Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series
This is the first book to the "Game" series, so there is more plot development that carries over to the rest of the series. It is a great book, although it is a romance book it is full of adventure and suspense. It is a well written page turner, the story line is strong enough to keep you wanting more. The rest of the series does not disappoint either.
Published on Aug. 10 2009 by K. Armstrong

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Just Say No
Do not waste your money on this one! There's only enough story here for a novella, but it seems as though it has been padded out in order to publish it as a novel.
Now, Feehan's Carpathian series is a guilty pleasure for me - not great literature but usually a fun read. In this book she tries to take her usual format and impose it on a real world setting involving...
Published on Oct. 13 2003 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Just Say No, Oct. 13 2003
Do not waste your money on this one! There's only enough story here for a novella, but it seems as though it has been padded out in order to publish it as a novel.
Now, Feehan's Carpathian series is a guilty pleasure for me - not great literature but usually a fun read. In this book she tries to take her usual format and impose it on a real world setting involving the testing/training of an elite group of soldiers/volunteers in the paranormal arts. It doesn't work. The whole soulmates-who-are-driven-to-conjoin scenario played to the extent that Feehan does just doesn't work without the fantasy element. It becomes rather ridiculous instead of romantic.
The problem is, there's just not enough story to support the cast of characters she's created. So we get pages and pages of duplicated information (first the hero and heroine have the discussion telepathically, then they have it verbally), pages and pages of gratuitous sex (and vanilla sex at that), and glaring plot holes (we're warned several times that it's not good when the heroine has nothing to occupy the great brain of hers but there's no scene where she's put in that position; she's managed to get her doctorate yet she's so totally clueless about sex (and still "untried") that she has to order sex manuals off the internet to figure out what to do and yet she and the hero irresponsibly and consistently have unprotected sex; she's supposed to be this brilliant researcher yet we're never told what actually she's working on; the research corporation she works for, and in which her family is the majority stockholder, is practicing inhumane testing methods on the soldiers yet she doesn't do anything to pull the plug on the corporation and in fact goes to a fund-raiser to raise more money for them!)
The only bright spot in the book were the scenes with the soldiers and the dialogue between them. That's the only spot of humor in the book. The heroine almost falls into the too-stupid-to-live category, and the hero is so alpha male and possessive that you wonder how he manages to get anything done and why his team just doesn't turn on him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, Aug. 10 2009
By 
K. Armstrong - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first book to the "Game" series, so there is more plot development that carries over to the rest of the series. It is a great book, although it is a romance book it is full of adventure and suspense. It is a well written page turner, the story line is strong enough to keep you wanting more. The rest of the series does not disappoint either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! I loved it! Very sensuous! A to-die-for Hero, Feb. 2 2004
By A Customer
I really enjoyed this book and hung on every word (not to mention I stayed up all night to read it). Capt. Ryland Miller, the hero in this book, is wonderfully sensuous, romantic and sexual! The book is very exciting, and the plot is unique. The supporting characters are very strong, too. I can't wait to read Nico's story! The romantic scenes in this book are plentiful and hot -- fabulous! I especially like the comaraderie between Capt. Miller and his men, and between Lily and her household staff. I loved this book and I can't wait for its sequel, Mind Game, which is due out in August 2004 -- it will be a long wait, but worth it. If you love Christine's Dark series, you will be just as enthralled with Shadow Game! Ryland Miller could hold his own against any Carpathian! If you enjoy passion and undying allegiances and loyalty, you will love this book by Christine Feehan. If you've never read her books before, you're in for a real treat. The only problem is trying to decide which one to read next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ghostwalkers vs storyline, Jan. 21 2004
By A Customer
I found that this book was not as good as her other books dealing with the vampires. Her story was extremely slow in some areas and very hard for me to continue reading. I have read her other books and this I feel is just not up to her other efforts. I would read this if I had no other books to read, but I would skip some of the story. It is good, but not a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A FAN FROM THE BEGININNG, Dec 31 2003
By A Customer
I've been reading her books since the first one. I have enjoyed them all. When she first came out she was one of the few who wrote about vampires that I would read. I like the new direction she's going with this book. I hope she does more on this subject and with these heroes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What can I say except....Wow! Hot!, Nov. 14 2003
By A Customer
All I can say is this book is smoking hot! It's one of my CF favorites......couldn't put the book down till the last page. Characters are believable and lovable. I definately recommend all CF's books (Dark Symphany, etc....) there are other characters, such as Nicolas Travane (one of the men that the heroin recuse), who will hopefully get his own book.
I am looking forward to getting my hands on her new book "Wild Rain".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Game worth buying..., Nov. 13 2003
By 
If you enjoy Ms. Feehan's Dark series about the vampiric Carpathians, you'll enjoy this book. No blood-sucking, but it does have a paranormal twist, including a long-distance love scene that's absolutely "dreamy". Like her Carpathian's, the characters in Shadow Game can communicate telepathically. The love scenes are very sensual and the plot is intriguing.
Again, the main complaint that I have... and the reason why I'm not rating this book a 5 star... is her overly frequent use of the catch phrase: "take his/her breath away". You don't even get 4 pages into this one before it appears and at one point it occurs once each on facing pages. It appears SO OFTEN in this book (and actually, in ALL her books) that it's amazing her characters don't die of asphyxiation! Once, twice, three times TOPS is more than enough... I wish either she or her editor would search for the darn words and delete them! They aren't necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice change of pace!, Nov. 12 2003
By 
I have to admit that I was getting a little bored by the Dark series (sorry, I loved them in the beginning, but they are starting to sound an awful lot alike) and I wasn't sure about the concept of this new book. I am SO glad I gave it a try. All the fun of the Dark series with a new twist, sizzling sex, and a slew of great men for future books. I'm hooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unfair judgement..., Nov. 9 2003
By A Customer
I believe that Ms. Feehan did a FANTASTIC job writing this book. She is doing something different from her original writing, and I think she did a great job with the transition. She took two characters from different backgrounds and brings them together. Ryland is a military commander, who has men in his unit. He is one of the main characters in the book, with Lily who is the doctor of a scientist. Ryland and his men signed up for a military experiment that is supposed to help perfect military tactics. Ryland did not know that when he signed up for the research along with his men it was a death sentence. Lily whose father is the one doing the experiments dies, and Lily is left uncovering layers and layers of secret her father had. Lily is a psychic who has strong drawbacks but very independent, she did not and could not afford to trust men because of her unique gifts. She is a rich girl who was home schooled, and had the best education in everything including cooking, karate, and language. However when it comes to men she is lost. Ryland is a military man, who was raised, poor, but had a great mother who installed values in him. He is not book smart like Lily, but he is street smart. Lily and Ryland have a strong connection the reader will notice from the beginning. Their mission changed course when Ryland realized that his men and him are in danger, and when Lily witness her fathers murder, they team up to undo all the wrong doings. Some people have a problem with the fact that Lily gets sex education from the Internet. Well if the reader read the book completely they would notice that Lily is adopted, her father was a scientists who cared more about his career than his daughter. She had no mother, and she could not leave the safety of her home for long periods of time because of her gifts. When she decided that Ryland was the one for her yes she had unprotected sex, but that was because Ryland made it known from the start that their relationship was a commitment and was FOREVER. Sometimes it is a good idea to read a book with out any biased views so that you can understand the book better. And is also a good idea to read a book more than once so there isn't any information left out, do that before critiquing a book. Ms. Feehan if you read this please do not be offended by what some people wrote, you are one of my favorite authors, PLEASE continue writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is AWESOME!!!!!!, Nov. 8 2003
By A Customer
All right number one the people who gave this book less than 5 stars are reading a little too much into this. The book is not written in big words you can not understand. Ms. Feehan brings together two people of different backgrounds together, one of them is Ryland who is a military man and an average "Joe" who was basically raised poor, then you have rich Lily who can not leave her surroundings for a long period of time. Both characters have physic abilities. However Lily was taken from another country by her adoptive father who experiemented on her, while Ryland signed up to help with researching better military tacitics. Nonetheless he was lied to and was kept captive along with his men for many grueling months. Lliy learns the secrets her father kept from her for so long. Her mission became to help Ryland and his men become ordinary people and is try to undo the mistake her father did with the help of Ryland and his men. If the reader reads the story carefully, the reader will notice that Lily can not afford to be a "slut" Some readers are mad because she decided to give the gift her virginity to the person she feels she wants to spend the rest of her life with. Oh how wrong of her, for shame. Anyone who read the book would read that Ryland made it clear that their relationship was FOREVER, okay. Sometimes the reader needs to read a book ,more than once to fully understand, DO THAT before writting a critique. This story is beautiful and well presented I read it over and over and over... You will not be dissatisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbe7875c4)

This product

Shadow Game
Shadow Game by Christine Feehan (Paperback - Jan. 1 2008)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews