Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars flawless Multi-POV makes this a brilliant work
Linda Howard has been one of the long time writers on my Keeper Shelf. She just delivers time and again with tales that keep you mesmerised by her talent. This is just another in the line of super reads penned since Howard rebounded from her back troubles in the mid 1990's.
Karen Whitlaw is still having to adjust to losing her mother, when she finds an odd parcel...
Published on Oct. 9 2004 by Deborah MacGillivray

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Did Linda Howard even write this?
For a big fan of Linda Howard, her new and breathlessly-awaited novel, Kill and Tell, was a big disappointment for several reasons.
A)It was difficult to "buy" into the relationship between the two main characters. They were not fully developed, and I couldn't see why they liked each other, much less why they would want to have sex. (The quick...
Published on Dec 17 1997


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent 'why are people trying to kill me' mystery., June 20 2008
By 
GinRobi (Timmins, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kill and Tell: A Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
I understood how Karen Whitlaw was feeling. While never been in a situation like that, it was close. To lose someone so close to you so quickly, then to lose someone who is supposed to be close to you soon afterwards would have anyone feeling as she felt. A brave woman, she uses her head, her instincts, and her fight for survival to get herself out of whatever situation she finds herself in.

Marc Chastain is one hell of a detective. It's very rare to read about a detective that uses and trusts his intincts so implicitly in everything he does, from interviewing a victim, a witness, to questioning a perp. I love his smooth charm, and the way his inner self becomes so primitive in protecting Karen. While I think the `I love you's came out a little fast, they knew they were perfect for each other really quickly. And the reader knows it - they balance each other beautifully.

The plot could maybe have been a little more inventive, but I liked it. While the reader knows what's what and who's who, the characters in the book don't and they fight for their lives while trying to figure it out. The action scenes are great, especially with Karen. I thing the love scenes were great in their basicness - primitive and no fanfare - completely raw. The suspense is eased a little since the reader knows what's going on, but it in no way takes away from the story.

Excellent! Now I need to get my hands on All The Queen's Men!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars flawless Multi-POV makes this a brilliant work, Oct. 9 2004
By 
Linda Howard has been one of the long time writers on my Keeper Shelf. She just delivers time and again with tales that keep you mesmerised by her talent. This is just another in the line of super reads penned since Howard rebounded from her back troubles in the mid 1990's.
Karen Whitlaw is still having to adjust to losing her mother, when she finds an odd parcel in the mail. A package from the father she has not seen in years. Ever since his return from the Vietnam War, he has been out of her life. Having trouble with accepting her mother's death, she does not want to deal with anything from her absent father. She puts the notebook from the parcel away - and promptly forgets about it. Until she receives another blow - a call from a New Orleans detective saying her father was murdered on their streets. The kind sounding detective, Mac Chastain, just chalks the death up to another street crime, endless violence in the gritty life of a homeless man, so Karen is willing to accept his verdict. Marc is unaware of the death of Karen's mother, and the numb state she is in, so he chalks her up to being cold, heartless when she does not show reaction over her father's death.
Only, slowly Karen becomes aware the crime was made to look like nothing more than senseless violence. Some one breaks into her home, and Karen is convinced they are after the notebook she put aside and dismissed from her mind. Fearful, she examines the book and discovers her father was a sniper in Vietnam. Through the worn pages, she is shocked to discover the book is a list of everyone of his kills.
Karen now feels she is running for her life, because someone wants that book. He has killed once, thus one hesitate to kill again. There is only one person she can trust: Marc Chastain. Together they must find the answers before they are the killer's next targets.
I always enjoy New Orleans as a setting for Romance books. The city has such a old world charm, the quirkiness of the people, that it's a brilliant locale for a story, giving both the glamour and seediness that exist comfortably hand in hand. Howard mines that used the sensual backdrop, giving the reader a strongly detailed story with a strong hero and heroine that will keep you breathless to the end.
With flawless Mutli-POV (point of view) that permits the reader to know both characters equally well, it just does not get any better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Story, March 9 2004
By 
Elizabeth "lking173" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kill and Tell: A Novel (Hardcover)
This is your standard Linda Howard storyline. Heroine meets hero, she is being hunted, hero must help keep her alive.
Karen receives a package from her estranged father, a homeless vietnam veteran. Around this same time, she also receives a telephone call from the police in New Orleans informing her that her father was murdered. Karen has to find the strength to pull herself together enough to go to New Orleans to identify her father's body, pay her last respects and find him a final resting place. When Karen arrives in New Orleans she meets Detective Marc Chastain who takes one look at her and her "cold" attitude and decides she is one of those "unfeeling, uncaring, selfish" types who could care less about family or the fact that her father is dead. As Marc helps Karen make an identification of her father, he realizes he has made an error and Karen is actually very hurt but hiding behind a touch facade. He is touched and very attracted to her.
Karen soon finds out that she has even more problems than her father's murder, because someone is trying to kill her. Karen must work with Marc to track down the murderer before she is the next victim.
This was a good solid story. I read in one sitting. I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another 5 star by Linda Howard!, June 18 2003
I really like how the story never slowed down & was always throwing in new people/new elements that I had to keep up with. No skimming here! You'd definitely miss something!
I can't really call it a murder mystery, although there is lots of murder in it - because I knew who was behind the murders, I just didn't know why. The suspense, however, kept my eyebrows raised more than once. I suppose that the reason I could handle this book with all the murder & gore, when I can't handle others, is because this one didn't have the evil element that so many do. No ritualistic killings, no torture, that kind of stuff - that type of thing IS NOT entertainment to me. This was simply 'Bang - he's dead!' lol However, LH did describe the after effects of the bang.... hence, NOT a light read.
Anyway, the romance was really great also, definitely not fun & light-hearted, but really good (& really hot!) I totally enjoyed LH's descriptions of New Orleans & the atmosphere she was able to conjure up for me. It really made me want to go back to New Orleans & wander slowly through The Quarter. I will have to say that I thought Marc & Karen fell for each other a little too fast for reality.... but I really liked both characters & LH somehow made it ok with me.
Ok, NOT my usual light, fun read.... but Linda Howard had me riveted anyway! This one was just as good as the 2 previous books I read by LH (Mr. Perfect & Open Season) - but it did differ BIG in two ways: The other 2 were mainly romances with a suspense/thriller story thrown in........ Kill and Tell is mainly a suspense/thriller with a romance thrown in; The other way it differed was that it was not a funny one like the other two.
A definite recommend if you do murder/action/adventure/romance! (or whatever you call it! lol)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars powerful romantic suspense, Nov. 12 2002
By 
This review is from: Kill and Tell: A Novel (Hardcover)
Former Viet Nam vet Dexter Whitlaw kept a book filled with secrets that he mails to his wife and daughter abandoned by him two decades ago. His daughter Karen, mourning the death of her mother, receives the package from her father, a person she prefers to forget exists. Rather than deal with him now, she buries the package amidst other possessions of her mother.
Meanwhile in New Orleans, someone kills Dexter and CIA agent Rick Medina who trailed after him. Police Detective Marc Chastain investigates the homicide of the John Doe street looking individual that he quickly learns is Dexter with a family living in Ohio. Upon learning that she is now officially an orphan, Karen goes to New Orleans to see to the remains of her father. However, his past written in the notebook contained in that package he sent to her leads from the Nam jungle to the congressional jungle with an unknown assailant trying to kill Karen. Only Marc keeps her alive though safe is another story as they uncover the truth of political power and love.
Already a highly regarded author, Linda Howard has written her best book to date with the incredibly exciting KILL AND TELL. The story line is fast-paced, filled with action, and very plausible due to a dynamite lead couple and a reliable believable support cast. Twists and turns aided by red herrings and cleverly drawn and placed clues lead to a wonderful reading experience. Suspense and romantic suspense fans will relish this powerful tale.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Enjoyable, March 8 2002
This is the first book I read of Linda Howard's and I enjoyed it very much--so much so that I have been selectively picking up other books by this author. The main characters were very interesting, especially the male, Detective Marc Chastain. My only complaint is that the female, Karen Whitlaw, seemed somewhat weak-kneed or muzzy-headed at times. I typically do not like books with a lot of explicit sex, but there was enough story to let me skip the more graphic descriptions without ending up missing most of the book (a complaint I have with a lot of authors who seem to think, if you don't have a sex scene every 7 pages, you have somehow failed your reader). The tension and action were great.
If you get this book and even just sort of like it, I highly recommend "All the Queen's Men" and "Mr. Perfect", and pretty much in that order. You can see how Ms. Howard's skill are improving with each book. The heroines get stronger, everyone gets more believable, and the tension is...well...really tense. Each book gets better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Political Intrigue....and suspense..., Dec 9 2001
Not a real typical Linda Howard, by that I mean that I associate her books with very wierd twists and really scary killers. This was a very good story, but did lack the real weird aspects of her other works. But an enjoyable read that will keep you thinking...
~Karen Whitlaw is having a tough year. A good nurse and person, her mother suddenly dies and she is feeling lost and vulnerable when she gets a call from the New Orleans Police that her estranged father she hasn't seen since she was 13 has been murdered. Last she knew, her distant father was living on the streets and couldn't hold down a job. Who would murder a homeless man? The questions begin to mount and when she flies down to identify the body she is shocked to find the detective on the case, Marc Chastain, is gorgeous and seems to want her and want her badly!
Marc knows something is weird about the way the homeless man was killed on the streets of New Orleans and he needs to meet his estranged daughter to find out what it is about the man that has him thinking something is very wrong. Expecting to meet a cold and heartless woman, he is shocked to realize he wants the icy woman named Karen!
Both must keep their heads while they try to uncover truths about the murder and the man behind the homeless vet Karen had written off for almost 14 years! Who was he...really? Was he a crazed Vietnam vet living on the streets? Or was he hiding a treacherous and painful secret that drove him to abandon the family he loved more than life itself? What was he hiding that would cause someone to hunt a homeless man down like an animal and murder him? When the two find the truths behind the man and his deep secrets they find themselves targets...Karen also finds the love she never lost for the man she called father and must heal.
Tracy Talley~@
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not Great, June 18 2000
When I read the back cover for this novel, I almost chose not to read it, as it didn't sound very realistic. And, while I wasn't crazy about the paranormal twist, Linda Howard handled it well--without it seeming too contrived, melodramatic, cheesy...take your pick.
My problem with the novel was the feeling of too many loose ends; or rather, it seems as if Linda Howard was trying to introduce too much into the story. In turn, too many facets of the story didn't have a clear purpose. For example, the reader is told very little detail about Richard Worth's background. We are teased with tiny snippets about his roots in Virginia and his stint as a Ranger, but told more about his current wealth. Linda Howard wants him to be seen as a rags to riches story, and a down to earth person. This is difficult for the reader to visualize, when all the trappings of his wealth are so detailed and his humble beginnings are not.
Secondly, I felt the scenario with the old, sweet, hot dog vendor to be simply thrown in, since his murder isn't entirely tied in with the real conflict of the story.
Nevertheless, I did enjoy this novel. Like many other Linda Howard books, it is a fast-paced, entertaining read. My only advice would be to see if you can borrow it from the library or a friend before you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Linda's Best!, March 17 2000
By 
September Amyx "Book Gold" (Grass Valley, California) - See all my reviews
I just have to defend this novel after reading some of these horrible reviews! I have every single one of Linda's books, and the greatest thing about them is that they are all individual jewels. If you are looking for a writer whose books look and feel the same except for different character names and locations, DON'T look to Linda! Marc and Karen are preciously their own selves, not resembling any other characters of Linda's. I fell for Karen because she is so smart but Marc is just way too smooth and 6 steps ahead of her! Her reactions to their relationship I feel are absolutely believable. I also like the fact that Marc could admit his first impressions were off base, and see Karen for the hurt, loving daughter she was trying to hide so well. Absolutely the kind of man you want to find for yourself. You just keep going, Linda. I've already read about John as well, it REALLY tried my patience about how long before they got together, but as usual the story is nothing like any of your others! FANTASTIC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very, very good, May 13 1999
By A Customer
I have to agree with readers who felt that this book was not long enough, who felt that the characters (with the exception of Marc... yum!) were underdeveloped, and that the novel was just too short.
That said, Linda Howard still penned a taut thriller. It was not as rich as DREAM MAN but it had suspense and an interesting a-typical villain. I'm not giving anything away by saying that the villain is a politician (Howard lets us in on that up front); what's a-typical about him is that Senator Lake has good qualities. He loves his family, personally cares for his invalid father, and is saddened that due to his father's condition he'll never know if his father is proud of him. And he's rotten to the core. All the good in him is corrupted and twisted by a sick evil that warps the good so that the good is no longer good but evil as well. This is not a typical portrait of a villain in romantic suspense novels. It's a portrait of a three-dimensional human being. Would that Karen, Detective Shannon, and John Medina had been given the same attention to the development of their characters.
I look forward to John Medina's story. I hope it's longer and richer than KILL AND TELL and brings back Marc and Karen for encore performances... especially Marc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill and Tell: A Novel
Kill and Tell: A Novel by Linda Howard (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 1 2003)
CDN$ 11.99 CDN$ 10.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews