Customer Reviews


180 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing
This is the first book I've read by Mr. Connelly and I found it to be a great read. Jack McEvoy is a crime reporter whose twin brother, a homicide investigator, is brutally murdered. Although the police rule the death a suicide, Jack is unable to accept this and begins his own investigation. This leads to the discovery of similar murders involving other homicide...
Published on July 14 2004 by business-owner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Poe Lives On Evermore
Police officers are committing suicide all over the country. Cops who could never quite solve the murder cases they were on. Strange quotes left by each of the men, lines taken from the famous poems of Edgar Allan Poe. Sound thrilling? Read on.
Edgar Allan Poe was the master of mystery and the macabre. Now there could be a killer on the loose using call signs...
Published on June 7 2004 by D. A. Shuell


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, July 14 2004
This review is from: The Poet (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first book I've read by Mr. Connelly and I found it to be a great read. Jack McEvoy is a crime reporter whose twin brother, a homicide investigator, is brutally murdered. Although the police rule the death a suicide, Jack is unable to accept this and begins his own investigation. This leads to the discovery of similar murders involving other homicide investigators across America, and the FBI becomes involved. Jack is allowed to be part of the investigation and becomes involved with Rachel Walling, an agent with the FBI.
This mystery is full of twists and turns and is a fascinating read. The characters are great, the investigation intriguing, and the real Poet a surprise.
Call me a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG !!, July 11 2004
By 
Amazon Customer "Zenomia" (Clinton, IA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Poet (Mass Market Paperback)
I had purchased this book mainly due to the reviews that I had been reading. (Note: I do not normally read murder/mystery genra...I tend to lean towards historical and occult fiction, yet as a book fanatic, I try not to limit myself ;)
"The Poet" is the first I have read by M. Connelly, and I have to say of all the books that I have read, this one scared the bejeasus out of me!! I proudly would have stated that I can't be frightened by a book, I had read it all, there wasn't a hack and slash or horror out there I would have been surprised by...until now.
The story is centered around a reporter, Jack McEnvoy. It begins with Jack's need to question the motives surrounding his brothers suicide. In a reporters need to uncover the 'reason' for things happening, Jack finds odd clues that soon lead him to understand that his brother, (a Denver Homicide Detective), was really murdered and his death can be linked with the deaths of other homicide detectives around the country. (It is never that simple in fiction though is it?:) In each death, the detective was working on a high profile case involving the murder of a person/child who was killed in horribly brutal and violent ways, each case lead the investigators to a brick wall. Soon Jack realizes that there may be TWO serial killers out there working together, how could one guy do all this? He scrambles on a journey to 'catch a killer..' and find the answers that have been unanswered surrounding his brother's death.
The story catches your interest, keeps it hanging and blows you from one theory to the next. Just when you think you know the answer to 'who done it', he blows your theory out of the water. His writing is such that you don't get the heads up of what is going on much before the lead character, Jack, does. I found the dialog a bit stilted at times, but overall the book read more like a movie playing out than it did an actual novel.
The reason I had to give 5 stars was the scare factor. Although most of what I tend to read would creep the jadded readers out, MC writes about a horror that could be lurking in your town, right now. Reality, and the perception of the deviant minds of our fellow human beings was portrayed so well, that I was afriad to read the next page, but couldn't force myself to stop. When Steven King prefaced in the intro about 'sleeping with the lights on', he wasn't blowing smoke!! This book creeps you out in a way that no witch, demon, or blood ceremony can!! It makes you think that the guy you ran into at the grocery store or your English Professor could be "him....like that..". It makes you want the ability to read your fellow human minds just to be sure there isn't some kind of disturbed mind lurking in there just waiting to get out to butcher and slaughter you!
Sure that sounds a bit fanciful and a dramatic raving of a book, but as I said, I don't read this genra often. I think I will now though. Nothing says 'I am a 34 yr. old sleeping with the lights on' like a novel about the scariest monster/demon of all....the human!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Poet, May 4 2004
By 
jeffdunbar (Wichita Kansas USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Poet (Mass Market Paperback)
TITLE: The Poet
AUTHOR: Michael Connelly
PUBLISHER: Hieronymous, Inc.
PAGES: 501
PRICE (paperback): $7.99
PUBLICATION DATE: 7/1996
ISBN: 0-446-60261-2
CATEGORY: Fiction
"Death is my beat." Those are the words used by our narrator Jack McEvoy, a reporter for the Rocky Mountain News. At the beginning Jack finds out his brother a Denver Homicide cop, has just commited suicide. The death of his brother thrusts Jack to begin writing a story over cops and suicide, but during the investigation he starts finding pieces that just dont fit together. Jack has to travel to differnt states so he can piece the puzzle together. First he has to convince the cops to reopen his brothers case. To do this he described the message that had been left by his brother. "Out of space Out of time."
The killer uses a script from an Edger Allen Poe poem, on each of his victims. Each of the homicide cops killed were working on a case, that could not be solved. Because of this and other important evidence Jack was able to convince the cops to reopen the case.
Upon the reopening of the cases, Jack was able to travel to different states in hopes to piece it together. Along the way he is able to convince other law agencies to reopen their cases involving police officers suicides. During his travels Jack runs into Michael Warren an "ex reporter" working at the Law Enforcement Foundation who appears to be very helpful in giving him important files that jack was earlier denied. His journey also took him to the F.B.I'.s Behavioral Science Service, that allows Jack to tag along during the investigation with the stipulation that he does not write anything about the case until it is solved. This is to prevent the "Poet" so the FBI calls him does not escape. In return, Jack gets all the information first in order for him to write the story when it is all said and done.
The novel is well written and worth the time to read. It has one spiral after another. Friends and coworkers turn on each other, as when someone leaks out the story that Jack is doing, even though Jack and the FBI have an agreement. The story is also written with climax after climax, once the FBI and Jack get their man, or do they? The story keeps the reader guessing untill the very end. As for the romantics out there, there is a love story that takes off between Special Agent Rachel and Jack that has a guessing ending.
Reviewer: Jeff Dunbar
Date: May 2, 2004
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and suspenseful, Aug. 4 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Poet (Mass Market Paperback)
THE POET centers around the apparent suicide of a cop, Sean, who has left behind a note that is written on his windshield, it is a line from an Edgar Allen Poe poem, and nobody can quite figure it out. As the plot unfolds he uncovers more and more evidence .One wonders after a while how inept the police could be to have missed it all and what HAD been a suicide now becomes a homicide. If you liked VOID MOON, you'll love this one, though THE POET can easily stand on its own.
Also would recommend another entirely different kind of book, though it too is suspeseful: THE BARK OF THE DOGWOOD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular!, July 9 2004
By 
Bookworm Plus "Bill C." (Redondo Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Poet (Mass Market Paperback)
Wanting to expand my mystery writer horizons, I picked up The Poet and hit the jackpot. The best word to describe it is SPECTACULAR. The quick pace of a reporter investigating serial murders of children and then the investigating detectives kept the excitement level high throughout the entire book. The effect is enhanced by the superior job at character development by Connelly when compared to most mystery/thriller writers. Several characters such as McEvoy, Wallings, Thorsen, and Gladding will stay in my head for a long time. The Poet deals with a despicable part of the human endeavor in a way that is very tasteful and non-gratuitous. Many books in this genre start out great, but then fizzle at the end. I believe this is because endings tend to be one-track and an effort by the author to simply finish the book. In contrast, The Poet twisted and turned at the end as it went through several plausible endings that turned out to be way stations before the final shocking crescendo. I was delighted to find out that Connolly's latest book, The Narrows, is a sequel. I am sure all of you out there know what author I picked for my next purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Thriller, June 24 2004
This review is from: The Poet (Mass Market Paperback)
Kudos for Michael Connelly! The Poet is one of his best works yet, and this from a Harry Bosch fan. If it doesn't have Harry in it, it usually doesn't have the same spark. However, The Poet definitely had a spark!
The book is about what appears to be a serial killer, murdering innocent citizens and then moving on to the homicide cop investigating the case. Throughout the whole book you don't know if it's one killer or two, why they're doing it or where they'll strike next. With the twin brother of one of the murdered cops investigating and the FBI's help, the search is on.
This story is a thriller. I find some of the reviews saying that the ending was predictable or that the killer/s were, but I find that hard to believe. I've been reading mysteries and thrillers for about 20 years, and this one came as a shock to me! That doesn't happen much. Anyway, I found the characters very likable and the story exciting, hard to put down. I'd recommend this book to anyone. It's now one of my favorite Connelly's and I can't wait to start on The Narrows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Poe Lives On Evermore, June 7 2004
By 
This review is from: The Poet (Mass Market Paperback)
Police officers are committing suicide all over the country. Cops who could never quite solve the murder cases they were on. Strange quotes left by each of the men, lines taken from the famous poems of Edgar Allan Poe. Sound thrilling? Read on.
Edgar Allan Poe was the master of mystery and the macabre. Now there could be a killer on the loose using call signs taken from the poet who has been dead for over a hundred years. Michael Connelly is looking to place himself up in the ranks as the master of mystery and the macabre. He has done so with The Poet and will keep you searching around for the next clue in a new twist.
Connelly tells the story from the first person point of view of Jack McEvoy, a reporter from Denver whose twin brother is the latest of the mysterious detective suicides. With the dynamic writing style, the reader is with McEvoy every step as he surrounds himself with some colorful characters of the FBI to help solve the puzzle of his brother's death.
The Poet moves with the grace of a poem and keeps the excitement of a good mystery as you find yourself turning the pages looking for the next clue. At times it seems to slow down but then picks up with a surprising twist or two. Michael Connelly has accomplished one hell of a thriller and this is one you won't want to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive Reading, May 27 2004
This review is from: The Poet (Mass Market Paperback)
"The Poet" is Michael Connelly's 5th book, and proved to be something of a departure for him - it was his first book not to feature Harry Bosch. Instead of Bosch, the central character is Jack McEvoy, a journalist based in Denver. He works for the "Rocky Mountain News", covering virtually whatever murder he chooses. As the book opens, he's just been told of his twin brother's suicide.
Sean, his twin, was a cop in Denver. He worked in the "Crimes Against Persons" unit, an area that included the investigation of murders. Not long before his death, he had directed the investigation of one particularly gruesome and high profile case. Theresa Lofton, the victim, was a 19-year-old student who corpse had been found cut into two parts. No progress had been made in the case, and the police initially believe that this case had simply "got" to Sean. He was found in his car, on the shore of Bear Lake, having apparently shot himself. There was a note written in the steam of the car windscreen : "Out of space, out of time". It's not the first death in the family - McEvoy's younger sister had drowned in the same lake about twenty years previously.
When Jack returns to work after the funeral, he decides to write about his brother - a decision that, initially, isn't too popular with either his parents or his brother's widow. Part of the background research he does includes looking over reports in other newspapers regarding police suicides. One of the reports he finds covers the apparent suicide of John Brooks, a Detective in Denver. Brooks' case is a carbon copy of Sean's - right down to the suicide notes : both are quotations from poems written by Edgar Allen Poe. Sean, feeling there are too many similarities to be coincidental, now believes his brother was murdered.
This book is easily up there with the best of the Bosch novels. The Poet, the book's villain, is a thoroughly disgusting character - and, in my opinion, the most memorable of Connelly's bad guys. I didn't find McEvoy quite as likeable as Bosch, though - at times, it nearly seemed that getting the story was at least as important to him as catching his brother's killer. All the same, I found it to be a gripping book - one that I'd recommend highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Credible piece of crime writing., April 21 2004
By 
C. Middleton (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Poet (Mass Market Paperback)
The Poet is a thoroughly impressive and credible piece of crime writing.
Jack McEvoy is a crime journalist for the Rocky Mountain News. He's seen death in its many forms and has become used to it because as his job demands, he lives and writes about it everyday. His secret is maintaining an arms- length- distance from the victim and the victim's family, until one day he's told about his twin brother's alleged suicide. As an experienced journalist, he has learned to ask the right questions, and can see an anomaly a mile a way at a dead run. Something is wrong about this particular suicide. And as he probes further, the inconsistencies mount up to such an extent, that it can only be one thing - murder. These anomalies lead to a chain of other murders around the country, all cop suicides - a serial killer is on the rampage, and he's been dubbed The Poet, because he leaves clues that can be traced back to the poems and writings of the master of the macabre, Edgar Allan Poe. Thus begins a well-crafted, attention to detail, suspenseful thriller from one of the best in the business, Michael Connelly.
This novel is a wonderful piece of story telling because of its realism and attention to detail. We become part of the narrator's mind, hearing what he hears, seeing what he sees, and feeling his thoughts and emotions. Jack McEvoy, to quote a cliché, comes to life on these pages, wholly absorbing, grabbing the reader by the scruff of the neck, and throwing them unmercifully into the tale. I am not exaggerating, as this story had me by the short one's from the first page to the last.
Connolly's writing is thorough yet sparse, elegant though matter of fact. He knows how to write a crime thriller, making it real, and able to scare the pants off you at the same time. It follows a formula but it doesn't read like one. I guess that's the key for a great writer in this genre - they follow all the required rules yet make the act transparent. We get the required twist at the end but Connolly twists it again just to make sure he's got us where he wants us to be. There's a lot to this book other than the obvious, and that also makes it a great read.
I found this book deeply satisfying as a fan of crime fiction. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read!, Sept. 12 2002
By 
mzglorybe (Southern CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Poet (Mass Market Paperback)
A reporter, Jack McEvoy, looks into the death of his twin brother, a homicide detective who is found dead in his vehicle, an apparent suicide. Doubting the facts, he investigates the circumstances of his brother's death and uncovers cases of assumed suicides of other officers, with one commonality, a suicide note that apparently is a line from a poem. This opens an official investigation for a serial killer dubbed "The Poet." This book may not grab you right off the bat, but after you get into it, you keep turning those pages longer than you intended to. If you like details of crime investigations you will like this book. The main character, Jack, is not a super-hero, but a believable and likeable good guy, who's persistence and determination one has to admire. The pedophile personality in the book is very disturbing, and the murders descriptive, so it is not for the squeamish reader. I liked the fact that the book keeps you wondering as to who the real cop-killer is. The only disappointment was in the killers motivation - when the real killer is revealed, it is unclear what caused the individual to go wrong and created such an evil, warped personality... it is also open to a sequel, but since this was written in 1996 I should think Connelly would have had one out by now if he is going to do one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

THE POET.
THE POET. by MICHAEL CONNELLY (Paperback - 1997)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews