Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of the bard
I knew it wouldn't take long for J.K. Rowling to produce some other book related to her bestselling "Harry Potter" series.

Admittedly the main link is that the "The Tales of Beedle The Bard" are all given a hefty postscript by the late Albus Dumbledore, headmaster of Rowling's fictional magic academy. It's a very quick children's book with some old-fashioned...
Published on Dec 5 2008 by E. A Solinas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but nothing special
I read this book in 30 minutes or so. It has a few fairy-tale type stories that are generally quite low-level (i.e., for very young children). Dumbledore's commentary on each story is a little more interesting, but not by much. His comments are predictable and preachy. There is very little new in this book, which seems to be a common trend in her writing after Book 3...
Published on Feb. 10 2009 by A. Volk


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of the bard, Dec 5 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition (Hardcover)
I knew it wouldn't take long for J.K. Rowling to produce some other book related to her bestselling "Harry Potter" series.

Admittedly the main link is that the "The Tales of Beedle The Bard" are all given a hefty postscript by the late Albus Dumbledore, headmaster of Rowling's fictional magic academy. It's a very quick children's book with some old-fashioned fairy tales in the Brothers Grimm mold, and a slightly tongue-in-cheek (but overly long) examinations afterward.

First there's the tale of an extraordinarily selfish young wizard, whose father bequeaths him a cauldron and a slipper. When the wizard refuses to help the local Muggles, the cauldron suddenly sprouts a brass foot and starts pursuing him, making his life a living hell until he starts helping people other than himself.

Then three young witches are attempting to get to the Fountain of Fair Fortune -- one is seriously ill, one is poor, and one got dumped. They end up accompanied by an extremely unlucky knight, and they are forced to handle three obstacles before they can get to the fountain.

Then it's a somewhat darker tale about a warlock who lives alone because he cares nothing for anyone, until a visitor bruises his ego by suggesting that he can't get a wife -- leading him to pursue a sweet, wealthy and gorgeous young woman. But she is frightened by the warlock's heartless nature -- and when he reveals his "treasure" to her, tragic consequences ensue.

There's a tale about a king who tries to gain control of all his kingdom's magic, capturing all the witches and trying to learn magic himself. His instructor is nothing but a greedy faker, who quickly enters into a minor war with the king's washerwoman Babbitty -- who may be an actual witch. Finally, the story of three brothers offered three gifts by Death -- who, of course, has an ulterior motive. Don't they always?

For the record, "The Tales of Beedle the Bard" is a very short book -- only about a hundred shortish pages long. Unlike the bestselling "Harry Potter" series (where "Tales of Beedle the Bard" apparently took on a pivotal role) this book is clearly for children -- especially since each one is a clear moral message.

And at least half of that is made up of the preface (explaining the fictional history of the stories -- including that this is a new translation by Hermione Granger) and the quirky analyses (apparently by Albus Dumbledore). In fact, too much space is taken up by the analyses, although they are cleverly written and have a touch of satire (such as the account of someone trying to "clean up" the tales, with nauseating results).

And J.K. Rowling's slightly tongue-in-cheek prose and sprightly imagination work well with the fairy tale format. She gives the stories some nicely gruesome imagery (the twisted, hair-covered heart) and a medieval flavour with tiny rural villages, magical quests, kings, knights, a deathly psychopomp and a sprightly witchy washerwoman who's far cleverer than anyone expects. And though witches and wizards come into play during the stories, the focus is on their personalities and trials rather than their magic.

J.K. Rowling's "Tales of Beedle the Bard" is way too short, but her fairy tales are clever and well-written, and the afterwords are even cleverer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, March 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition (Hardcover)
Breathtaking it is just like the one in the movie!!! So good just to read whenever you want. I LOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent, Feb. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition (Hardcover)
Great book for young (and no so young) children. This hardcover edition is just beautiful. The first time i read it was a loan from a friend. Now I have my own copy that compliments very well the H.P. series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quick read, Feb. 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition (Hardcover)
VERY quick read. Bought it for my 11 yr old who is an avid reader who read it in under a few hours. Enjoyed the stories but it is more of a children's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any Rowling fan, Feb. 11 2014
By 
A. Poliquin "french book worm" (Blainville, QC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Beautiful, beautiful item. Great illustrations, stunning details as well as a magical story. THE TALES OF BEEDLE THE BARD, a Wizarding classic. A stunning edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, Feb. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition (Hardcover)
Delivery was fast, the book entirely matched the description, and was a great read! I would definitely recommend it to other harry potter fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Granddaughter LOVED IT, Jan. 5 2014
By 
Marian Ball "DVD's" (Massey, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition (Hardcover)
We purchased this for our granddaughter who loved it and wouldn't put it down until it was done. She is in grade 3 and simply loves to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent service, Nov. 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition (Hardcover)
Cute book my grandchildren will like it. Has the stories from the book in the movie i think. Quite happy with it and the service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The tales of beedle the bard, June 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition (Hardcover)
I Love this book, my three year old loves it when I read the stories to her and there fun little stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, May 9 2013
By 
Guy Marc Gagne (Montreal, QC, CANADA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It fleshes out the skeletons
It was alluded to sufficiently to peek interest, to say the least
So, coming clean and completing the circle is always appreciated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad689ad4)

This product

The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition
The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition by J. K. Rowling (Hardcover - Dec 4 2008)
CDN$ 14.50 CDN$ 10.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews