Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A Great High Sea Read For The Summer!!, July 31 2003
By 
Kristi Ahlers (Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Captain of All Pleasures (Mass Market Paperback)
Ms. Cole's debut novel is great and I found it to be a fast and pleasurable read. The chemistry between Nicole and Derek is great and the reaction that they each have to each other was the reason I kept picking this book up rather then doing the things that I should have been doing such as housework or yardwork!
Derek is a troubled soul who is willing to turn his back on his heritage and past. He spends his days trying to forget his responsiblities and drinking. He is also drawn to the sea and the race that will save his shipping interest. Add to that he finds himself drawn to Nicole Lassiter. She is everything that he should stay clear of but is unable to do that.
Nicole also has a love for the sea and when her father is put in jail under false pretences she decides that she will sail in the Circle Race. The Lassiter's need the win as much as Sutherland (Derek) does but fate has other plans and it throws Nicole and Derek back together yet again. Nicole is equally attracted to the dark and brooding Captain and she finds herself wondering what it would be like to call him her own.
This was a strong first time novel and I look forward to her upcoming story which is Grant's (Derek's brother)next. For a great weekend read pick this book up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hot, Sexy and Full of Adventure, July 16 2003
By 
M. Rondeau (West Springfield, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Captain of All Pleasures (Mass Market Paperback)
London 1856 - Nicole Lassiter, was indeed something of an original - more at home on the deck of a ship in the attire of sailor, than in a dress at the finishing schools her grandmother sent her to in an attempt to turn her into a proper lady. But a deal was a deal and she had, after all, mastered seven out of the nine subjects at the school before she and the school mutually parted company! Now she was searching for her father, Captain Lassiter along the dockside. She just had to convince him to let her take part in the Great Circle race from London to Sydney. This search led to the Mermaid - a place that sailors came to find 'company'. Well she found him and soon she caught her first glimpse of her father's biggest competitor and enemy - Derek Sutherland - rake, drunk - and gloriously handsome and virile. As preparations for the race progressed so did the sabotaging of certain ships. Stumbling upon just such an event - Nicole ended up running for her life right into the arms of Sutherland - or from the frying pan into the fire. For both it would be the beginning of a passionate encounter that would change the course of both their lives. Soon after this fateful meeting, Derek learns that Nicole is his nemesis' daughter and when he inadvertently causes Nicole's father to miss out on the start of the race, Nicole decides to take over the helm in place of her father. Now both are determined to best one another on the high seas where anything could and does happen!
This was a very good debut novel that leaves you with a satisfying end and whets your appetite in setting up the stage for a sequel starring Derek's' brother Grant. While I found in the beginning that the author opened up areas that I thought might have been explored further, specifically motives for the sabotaging, and more history to some unspecified relationships, all was explained away in the end. A little bit unbelievable was the sexual ignorance of the heroine who spent so much time growing up around the crew of sailing vessal - but considering the very hot sexual encounters that resulted in her ignorance (which by the way will just make your toes curl) - who am I to complain! The dialog was fresh, the action was lively, and I certainly wasn't bored reading it - I fairly flew through the pages. I would say this is a terrific debut for a new and very talented author. I'm looking forward to the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Action-packed historical romance, July 2 2003
By 
This review is from: The Captain of All Pleasures (Mass Market Paperback)
In support of the concept that the "Sun never sets on the English Empire", in 1854 Queen Victoria sponsors the Great Circle Race, a sailing contest open to all nationalities that will start in London and finish in Sydney. Two years later just before the start of the race, Team Lassiter is struck a terrible blow when its captain Jason Lassiter is incarcerated after a tavern brawl in London. However, his daughter Nicole, raised on the sea, takes over as captain.
Derek Sutherland and his crew are amongst the challengers, but he is more desperate to win than most because victory is the only way to save his tottering shipping line. Derek and Nicole are attracted to one another, but neither trusts the other. Nicole believes that he is sabotaging her family's shipping business. Fate intervenes when Nicole's vessel is damaged in a storm and Derek rescues her. As they become lovers in love, they soon have an epiphany that a third party is behind the troubles destroying both their shipping lines.
Victorian England on the high seas is as vivid as can be pictured in this action-packed historical romance. The lead couple is a delight as they brawl, argue, and fight until they realize that they are in love. Though the intrigue subplot and the "disputes" between her father and her beloved add tension, it seems unnecessary as Jason and Nicole have so much baggage to go through anyway. Still readers will enjoy sailing with Kresley Cole at the helm.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I highly recommend., July 1 2003
This review is from: The Captain of All Pleasures (Mass Market Paperback)
I picked this book up on a whim and was very pleased. It might seem like the typical clash of 2 strong minded people who eventually fall in love, but there are definitely twists throughout the book. Nicole Lassiter is used to sailing the seas with her father and is preparing to sail the Great Circle Race. Only her father refuses to let her go. Derek Sutherland is the typical brooding male who has lost all hope. Derek and Nicole's father are bitter rivals who go out of there way to spite the other. Thorugh many misunderstandings, Nicole ends up sailing the race alone b/c her father is in jail. Needless to say, Derek follows her and you need to read the book to find out the rest. This book was funny, heartwarming, had good lovescenes, and left room for a sequel with Derek's brother, Grant. Buy the book, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So good, I couldn't put it down., Sept. 9 2003
By 
Jennifer Banker "Avid reader" (Il United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Captain of All Pleasures (Mass Market Paperback)
I read a lot of books. This was one of the best books that I have had the pleasure to read in a long time. And it was a pleasure. A page turner, there was always something happening. Either a good battle of wits, a contest of wills, or lots of action. All kinds of action. The caracters were very real and easily related to. With a good kick of humor to liven things up. I dont know about you, but it made me want to jump into the book and sail away. I would definetly recomend it to anyone who was looking for a good book. And I look foreward to her next book and the one after that too. Very impatently, I might add. So, when you pick it up, make sure you have lots of time. You wont want to put it down once you pick it up. I know, I read it in one day! Enjoy!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Captain of All Pleasures by Kresley Cole **Watch this st, July 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Captain of All Pleasures (Mass Market Paperback)
Make a good-sized space on your keeper shelf for this sensational new author because she's only just begun! Kresley Cole's first release "The Captain of all Pleasures" packs adventure, suspense, passion and sensuality into this high sea adventure.
Not only are the main characters strong, real and larger than life, but Kresley has the gift of character development that gives the reader an up close and personal view without stifling you with repetition of the mundane. Kresley keeps it fresh and suspenseful providing a great escape for the romantic adventurer inside all of us.
Ballston Book House Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Nov. 3 2003
By 
Babydoll171 (Taylorsville, NC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Captain of All Pleasures (Mass Market Paperback)
Excellent read, I highly recommend picking up a copy, it's a definite keeper! This book was extremely well written and fast paced, I couldn't put it down. I wanted to read all of her other work as soon a I finished reading this one. I was amazed to find out this was the first book that had ever been published by this author. She is a really talented writer, and I am looking forward to the publishing of Mrs. Cole's second book, The Price of Pleasure, telling Sea Captain Grant Sutherland's story, that is said to be released soon from Pocket books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT book!!!, July 10 2003
By 
I LOVE ROMANCES! "Jenn" (Hull, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Captain of All Pleasures (Mass Market Paperback)
This is one of the very best books I've ever read!
The picture on the cover drew my attention. Here is a good-looking man yet with some mystery since we can't see the front of him.
The book held my attention throught the entire thing, every single page... This was one of the most sensual books I've ever read and it didn't border on discusting as some of the recent erotic romances have been...
This is one of the most talented authors and I REALLY look forward to the next book from her!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Passion on the open sea, July 20 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Captain of All Pleasures (Mass Market Paperback)
Captain Derek Sutherland is every woman's fantasy. Once you start to read this book you won't be able to put it down. The scenes are hot, steamy and downright sinful. I love the plot from the beginning to the very last page. Derek's herione is headstrong and determined a perect match for his aloof and distant personality.
This is a must have for your book shelf. Don't miss out on a chance to own it. I can't wait for the sequel with Grant Sutherland THE PRICE OF PLEASURE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a pleasure indeed!!!, Feb. 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Captain of All Pleasures (Mass Market Paperback)
I ordered this book after noting all the 5-star reviews it received and I must say, I am in total agreement. This is a truly wonderful book, with enchanting characters, a good story and great sex, all rolled together to make for an exciting, passionate adventure on the high seas. I read this book in one day, as I also couldn't put it down. I look forward to Kresley Cole's next offering. This was definitely a keeper!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Captain of All Pleasures
The Captain of All Pleasures by Kresley Cole (Mass Market Paperback - July 1 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews