Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of the bard
I knew it wouldn't take long for J.K. Rowling to produce some other book related to her bestselling "Harry Potter" series.

Admittedly the main link is that the "The Tales of Beedle The Bard" are all given a hefty postscript by the late Albus Dumbledore, headmaster of Rowling's fictional magic academy. It's a very quick children's book with some old-fashioned...
Published on Dec 5 2008 by E. A Solinas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but nothing special
I read this book in 30 minutes or so. It has a few fairy-tale type stories that are generally quite low-level (i.e., for very young children). Dumbledore's commentary on each story is a little more interesting, but not by much. His comments are predictable and preachy. There is very little new in this book, which seems to be a common trend in her writing after Book 3...
Published on Feb. 10 2009 by A. Volk


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of the bard, Dec 5 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition (Hardcover)
I knew it wouldn't take long for J.K. Rowling to produce some other book related to her bestselling "Harry Potter" series.

Admittedly the main link is that the "The Tales of Beedle The Bard" are all given a hefty postscript by the late Albus Dumbledore, headmaster of Rowling's fictional magic academy. It's a very quick children's book with some old-fashioned fairy tales in the Brothers Grimm mold, and a slightly tongue-in-cheek (but overly long) examinations afterward.

First there's the tale of an extraordinarily selfish young wizard, whose father bequeaths him a cauldron and a slipper. When the wizard refuses to help the local Muggles, the cauldron suddenly sprouts a brass foot and starts pursuing him, making his life a living hell until he starts helping people other than himself.

Then three young witches are attempting to get to the Fountain of Fair Fortune -- one is seriously ill, one is poor, and one got dumped. They end up accompanied by an extremely unlucky knight, and they are forced to handle three obstacles before they can get to the fountain.

Then it's a somewhat darker tale about a warlock who lives alone because he cares nothing for anyone, until a visitor bruises his ego by suggesting that he can't get a wife -- leading him to pursue a sweet, wealthy and gorgeous young woman. But she is frightened by the warlock's heartless nature -- and when he reveals his "treasure" to her, tragic consequences ensue.

There's a tale about a king who tries to gain control of all his kingdom's magic, capturing all the witches and trying to learn magic himself. His instructor is nothing but a greedy faker, who quickly enters into a minor war with the king's washerwoman Babbitty -- who may be an actual witch. Finally, the story of three brothers offered three gifts by Death -- who, of course, has an ulterior motive. Don't they always?

For the record, "The Tales of Beedle the Bard" is a very short book -- only about a hundred shortish pages long. Unlike the bestselling "Harry Potter" series (where "Tales of Beedle the Bard" apparently took on a pivotal role) this book is clearly for children -- especially since each one is a clear moral message.

And at least half of that is made up of the preface (explaining the fictional history of the stories -- including that this is a new translation by Hermione Granger) and the quirky analyses (apparently by Albus Dumbledore). In fact, too much space is taken up by the analyses, although they are cleverly written and have a touch of satire (such as the account of someone trying to "clean up" the tales, with nauseating results).

And J.K. Rowling's slightly tongue-in-cheek prose and sprightly imagination work well with the fairy tale format. She gives the stories some nicely gruesome imagery (the twisted, hair-covered heart) and a medieval flavour with tiny rural villages, magical quests, kings, knights, a deathly psychopomp and a sprightly witchy washerwoman who's far cleverer than anyone expects. And though witches and wizards come into play during the stories, the focus is on their personalities and trials rather than their magic.

J.K. Rowling's "Tales of Beedle the Bard" is way too short, but her fairy tales are clever and well-written, and the afterwords are even cleverer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Amazing Tales!, Dec 4 2008
By 
Rob G (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition (Hardcover)
I'll keep this quick: this is a must-buy for any lovers of fable-style short stories, parents, or just Harry Potter fans. The book is gorgeous, the hand-drawings are simple-but-effective, and the tales themselves are magical. The included comments by Albus Dumbledore are just icing on the cake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic collector's item!, Dec 4 2008
By 
J. Luong (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I preordered this collector's edition right after hearing the July 31st announcement, and got it in the mail today. The cover has the feel of an ancient Hogwarts textbook, and inside you get the drawings, with the actual book of tales in a pouch. The stories are simple but contain the magic Harry Potter touch. While fans may argue about the book's length, Dumbledore's commentary is worth your while, and the tales contain life lessons. This will be on my bookshelf for years to come.:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs. Q: Book Addict ~Visit my blog for newest reviews~, Jan. 7 2010
This review is from: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition (Hardcover)
The fables are very well written (Of Course it is, J.K Rowling is the writer!) I love in the introduction how she explains the difference between Muggle and Non-Muggle fairy tales. In Muggle fairy tales, magic tends to lie at the root of the hero or heroine's troubles- the wicked witch has poisoned the apple, or put the princess into a hundred years' sleep, or turned the prince into a hideous beast. In the Tales of Beedle the Bard, on the other hand, we meet heros and heroines who can perform magic themselves, and yet find it as hard to solve their problems as we do." p. XII

The illustrations are also great. I was surprised to read J.K Rowling did the illustrations.

I'm a little embarrassed to only be reading this book now... I don't know why I waited so long...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Delightful Book, Feb. 19 2009
By 
A Canadian Fan (Northern Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition (Hardcover)
Any Harry Potter fan knows the stories contained in this wonderful little book. The stories are pure J.K. Rowling, and I love them all. What surprised me most pleasantly, however, was the beautiful hard cover and quality of this inexpensive little book. Given that Amazon was putting out a very expensive edition, I didn't expect much from the 'basic' edition. I fell in love when I first touched the book and it hasn't stopped yet! Also, I received notice that Amazon had shipped the book, and it didn't arrive (Christmas gremlins, no doubt, it never did appear). When I contacted Amazon they immediately sent another, it arrived just in time for Christmas, and really I felt bowled over by the service. Will definitely continue buying from Amazon.ca.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but nothing special, Feb. 10 2009
By 
A. Volk (Canada) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (#1 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition (Hardcover)
I read this book in 30 minutes or so. It has a few fairy-tale type stories that are generally quite low-level (i.e., for very young children). Dumbledore's commentary on each story is a little more interesting, but not by much. His comments are predictable and preachy. There is very little new in this book, which seems to be a common trend in her writing after Book 3 or 4 in the Harry Potter series. Still, it's not a bad book. Just not a very good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous and delivered with speed!, Feb. 17 2009
By 
M. M. Sanders - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My daughter was thrilled with this limited edition of The Tales of Beedle the Bard. It was carefully packed and was everything she had hoped it to be. At the time of placing the order, it had sold out in Britain so I had to buy it from the Canadian Amazon. What a service! It arrived BEFORE Christmas which I didn't expect...my daughter's best Christmas present. THANK YOU!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cute, Feb. 13 2009
By 
Nicola Mansfield (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition (Hardcover)
A very short collection of five short fairy tales that are a part of the Harry Potter universe. They have no connection to Harry Potter except that these tales would have been told to children in his world as the first sentence indicates. The stories are cute, nothing spectacular, but certainly cute and well-worth a read for Potter fans. The best part of the book is that each tale is followed by a Commentary chapter by Professor Dumbledore. These are probably more interesting that the tales themselves. My favourite of the tales was The Warlock's Hairy Heart, probably because it stood apart from the others because it is dark and gruesome while the others are light-hearted.

Overall, a cute little book, nothing terribly special, but certainly a fun read for fans. Younger children will appreciate the fairy tales while older children/teens will be more inclined to appreciate the Dumbledore commentary. If you are a Harry Potter fan, you won't regret the hour or so it takes to read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Experience the Wonderful, Feb. 2 2009
By 
Jamieson Villeneuve "Author at Large" (Ottawa Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition (Hardcover)
Everyone who has read Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows knows about The Tales of Beedle the Bard. A story from the book, The Tale of the Three Brothers, was a pivotal plot point in the novel and a very important clue for Harry as he tried to defeat Lord Voldemort.

Last year, as a way to thank those personally involved with the success of the Harry Potter books, JK Rowling gave out six hand printed leather bound books of The Tales of Beedle the Bard. The seventh was auctioned off to Amazon.

Amazon posted in depth reviews of each of the stories and posted pictures of the gorgeous book bound in brown leather and decorated with semiprecious stones. That was the closest that most of us came to The Tales of Beedle the Bard. Fans despaired about not having their own copy of the newest book in the Harry Potter canon.

Then, earlier this year, JK Rowling gave announced that The Tales of the Beedle Bard would be published for the public. Not only would fans be able to now have the much sought after book but all proceeds would go to The Children's High Level Group, a charity which Rowling founded and helps children in need of a voice.

To say that I, along with millions of other fans, were ecstatic would be putting it mildly. A new Harry Potter book when we all thought it was over. A new Harry Potter book a year after the series had ended, leaving fans what they were going to read now.

Finally, this month, the wait was over. On December 4th, Harry Potter fans were able to buy the book that they had been lusting after for so long: The Tales of Beedle the Bard. I know that I could think of nothing else all day at work except getting my hands on a copy. After work I rushed to the bookstore and bought a copy, hardly believing that I held it in my hands.

Right off, I knew that I was in for something special. The gorgeous blue cover with JK Rowling's illustrations just cries out to be read. However, it wasn't until I arrived home that I allowed myself to read The Tales of Beedle the Bard; and what incredible tales they are.

In The Tales of Beedle the Bard, there are five stories:

The Wizard and the Hopping Pot: A wizard learns a lesson about helping others.

The Fountain of Fair Fortune: Three Witches and a Knight learn that we are responsible for our own fortune.

The Warlocks Hairy Heart: A warlock learns that disaster looms when you close your heart to others.

Babbity Rabbity and Her Cackling Stump: A foolish man learns that even magic can not bring the dead back to life.

The Tale of the Three Brothers: Three brothers learn that it is not wise to tease death.

Each story is truly a wonder of storytelling. Indeed, I enjoyed the stories in The Tales of Beedle the Bard far more than I enjoy the Brothers Grimm. There are several reasons for this but chief among them is the fact that The Tales of Beedle the Bard are far less dark and, though sometimes violent and startling, the stories never fail to charm and captivate.

What is perhaps most incredible about The Tales of Beedle the Bard are the notes made by Professor Dumbledore on each story.

Written eighteen months before his death, the notes are included in The Tales of Beedle the Bard and are incredibly insightful and wonderfully humorous. The notes also give you more insight into some characters from the series and some pivotal plot points.

Insightful, humorous, captivating and charming, The Tales of Beedle the Bard are at once an incredible addition to the Harry Potter canon and the world of literature. As I read The Tales of Beedle the Bard for a sixth time, I am reminded of something I had forgotten.

Magic does exist. All you have to do is open a copy of The Tales of Beedle the Bard and fall under its spell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Of The Magic We Expect From J.K. Rowling, Feb. 2 2009
This review is from: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition (Hardcover)
Having been reading the Harry Potter Novels since I was 10 years old, as an adult I still can't seem to let them go. After the release of the seventh book "Deathly Hallows" in 2007, I was afraid I would never experience the magic of reading a new Harry Potter book again,so when this came out I was quite excited.

J.K. Rowling does not disapoint, going into stories mentioned in the Harry Potter books in a way that you feel they are part of the "muggle" repetoire of childhood fairy tales. She tells each story in a whimsical way, and each has a wonderful moral that can be interpreted by both muggles and non-muggles! The "notes" at the end of each story by Albus Dumbledore gives a touch from the beloved characters in the novels and give some interesting insight into the novels and their storylines

I would definitley recommend this book for children, teens and all above, even if you are not a Harry Potter fan. The tales can be enjoyed by all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition
The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Standard Edition by J. K. Rowling (Hardcover - Dec 4 2008)
CDN$ 14.50 CDN$ 10.47
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews