Customer Reviews


309 Reviews
5 star:
 (165)
4 star:
 (79)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Harlan Coben's best work...
Harlan Coben pens perhaps his best novel to date in "Tell No One". After having read "No Second chance" - his latest, I was eager to read something else by the talented writer. I was drawn to this book after hearing a few friends tell me that this is his best work and that movie rights had been bought for the story. The talk was not just hype, Coben writes a masterfully...
Published on March 4 2004 by Jerry L. McGahagin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An author worth following
This is the third Coben novel I've read. All were enjoyable, but each is dragged down by Coben's penchant for complex plots that often veer into the unbelievable. He also has an unfortunate tendency to carry some characters from one novel to another. This is particularly grueling because Coben's characters aren't well developed to begin with.
All that said and...
Published on July 4 2004 by Jerry Saperstein


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Easily Read, Though No Great Surprises, Jan. 24 2007
Ce commentaire est de: Tell No One (Mass Market Paperback)
"Tell No-One", first published in 2001, is Harlan Coben's eighth book - though is his first not to feature Myron Bolitar. Instead, the book's hero is David Beck. He'd known his wife, Elizabeth, from childhood - they'd met when they were seven, had their first kiss at twelve underneath a tree at Lake Charmaine and married at twenty-five. (Lake Charmaine was once a kids' summer camp, and is now owned by David's grandfather). After their first kiss, they carved their initials on the accompanying tree and, being a very cheesy couple, returned every year to add another notch beneath them. However, the evening they add their thirteenth notch, the couple are attacked - David is left for dead, while Elizabeth is abducted. Three days later, Elizabeth's body is found and is later identified by her father - from the signature branding, it seems the couple had been attacked by the serial killer Elroy "KillRoy" Kellerton.

Time moves on, though David remains single and never properly gets over Elizabeth's death. Eight years later, he's working as a paediatrician, with the majority of his patients on Medicaid. Unfortunately, events are about to bring what happened at Lake Charmaine back to the surface. The first thing provides possibly the biggest shock of them all - an email from Elizabeth, containing phrases only she should've known. The same afternoon, David is contacted by the local Sheriff about two bodies that have just been found near the lake. A baseball bat buried with them has blood traces on it that matches David's blood group - B positive. However, while it's not entirely clear what part - if any - these men played in the attack on David and Elizabeth, things aren't about to get any better.

Obviously, David finds this all very unsettling. Despite a warning in one of Elizabeth's emails - "tell no-one" - David decides to confide in Shauna, his ex-roommate and his sister, Linda's, long-term partner. Linda manages the Brandon Scope Memorial Charity, named after the son of a local billionaire who'd been murdered several years previously. The charity had been founded by the billionaire, Griffin, an ex-classmate of both David's and Elizabeth's fathers. Unfortunately, it's clear from very early in the book that Griffin has some business dealings some very unsavoury people and is keeping a very close eye on Davis.

Overall, I found "Tell No-One" a very enjoyable and easily read book. Coben tells the story in two distinct styles. The sections of the book about David are told from his point of view ("I tried to reach for it, but someone leapt in my back"). However, the sections that focus on other characters are written about them ("Griffin hung up the phone and snapped on a pair of latex gloves"). While the approach may put some off, I felt it worked well. The ending, on the other hand, seemed a little too neat and not quite as dramatic as it should've been. Nevertheless, it's still a recommended book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An author worth following, July 4 2004
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Tell No One (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the third Coben novel I've read. All were enjoyable, but each is dragged down by Coben's penchant for complex plots that often veer into the unbelievable. He also has an unfortunate tendency to carry some characters from one novel to another. This is particularly grueling because Coben's characters aren't well developed to begin with.
All that said and done, Coben is a thoroughly enjoyable read.
His plots, as stretched as they become, have a glow of craftsmanship to them. They definitely do propel you through the story. The characters, flat as they often are, still have enough heft to keep your interest.
In short, Coben and in this case "Tell No One" are just plain fun reads. They will keep your interest. I intend to pursue all of Coben's novels, not only because they are fun reading, but because this writer has a future and could indeed turn out to be one of the best suspense novelists of all time. It's kind of fun to watch his growth.
Jerry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Myron fans, beware!, May 17 2004
By 
Denny Gibbons (Champaign, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Tell No One (Mass Market Paperback)
If you enjoyed Coben's Myron Bolitar novels and are expecting great things from this novel, don't read it! I love the Myron series and I have never been more disappointed in a book as I was in this one.
One of the things that I enjoyed so much about the Myron books was the witty dialogue and likeable characters (like Win and Esperanza). In this book, Coben tried to be too serious so the dialogue was very sappy and unoriginal (the same goes for the characters). The readers are also treated to the main character's constant running social commentary on the lower class and how some criminals are just misunderstood. "Don't judge a book by its cover" stuff.
Another problem that made me uninterested in all the characters was the fact that the good guys are ridiculously good (the main character, his wife, and his sister ALL work for the poor), the bad guys are ridiculously evil (the evil billionaire and his unbelieveably sadistic hitman), and, in classic Harlan Coben style, the cops investigating are all dumb, bull-headed creeps who, if they were any worse, would be wearing swastikas on their arms. Oh yeah, and I forgot the "look at me, I'm so politically correct" lesbian couple, the typical boisterous defense attorney, and the drug dealer with the heart of gold.
If you're a Harlan Coben fan, stick to his Myron Bolitar novels. This is like a Myron book without any witty dialogue, likeable characters, or interesting plot developments. Coben's best work is clearly behind him unless he resurrects Myron, I don't think it's going to get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harlan Coben's best work..., March 4 2004
By 
Jerry L. McGahagin (Snellville, Ga United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Tell No One (Hardcover)
Harlan Coben pens perhaps his best novel to date in "Tell No One". After having read "No Second chance" - his latest, I was eager to read something else by the talented writer. I was drawn to this book after hearing a few friends tell me that this is his best work and that movie rights had been bought for the story. The talk was not just hype, Coben writes a masterfully suspenseful edge-of-your-seat thriller. It is a fast-paced story that manages to keep you intrigued and guessing for all of its 300+ pages. Let me tell you a few things that may help you make up your own mind about "Tell No One":
Coben grabs your attention from the very first page. You learn in the first chapter that 8 years ago Dr. David Beck was celebrating the anniversary of his wife and his first kiss when she is kidnapped and a few days later found dead. During the kidnapping David is beaten and left for dead. Flash forward to present day - after 8 years something happens to shift the reality of what may have really happened that night. Is his wife really dead? The reader is hooked and the story does let go until the thrilling (and surprising) conclusion.
Coben combines characters that are cops, FBI, drug dealers, and mafia hitmen and does it all masterfully. Pick this book up and you likely won't be able to put it back down until it's over. It's a very entertaining read by a very talented author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tell Everyone, This is a Masterpiece!, Dec 31 2003
By 
James N Simpson (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Tell No One (Hardcover)
There are very few books you start reading and can't put down until the final page, no matter what is on TV or happening outside of the book. This thriller is one of those sensational novels.
Dr. David Beck lost his wife eight years ago after being knocked unconscious by a baseball bat, to a serial killer named Killroy who tortured her for three days before branding and killing her. He has never gotten over her death but has tired to lead a normal life by helping out the underprivileged children through his surgery in a rough neighbourhood. Nearing the anniversary of her death he received an e-mail which makes him question his sanity by giving him a small hope she may not actually be dead.
Meanwhile two more bodies turn up at the lake where Elizabeth was abducted alongside the very baseball bat used to knock Beck unconscious. The FBI suspects Dr. Beck may have more to do with his wife's murder than they previously thought and when more murders occur that point to him, he becomes one of America's most wanted. He can't surrender though, because his wife might just be out there trying to contact him and in custody he may miss the chance to ever find out if she is alive. The violent people who murdered her eight years ago have also become interested in Dr. Beck and they want to have a little chat.
This is a sensational thriller. Buy a blank tape for your VCR as well as Tell No One, because you will not be watching TV or doing anything else until you have finished this masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good Stuff: Tell No One by Harlan Coben, Dec 21 2003
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Tell No One (Hardcover)
"It was the one lesson he never forgot. You don't sit back when you or a loved one is being assaulted. And you don't act like the government with their 'proportional responses' and all that nonsense. If someone hurts you, mercy and pity must be put aside. You eliminate the enemy. You scorch the earth. Those who scoffed at this philosophy, who thought it unnecessarily Machiavellian, usually were the ones who cause excess destruction."
So wrote Harlan Coben in his very enjoyable book with a theme of vengeance and revenge. At center point in this novel is Doctor David Beck. A man of medicine and a man that does not believe in the modern day psycho babble nonsense concerning such things as closure. For David Beck, time does not heal all wounds. First his father died twelve years ago in what could have been a simple traffic accident or a suicide. Then, eight short years ago, his wife was murdered.
The fact that he was powerless to stop it, dropped by blows to the head that cracked his skull does not alleviate his pain and his guilt over her murder. They were at the family retreat and she was grabbed, he was brutally assaulted and pushed off the dock to drown in the lake. The fact that he survived was a medical miracle and something that he has never accepted. He misses her tremendously every single day of his life.
Despite the fact that everyone had told him to move on, he can't. And as it comes time to mark their anniversary, he is reminded how much he misses her. Then, he gets a strange e-mail with a message containing a phrase that only the two of them shared. No one else could possible know the phrase or what it means. Then, he gets a second message a day later and is soon directed to a web cam that for a moment, somewhere in the world, shows her. Or someone that looks amazingly like her.
He begins a frantic search, turning to his friends and family. At the same time, someone is searching for him and to find out what he knows about happened eight years ago. And they will stop at absolutely nothing to get the answers they seek to end the problem once and for all.
This is a very enjoyable novel and primarily action oriented. There is some character development on a rather limited scale, but the focus is on a man running for his life from events beyond his control. Sure it has been done before but this one is better than most. This good read novel keeps the reader turning the page and is full of numerous false clues and detours until one reaches a very surprising ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I Didn't Rush Out To Tell Anyone about "Tell No One", Oct. 31 2003
By 
Scott Kolecki (Brooklyn, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Tell No One (Mass Market Paperback)
Let me begin by saying that I am not a major fan of suspense-thriller novels, so I read this book after my wife walked away from it feeling confused and disappointed. I was intrigued by the fragments of the story she shared with me, and so I picked it up and gave it a read.
The novel, "Tell No One" by Harlan Coben, is a somewhat dis-jointed novel about a husband who loses his wife while on a getaway with her at a family cabin. He is attacked and left for dead, and when he recovers, he discovers his wife is taken.
Eight years later, having long believed that his wife is dead, he receives a strange Email that suggests that she is anything but. Before long, the story delves into a tale of deceit, murder, corruption which ultimately leads the husband into a world that put his life in great peril.
Sounds like fun, doesn't it?
It is, but the novel, written partially in the first person, partially in the third, reads more like a screenplay than a novel. The characters are shallow, with little or no development which often leaves the reader feeling indifferent about the situations they are placed in. Coben's ability to depict some of the graphic acts taken on various characters throughout the novel read more like a "how-to" manual than descriptive narrative, leaving the reader feeling grossed out and unsettled (which may be the desired effect), but his inability to translate that method of storytelling to the thoughts and motivations of his characters again leave the reader feeling unsympathetic to the plight of the victims.
To his credit, this story moves quickly, and does not drone on with the exposition so many writers of this genre employ, placing and presenting background for the situations and events in a way that can often bore the reader, or be insulting to their intelligence, but I think this novel could have used a little character expositon to give them depth and belivability.
For those looking for an incredible, unbelievable story that they can escape into for a few hours, this novel is probably for you. However, do not expect it to be a great literary work-its not. Its very predictable, relying on graphic violence to fill the void of genuine suspense. If you are looking for a more intense novel in this genre, try Thomas Harris's "Lecter" novels. They hit the mark far more solidly than this effort.
Scott Kolecki
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I missed work because of this!!, Oct. 14 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Tell No One (Mass Market Paperback)
Please tell no one (sorry) that I missed work because of this. Wow...this is a page turner! I started the book last night at about 8pm, read non-stop until 3am, couldn't sleep because I was all riled up, took the following day off and finished it by 12 noon (even lost weight due to sweat-provoking anxiousness). In general, I have found Coben to be lightweight, with the characters and plot often unbelievable. The dialogue in his books walks the cutesy line a little too much for my tastes as well. This book has much of that (a bit unbelievable--both characters and plot....I especially found the lesbian and african-american "speak" particularly annoying), but it really didn't matter. I was so absorbed in the book, that I found it impossible to put it down. You really aren't allowed to breathe easy at the end of any chapter....constant trouble for our poor Beck. Great book.....lot's of fun.....save it for a day when you have nothing else to do and read it from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, Oct. 13 2003
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Tell No One (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read several Coben novels, all were winners but TELL NO ONE is by far my favorite. TELL NO ONE will hold you captive hours beyond your bedtime. Coben, who has a talent for creating rich, multi-dimensional characters and rivetingly original plots, has out done himself with this narrative. For eight long years Dr. David Beck has moved numbly through his existence. Since the day that his wife, Elizabeth, the woman he had loved since the age of seven, was kidnapped and murdered, David Beck has survived for his patients. Then a strange email pops up on his screen with information only Elizabeth knew and the words "Tell no one." The accounting that follows as Dr. Beck delves into his wife's death, hoping that she is still alive, will give you chills and raise the hairs on the back of your neck. TELL NO ONE will have you telling all your reading friends about this best seller.
Beverly J Scott author of "Righteous Revenge" and "Ruth Fever." Reviewer for Intriguing Authors and Their Books at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No, Tell Everyone!, Sept. 24 2003
By 
A. Wolverton (Crofton, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Tell No One (Mass Market Paperback)
Dr. David Beck and his wife Elizabeth have been participating in a ritual for years: Each year, they return to the tree where together they carved their initials as kids. During one celebration, Beck is beaten up and Elizabeth vanishes.
Eight years pass. Elizabeth's body has been found, her murderer has been jailed, and Beck has tried to get on with his life. It hasn't been easy, and it sure doesn't get any easier when Beck gets an email from a person who seems to know things that only Elizabeth could know. Now if he could only find her. That might be difficult: The police have uncovered evidence that Beck might have had something to do with Elizabeth's death. But they're not the only ones after him.
With 'Tell No One,' Harlan Coben has established himself as one of the genre's top mystery writers. And while I think his next book 'Gone for Good' is a better book, 'Tell No One' delivers mystery, suspense, action, thrills, deception, and danger on a very high level. I had a few quibbles here and there with some of the characters and their motivations, but the story was gripping and made me turn the pages at a pretty good rate. If you haven't tried Coben, 'Tell No One' is a good place to start. You certainly won't be bored. Tell everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tell No One
Tell No One by Harlan Coben (Paperback - March 3 2005)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews