Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Wanted: Carpathian Male who has carnal thoughts..
Dark Gold is different yet from those it follows. We are no longer in the Carpathian Mountains with Mikhail and Raven but rather we are on the west coast of America. Aidan is the hunter of the region and he is very good at what he does. While hunting a vampire that has been leaving a messy trail all over the place, he finds a woman and a boy. After mistaking her for a...
Published on March 14 2002 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lackluster
So, going into this book I hadn't read a romance novel in several years. I've always found that romance novels are extremely hit or miss. I don't like the contemporary ones at all and the historical/fantasy ones range from tawdry fairy tales with little substance to masterful works that are only seperated from regular sci-fi/fantasy by an overabundance of sex and fewer...
Published on Oct. 21 2003 by Kelley M. Frankovitch


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lackluster, Oct. 21 2003
By 
Kelley M. Frankovitch "kfrankovitch" (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
So, going into this book I hadn't read a romance novel in several years. I've always found that romance novels are extremely hit or miss. I don't like the contemporary ones at all and the historical/fantasy ones range from tawdry fairy tales with little substance to masterful works that are only seperated from regular sci-fi/fantasy by an overabundance of sex and fewer fight scenes.
My co-worker was an avid fan of Christine Feehan's work, so I decided to see what all the fuss was about. Dark Gold is apparently the third in the "Dark" series, but my co-worker recommended it as her favorite. Though the setting links the various novels, they can be read independently of each other without confusion. Her latest installment in the series, Dark Symphony, just came out this week.
Each book tells the tale of a particular "Carpathian male" and his future "life-mate" as they find one another and overcome various obstacles on the way to spending the rest of eternity together. In essence, the Carpathians are a race of predatory, immortal humans. Over the centuries, the number of Carpathian women has dwindled and the males have been forced to wander for eons in search of a life-mate. A life-mate is the only thing that can assuage their savage nature and ensure they they do not succumb to the dark side and turn vampire.
Very few human women have the mental fortitude to survive the transformation into a Carpathian, so most of these guys must wait for a long time. Imagine all that pent up sexual frustration! Fortunately for them, they cannot feel strong emotion (or even see in color) until they meet that special someone. In this particular novel, we bear witness to the romance of Alexandria Houton and Aidan Savage.
I, personally, found much lacking in this book. There was a lot of sexual tension and very little plot. They spend most of the book in Aidan's house while Alexandra undergoes her transformation and then Aidan tries to convince her that she is not damned for all time. Very little actually happens in this book. I was bored to tears halfway through it and even the forthcoming steamy sex scenes couldn't completely overcome my apathy.
The characters were one-dimensional. They did not undergo any real growth during the course of events. This is particularly true of Alexandria, who spends most of the book being defiant and then suddenly changes her tune in time for the books climax. Apparently the sex really was that good! Unfortunately, the most interesting character, Aidan's mentor, doesn't appear until the end and is only present for a few scenes.
All in all, there was plenty of sex and much of it was suitably animalistic. Ms. Feehan has a firm grasp on the necessary romance novel terminology; the sexual tension and sexual encounters were well done. Unfortunately, I like a little more substance to my stories, even in the context of a romance novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What Would Happen If She Surrendered...?, July 16 2003
By 
Silmarwen (Huntington Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Alexandria Houton desperately needed the job that Thomas Ivan could give her. She was an excellent computer programmer and knew that she could design Ivan's games so that they were better than ever before. But, before she could close the deal in the restaurant, she heard a voice calling to her. She didn't want to follow it, but, when she saw the creature holding her beloved little brother captive, she knew that she had no choice. The vampire chained her in a cave where she could not escape, too weak with blood loss and the poison now flowing through her system from the vampire's tainted blood to even try to get free. When the vampire rose the next evening, she prepared to face her death, but found an avenging angel who came to save her...
Aidan Savage had volunteered to leave his beloved Carpathian mountains to hunt the vampires in San Francisco and its surrounding area. He had lived for so long without a life mate that he didn't believe his eyes when he started to see color and feel emotion in Alexandria's presence. He knew that Alexandria was afraid of him, but could never let her go. Aidan tried to ease Alexandria into her life as a Carpathian, but she defied him at every turn - demanding that they drop her brother off at school even though the sun was exquisitely painful, going out on a date with Thomas Ivan and continuing to work with him, refusing to take his blood until forced, in short, doing everything in her power to deny what she had become. How long would Aidan be able to be patient with his beloved Alexandria before she would finally accept who and what she truly was?
I really liked Aidan's character and thought that he made a nice change from Ms. Feehan's other heroes. For one thing, Aidan is blonde, where all the other Carpathians are dark, and he seems to have keep more light in his soul than the other men in the Dark series. He is very playful and patient with Alexandria. Aidan also has a human family who have cared for him for generations, a son or daughter always choosing to stay on and to take care of his house and other affairs while he is resting during the day. The only problem was that Aidan was such a strong personality that all of the other characters seemed to pale in comparison. I would have liked Alexandria to be a richer character, less superficial, but I did like her. This was a great addition to the Dark series and I enjoyed the new setting as well as the new kind of hero. Keep up the great work Ms. Feehan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No glowing review for DG here!, Feb. 25 2003
By A Customer
I was really looking forward to reading this series. When I heard about it I immediately headed to the bookstore to buy it. To my dissapointment they did not have it in. It took a couple of more try's but I finnally had it in my hand and was anticipating sitting down and reading what looked like an exciting vampire/romance novel.
I sat down, I read halfway through, then I put it down and never picked it up again. It started out interesting but went down hill once Aidan a dominant caparthian male, became the dominant character in the story. His personality was to overpowering and the heroine just seemed to fade into the background. When he started acting like the heroine couldn't move an inch without him there to protect her that's when I realized this was going to be one of those boring novels where the woman is protected like a piece of china . It looked like a good book but Aidan cast to much a shadow over the heroine's personality so she became just a meek shadow of what she might have been.
If you like a little horror in your vampire romance you might want to check out Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blakes series instead. A series were there's a heated romance triangle and a Heroine who actually has a voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read!, June 4 2002
By 
"Dark Gold" is the third book in Christine Feehan's wildly popular "Dark" series, and it does not disappoint. Vivid characters, an exciting and well-written storyline and a lot of steamy sex combine to make a fabulously sensual tale that will leave readers craving a Carpathian of their own.
Alexandria Houton has one purpose in her life, and that is to protect and care for her young brother, Joshua. Since the death of their parents in a tragic accident, Alexandria has struggled to make ends meet for herself and Joshua. A talented graphic artist, Alexandria is thrilled when one of the most prominent video game designers in the U.S. takes an interest in her work. Leaving her brother outside with a homeless man they have befriended, Alex meets her potential employer for an interview at a fancy restaurant. But in the middle of her meal, Alexandria is overcome by a feeling of evil and impending doom. She rushes out to check on Joshua to find him entranced by a soulless monster, a vampire. She manages to save her brother, but both are kidnapped and taken by the vampire to his lair.

It seems as though Alex and Josh are about to meet their untimely end, when out of the night comes Aidan Savage, a powerful Carpathian hunter, who destroys the vampire and then turns to the task of destroying Alex, believing that she is a deranged vampiress. But before he completes his unpleasant task, Aidan suddenly realizes that he is seeing in colour for the first time in countless centuries. And that can only mean one thing - that this poor beaten and bloodied woman is his lifemate!
Aidan brings Alexandria and Josh to his home where he inadvertently converts Alex into a Carpathian by exchanging blood with her (not knowing that the vampire had already completed two blood exchanges). When Alex awakens she is terrified by Aidan and by the thought of what she has become. As time passes Aidan tries to help Alex adjust to being a Carpathian, but many aspects of her new life are hard to accept. Aidan wants to keep Alexandria close in order to keep her safe from harm, but Alex needs to have her independence. As these two try to work out a way to balance their needs, Alex finds herself falling for Aidan, though his immense power still scares her.
Alex and Aidan are an explosive couple when they come together, and the reader is treated to some incredibly hot and steamy scenes. Aidan, though he is overbearing and arrogant at times, is a fantastic hero who readers will adore. Likewise, Alexandria is a truly lovable heroine who will win readers over with her courage, determination, and sense of humour.
"Dark Gold" is a wonderfully entertaining read that will leave readers sated and satisfied. Feehan expertly renders Alexandria's internal struggle, and captivates her readers as we watch Aidan and Alex find all they ever wanted and needed in each other's arms. There is a perfect dose of danger and excitement in this story, as vampires close in on Aidan and Alex in an attempt to take Alexandria for their own. All in all, I truly enjoyed this book and I'm sure that you will too. So sit back, relax and get ready for a very sexy read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wanted: Carpathian Male who has carnal thoughts.., March 14 2002
Dark Gold is different yet from those it follows. We are no longer in the Carpathian Mountains with Mikhail and Raven but rather we are on the west coast of America. Aidan is the hunter of the region and he is very good at what he does. While hunting a vampire that has been leaving a messy trail all over the place, he finds a woman and a boy. After mistaking her for a vampiress, he is in the process of putting her out of her misery when he realizes that she is in fact his lifemate.
This book contains everything that the others do in the respect of sensuality, intelligent characters and outstanding abilities. But this book is a bit different where you arent completely lost without having read the ones before it. Aidan has been on his own for years with little to no contact with other Carpathians. Alexandria is an artist who draws vampires but doesnt truely believe in them. But after she is converted into a Carpathian, she has a hard time understanding it all as being real.
Another great book by Ms. Feehan. This series is highly addictive!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A whirlwind of emotions, Dec 4 2001
By 
Brenda Condit "satinskper" (Albuquerque, NM USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the third book in the Dark series, the first two Dark Prince and Dark Desire were wonderful. The heros are Carpathian. They must drink blood to survive but they don't kill their prey like true vampires do. They can transform into anything and have telepathic abilities. They also have a big problem, their race is dying out. There are very few women and when they have children most don't live past a year and most are born male. They have recently discovered that a few human women can becaome thier lifemates. These women are telepathic and can survive the conversion without going insane. Our heroine in this book is such a woman. Alexandria is a struggling graphic artist in San Fransisco. She is trying to raise her younger brother alone after their parents died. She ends up being kidnapped by a vampire( a Carpathian who has turned to the evil) and he has exchanged blood with her. She is rescued by Aidan who after almost killing her(thinking she was a vampire herself) must give her blood to kill the poisen the vampire gave her. She goes through the conversion but not willingly. She hates what she is becoming and hates Aidan for turning her this way. He has realized that she is his true lifemate and struggles to protect her in this modern world. She is stubborn and insists that she be able to have her freedom. She soon discovers that she is very strongly linked to Aidan and like to tease him and longs to hear his laughter. She is unaware that he hasn't had any emotions for over 800 years until she cam into his life. Together they struggle to find even ground. He has been hunting several vampires that have been preying on San Fransisco and when one takes her brother he uses all his strength to save him. Alexandria sends him her strength telepathicly and together they kill the evil. This has been the funniest of the books so far and I enjoyed it a bit more because of it. I can't wait to read Gregori's story next. If you want great books get the Dark series, it won't dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Good Dark Book, Oct. 22 2001
In this book we follow the actions of Aiden, one of the Golden Twins and appointed hunter of vampires. Aiden is very close to turning into the very creatures he hunts when he rescues a woman and child from his lastest vampire victim. The woman is well on her way to becoming a vampire when he attacks her thinking that she is already one. The results of the attack makes her one of his people, a converted Carpathian. Aiden has to overcome her trauma of the vampire's assult, her horror at becoming a bloodsucker and the problems of convincing a modern woman that she is bound to him for life and that life is going to be very long in order to claim her as his lifemate.
As with the other Dark books this one had a few errors. Throughout the books we hear how the blood of vampires burn Carpathians and it makes them sick or damaged yet Aiden assults this woman by sucking her blood when he thought she was a vampiress? Other similar gaps in introduced logic of the series follow. If you can ignore the occasional word in need of a spell check as well you will enjoy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dark gold is a true winner in my heart., July 27 2001
By 
lupuism (chicago,ill) - See all my reviews
christine feehan is a true paranormal writter her dark collection is a must have for those of you who love vampire's and supernatural love stories .alexendria is on her own with her six years old brother joshua who she loves with all her heart.the evil begins while she is on an interview with one of the most famous computer game designer ,she feel this unspeakable evil creeping around her in the restarurent feeling suddely ill worry about her brother she excuse her self and thats when her life change forever.aidan a carpathian male and vampire hunter,has been alive now for over six centuries with know emotions or feelings he felt on the verge of turning vampire himself .until one night while killing a vampire he save a little boy and what he thought was an vampiress of the vampire .then to his horror he was able to see colors and feel emotion which mean the hag vampiress was his life mate ,aidan an alexandria love story is a must read!!if you love this book read all of her dark sagas.dark prince which was the first,dark magiic, dark desire and dark challenge which is about aidan twin brother and more lost carpathian males who was lost to the great healer gregori .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, but nothing special, July 12 2001
By 
Amazon Customer "Bookwyrm" (Pittsburgh, PA United States) - See all my reviews
For any author, there is a challenge when writing a series of books. There always exists a threat that the books will become monotonous -- too much like one another.
"Dark Gold" itself stands pretty well on its own. There's good chemistry between the hero and heroine, and the writing flows smoothly.
Unfortunately, this particular installment is a pale imitation of the quality that came before. The beginning of the book is compelling, but after Alexandria and Aidan meet up, it's the same old struggle for Alexandria to deal with the change from human to Carpathian that Shea and Raven went through in much more compelling and realistic ways in "Dark Prince" and "Dark Desire."
In addition, the struggle for dominance/protection between Aidan and Alexandria is the same old struggle that came in the "Dark" books that precede this one. It becomes a bit monotonous after awhile.
On the other hand, we see more of long-time human/Carpathian relationships in this one in the form of faithful retainers that serve Aidan and his home. I appreciated that glimpse of a relationship that seems to transcend the "human as food and lesser being" concept that can become common in vampire-related literature.
All in all, this is a decent read. Feehan writes well, and her characters and relationships are interesting. Unfortunately, this is the weakest installment in the "Dark" series, so it somewhat pales in comparison to the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Carpathians Come To America!, Jan. 18 2001
Aidan Savage is a Hunter. Little did he know that the woman he thought to be a vampiress was actually his lifemate - thank goodness he didn't destroy her before it was too late! Who cared that she looked like a hag and hated him on sight (talk about having to gain someone's trust), Alexandria Houton was the woman for him! Once he was able to heal her that is.
This book was a little different from the previous books and although Mikhail is mentioned, only Gregori makes an appearance. It takes place in San Francisco and has a more modern feel to it. Not to mention more family: Aidan has adopted a "human" family (Maria and Stefan), not to mention his brother Julian Savage (who has his own story in Dark Challenge) and Alexandria little brother Joshua.
Although this story was very good I found it missing that "extra, special something" that Dark Prince and Dark Desire had. Maybe it was his appearance (Aidan and Julian are the "golden twins" where everyone else is dark) or maybe it was the lack of Carpathians involved, I'm not sure. The book was very good but in order to be a 5 star book, it has to be extra special!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Gold (The Carpathians (Dark) Series, Book 3
Dark Gold (The Carpathians (Dark) Series, Book 3 by Christine Feehan (Paperback - Jan. 1 2007)
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews