Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! I loved it! Very sensuous! A to-die-for Hero
I really enjoyed this book and hung on every word (not to mention I stayed up all night to read it). Capt. Ryland Miller, the hero in this book, is wonderfully sensuous, romantic and sexual! The book is very exciting, and the plot is unique. The supporting characters are very strong, too. I can't wait to read Nico's story! The romantic scenes in this book are plentiful...
Published on Feb. 2 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK Read.
Like many fans out there, I first began reading Christine Feehan through her Dark Series, which I really enjoy. So I decided to give her newest book "Shadow Game" a chance, even though it is not part of the Dark Series.
Shadow Game started strongly, and the premise was interesting. Both the main characters, Lily and Ryland, also seemed very interesting and...
Published on Sept. 26 2003 by M. Colon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! I loved it! Very sensuous! A to-die-for Hero, Feb. 2 2004
By A Customer
I really enjoyed this book and hung on every word (not to mention I stayed up all night to read it). Capt. Ryland Miller, the hero in this book, is wonderfully sensuous, romantic and sexual! The book is very exciting, and the plot is unique. The supporting characters are very strong, too. I can't wait to read Nico's story! The romantic scenes in this book are plentiful and hot -- fabulous! I especially like the comaraderie between Capt. Miller and his men, and between Lily and her household staff. I loved this book and I can't wait for its sequel, Mind Game, which is due out in August 2004 -- it will be a long wait, but worth it. If you love Christine's Dark series, you will be just as enthralled with Shadow Game! Ryland Miller could hold his own against any Carpathian! If you enjoy passion and undying allegiances and loyalty, you will love this book by Christine Feehan. If you've never read her books before, you're in for a real treat. The only problem is trying to decide which one to read next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unfair judgement..., Nov. 9 2003
By A Customer
I believe that Ms. Feehan did a FANTASTIC job writing this book. She is doing something different from her original writing, and I think she did a great job with the transition. She took two characters from different backgrounds and brings them together. Ryland is a military commander, who has men in his unit. He is one of the main characters in the book, with Lily who is the doctor of a scientist. Ryland and his men signed up for a military experiment that is supposed to help perfect military tactics. Ryland did not know that when he signed up for the research along with his men it was a death sentence. Lily whose father is the one doing the experiments dies, and Lily is left uncovering layers and layers of secret her father had. Lily is a psychic who has strong drawbacks but very independent, she did not and could not afford to trust men because of her unique gifts. She is a rich girl who was home schooled, and had the best education in everything including cooking, karate, and language. However when it comes to men she is lost. Ryland is a military man, who was raised, poor, but had a great mother who installed values in him. He is not book smart like Lily, but he is street smart. Lily and Ryland have a strong connection the reader will notice from the beginning. Their mission changed course when Ryland realized that his men and him are in danger, and when Lily witness her fathers murder, they team up to undo all the wrong doings. Some people have a problem with the fact that Lily gets sex education from the Internet. Well if the reader read the book completely they would notice that Lily is adopted, her father was a scientists who cared more about his career than his daughter. She had no mother, and she could not leave the safety of her home for long periods of time because of her gifts. When she decided that Ryland was the one for her yes she had unprotected sex, but that was because Ryland made it known from the start that their relationship was a commitment and was FOREVER. Sometimes it is a good idea to read a book with out any biased views so that you can understand the book better. And is also a good idea to read a book more than once so there isn't any information left out, do that before critiquing a book. Ms. Feehan if you read this please do not be offended by what some people wrote, you are one of my favorite authors, PLEASE continue writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is AWESOME!!!!!!, Nov. 8 2003
By A Customer
All right number one the people who gave this book less than 5 stars are reading a little too much into this. The book is not written in big words you can not understand. Ms. Feehan brings together two people of different backgrounds together, one of them is Ryland who is a military man and an average "Joe" who was basically raised poor, then you have rich Lily who can not leave her surroundings for a long period of time. Both characters have physic abilities. However Lily was taken from another country by her adoptive father who experiemented on her, while Ryland signed up to help with researching better military tacitics. Nonetheless he was lied to and was kept captive along with his men for many grueling months. Lliy learns the secrets her father kept from her for so long. Her mission became to help Ryland and his men become ordinary people and is try to undo the mistake her father did with the help of Ryland and his men. If the reader reads the story carefully, the reader will notice that Lily can not afford to be a "slut" Some readers are mad because she decided to give the gift her virginity to the person she feels she wants to spend the rest of her life with. Oh how wrong of her, for shame. Anyone who read the book would read that Ryland made it clear that their relationship was FOREVER, okay. Sometimes the reader needs to read a book ,more than once to fully understand, DO THAT before writting a critique. This story is beautiful and well presented I read it over and over and over... You will not be dissatisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Psychic powers, telepathically, romance..end fizzles., Oct. 24 2003
Author has constructed a plot with as many layers as an onion, and each of these "layers" has been lain out as advanced psychic powers, the experimenting on men from an elite military squadron. The men, lead by Ryland, are separated and caged like lab rats in an underground facility where they have learned to communicate with each other telepathically, a talent Lily has had since birth. In true romance form, Lily and Ryland share an instant attraction, which leads to a few intriguing sexual liaisons, which aren't all that believable. Interesting concept, but is need of an occasional need of other alternatives and of the consequences of those ideas suggested as it does begin with a fast pace, but fizzles three-quarters of the way through. This isn't the best novel I've read this month, but it is a book worth considering if you don't value your time and have a couple of hours you wish to squander. With some changes and better dialogue this might make a passable film, but would require work on the authors part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Just Say No, Oct. 13 2003
Do not waste your money on this one! There's only enough story here for a novella, but it seems as though it has been padded out in order to publish it as a novel.
Now, Feehan's Carpathian series is a guilty pleasure for me - not great literature but usually a fun read. In this book she tries to take her usual format and impose it on a real world setting involving the testing/training of an elite group of soldiers/volunteers in the paranormal arts. It doesn't work. The whole soulmates-who-are-driven-to-conjoin scenario played to the extent that Feehan does just doesn't work without the fantasy element. It becomes rather ridiculous instead of romantic.
The problem is, there's just not enough story to support the cast of characters she's created. So we get pages and pages of duplicated information (first the hero and heroine have the discussion telepathically, then they have it verbally), pages and pages of gratuitous sex (and vanilla sex at that), and glaring plot holes (we're warned several times that it's not good when the heroine has nothing to occupy the great brain of hers but there's no scene where she's put in that position; she's managed to get her doctorate yet she's so totally clueless about sex (and still "untried") that she has to order sex manuals off the internet to figure out what to do and yet she and the hero irresponsibly and consistently have unprotected sex; she's supposed to be this brilliant researcher yet we're never told what actually she's working on; the research corporation she works for, and in which her family is the majority stockholder, is practicing inhumane testing methods on the soldiers yet she doesn't do anything to pull the plug on the corporation and in fact goes to a fund-raiser to raise more money for them!)
The only bright spot in the book were the scenes with the soldiers and the dialogue between them. That's the only spot of humor in the book. The heroine almost falls into the too-stupid-to-live category, and the hero is so alpha male and possessive that you wonder how he manages to get anything done and why his team just doesn't turn on him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This author is soooo good..., Oct. 10 2003
By 
It is said that humans only use a fraction of their brains. Peter Whitney, a scientific genius, dreamed of changing that. In his labs, a group of elite soldiers is held in an isolated imprisonment, a group of trained human lab rats, designed to enhance their psychic abilities. When one of his men disappears from his mind, Ryland Miller, the group's leader, knows that it is time to act. He has to find a way to break himself and his men out and escape. Freedom is their only hope of survival. Unexpectedly, he is able to make a connection with Lily, Dr. Whitney's brilliant daughter. After her father is murdered, Lily becomes dedicated to helping Ryland. She has her own reasons; Lily has learned a horrifying secret aboout herself, and she has fallen in love with the man who walks through her dreams, Ryland.
**** Ms. Feehan reveals new depths to her talent in this edgy thriller. Love has a whole new aspect when two people can join in heart and mind, not just body. Edgy and sensual, this world is as complex and modern as the Carpathian world is moody and steeped in history. Seeing where this new plot can go will be a journey worth taking. ****
Reviewed by Amanda
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Romantic Suspense, Oct. 2 2003
By 
Carol Carter "Carol C in GA" (Thomaston, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Captain Ryland Miller leads a group of men, some military, others from various
Careers, but all are fierce, intelligent men. They were selected from a group of volunteers with extraordinary psychic abilities to participate in a military project headed by Colonel Higgens, led by scientist Peter Whitney. As the project progresses, the men begin to
have severe migraines caused by an overload to the brain as they are assaulted by enhanced emotions, voices, sounds, and noises. Ryland feels guilty for bringing his men
into this project and becomes more than their leader; he is their anchor forcing excess
energy that causes extreme pain from his men to himself.
When some of the men mysteriously disappear, Ryland begins to hate Higgens and Whitney. As their power increases, Higgens feels threatened and demands Peter isolate the men and put them in separate cages. Now they feel like laboratory rats being studied and their hatred builds
against Peter and the colonel they feel betrayed them. They secretly begin to telepathically
plan to escape from the lab.
Before they can escape, Peter and Higgens are joined by a woman so beautiful she takes
Ryland's breath away. And, somehow she acts like a magnet to relieve Ryland of his pain
by removing the assault of emotions and noise from him. Ryland is wary when she is introduced as Lily Whitney, Peter's daughter, but he senses a soul connection and believes she feels it, too. Furthermore, he senses emotions of guilt coming from Peter as he argues the need to reverse the processes with Higgens since the experiment isn't working as planned. Higgens adamantly refuses and Peter becomes suspicious of his motives.
Peter Whitney is missing and Lily's extraordinary psychic abilities show her he's been
murdered and thrown into the sea. Inconsolable, she works her way through her father's
notes and finds one to shock her even more. He left a message telling her of his suspicions, and asks her take over the project to find a reversal to help the men in the laboratory. Even more, he gives her information she never wanted to hear in her lifetime, information that could come close to destroying her. Ryland is inside her head and feels her pain and all he can think of is holding her to comfort and protect her.
The story that follows is different from previous dark Carpathian novels, but these men would make wonderful characters of that race. They are definitely alpha men, forceful, dominant and macho, Ryland having the strongest of these traits in this tale. Christine Feehan matches him with an alpha woman, as Lily has the same tendencies, making for a sizzling romantic novel, especially so since Ryland and Lily read each other and can live out each other's fantasies. Whew! Be sure to have a fan handy for this read <grin>.
The medical knowledge and explanations went over my head at times because it is so
finely detailed, telling this reviewer how well the facts were researched. Ms. Feehan brings in a great cast of characters in addition to the lead couple, and I can see the opportunity for future stories to develop. As always, there is a very strong thread of family running through this tale, though it's threaded differently in this story, and Lily must deal with information she learns about her past. Ryland will be there with his unconditional love to help her conquer her pain. SHADOW GAME is unique as the multiple plots unravel, and is sure to give readers several hours
of enjoyment and satisfaction. I'm thrilled to see Christine Feehan branch out from her
beloved Carpathian stories to offer a full length novel about the Ghost Walkers (so called because of their skills to invisibly blend into the shadows), and I sure hope there will be more to
follow this one. Readers and long-time fans will not want to miss this highly charged romantic suspense.
Carol Carter, Reviewer (As published on Romance Reviews Today)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars How Big Were Her Eyes???, Sept. 30 2003
By 
Her eyes were too big for her face. How many times do we have to be told this before we finally get it through our thick skulls that HER EYES WERE TOO BIG FOR HER FACE!!!
I too have read all of Christine Feehan's books and I have enjoyed every one of them - until this one. Back up and regroup Christine. You are one of the most imaginative writers out there right now, but you have an intelligent audience and you need to write to them.
There wasn't even a reason to believe that these two dogs in heat should even be together, much less in love. The only reason I could see that Ryland fell in love with Lily was that HER EYES WERE TOO BIG FOR HER FACE. Thirty times we needed to be told this?
One last thing. Why didn't we find out if the dead father actually did or did not do something to cause their instant attraction? Such a big deal was made out of this possibility throughout the book and yet, we never find out. The father probably didn't do anything because Ryland fell instantly in love with Lily because HER EYES WERE TOO BIG FOR HER FACE.
That's all. I will say no more. Sorry Christine - you can do so much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK Read., Sept. 26 2003
By 
M. Colon "mf_colon" (New York City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like many fans out there, I first began reading Christine Feehan through her Dark Series, which I really enjoy. So I decided to give her newest book "Shadow Game" a chance, even though it is not part of the Dark Series.
Shadow Game started strongly, and the premise was interesting. Both the main characters, Lily and Ryland, also seemed very interesting and their interactions were in typical Feehan style, wrought with humor and sexual tension. The secondary characters added to the background and it is obvious that Feehan plans to write more sequels to this book later on.
However, by the middle of the book, the story started to drag and by the end it lost steam. The book involved some scenes of Lily and Ryland, which I felt were not really necessary to the storyline (Sure I like the love scenes like any one else, but after awhile it became repetitive.) I found myself skipping pages. As a result, it felt like the storyline was pushed to the side. At the end, everything ends abruptly. The bad guys are found out and caught in one simple twist. The whole thing turned out to be anticlimatic.
All in all, it was ok. Not great reading but a passable attempt by Christine Feehan. Hopefully she will do better next time, if she does decide to continue with this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as everyone hints at ..., Sept. 13 2003
By 
The only problem some people have with this book, I think, is the addition of a storyline. In the Carpathian romances Feehan created, the stories was mainly about love, and situations were added for that love to occurr and grow. In this current novel, there's actually a bit more in the telling dealing with pychic powers and struggles for politcal power. Lily Whitney is the daughter of a well known, wealthy scientist. She's brought onto a project of his dealing with the enhancement of psychic abilities, a field in which she knows plenty because she herself posseses them. When her father is murdered, he sends her one last message, telapathically, telling her to free the men of the current experiment and correct his past mistakes. The actual freeing of the men takes place in about the last half of the book, which is a rediculously long amount of time when you take into consideration the extent of the Ghostwalkers' powers, but it allows Lily to do a little bit of the sleuth thing and find out some interesting tidbits about her past.
While it was interesting and sort of a relief to actually read something different from Feehan, she seems to want to make up for it with excess sex. Towards the end, I felt that she focused more on that than developing the story. And I never really got a feel for the characters. It seemed like Feehan should have worked on making them more understandable emotionally, instead of mainly writing of the central character's intense lust for each other. It got repetative, I am sorry to say, which in a romance novel isn't a good thing.
This also makes me point out that, here, Feehan has tried to create something like a family among Lily, her hired hands, and the other men. But it doesn't quite work. Lily hardly gets to know any of the characters. Mainly all she does is discover those interesting bits and pieces of her past, enough to ensure some sequels, and then has sex with Ryland, her love interest. It got to be a bit slow, and yet if Feehan had put something like a major linking of the Ghostwalkers' and Lily's minds for even a brief moment, it would have been easy to accept.
Not that I'm saying this book was terrible. I liked it, yeah, and I'll read the following books, but it had a few flaws that I think the editors and Ms. Feehan really should have smoothed out before this was published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shadow Game
Shadow Game by Christine Feehan (Paperback - Jan. 1 2008)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews