Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful and Entertaining Read!
"Hidden Riches" by Nora Roberts is a fresh, intriguing and exciting tale. The characters will grab your attention and make you care about them right from the start, as Roberts once again proves why she is the queen of romantic suspense.
Antique dealer Dora Conroy buys a lot of items, including an abstract painting and some porcelain figures, at an auction in...
Published on Feb. 12 2002 by Sophie

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Abusive hero? Not my cup of tea....
I hate to give negative reviews, especially in a forum of all positive reviews, (this usually means I will be negged with 'unhelpful votes') But here is the deal... I didn't like Hidden Riches! Mostly, because I HATED the hero, and the writing was dated. I don't know of any modern women who would or should put up with the treatment that Jedidah Skimmerhorn (terrible...
Published on Nov. 13 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Abusive hero? Not my cup of tea...., Nov. 13 2002
By A Customer
I hate to give negative reviews, especially in a forum of all positive reviews, (this usually means I will be negged with 'unhelpful votes') But here is the deal... I didn't like Hidden Riches! Mostly, because I HATED the hero, and the writing was dated. I don't know of any modern women who would or should put up with the treatment that Jedidah Skimmerhorn (terrible name) treats her.
Here's the story: Jedidiah Skimmerhorn, millionaire cop (must all Nora's heros be millionaires?!) whose parents didn't love him enough, tries to rediscover himself and to escape a past tragedy by renting a quiet room in a modest downtown apartment owned by our heroine, miss sunshine Dora Conroy. So far so good. Unfortunately, during his first meeting with the heroine, he slams his door in her face. I know Nora intended for us to find the hero's rude growls, irritable snapping, 'charming' 'exciting' and 'attractive,' instead Jedidiah comes off as a spoiled baby, who needs his diaper changed.
The villain is a cardboard cookie Nora villain, on the insane side, who is an avid collector. When a shipment goes awry and is accidentally shipped to Conroy's shop, instead of his penthouse apartment, he sends one of his flunkies to investigate..
I really wanted to like Hidden Riches, but I just couldn't get past the Skimmerhorn character. I don't find abusive men attractive, and Skimmerhorn was abusive enough in once scene to leave bruises on Conroy's arms and throw her up against the wall, ripping her bathrobe. If I were the heroine I'd sue Skimmerhorn for assault, but of course, Conroy being the gullible loving heroine forgives him.... Yuck...... Nexxxtttt......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful and Entertaining Read!, Feb. 12 2002
By 
"Hidden Riches" by Nora Roberts is a fresh, intriguing and exciting tale. The characters will grab your attention and make you care about them right from the start, as Roberts once again proves why she is the queen of romantic suspense.
Antique dealer Dora Conroy buys a lot of items, including an abstract painting and some porcelain figures, at an auction in Virginia. Unfortunately, Dora's new acquisitions actually belong to a cold-blooded criminal who will stop at nothing to get them back.
Dora's new tenant, Jed Skimmerhorn, a prematurely retired police captain, is dealing with the guilt of his sister's death and doesn't need a woman like Dora complicating his life. However, Jed and Dora are undeniably drawn to each other, and their tentative friendship blooms into a lovely romance.
A break-in at Dora's shop starts Dora and Jed on a trail that leads to the truth about Dora's auction items, and on a collision course with the intended recipient of her items, an obsessed and unbalanced killer.
Dora is in extreme danger, but Jed is determined to protect her and get to the bottom of the mystery. Roberts skilfully builds the suspense and excitement in this novel, leading up to Jed and Dora's inevitable confrontation with the culprit.
"Hidden Riches" kept me enthralled from start to finish. Roberts' interesting and vivid characters compelled me to read their story, and the plot itself was original and lots of fun. I guarantee that this book will entertain and satisfy you, so buy it today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It hooked me!, March 13 2001
By 
"Hidden Riches" was my introduction to Nora Roberts, and it hooked me from page one. Just the right mix of suspense and romance. The romantic tension of the two main characters will often cause you to smile, because you just know that these two were meant for each other, stubborn as they are. I can distinctly remember sitting in my living room as I started this book, how it was cloudy outside and I had the heater on and a glass of lemonade on the table next to me. Definitely says something for the author that I can remember so much of the setting when I started this book! One thing I can say for Nora Roberts is she's inspiring! Every book introduces an occupation or place which makes me want to do that or go there. Antiques dealing (Hidden Riches), glass blowing (Born in Fire), Ireland (many, many of her books take place there). Nora Roberts writes high quality romances, many with a touch of suspense which helps give conflict and interest. Try "Hidden Riches" I think you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nora Roberts Fans Will Enjoy This One, May 25 2000
By 
Ashley (California) - See all my reviews
First, let me say that I am a HUGE Nora Roberts fan! I have read nearly ever book she's written, including the chilling series penned as J.D. Robb. I have been reading her books for years, and she rarely lets me down. This is one of her earlier novels.
HIDDEN RICHES is a story about Dora Conroy, a feisty, beautiful woman who owns an antiques store in Philadelphia. Dora's store is broken into after she makes the winning bid on a painting at auction, which is really a priceless masterpiece disguised. Once the painting's real owner realizes a mistake has been made and someone else has his precious painting, it becomes the focus of much criminal attention, placing Dora in danger.
Jed Skimmerhorn is Dora's love interest in the novel. He is handsome, rich, socially prominent...except he is also miserably unhappy after the death of his sister, which he feels responsible for. He has gone into early retirement from the police force and is renting a room from Dora when she becomes a target for the criminals. The novel details their growing romance, Jed's internal battles as he tries to come to grips with his sister's death, and of course the battle between Jed and Dora vs. the criminals!
HIDDEN RICHES, in traditional Nora Roberts style, features great writing and witty dialogue that flows and feels natural for the two characters. As a few other reviewers have noticed, Jed's character was a little dark at times, in part because of the shadow of grief and guilt that seemed to hang over him. Dora was very light-hearted and quirky. Her family was especially loveable, as Jed soon found out--a troupe of actors with larger-than-life personas and huge hearts!
While I did enjoy the novel, I had to take off a few points because of the suspense-romance aspect. Romantic suspense is one of my favorite genres...it's usually a lot of fun, because you have two great characters who fall in love while trying to solve some kind of mystery together. However, the thing I didn't like about HIDDEN RICHES was that there really was no suspense. From the get-go, readers know who the bag guy is, and personally, I enjoy trying to figure out who the bad guy is! The only thing that built up as far as the suspense part of the novel goes is the ultimate confrontation between Jed & Dora and the villain.
Of course, Nora Roberts is a force to be reckoned with, and she has a very devoted following of fans. Her clever writing and strongly-drawn characters make her a favorite of mine. Anyone who has read the earlier romantic suspense novels Roberts is so popular for will have to add this book to their collection. I also recommend TRUE BETRAYALS and SWEET REVENGE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Riches is one of Nora's greatest treasures, May 15 2000
By 
Jennifer N. Germanotta (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Hidden Riches, set in modern-day Philadelphia, brings together Jed Skimmerhorn, a discontented police captain and Dora Conway, an antiques dealer. Captain Skimmerhorn is the new tenant in the apartment located above Dora's antique shop and across from her own living quarters. No doubt that their feeling definite attraction toward each other, Skimmerhorn fights against his feelings for Dora and the loving, overwhelming Conway family. Forces change however when he is pulled in by Dora, who unwittingly stumbles into the evil world of art and antique smuggling valuable and finds her very existence threatened. Hidden Riches is quite a suspenseful story with a love story happening along the way. Skimmerhorn, a strong, brooding man has that some demons from his past to conquer. Dora is a strong character-a woman who is independent, intelligent, beautiful, and determined. Drawn together by forces greater than themselves, they are forced to face his past and the future neither had planned for. This book is one of my favorite that Ms. Roberts' has written - strong characters, excellent setting. One of Nora Roberts' greatest stories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nora Roberts at her best!, May 13 2000
By A Customer
What a wonderful story. Jed an inactive cop (his resignation was not accepted but was put on leave) moves into the apartment building that Dora Conroy owns to get away from the house he grew up in with bad memories. Dora an antique collector owns her own little store downstairs. She finds Jed very attractive and while he is also attracted to her, he tries to stay away from her because he has no desire to be involved with anyone. He feels too much guilt over things that happened while he was an active Captain. She is more of the aggressor but not in a pushy way. She sees he's a man with much hurts to overcome and she knows she's the one to help him through. The dialogue between these two is incredibly funny at times. She purchases two items from an auction and the problems begin. The shipment sent to this auctioneer was sent in error. This shipment should have gone to a very wealthy and very crooked man who will stop at absolutely nothing to get his merchandise back. He too is a collector of the fine arts and antiques but he smuggles to get them. Trying to get the items back after they are sold at the auction is what the story is about. A great read from beginning to end. The ending was better than I could have imagined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mystery,& romance served up with a side order of humor., Feb. 2 1997
By A Customer
Hidden Riches, whose setting is in the city of brotherly love, brings together Jed Skimmerhorn, a dislusioned police captain, and Dora Conway, an antique dealer.
Jed, who is from a disfunctional rich family, has had it with life. He abandons the life style that has brought him nothing but heartache to move into a sparse apartment owed by Dora Conway.
Though Jed fights against the physcial and mental pull toward Dora and the loving, overwhelming Conway family, he is pulled to them when Dora unwittingly stumbles into the evil world of smuggling valuable antiquties, and is noe threatening her very exsistance.
Hidden Riches is a story that will draw you into the characters lifes. The hero is a strong, brooding charcter that has the good sense to admire and be drawn to a heroine who is also a strong witty character. They never let you down by acting wimpy or stupid even when danger is near and the heroine will try to get herself out of danger rather than wimp out,
Bravo Nora Roberts, another excellent novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My first and favorite Nora Roberts book., Jan. 4 2003
By 
S. Gould "gouldpjaks" (Woodmere, NY United States) - See all my reviews
I picked this book up while on vacation a few years ago. I had never heard of Nora Roberts and was not a romance fan. This story introduced me to Roberts and romance.
The plot revolves around Dora Conroy, a quirky proprietor of a small antique shop, who inadvertently interferes with the illegal shipment of some smuggled artwork and becomes the target of a ruthless and deadly businessman. Her new tenant Jed Skimmerhorn, an ex detective with the Philadelphia PD, is reluctantly attracted to Dora and feels obligated to protect her when the bad guys break into her apartment and threaten her. Add Dora's spirited family of actors and their bizarre show biz friends into the mix and you have the recipe for fun.
The story is at times humorous, often suspenseful, very romantic and always a great read. You won't want to miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've read them all...this one is the best!!!, Jan. 22 2003
This is a fantastic book...it brings together all of Nora Robert's strongest talents. Fast, witty dialogue, a fascinating plot, deeply interesting seconday characters and two protagonists that make me laugh out loud and feel real empathy for their all too human foibles.
I may be in love with Jed Skimmerhorn for the rest of my life. I don't think anyone writes a male character for women better than Nora. They are all flawed and vulnerable, but you don't feel like mugging their therapist. They are annoying, infuriating, by turns selfish and self serving, but also sexy, warm, smart and gloriously interesting!!! Her female characters all make me want to have drinks with them. My highest compliment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a Great Book!!!, June 24 2004
By A Customer
I am absolutely amazed no one has reviewed this book. It is excellent. I am not going to give a synopsis becuase you guys can read the editorials above. If you like Nora read this book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hidden Riches
Hidden Riches by Nora Roberts (Hardcover - June 1995)
Used & New from: CDN$ 9.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews