Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Human Side of America's 39th President
I had the privilege and honor of meeting President Carter at the University of Washington, where he signed a copy of this book for me. "Christmas in Plains" is a wonderful book that approaches autobiography in a new and interesting way: Jimmy Carter reflects on his life as a series of holiday seasons. We see the triumphs and the failures in eloquent and honest...
Published on Jan. 28 2004 by Dan Riley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Life in Plains, Acommunity in
CHRISTMAS IN PLAINS by Jimmy Carter
LIFE IN PLAINS
This is another of Jimmy Carter's books of God and his values. Jimmy is a good man and writes something that will not electrify you. This is part of his autobiography from Plains, the village or small town in Georgia where he remembered the good things when was a boy and always returned to Plains with his...
Published on April 16 2002 by Roger L. Lee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Human Side of America's 39th President, Jan. 28 2004
By 
Dan Riley (Phoenix, AZ, USA) - See all my reviews
I had the privilege and honor of meeting President Carter at the University of Washington, where he signed a copy of this book for me. "Christmas in Plains" is a wonderful book that approaches autobiography in a new and interesting way: Jimmy Carter reflects on his life as a series of holiday seasons. We see the triumphs and the failures in eloquent and honest prose.
History will remember Jimmy Carter as a compassionate human being with a genuine desire to help others. This book would make the perfect holiday gift. After all, what better values truly embody the holiday spirit than compassion and love?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Joy from the Carters, Dec 22 2003
By 
Gary Sprandel (Frankfort, Kentucky) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The short, joyful book contains Jimmy Carter memories of Christmas. His earliest memories begin around 1930 (when he was 5), and involve memories of father Earl and mother Lillian, as well as black neighbors (in an era of separation, his family perhaps represented a light in the South). There are happy childhood memories of finding the Christmas tree and fireworks. Jimmy and Rosalynn always tried to get back to Plains, but there are included a few absent remembrance from Navy years, and a rather tense Christmas with the holding of the Iran hostages. The line drawings by daughter Amy add a family charm to the book. May the Carter's have many more Merry Christmases together in Plains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Life in Plains, Acommunity in, April 16 2002
CHRISTMAS IN PLAINS by Jimmy Carter
LIFE IN PLAINS
This is another of Jimmy Carter's books of God and his values. Jimmy is a good man and writes something that will not electrify you. This is part of his autobiography from Plains, the village or small town in Georgia where he remembered the good things when was a boy and always returned to Plains with his family to spend time with his mother and his wife's mother for Christmas. His father passed on earlier from cancer during this period.
He graduated from Annapolis, spent a long tour in the Navy, elected for two terms as state senator and then to the Governor of Georgia, before being elected President of the USA. He married Rosalynn, a childhood sweetheart, during his time in the Navy and they had three sons. He now has six grandchildren, at the last count.
After that, Jimmy and Rosalynn returned to Georgia. After founding the Atlanta-based Carter Center he is devoting the rest of time writing and doing good for all the world's people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's O.K., Jan. 22 2002
This book was not half as detailed as "An hour before daylight," which I thought was great! Daylight also has photographs, this one does not, and the artwork in this is uninspired (sorry Amy). I just didn't find enough Christmas feeling in this book to suit me. I would recommend redoing this one, enlarging it to include Rosalyn's perspective with photographs. Maybe some input from more members of the family. And I would like to see some enthusiasm, excitement and humor in Amy's art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Merry Christmas from the Former President, Dec 30 2001
By 
Steven Fantina (Phillipsburg, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Merry Christmas from the Former President
Prolific former President Carter's slim volume of Christmas memories--most spent in his hometown--makes for a quick and easy read and leaves a lingering satisfied feeling. No vignette is particularly earth-shattering, but perhaps it is the mundane and wholesome nature of his experiences that makes them all the more engrossing.
While few observers would term Jimmy Carter a great president, only the most blindly partisan Republicans fail to see him as a noble patriot overflowing with integrity. These identifying attributes are quietly displayed throughout the episodes he narrates. Even when he steps on a few toes, they are feet that deserve it. Those with a phobia about vestiges of Christianity in public schools will shutter when he writes of his childhood, "it would have been ridiculous in those days for anyone in our community, or the state of Georgia, to think that the dedicated religious services that were held every day in the public school might violate in any way the First Amendment." The former president sees great value in the school's religious presentations "because they reached every child, not just the churchgoers." Such virtuous suasion may earn him membership in the vast right wing conspiracy in some circles, but unabashed honesty forms the basis of Jimmy Carter.
Perusing his others Yuletide tales spent in the Navy, as a young father and husband, serving as Georgia's governor, on to the White, House, and back home again, readers may be disappointed by the skeletal nature of certain chapters. However, Carter's post-presidency has produced a substantial oeuvre, and other works can undoubtedly flesh out the missing tidbits.
Maybe the book's greatest strength is near complete avoidance of the political realm. Carter seems to be saying that Christmas is for all Americans, and while politics has its place, it takes a back seat--or at least it should-- to our nation's sacred holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Once again, Jimmy Carter delights us with a "good read.", Dec 5 2001
By 
Greg Boll (Saint Paul, MN) - See all my reviews
Since leaving the White House in 1981, Jimmy Carter has developed a rightfully-earned reputation as one of the most respected former presidents in U.S. history. Part of that reputation has been earned through the numerous books he has penned over the years. His books are thoughtful and down-to-earth, and remind us of values and perspectives that are truly part of the American tradition. His latest book is no exception and offers a delightful read during this holiday season--an opportunity to pause and reflect on Christmas Past with the former president, thereby recalling our own Christmas memories as well. Once again, we thank this man of wisdom and integrity for sharing his thoughts and memories with us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Holiday Memories from the 39th President, Dec 1 2001
By 
John Knight "JK" (Davis, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In the short "Christmas in Plains" Jimmy Carter shares mermories from a lifetime of very disparate Christmases. He remembers childhood holidays in rural Georgia where his young African-American neighbors might get an orange and some raisins. He recalls the four Christmases he spent as President. A very religious and family-oriented man, Carter has alsways treasured the birth of Christ as one of the highlights of his year. Easily read in one night this is a charming little book. To better understand this complicated and important man, a fuller read is last year's "An Hour Before Daylight" which is a more thorough memoir of his childhood years. But "Christmas in Plains" stands on its own: a charming, sometimes heartwarming account of a good man and his 70+ Christmases. This deserves to become a minor holiday classic--unlike, say, Grisham's new "Skipping Christmas".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ahead of his time, Peace Person, Nov. 20 2001
President Carter is a man ahead of most by centuries, ahead mentally, peace making, way ahead spiritully. These traits strongly show in this book. These traits shown forth when he was President, and for some, these same took advantage of him. The Iranian Hostage Crisis is the utmost example, being a man of peace, the primitive and simple minded could abuse him. This has always been the case in the past, the intelligent and peaceful get run over by the aggressive lower minded. Now Mr. Carter is showing forth by continuing this peaceful way and effort. These pages are more than memories, the insightful can read better than that, they can see that he has a powerful message of peace and advancement that 95 percent of the world is not able to grasp yet due to simple mindedness. But people like Mr Carter are offering us valuable contributions that will in time help. My way of saying Hi President Carter (always the president of peace) is check out another mind similar, a book ahead of its time, SB 1 or God By Karl Mark Maddox. Destiny is what it is all about now, the only way we can assure that is a move to peace world wide. What would our destiny be without the true and honest peace makers?
Recommend reading Karl Mark Maddox, way ahead of our time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good but thin, Nov. 13 2001
By A Customer
This is a good Christmas story (or stories) although in places it seemed a little thin. A great Christmas book is Hickam's The Coalwood Way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Holiday Memories from the Depression to the White House, Nov. 5 2001
By 
John W. Bates "jaydubyah" (Hickory, North Carolina 28601) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In An Hour Before Daylight former President Jimmy Carter reminisced about his boyhood on the farm during the Great Depression. Included in that were memories of Christmases, both for his family and for those around him in the farming community of Archery. Following up on the reception of An Hour Before Daylight, President Carter has focused his reminiscences on Christmases on the farm, in Plains, in Atlanta, and in the White House.
Christmas in Plains is a short but warm book that will not take long to read. In that short time, however, the reader will be struck by the importance of family, tradition, and holiday in President Carter's life. Some of the material presented is repeated from An Hour Before Daylight, and perhaps from some of President Carter's other books as well. It doesn't matter. The book is well-written, and evokes in the reader his own stirring of ghosts of Christmas past.
Written by almost anyone else, this book would not attract much attention. Many people have experienced Christmases much like these (except for the White House). Perhaps that is why it does receive attention-because of President Carter's celebrity we will read it and remember our own roots, family times, and traditions. And this is a time when those memories bring us a special comfort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbc37cf6c)

This product

Christmas In Plains: Memories
Christmas In Plains: Memories by Jimmy Carter (Audio CD - Oct. 1 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 22.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews