Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant reading
Great read would recommend this to every reader who likes intrigue and suspense. Great author wi
Ll definitely read more of her books
Published 9 months ago by browndcm

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a recipe for a happy marriage (or a good book)
Wow. What a dud. Almost a hundred pages before any of the lyrical writing you expect in a Nora Roberts novel, and then it disappears again. A rude, crude anti-hero, and a woman foolish enough to think she loves him. Not a recipe for a happy marriage (or a good book).

Having just read two of her early novels, both of which I couldn't put down, this one was a...
Published 4 days ago by BG


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Not a recipe for a happy marriage (or a good book), July 19 2014
This review is from: The Search (Mass Market Paperback)
Wow. What a dud. Almost a hundred pages before any of the lyrical writing you expect in a Nora Roberts novel, and then it disappears again. A rude, crude anti-hero, and a woman foolish enough to think she loves him. Not a recipe for a happy marriage (or a good book).

Having just read two of her early novels, both of which I couldn't put down, this one was a cruel contrast and took a month to slog through. It left me wondering if the author was half sloshed when she wrote The Search or just in the middle of a messy divorce. Save your money--her early books are all good ones, and not a trace of the cynicism that plagues this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No real surprises but acceptable story, Jan. 3 2014
By 
Jenifer Mohammed , Author of Resurrecting Cyb... (Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Search (Kindle Edition)
Although there were no real surprises in this by-the-numbers romantic suspense/thriller, it was a okay
story if not great. The overly sarcastic relationship between the two main characters didn't really appeal to me as I just didn't see any real emotional investment between them. I've read better, more exciting books by her but this was just okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not really my thing, June 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Search (Kindle Edition)
I didn't feel any electricity or interest between the characters, and thought the dog searching stuff and her reaction to the new serial killer to be highly unrealistic. Just not my thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good story!, Feb. 18 2014
This review is from: The Search (Kindle Edition)
This is a paint-by-the-numbers woman in jeopardy type thriller. However, Roberts is a good writer and this is a solid story, Even though there were no surprises, I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good, Feb. 2 2014
This review is from: The Search (Kindle Edition)
one of the better nora robert books, interesting characters , good suspense, some romance added in etc. didnt want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant reading, Oct. 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Search (Kindle Edition)
Great read would recommend this to every reader who likes intrigue and suspense. Great author wi
Ll definitely read more of her books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bark, Aug. 1 2013
By 
Chris (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Search (Hardcover)
A book I saved for my cottage vacation, "The Search" presented Fiona and Simon, my favourite Nora Roberts couple yet (but maybe Colt Nightshade is my favourite character - definitely favourite name). These characters, and Roberts' comfort food prose, made up for a serial killer that got more boring as the story continued and for scenes that seemed to have been written to show off Roberts' research (e.g. "Small Dog Syndrome").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, June 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Search (Hardcover)
Loved it, couldnt put it down, the perfect balance of suspence/drama and love story, my favorite kind of read, Nora Roberts is my favorite writer, I love knowing that at the end of the book the characters are going to be happy but I love the drama and mystery end of it as well, Nora always manages to have just enough of both
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, Feb. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Search (Mass Market Paperback)
Can't really go wrong with Nora Roberts books. It was a good story with some good suspense. I would recomend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read...., Dec 10 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Search, The(CD)(Abr.) (Audio CD)
Enjoyed this book and its two main characters, loved the storyline of suspense, romance and more suspense. Have listened to this twice and will put it away till next summer and listen to it again. I do love my audio books for the car and my kobo for the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Search
The Search (Paperback)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews