Customer Reviews


307 Reviews
5 star:
 (134)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just taking a break
I finally decided to take a break from my current genre of books. Having been immersed in the "funny, weird, laugh-out-loud" kinds (Sedaris' ME TALK PRETTY and McCrae's KATZENJAMMER) I decided to take on the thriller genre. So DECEPTION POINT seemed like the natural choice. And it was. Now, I haven't read Brown's other books, but I'm going to as soon as possible. If...
Published on Sept. 7 2006 by P. C.

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible - riddled with technical flaws
Dan seems to have forgetton that Ellesmere Island is part of the Country called Canada. So his highly improbable characters romp over Canada's sovereignty with the clear implication that the US owns the world. And I'm not a Canadian! Boy those Mounties up there must be dumb to not notice a huge American operation taking place in their backyard.
He stretches too...
Published on July 8 2004 by Joseph R. Engel


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just taking a break, Sept. 7 2006
By 
P. C. (Wallingford) - See all my reviews
I finally decided to take a break from my current genre of books. Having been immersed in the "funny, weird, laugh-out-loud" kinds (Sedaris' ME TALK PRETTY and McCrae's KATZENJAMMER) I decided to take on the thriller genre. So DECEPTION POINT seemed like the natural choice. And it was. Now, I haven't read Brown's other books, but I'm going to as soon as possible. If they're any bit as good as D.P., then I'll be pleased. Was the plot somewhat improbable? You bet. But then think of any good book or movie you've read lately. How realistic was that? My advice? If you're not a Dan Brown fan, read D.P.-----and you soon will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible - riddled with technical flaws, July 8 2004
By 
Joseph R. Engel "Skeptical Shopper" (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
Dan seems to have forgetton that Ellesmere Island is part of the Country called Canada. So his highly improbable characters romp over Canada's sovereignty with the clear implication that the US owns the world. And I'm not a Canadian! Boy those Mounties up there must be dumb to not notice a huge American operation taking place in their backyard.
He stretches too far in his attempt to characterize weapons, computer and communications technology about which it is obvious he knows very little.
His scenarios of corruption and deceipt in high levels of government are so unrealistic they appear cartoon-like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wish for more, April 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wish this writer keeps on writing for a long time.

My best and my thanks.

Long life to Mister Brown.

Jacques Vanier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dan Brown practices for better books to come., Dec 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deception Point (Kindle Edition)
A plot that is hard to follow and confusing even at the end. We are glad that the heroes survived situations that were completely implausible for survival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, Dec 28 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Deception Point (Hardcover)
Dan Brown has become one of my favourite authurs. With a story they moves at a good pace, keeping you interested in the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, July 13 2013
Great book but not his best work. The plot was great like his other work. I would recommend buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dan Brown: Deception Point, Feb. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dan Brown's books anytime and up till now, subjects are so very interesting. Just love to read his books. Congratulations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deception Point Review, Sept. 21 2006
DECEPTION POINT is the third book I read. The other two were Roth's PLOT AGAINST AMERICA and McCrae's KATZENJAMMER, all of which I liked-the McCrae especially since it was a tad more literary and quirky. If your like most readers, you've probably already read THE DA VINCI CODE, and A&D, and you're wanting more from Dan Brown, so you pick up DECEPTION POINT. It follows suit with the same exciting, stunning fact-filled writing. It is a page-turner, but it does tend to be a little cliche. Another attractive woman paired up with a man who hints at being attracted to each other through their outrageous near death experiences, and the information they discover will save the day in the end. It was smart, fast-moving and entertaining, but a little bit of a let down after reading the other great novels by Dan Brown. Also try the McCrae KATZENJAMMER if you're looking for a short interesting read that's like nothing else you've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD READ, June 9 2004
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
I have never been one to spend much time reading fiction. On a whim, I picked up this book to read it. I read it in my spare time this week, and from the moment I started, I could think of nothing better to do.

This book leaves you wondering what's coming next, as the writer takes you through a plot that, for the most part, begs to be read more. The last book I read, Rainbow Six, played up the characters too much (this guy is the best...) In Deception Point, the characters seemed real, if not always palatable. The plot, although stretched a little from reality, was certainly feasible.

For not being a well read fiction reader (I read a ton of non-fiction), the book was a good draw to me. Normally, I will buy a book and lose interest after a short period of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deception Point Review, May 25 2006
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
DECEPTION POINT is the third book I read over Christmas. The other two were Roth's PLOT AGAINST AMERICA and McCrae's KATZENJAMMER, all of which I liked-the McCrae especially since it was a tad more literary and quirky. If your like most readers, you've probably already read THE DA VINCI CODE, and A&D, and you're wanting more from Dan Brown, so you pick up DECEPTION POINT. It follows suit with the same exciting, stunning fact-filled writing. It is a page-turner, but it does tend to be a little cliche. Another attractive woman paired up with a man who hints at being attracted to each other through their outrageous near death experiences, and the information they discover will save the day in the end. It was smart, fast-moving and entertaining, but a little bit of a let down after reading the other great novels by Dan Brown. Also try the McCrae KATZENJAMMER if you're looking for a short interesting read that's like nothing else you've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0517204)

This product

Deception Point
Deception Point by Dan Brown (Hardcover - Sept. 2 2003)
CDN$ 30.00 CDN$ 18.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews