book, I felt that I did not know if Ross was suffering from unresolved grief or undying love. I certainly felt for him and his loss of Aimee, but I do not know if he was mistaking grief for his love that crossed the boundaries between this world and the next. The final plot, twisting as it was, did not give the finale that I had hoped. I have to say that I have enjoyed Ms. Picoult's other novels much more than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, May 23 2004
By 
j.s. "mr z" (Bloomington, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Second Glance (Paperback)
"Second Glance" is one of those books that, although minimally intriguing and ultimately standard upon first inspection, is actually an extremely well constructed, well written novel that will leave any book lover breathless with appreciation and admiration.
The book picks up steam quickly, introducing many characters in a short amount of time and then spends the rest of the book fleshing out those characters and tying them together. Without giving anything away, "Second Glance" is a ghost story set in the present, a portrait of horrifying historial truth set in the 1920s, and a truly unique character study that successfully brings the reader to fully know and understand the dozen or so characters introduced along the way.
Author Jodi Picoult should not only be praised for her polished prose and an admirably complex plot, but for shedding light on shocking facts from our country's history and taking a stance on modern-day medical practices without being overly preachy.
This review may sound jumbled and not coherent, but that is how the book often feels. In the end, though, it all comes together wonderfully. Read this novel if you like old-fashioned ghost stories / mysteries, historial fiction, or in depth character studies with supernatural plot twists along for the ride. The book isn't short by any means, and it doesn't feel short. The information could easily have been given (by a lesser author) in a smaller amount of pages, but the added length results in the more fully-developed characters. This novel isn't a thriller (although it contains thrills) and its supernatural premise may attract horror fans, but its really just a supernatural love story. Find your cheap thrills elsewhere. This is a much deeper, complex, and heartfelt drama about love and the ghosts that are created out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Second Glance...not quite., May 10 2004
This review is from: Second Glance: A Novel (Hardcover)
This story was just barely above a snooze-fest for me. 3 stars is being generous. The main character was not very likeable and it was hard to identify with his perspective on life and why he chose the profession of ghost hunting after losing a great love. The story can be confusing at time and may turn readers off in the first part, getting lost in various characters that you don't quite get their purpose in the story. It all comes together in the end, if not a bit contrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ghost story or history lesson?, May 8 2004
By 
Lacey Savage (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Second Glance (Paperback)
"Do we love across time? Or in spite of it?"
That's the theme that Jodi Picoult examines in SECOND GLANCE. By the end of the novel, I'm still not sure of the answer to that question. And as far as I can tell, the characters couldn't figure it out either. Perhaps it's meant to be an eternal mystery, but one thing's for sure: a number of people get hopelessly entangled in each other's lives while trying to unravel the mysteries of the past in this novel.
Ross Wakeman has tried to kill himself so many times, he's lost track. The only thing he lives for is catching a glimpse of his deceased fiancée, but he's never so much as even seen a ghost. He works as a paranormal investigator, and his travels bring him to Comtosook, Vermont, to visit with his sister, Shelby. While there, he finds more clues pointing to the existence of ghosts than ever before, and he meets beautiful and intriguing Lea Beaumont, a woman who stirs feelings in his heart he never thought he'd feel again. But what mysteries is she hiding? And will Ross ever be the same after finding out?
There are a whole slew of characters making their way through this novel, so take that as a warning. You might need to scribble down names and relationships even before you finish the first chapter. Though the plotline seems entangled, it all wraps up nicely (if not quite satisfyingly) in the end. Jodi Picoult has written a novel that's an interesting blend of ghost story and history lesson, though it may bore some readers with its foray into the eugenics movement of the 1930s. The characterization is also weak at times, as evidenced by Ross' complete inability to differentiate between love and obsession with the idea of love.
Pick this one up if you're looking for an interesting read, but don't expect a page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Second Glance
Second Glance by Jodi Picoult (Paperback - 2004)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews