Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Suspense from beginning to end
Once I picked this book up, I could not put it down. As usual Linda Howard came through with another riveting book. Since I discovered this author, I have read all her books and have never been disappointed. I look forward to her next book.
Published 6 months ago by marion b

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad
If you like Elizabeth Lowell, you will like Linda Howard for sure. I enjoyed this book but there wasn't any huge twists that made you go "Hmmm, that is an interesting twist that I didn't think of". The love scenes where not bad, not the whole focus (thank goodness, read Danielle Steele if that is your thing) and possibly realistic except for the rushed marriage part...
Published on Aug. 10 2007 by Lisa E


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Suspense from beginning to end, Dec 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kill and Tell: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Once I picked this book up, I could not put it down. As usual Linda Howard came through with another riveting book. Since I discovered this author, I have read all her books and have never been disappointed. I look forward to her next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kill andTell, Dec 18 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kill and Tell: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the only L:inda Howard I own. Read it on a recommendation from my public library. Enjoyed it very much, knew I would want to read it again, so I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars flawless Multi-POV makes this a brilliant work, Oct. 9 2004
By 
Linda Howard has been one of the long time writers on my Keeper Shelf. She just delivers time and again with tales that keep you mesmerised by her talent. This is just another in the line of super reads penned since Howard rebounded from her back troubles in the mid 1990's.
Karen Whitlaw is still having to adjust to losing her mother, when she finds an odd parcel in the mail. A package from the father she has not seen in years. Ever since his return from the Vietnam War, he has been out of her life. Having trouble with accepting her mother's death, she does not want to deal with anything from her absent father. She puts the notebook from the parcel away - and promptly forgets about it. Until she receives another blow - a call from a New Orleans detective saying her father was murdered on their streets. The kind sounding detective, Mac Chastain, just chalks the death up to another street crime, endless violence in the gritty life of a homeless man, so Karen is willing to accept his verdict. Marc is unaware of the death of Karen's mother, and the numb state she is in, so he chalks her up to being cold, heartless when she does not show reaction over her father's death.
Only, slowly Karen becomes aware the crime was made to look like nothing more than senseless violence. Some one breaks into her home, and Karen is convinced they are after the notebook she put aside and dismissed from her mind. Fearful, she examines the book and discovers her father was a sniper in Vietnam. Through the worn pages, she is shocked to discover the book is a list of everyone of his kills.
Karen now feels she is running for her life, because someone wants that book. He has killed once, thus one hesitate to kill again. There is only one person she can trust: Marc Chastain. Together they must find the answers before they are the killer's next targets.
I always enjoy New Orleans as a setting for Romance books. The city has such a old world charm, the quirkiness of the people, that it's a brilliant locale for a story, giving both the glamour and seediness that exist comfortably hand in hand. Howard mines that used the sensual backdrop, giving the reader a strongly detailed story with a strong hero and heroine that will keep you breathless to the end.
With flawless Mutli-POV (point of view) that permits the reader to know both characters equally well, it just does not get any better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent 'why are people trying to kill me' mystery., June 20 2008
By 
GinRobi (Timmins, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kill and Tell: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
I understood how Karen Whitlaw was feeling. While never been in a situation like that, it was close. To lose someone so close to you so quickly, then to lose someone who is supposed to be close to you soon afterwards would have anyone feeling as she felt. A brave woman, she uses her head, her instincts, and her fight for survival to get herself out of whatever situation she finds herself in.

Marc Chastain is one hell of a detective. It's very rare to read about a detective that uses and trusts his intincts so implicitly in everything he does, from interviewing a victim, a witness, to questioning a perp. I love his smooth charm, and the way his inner self becomes so primitive in protecting Karen. While I think the `I love you's came out a little fast, they knew they were perfect for each other really quickly. And the reader knows it - they balance each other beautifully.

The plot could maybe have been a little more inventive, but I liked it. While the reader knows what's what and who's who, the characters in the book don't and they fight for their lives while trying to figure it out. The action scenes are great, especially with Karen. I thing the love scenes were great in their basicness - primitive and no fanfare - completely raw. The suspense is eased a little since the reader knows what's going on, but it in no way takes away from the story.

Excellent! Now I need to get my hands on All The Queen's Men!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, Aug. 10 2007
By 
Lisa E (Squamish, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kill and Tell: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
If you like Elizabeth Lowell, you will like Linda Howard for sure. I enjoyed this book but there wasn't any huge twists that made you go "Hmmm, that is an interesting twist that I didn't think of". The love scenes where not bad, not the whole focus (thank goodness, read Danielle Steele if that is your thing) and possibly realistic except for the rushed marriage part. Anyway, not to ruin the book. It was not too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs up!, June 7 2004
By 
Felice N. Tixx (Mid-Atlantic, USA) - See all my reviews
This book has both an interesting plot and believable and likeable characters. Karen Whitlaw and New Orleans detective Marc Chastain play off of each other beautifully throughout this well crafted novel. Karen must travel to New Orleans to identify her father, the victim of a homocide. Why would someone murder an apparently homeless man? That's for Karen and Marc to discover, and the secret soon leads to attempts on Karen's life. I fell in love with Marc -- he's tough, charming, handsome, knows how to dress, and owns a home in the French Quarter. It doesn't get much better than that! Linda Howard delivers, as usual, a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Story, March 9 2004
By 
Elizabeth "lking173" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kill and Tell: A Novel (Hardcover)
This is your standard Linda Howard storyline. Heroine meets hero, she is being hunted, hero must help keep her alive.
Karen receives a package from her estranged father, a homeless vietnam veteran. Around this same time, she also receives a telephone call from the police in New Orleans informing her that her father was murdered. Karen has to find the strength to pull herself together enough to go to New Orleans to identify her father's body, pay her last respects and find him a final resting place. When Karen arrives in New Orleans she meets Detective Marc Chastain who takes one look at her and her "cold" attitude and decides she is one of those "unfeeling, uncaring, selfish" types who could care less about family or the fact that her father is dead. As Marc helps Karen make an identification of her father, he realizes he has made an error and Karen is actually very hurt but hiding behind a touch facade. He is touched and very attracted to her.
Karen soon finds out that she has even more problems than her father's murder, because someone is trying to kill her. Karen must work with Marc to track down the murderer before she is the next victim.
This was a good solid story. I read in one sitting. I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hotter that sin!, Sept. 9 2003
By A Customer
This book was totally awesome! I absolutely loved it from beginning to end. I thought that Marc and Karen had such great chemistry. This hero was sex personified!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Romance and Intrigue, July 28 2003
By A Customer
This book is obviously fiction and we're expected to suspend our reality for the time we are reading it. Despite that, the characters are likeable and believable. There was a lot of cloak and dagger action, and the mystery of WHY was far more interesting than the WHO. The romance was lovely and I loved reading about a strong, smart, independent woman finding true love in the arms of a sensitive, sensual, dominant man. Truly a pleasurable read and I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, July 14 2003
By A Customer
Linda Howard is a great author. In this novel she gives a realistic and romantic story that is unique and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill and Tell: A Novel
Kill and Tell: A Novel by Linda Howard (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 1 2003)
CDN$ 11.99 CDN$ 10.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews